Bluff View(Clearwater Lake)
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $14–$20Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 6159 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices
In the agency’s own words
Bluff View Campground on Clearwater Lake greets visitors with excellent camping, fishing, swimming, boating and picnicking opportunities. Local wildlife includes wetland waterfowl, fox, deer, turkey, and geese. Bald eagles nest at Clearwater, and remain in the area year-round. Keep reading
Recreation
A trailhead for the Bluff View Nature Trail begins at the campground. This is a wonderful loop trail to look for wildlife among a mix of towering hardwood trees.
Facilities
Bluff View Campground offers 60 sites, including many with electric and water hookups. Additional amenities include a dump station, hot showers, boat ramp, playground, interpretive trail, public phones and a swimming area.
Natural Features
The lake, surrounded by the picturesque hills of the Ozarks, is fed by the Black River. Average temperatures range from 33 to 59 degrees Fahrenheit in March, and 65 to 92 degrees in summer.
Nearby Attractions
In the area, campers enjoy visiting traditional drive-in movie theaters, the Sam A. Baker State Park, local golf courses, and the historic Civil War site at Fort Benton.
What the agency tells you
Campsites are first come, first served outside of peak season
Site occupancy is limited to two camping units. One wheeled unit and one tent. Or the site may have two tents. Maximum of 10 people per site.
Firewood restrictions are in effect to prevent the spread of invasive insects and disease; Click here for more information
Everything else this campground posts · 3
Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.
Running of generators is prohibited between the hours of 10p.m. and 6a.m.
Operation of ATV's, UTV's and golf carts is prohibited within the developed recreation areas.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 61
- Hookups
- 50 electric, 34 water
- Longest rig
- 210 ft
- Paved pads
- 39 of 61
- Accessible sites
- 1
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Showers
- Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
- “Additional amenities include a dump station, hot showers, boat ramp, playground, interpretive trail, public phones and a swimming area.”
- Dump station
- Yes
- recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
- Boat ramp
- Yes
- Playground
- Yes
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River
- Boating
- Fishing
- Swimming
- Night sky · 43rd darkest of 118 in MO
- Bortle 3
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 59 of the 61 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 15
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
62 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 58 mapped sitesAll 62 records
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 58 of the 62 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| A | A01 | standard electric | 75 ft | 30 amp | 87 ft | 713 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A02 | standard electric | 60 ft | 30 amp | 35 ft | 771 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A03 | standard electric | 60 ft | 30 amp | 52 ft | 837 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A04 | standard electric | 54 ft | 30 amp | 77 ft | 899 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A05 | standard electric | 70 ft | 30 amp | 43 ft | 981 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A06 | standard electric | 33 ft | 30 amp | 43 ft | 964 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A07 | standard electric | 54 ft | 30 amp | 74 ft | 1,148 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A08 | standard electric | 63 ft | 30 amp | 74 ft | 1,101 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A09 | standard electric | 70 ft | 30 amp | 78 ft | 1,032 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A10 | standard electric | 105 ft | 30 amp | 35 ft | 787 ft | $16–$20 | |
| A | A11 | type not stated | 75 ft | 30 amp | 714 ft | |||
| A | A12 | standard nonelectric | 60 ft | 104 ft | 682 ft | $14 | ||
| A | A13 | standard nonelectric | 63 ft | 87 ft | 771 ft | $14 | ||
| A | A14 | type not stated | 60 ft | 30 amp | 593 ft | |||
| A | S1 | day use | 30 amp | 254 ft | 433 ft | $50 | ||
