Box Elder Campground
- Right now
- Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
- A night
- $25.84From, per site
- Sites
- 3329 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices
In the agency’s own words
Box Elder Campground is situated next to the town of Mantua and Mantua Reservoir in a pretty mountain valley just 5 miles from Brigham City, Utah. Visitors enjoy boating, fishing and exploring area trails. Please click here for a corrected map of Box Elder Campground. Keep reading
Recreation
Mantua Reservoir is just one mile away, offering fishing, boating, canoeing and swimming. Horseback riding and hiking on local trails are also popular activities.
Facilities
Box Elder contains four group sites and several single-family sites. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided. Roads and parking spurs are gravel. A first-come, first-served picnic area is located within the campground.
Natural Features
A dense forest of bottomland hardwoods covers the campground, offering plentiful shade in most sites. Box Elder Creek flows gently through the campground.
Nearby Attractions
Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge contains nearly 80,000 acres of marsh, open water, uplands, and alkali mudflats. The marshes and open water are managed using a complex system of dikes and water control structures to provide a variety of water depths suitable for the needs of different waterbird species. The Refuge is an excellent place to observe wildlife along a 12-mile auto tour route, as well as enjoying hunting, fishing and wildlife photography. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (385) 273-1100.
Charges & Cancellations
Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount. You can cancel or change reservations through Recreation.gov or by calling 1-877-444-6777. Late Cancellations Overnight and Day Use Facilities: Late cancellations are those cancelled between 12:01 a.m. (Eastern) on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival. Individual Campsites: If a customer cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival they will be charged a $10.00 service fee and will also forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a single night's reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. Cabins / Lookouts: Customers will be charged a $10.00 cancellation fee and forfeit the first night's use fee if a cabin or lookout reservation is cancelled within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Facility: If a customer cancels a group overnight facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date they will forfeit the entire use fee. Group Day Use Area: If a customer cancels a group day use facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date, they will forfeit the total day use fee with no service fee charge. No-Shows Camping / Day Use: A camping no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Reserved campsites and group overnight facilities will be held until check-out time on the day following your scheduled arrival. Group day-use facilities will be held until check-in time on your scheduled arrival date. If a customer does not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by the times listed under "Late Cancellations" above, the customer may be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit use fees. Refunds Customers must request refunds no later than 14 days after the scheduled departure date. Recreation.gov will not grant refund requests after 14 days of departure. Reservation Fee: For some facilities, tours or permits an additional reservation fee is charged. For some overnight and day-use facilities, an additional non-refundable reservation fee may apply. The non-refundable reservation fee for tours and tickets is $1.00. The non-refundable reservation fee for permits varies by location. Refunds for Bankcard Purchases: Refunds for bank card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank card. Refunds for Check or Cash Purchases: Refunds for Recreation.gov payments made by check or money order, and cash payments at selected campgrounds will be issued a check refund. A refund will be processed within 30 days of receipt and approval. Please Note: Refund requests made during or after departure can only be processed when approved by the facility management staff based upon local policy. Refunds for Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team will attempt to notify users and offer alternate dates (as appropriate). If this is not possible, reservations will be cancelled and all fees paid will be refunded. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure. Recreation.gov Billing Information Reservation transaction will appear on customer's credit card statements as "Recreation.gov 877-444-6777." Changes to Policies and Procedures Recreation.gov reserves the right, when necessary, to modify reservation policies. These policies were last updated July 2018.
What the agency tells you
This Campground is in Bear Country Always store food and trash securely to avoid attracting wildlife -Failure to comply may result in fines up to $5,000, removal from your site and/or imprisonment Remember, a fed bear is a dead bear
Dogs or Domestic Pets Owners must -Control dogs by a leash not to exceed six feet (6’) at all times. -Clean up dog feces immediately. -Limit two dogs per site. Do not allow dogs to -Rush, threaten, or attack people/animals. -Obstruct/interfere with people, vehicles, or property. -Cause damage to vegetation, habitat, or harass wildlife.
