U.S. Forest Service · Bridger National Forest · WY

Big Sandy Campground

ReservableBookable through November 30; December 1 opens June 1.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$7From, per site
Sites
98 on recreation.gov
Drawn from the record · 9,090 ft · 0% tree cover · Big Sandy River within reach · Bortle 2 sky
9,090 ftElevation
196 ftWater · Big Sandy River
23.7 miSW of Lander, WY
0%Tree cover
Bortle 2Night sky · 46th darkest of 248 in WY

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices

In the agency’s own words

Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (307) 367-4326.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Proper food storage is required in this campground. Please visit the Bridger-Teton National Forest website, http://www.fs.usda.gov/btnf/, for details on this forest regulation and other current information.

Rule

First come, First Served Sites

Rule

Coming with Atv's/ Utv's/ Dirtbikes? Be sure to purchase your Wyoming State ORV sticker!

Everything else this campground posts · 6
Rule

Garbage Service is NOT available, please "Pack it in, Pack it Out"

Rule

All pets must be leashed within Developed sites

Rule

14 Day Stay Limit

Rule

Quiet Hours 10pm-6am

Rule

No livestock allowed in campground, use the corrals at the trailhead

Rule

No drinking water available

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
9
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

Backpacking
Climbing
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Scenic drives
Stargazing
Wilderness access
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 14:24 UTC

recreation.gov lists 8 of the 9 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking windowThrough November 30Bookable now through November 30, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On December 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay13 nightsthe facility record
A night$7plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$22DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Tue, Jun 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$7
ScanPay Standard$7
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jun 1, 2026 to Nov 30, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$15
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$22

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $7 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 14:24 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

9 sites · the site map

All 9 sites

1 of 9 sites located
Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 9 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 9 of the 9 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Big Sandy1standard nonelectric$7
Big Sandy2standard nonelectric$7
Big Sandy3standard nonelectric$7
Big Sandy4standard nonelectric$7
Big Sandy5standard nonelectric$7
Big Sandy6standard nonelectric$7
Big Sandy7standard nonelectric$7
Big Sandy8standard nonelectric$7
Scan and PayStandardtype not stated196 ft162 ft$7

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today53°Sunny
Tonight31°Mostly Clear
Sunday50°Sunny
Sunday Night29°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Boulder, WY

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Harriet Hageman, official portrait

Big Sandy Campground is in Wyoming’s at-large congressional district. Its representative, Harriet Hageman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Boulder, WY, 21.6 mi E (a census designated place). Straight line.