U.S. Forest Service · Ocala National Forest · FL

Big Scrub Campground

ReservableBookable through April 16; today opens April 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:37 UTC
A night
$20–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4946 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
140 ftElevation
2.1 miWater · an unnamed pond
6.3 miE of Silver Springs Shores East, FL
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Perennially popular with off-road vehicle enthusiasts, Big Scrub Campground sits in the Ocala National Forest in central Florida. A trailhead within the facility offers riders campsite-to-trail access. 14 day stay limit in a 30 day period in ALL Ocala National Forest Campgrounds For reservations or refund request please call (877) 444-6777 Recreation Big Scrub Campground offers direct access to the 47-mile Ocala Adventure Trail. All off-road vehicle riders will enjoy exploring the Tread Lightly Four Wheel Drive Way. A permit is required for use of the trail system. Learn more about off-road vehicle use in Ocala National Forest. Keep reading

Facilities

Big Scrub can accommodate tents, campers and RVs. The campground is equipped with showers, restrooms and drinking water.

Natural Features

The Ocala National Forest spans four counties and 383,000 acres. It is the southernmost and oldest national forest east of the Mississippi River and protects the world's largest contiguous sand pine scrub forest. Miles of trails offer plenty of open space and blue skies for off-road vehicles. Contact Info This location has limited staffing. Please call (352) 625-2520 for general information.

Nearby Attractions

The warm, turquoise waters of Alexander Springs are a short drive away. Visitors can swim, canoe and dive in a natural spring-fed lake and creek.

What the agency tells you

Rule

A copy of the regulations for off-road vehicle use and camping may be obtained from the camp host

Rule

Camping fee covers 2 vehicles maximum

Rule

14 day stay limit

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

No person under 16 shall operate or ride an off-road vehicle without a Department of Transportation approved helmet and eye protection

Rule

Off-road vehicle operators must carry proof of registration/ownership for their vehicle and a have valid sticker; photo identification must be carried at all time for operators 16 and older; children under 16 encouraged to carry identification in case they become separated from supervising guardian; copies of identification are acceptable

Rule

Check-in time is 3:00 p.m. and check-out time is 11:00 a.m.

Rule

Main entrance gate opens at 8:00 a.m. and closes at 8:00 p.m.

Rule

If it is your intent to rent an RV or trailer from a third party entity, please note that the USDA Forest Service does not allow RV or trailer rentals to be pre-placed and/or delivered to the recreation area. The Reservation holder must drive the RV or trailer to the recreation area as it is their sole responsibility and alleviates the FS from any liability.    Any commercial business that operates on federal land is required to have a special use permit. 36 CFR 261.10 (K)(L)

Rule

Click here for more information about Ocala National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
49 · 10 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Paved pads
2 of 49
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Yes, the record doesn't say what kind
“The campground is equipped with showers, restrooms and drinking water.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…is equipped with showers, restrooms and drinking water. Natural Features The Ocala National Forest spans…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek
Picnicking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 45th darkest of 60 in FL
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

79 of 92 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:37 UTC

recreation.gov lists 46 of the 49 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$20–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$20–$30
Standard Nonelectric$20
Tent Only Nonelectric$20
Standard Electric$30
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Sites A and B = Full Hook up = $12 + $10 = $22 per night
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $20–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:37 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

49 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 46 mapped sites
61 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room038 45 ft039 45 ft029 48 ft

All 49 sites

48 of 49 sites located
Standard36Tent only10Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 49 of the 49 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

BIG SCRUB001standard nonelectric40 ft83 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB002standard nonelectric40 ft83 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB003standard nonelectric40 ft97 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB004standard nonelectric40 ft97 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB005standard nonelectric40 ft97 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB006standard nonelectric40 ft54 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB007standard nonelectric40 ft54 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB008standard nonelectric40 ft66 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB009standard nonelectric40 ft57 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB010standard nonelectric40 ft57 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB011standard nonelectric40 ft62 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB012standard nonelectric40 ft62 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB013standard nonelectric22 ft51 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB014standard nonelectric22 ft56 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB015standard nonelectric22 ft51 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB016standard nonelectric22 ft55 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB017standard nonelectric40 ft56 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB018standard nonelectric40 ft49 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB019standard nonelectric40 ft59 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB020standard nonelectric40 ft49 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB021standard nonelectric40 ft63 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB022standard nonelectric40 ft62 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB023standard nonelectric40 ft63 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB024standard nonelectric40 ft62 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB025standard nonelectric40 ft63 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB026standard nonelectric40 ft69 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB027standard nonelectric40 ft69 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB028standard nonelectric40 ft69 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB029standard nonelectric40 ft48 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB030standard nonelectric40 ft48 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB031standard nonelectric20 ft55 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB032standard nonelectric20 ft56 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB033standard nonelectric20 ft59 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB034standard nonelectric20 ft59 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB035standard nonelectric20 ft84 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB036standard nonelectric20 ft84 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB037tent only nonelectric20 ft56 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB038tent only nonelectric20 ft45 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB039tent only nonelectric20 ft45 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB040tent only nonelectric20 ft61 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB041tent only nonelectric20 ft62 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB042tent only nonelectric20 ft63 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB043tent only nonelectric40 ft63 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB044tent only nonelectric40 ft61 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB045tent only nonelectric40 ft61 ft2.3 mi$20
BIG SCRUB046tent only nonelectric40 ft67 ft2.3 mi$20
S&PS&P Singletype not stated40 ft$20
Sites A and BSite Atype not stated40 ft50/30 amp2.4 mi$20
Sites A and BSite Btype not stated40 ft50/30 amp2.4 mi$20

25 of 49 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate29.05028, -81.76250
The phone352-625-2520
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight71°Slight Chance Rain Showers19% rain
Saturday77°Slight Chance Showers And Thunderstorms19% rain
Saturday Night61°Partly Cloudy5% rain
Sunday76°Chance Rain Showers27% rain

NWS forecast for Silver Springs Shores East, FL

Typical weather

Typical October night 64°F, day 81°F.

100°40°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LISBON, FL (USC00085076), 12 miles away and 72 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Farles Prairie1,901 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Randy Fine, official portrait

Big Scrub Campground is in Florida’s 6th congressional district. Its representative, Randy Fine (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.