Campground Etiquette and Rules Gates open at 7am, close at 10pm Quiet Hours are 10pm to 6am No generators after 10pm Camping is allowed only within the designated space provided Max occupancy is 8 people per single site Reserved sites will be held until 12pm on the day following your arrival date Horses/Off-road vehicles are prohibited in the campground Leave No Trace -Put all garbage in dumpsters, when provided, or properly stored in vehicle or bear box -Remove all personal property and trash when leaving -Unclean sites will be reported to the district ranger LEO -Leaving food/trash in an unoccupied site may result in a $5,000 fine Cleaning fish, animals, or bathing where drinking water is supplied is strictly prohibited Fireworks or other explosives are prohibited. Discharging of a firearm in the campground is not allowed No fighting or boisterous behavior. Keep noise to reasonable level No amplified music is allowed in USDA Forest Service campgrounds and facilities
Everything else this campground posts · 7
Trailers/Campers and RVs: Come with water tank filled. Hooking up to spigots or the power in the restrooms, even for medical devices is strictly prohibited
First Come First Served (FF) sites You must claim a FF site in person on the day you wish to check-in A site listed as FF does not guarantee availability, Recreation.gov does not update FF occupancy The only way to know if a FF site is available is to arrive at the campground on the day you plan to check-in. To claim a FF site, you must be physically present, occupy the site, and pay at that time Availability cannot be predicted Many sites are in remote locations, we cannot contact camp hosts about availability Recommended arrival times vary by day. Weekends and holidays typically fill more quickly
Extra vehicles $10 which is paid on site unless you paid for the Extra Vehicle Add On
Max Vehicle Length includes tow vehicle
Please understand that camping/picnicking is an outdoor experience; therefore, we do not give refunds or credits for weather or natural conditions Cancellations within 24 hours prior to arrival date will forfeit the entire use fee. Group Site Cancellations within 14 days will forfeit entire use fee No-shows, early departures, or cancellations after the arrival date are not entitled to a refund Failure to arrive at the campsite by 12pm the day after scheduled arrival and does not cancel the reservation, will forfeit site and first-night use fee
If you booked at a discount without a Senior or Access pass, you'll need to pay the difference in cash/check upon arrival. Only Senior or Access passes qualify for discounts and proof of ownership upon arrival is required
Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 33 · 15 tent-only, 4 group
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 40 ft
- Accessible sites
- 29
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Flush Toilets
- FLUSH TOILETS (SEASONAL) on 27 of 34 campsite records
- Drinking water
- Yes
- DRINKING WATER (PEAK SEASON) on 27 of 34 campsite records
Around the campground
- On the water
- Reservoir, River, Creek
- Boating
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Horseback riding
- Picnicking
- Night sky · 436th darkest of 458 in UT
- Bortle 4
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 29 of the 33 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 15
What you actually pay
“Cash, Check, or Scan & Pay (with recreation.gov app) 25 single sites - $29.00 , capacity - 8 people, 1 vehicle Group site A, B - $96.00 , capacity - 50 people, 9 vehicles Group site C - $246.00 , capacity - 125 people…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $25.84 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees - Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. - Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservat…” · this campground’s own no-show terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 7
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
34 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 29 mapped sitesAll 34 records
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 30 of the 34 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 33 of the 34 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| BOX1 | 001 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 124 ft | 85 ft | 544 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 002 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 102 ft | 87 ft | 428 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 003 | tent only nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 79 ft | 186 ft | 440 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 004 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 79 ft | 207 ft | 362 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 005 | standard nonelectric | 28 ft | yes | 70 ft | 244 ft | 265 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 006 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 70 ft | 185 ft | 237 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 007 | tent only nonelectric | 22 ft | yes | 98 ft | 255 ft | 178 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 008 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | yes | 98 ft | 176 ft | 94 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 009 | tent only nonelectric | 23 ft | yes | 69 ft | 229 ft | 112 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 010 | tent only nonelectric | 29 ft | yes | 57 ft | 215 ft | 69 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 011 | tent only nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 57 ft | 178 ft | 76 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 012 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | yes | 98 ft | 88 ft | 128 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 013 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 56 ft | 72 ft | 82 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 014 | tent only nonelectric | 30 ft | yes | 56 ft | 63 ft | 115 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 015 HOST | host pad | yes | 128 ft | 103 ft | $25.84–$219.21 | ||
| BOX1 | 016 | tent only nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 89 ft | 45 ft | 191 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 017 | tent only nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 62 ft | under 10 ft | 291 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 018 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | yes | 62 ft | 31 ft | 321 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX1 | 019 | tent only nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 94 ft | 91 ft | 338 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX2 | 020 | tent only nonelectric | 27 ft | yes | 74 ft | 116 ft | 529 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX2 | 021 | tent only nonelectric | 24 ft | yes | 74 ft | 115 ft | 521 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX2 | 022 | tent only nonelectric | 23 ft | yes | 45 ft | 42 ft | 393 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX2 | 023 | standard nonelectric | 27 ft | yes | 72 ft | 110 ft | 408 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX2 | 024 | tent only nonelectric | 27 ft | yes | 45 ft | 35 ft | 351 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX2 | 025 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 107 ft | 45 ft | 248 ft | $25.84 |
| BOX2 | 026 | tent only nonelectric | 25 ft | yes | 74 ft | 110 ft | 352 ft | $25.84 |
| GRP | GRP-A | group tent only area nonelectric | yes | 147 ft | 29 ft | 333 ft | $85.55 | |
| GRP | GRP-B | group standard area nonelectric | yes | 147 ft | under 10 ft | 186 ft | $85.55–$219.21 | |
| GRP | GRP-C | group standard area nonelectric | yes | 243 ft | 99 ft | 124 ft | $85.55–$219.21 | |
| GRP | GRP-D | group standard area nonelectric | yes | 553 ft | 75 ft | 569 ft | $85.55–$219.21 | |
| S&P | Group A & B | type not stated | $25.84–$219.21 | |||||
| S&P | Group C | type not stated | $25.84–$219.21 | |||||
| S&P | Group D | type not stated | $25.84–$219.21 | |||||
| S&P | Single | type not stated | 35 ft | Flush Toilets (seasonal) listed | $25.84–$219.21 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
25 of 34 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Shenoah Picnic AreaCache National Forest · 16 mi
Pioneer Campground (UT)Cache National Forest · 16 mi
Port Ramp Marina17 mi
Blacksmith Fork Guard StationCache National Forest · 18 mi
Anderson Cove (Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest, UT)Cache National Forest · 18 mi
Friendship CampgroundCache National Forest · 19 miFrom Highway 89/91, travel 4.5 miles east of Brigham City, Utah. Look for highway signing at the town of Mantua.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Mantua, UT
Typical weather
Typical October night 36°F, day 65°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 18°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Box Elder Campground is in Utah’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Blake Moore (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →