Aspen Grove Campground
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- Sites
- 2623 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices
In the agency’s own words
The Aspen Grove Campground is situated on the upper reaches of the Blackfoot river and is conveniently located just off MT Highway 200, about 6 miles east of the Town of Lincoln, MT. The campground has 2 loops and 24 campsites. Keep reading
Recreation
The Aspen Grove Campground is located within a short drive to many recreational opportunities including ATV trails, hiking/horse trails, and mountain bike trails. There are several Continental Divide National Scenic Trail access points nearby including Roger's Pass and Flesher Pass. The Scapegoat Wilderness can be accessed through the Indian Meadows Trailhead, which is a 10 mile drive from the campground up the Copper Creek Road.
Facilities
The Aspen Grove Campground contains 24 individual sites. There are 3 vault toilets that service the campground and 2 dumpsters for trash disposal. Several spigots with potable water are located conveniently throughout the campground.
Natural Features
Visitors Aspen Grove and the to the Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest are treated spectacular scenery as well as an abundance of natural and cultural resources in the area. Rugged ridges, alpine meadows, forests, grasslands and rivers provide wildlife diverse ecosystems. Grizzly bear, lynx, wolverine, deer, elk, gray wolf, moose, black bear, mountain lion, mountain goat and mountain sheep all call the area home. The Blackfoot River provides fishing opportunities for native cutthroat trout as well as rainbow trout, brown trout, and whitefish.
Nearby Attractions
The town of Lincoln, MT is located about 6 miles to the west and has several bars/restaurants, a grocery store, and a gas station. The Blackfoot Pathways: Sculpture in the Wild sculpture park is located 4 miles to the west on Highway 200. Several trailheads for both the Continental Divide Trail and the Scapegoat Wilderness are within a 15 mile drive.
What the agency tells you
Grizzly Bears and Black Bears are common in this area - Visitors must follow the Food Storage Order at all times. See kiosks for more details.
The stay limit at Aspen Grove is 16 days.
Check in after 2:00 PM. Check out before 2:00 PM
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 26
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 60 ft
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- “…24 individual sites. There are 3 vault toilets that service the campground and 2 dumpsters for…”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…2 dumpsters for trash disposal. Several spigots with potable water are located conveniently…”
- Stay limit
- 16 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- River, Creek, Meadow
- Fishing
- Swimming
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 23 of the 26 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 9
What you actually pay
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 4
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · record Aug 23, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
26 sites
All 26 sites
| Aspen Grove | Standard Sites | type not stated | |
| ExtraVehicleFee | ExtraVehicleFee | type not stated | |
| 01 | type not stated | ||
| 02 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 03 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 04 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 05 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 06 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 07 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 08 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 09 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 10 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 11 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 12 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 13 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 14 | standard nonelectric | ||
| 15 | standard nonelectric | 50 ft | |
| 16 | standard nonelectric | 20 ft | |
| 17 | standard nonelectric | 20 ft | |
| 18 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | |
| 19 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | |
| 20 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | |
| 21 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | |
| 22 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | |
| 23 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | |
| 24 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft |
25 of 26 listed