U.S. Forest Service · De Soto National Forest · MS

Big Biloxi Recreation Area

1Heads up1 fire 26 mi away
Wildfire
Navy Housing fire · 26 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 13, 2026
ReservableBookable through April 15; today opens April 16.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$14–$20Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
302 on recreation.gov
60 ftLongest rig
50 ftElevation
161 ftWater · an unnamed streamOcean · 13.4 mi · to the Gulf of Mexico
1.1 miSE of Saucier, MS
28%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there

In the agency’s own words

Big Biloxi Campground, located at the Big Biloxi Recreation Area, is a fully developed campground offering 25 campsites with water and electric hookups. The site also features a picnic area under a covered pavilion with tables and a grill. The site is located just off of Highway 49, which offers easy access to numerous recreations sites within the national forest as well as quick access to popular tourism sites along the Mississippi Gulf Coast. Keep reading

Facilities

Big Biloxi Campground has a restroom and shower facility and picnic pavilion and paved parking area.

Natural Features

Big Biloxi Campground is located just outside the town of Saucier, MS on the Big Biloxi River within De Soto National Forest.

Tents and rigs

Sites
30 · 1 group, 1 cabin
Hookups
1 electric, 26 water
Longest rig
60 ft
Accessible sites
26
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Little
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 23 of 26 campsite records, ACCESSIBLE FLUSH TOILETS on 23 of 26 campsite records
Showers
Accessible Showers
ACCESSIBLE SHOWERS on 23 of 26 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 13 of 26 campsite records, ACCESSIBLE DRINKING WATER on 8 of 26 campsite records, WATER SPIGOT on 8 of 26 campsite records
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
River, Coast
Night sky · 52nd darkest of 61 in MS
Bortle 4
Cell signal · Cell signal · Forest Service says
Yes
Fall color · reported 11 days ago, 32 km away
Patchy color
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (32 km) · Oct 5, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 2 of the 30 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 15, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 16, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$14–$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36–$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 19

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$14–$20
ScanPay 1$14
RV Electric$20
ScanPay 2$20
Group area, a night$40
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Payment of Fee is required before parking and setting up your campsite.
Campsites are available by reservation only.
Senior Pass/Access Pass accepted.
Rates & discounts are as follows: Campground site, (electricity & water included) - $20.00 Senior Pass/Access Pass discount - $ 13.00 Pavilion Reservation Fee - $40.00
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22–$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36–$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

30 sites

All 30 sites

Up to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 2 of the 30 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Big Biloxi Campground01type not stated45 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground02type not stated34 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground03type not stated40 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground04type not stated42 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground05type not stated34 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground06type not stated50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground07type not stated44 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground08type not stated44 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground09rv electric50 ampyes$20
Big Biloxi Campground10type not stated42 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground11type not stated52 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground12type not stated48 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground13type not stated26 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground14type not stated52 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground15type not stated60 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground16type not stated34 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground17type not stated30 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground18type not stated44 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground19type not stated40 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground20type not stated44 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground21type not stated42 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground22type not stated40 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground23type not stated40 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground24type not stated42 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi Campground25type not stated40 ft50 ampyes
Big Biloxi PavillionBig Biloxi Paviliongroup shelter nonelectric50 ampyes$40
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Scan and PayStandardtype not stated

25 of 30 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today89°Mostly Sunny7% rain
Tonight54°Partly Cloudy6% rain
Saturday72°Sunny
Saturday Night51°Clear

NWS forecast for Saucier, MS

Typical weather

Typical October night 57°F, day 79°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 41°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SAUCIER EXP FOREST, MS (USC00227840), 6 miles away and 179 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Mike Ezell, official portrait

Big Biloxi Recreation Area is in Mississippi’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Mike Ezell (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (32 km) · Oct 5, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own per-site records, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“the agency's own site records list "CELL PHONE SERVICE" on 8 of 30 campsites here”