| B | B01 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 75 ft | 1,020 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B02 | standard electric | 66 ft | 50 amp | 81 ft | 1,003 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B03 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 74 ft | 1,024 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B04 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 82 ft | 1,088 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B05 | standard electric | 54 ft | 50 amp | 75 ft | 1,144 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B06 | standard electric | 60 ft | 50 amp | 75 ft | 1,204 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B07 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 68 ft | 1,223 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B08 | standard electric | 66 ft | 50 amp | 76 ft | 1,257 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B09 | standard electric | 70 ft | 50 amp | 86 ft | 1,302 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B10 | standard electric | 72 ft | 50 amp | 110 ft | 1,351 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B11 | standard electric | 70 ft | 50 amp | 173 ft | 1,208 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B12 | standard electric | 75 ft | 50 amp | 92 ft | 1,213 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B13 | standard electric | 66 ft | 50 amp | 76 ft | 1,182 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B14 | standard electric | 70 ft | 50 amp | 68 ft | 1,156 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B15 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 87 ft | 1,120 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B16 | standard electric | 66 ft | 50 amp | 75 ft | 1,071 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B17 | standard electric | 60 ft | 50 amp | 79 ft | 1,002 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B18 | standard electric | 70 ft | 50 amp | 74 ft | 950 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B19 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 81 ft | 925 ft | $16–$20 | |
| B | B20 | standard electric | 60 ft | 50 amp | 75 ft | 947 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C01 | standard electric | 57 ft | 50 amp | 72 ft | 935 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C02 | standard electric | 90 ft | 50 amp | 86 ft | 763 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C03 | standard electric | 66 ft | 50 amp | 54 ft | 619 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C04 | standard electric | 81 ft | 50 amp | 43 ft | 578 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C05 | standard electric | 210 ft | 50 amp | 43 ft | 546 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C06 | standard electric | 69 ft | 50 amp | 90 ft | 498 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C07 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 79 ft | 457 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C08 | standard electric | 49 ft | 50 amp | 71 ft | 424 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C09 | standard electric | 120 ft | 50 amp | 71 ft | 450 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C10 | standard electric | 96 ft | 50 amp | 71 ft | 503 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C11 | standard electric | 84 ft | 50 amp | 65 ft | 557 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C12 | standard electric | 60 ft | 50 amp | 65 ft | 610 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C13 | standard electric | 81 ft | 50 amp | 83 ft | 686 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C14 | standard electric | 78 ft | 50 amp | 89 ft | 810 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C15 | standard electric | 81 ft | 50 amp | yes | 72 ft | 885 ft | $16–$20 |
| C | C16 | standard electric | 90 ft | 50 amp | 43 ft | 514 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C17 | standard electric | 90 ft | 50 amp | 36 ft | 472 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C18 | standard electric | 93 ft | 50 amp | 36 ft | 437 ft | $16–$20 | |
| C | C19 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 63 ft | 374 ft | $16–$20 | |
| D | D01 | type not stated | 90 ft | 50 amp | 1,468 ft | |||
| D | D02 | standard nonelectric | 84 ft | 111 ft | 1,412 ft | $14 | ||
| D | D03 | standard nonelectric | 90 ft | 95 ft | 1,304 ft | $14 | ||
| D | D04 | standard nonelectric | 108 ft | 95 ft | 1,209 ft | $14 | ||
| D | D05 | standard nonelectric | 93 ft | 95 ft | 1,114 ft | $14 | ||
| D | D06 | standard nonelectric | 84 ft | 59 ft | 981 ft | $14 | ||
| D | D07 | standard nonelectric | 84 ft | 59 ft | 922 ft | $14 | ||
| D | GA1 | standard electric | 45 ft | 50 amp | $16–$20 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.
25 of 62 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Webb Creek Park2.5 mi
Piedmont Park2.9 mi
River Road Park3.6 mi
Highway K9.9 miMarkham Springs Recreation AreaMark Twain National Forest · 17 mi
Fuchs HouseMark Twain National Forest · 17 miThe campground is located 7 miles northwest of Piedmont, MO. From Piedmont on Highway 49, go 1 mile to Highway AA and turn left. Drive 6 miles on Highway AA, and the road will end in Bluff View Park.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Piedmont, MO
Typical weather
Typical October night 45°F, day 70°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 23°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
What threatens this place
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Bluff View(Clearwater Lake) is in Missouri’s 8th congressional district. Its representative, Jason Smith (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →