Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 31 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:52 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 10 of the next 10 nights read 15:52 UTC
A night
$20–$50Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
9859 on recreation.gov
45 ftLongest rig
1,160 ftElevation
269 ftWater · Allegheny River
2.5 miSE of Youngsville, PA
67%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices

In the agency’s own words

Buckaloons Campground sits at the confluence of the Allegheny River, Brokenstraw Creek and Irvine Run in northwestern Pennsylvania. This 61-site campground offers access to the Allegheny Wild & Scenic River and opportunities for boating, fishing, wildlife watching, and relaxing in a quiet, country atmosphere. Keep reading

Recreation

Water activities are a big draw to Buckaloons Recreation Area, including canoing, kayaying, rafting, and boating. The boat ramp provides easy access to the river. Buckaloons is the beginning of the second designated National Wild and Scenic RIver segment of the Allegheny River. The first segment is from Kinzua Dam to the Route 6 Glade Bridge on the east side of Warren, PA. The second segment runs from Buckaloons campground to Alcorn Island just upstream of Oil City, PA, a distance of nearly 50 miles. In this segment are the 6 islands of the Allegheny Islands Wilderness as well as many other publicly and privately owned islands. Several public boat launches are located within this segment to help you decide on the length of trip that's right for you. The Allegheny is a "family-friendly" river, with little to no whitewater - perfect for beginners or a lazy day of floating. Hunting, fishing, and trapping are permitted in the areas around the campground, subject to rules of the Pennsylvania Game Commission and the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission. Fishing includes walleye, trout, and bass. There is also hiking along the Seneca Interpretive Trail within the campground or at nearby Anders Run Natural Area.

Facilities

Buckaloons Recreation Area offers family campsites, double sites and a group tent site. Amenities include both flush and vault toilets, a pressurized water system, hot showers, a dump station and electric hookups. There is a one-lane concrete boat launch, a picnic area with tables and charcoal grills, pavilion, basketball court and playground. Hardened paths lead to fishing opportunities on the Allegheny River, Brokenstraw Creek and Irvine Run.

Natural Features

Once the site of an Indian trading post, the Buckaloons Recreation Center has numerous apple trees through the area, as well as mixed hardwoods. Water-loving species such as sycamore, willow, alder, silver maple, and butternut are frequent components of the riverine forest. Blue and green herons, bald eagles, egrets, and a variety of smaller birds can be seen along the Allegheny RIver. The Allegheny is classified as a warm-water fishery, but some cold-water species thrive as well. Freshwater mussels are abundant in species and number and indicate the high water quality of this river. Deer, bear, turkey, and squirrels are common, along with a variety of smaller mammals such as raccoon, opossum, and muskrat. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (814) 362-4613.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Drivers should be aware of low branches and power lines, especially at parking aprons

Rule

The water level in the Allegheny River is determined primarily by the outflow of Kinzua Dam. River users should check the release level with the Army Corps of Engineers to ensure safe boating flows. Low flows may expose large rocks hazardous to power boaters. High flows can be hazardous to small boaters and tubers.

Rule

Off-road vehicle use is not permitted in the campground

Everything else this campground posts · 9
Rule

This area of the river is not suitable for large boats

Rule

This area is popular with hunters; campers should wear bright fluorescent-colored clothing if hiking and/or camping during hunting seasons

Rule

Pets must be on a leash at all times and cannot be left unattended. Pets are not allowed on the beaches or in the water. Please clean-up after your pets.

Rule

Don't move firewood: To limit the spread of invasive tree-killing pests, firewood from outside the area is not permitted. Some states have quarantines and may confiscate your firewood. Please help protect our forests from invasive species by obtaining your firewood at or near your camping destination and burning it on-site. Visit dontmovefirewood.org for more information.

Rule

Please build fires only in the fire ring or grill provided. Dead material down on the ground can be used for fires but live trees, shrubs, and plants must not be cut or damaged.

Rule

Interagency passes are accepted at most sites and are valid for the pass holder and his vehicle only. Pass holder must occupy the site.

Rule

It is illegal to discharge weapons, firearms, or fireworks within the Recreation Area.

Rule

Check out time is 12:00 p.m. AND check in time is 2 p.m. Camping fees must be paid within 30 minutes after arrival. Put your site number and your license plate number on your fee envelope.

Rule

*Additional fees for group sites:  $5.00 per Wheeled unit (RV or Motorhome) $5.00 (additional) per night for each unit connecting to electric. Where available. $5.00 per day for each vehicle over allotted passes for site

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
98 · 1 group
Hookups
62 electric
Longest rig
45 ft
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed at 60 of 64 sites
Campfires
60 of 64 sites
Shade
67 of 90 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…site. Amenities include both flush and vault toilets, a pressurized water system, hot showers, a dump…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Amenities include both flush and vault toilets, a pressurized water system, hot showers, a dump station and electric hookups.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
River, Creek
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Kayaking
Night sky · 26th darkest of 48 in PA
Bortle 4
Fall color · reported yesterday, in Warren County
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by the county the report names · Oct 15, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:52 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 31 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 53 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:52 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 25Bookable now through October 25, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$20–$50plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48–$108DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 24

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$20–$50
S&P Standard Nonelectric/Tent Only$20
Standard Nonelectric$20
Standard Nonelectric$20
Tent Only Nonelectric$20
S&P Standard Electric$25
Standard Electric$25
Standard Electric$25
S&P Double Standard Nonelectric$40
Standard Nonelectric-Double$40
S&P Double Standard Electric$50
Standard Electric-Double$50
Group areas, a night$40–$85
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 1, 2026 to Oct 25, 2026.
Cancellations must be made through Recreation.gov
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28–$58
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48–$108

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $20–$50 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:52 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

101 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 48 mapped sites
78 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
89%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomMANAGEMENT SITES 024 58 ftMANAGEMENT SITES 025 58 ftMANAGEMENT SITES 009 63 ft

All 101 records

51 of 101 records located
Standard8RV / electric38Group1Type not stated3Day use1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 51 of the 101 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 98 of the 101 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

BUCK41standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
BUCK42standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
BUCK43standard nonelectric45 ft$20–$40
BUCK44standard nonelectric45 ft$20–$40
BUCK45type not stated30 ft$25
BUCK46standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK47standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK48standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK49standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK50standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK51standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK52standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK53standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK54standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK55standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK56standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK57standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK58standard nonelectric30 ft$20–$40
BUCK59standard nonelectric$20–$40
BUCK60standard nonelectric$20–$40
BUCK61standard nonelectric$20–$40
ELDB1type not stated45 ft50 amp$25
ELDB10standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB11standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB12standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB13standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB14standard electric45 ft50 amp$25–$50
ELDB15standard electric45 ft50 amp$25–$50
ELDB16standard electric45 ft30 amp89 ft196 ftIrvine Run131 ft$25–$50
ELDB17standard electric45 ft50 amp$25–$50
ELDB18standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB19standard electric45 ft50 amp$25–$50
ELDB2standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB20standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB21standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB22standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB23standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB24standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB25standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB26standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB27standard electric45 ft50 amp72 ft252 ftIrvine Run390 ft$25–$50
ELDB28type not stated45 ft30 amp336 ftIrvine Run339 ft$25
ELDB29standard electric45 ft50 amp72 ft291 ftIrvine Run322 ft$25–$50
ELDB3standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB30standard electric45 ft30 amp76 ft310 ftIrvine Run262 ft$25–$50
ELDB31standard electric30 ft50 amp78 ft321 ftIrvine Run254 ft$25–$50
ELDB32standard electric45 ft30 amp76 ft291 ftIrvine Run189 ft$25–$50
ELDB33standard electric45 ft30 amp94 ft315 ftIrvine Run124 ft$25–$50
ELDB34standard electric45 ft30 ampyes104 ft375 ftIrvine Run135 ft$25–$50
ELDB35standard electric35 ft50 amp78 ft331 ftIrvine Run224 ft$25–$50
ELDB36standard electric45 ft30 amp87 ft339 ftIrvine Run220 ft$25–$50
ELDB37standard electric20 ft30 amp87 ft322 ftIrvine Run248 ft$25–$50
ELDB38standard electric45 ft30 amp80 ft328 ftIrvine Run301 ft$25–$50
ELDB39standard electric30 ft30 amp76 ft339 ftIrvine Run307 ft$25–$50
ELDB4standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB40standard electric45 ft30 amp80 ft349 ftIrvine Run289 ft$25–$50
ELDB5standard electric45 ft50 amp$25–$50
ELDB6standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
ELDB7standard electric40 ft30 amp122 ft86 ftIrvine Run293 ft$25–$50
ELDB9standard electric45 ft30 amp$25–$50
GRPGroup Sitegroup standard nonelectric45 ft73 ft344 ftIrvine Run180 ft$40–$80
MANAGEMENT SITES002standard electric80 ft225 ftIrvine Run209 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES003standard electric74 ft172 ftIrvine Run287 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES004standard electric73 ft290 ftIrvine Run244 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES005standard electric74 ft154 ftIrvine Run352 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES006standard electric80 ft261 ftIrvine Run324 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES009standard electric63 ft121 ftIrvine Run225 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES010standard electric66 ft131 ftIrvine Run212 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES011standard electric63 ft171 ftIrvine Run172 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES012standard electric80 ft227 ftIrvine Run116 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES013standard electric71 ft175 ftIrvine Run136 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES014standard electric85 ft128 ftIrvine Run132 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES015standard electric64 ft108 ftIrvine Run184 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES017standard electric64 ft112 ftIrvine Run242 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES018standard electric72 ft184 ftIrvine Run241 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES019standard electric79 ft161 ftIrvine Run333 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES020standard electric79 ft237 ftIrvine Run359 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES021standard electric65 ft169 ftIrvine Run428 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES022standard electric65 ft174 ftIrvine Run489 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES023standard electric81 ft226 ftIrvine Run550 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES024standard electric58 ft304 ftIrvine Run576 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES025standard electric58 ft321 ftIrvine Run554 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES026type not stated264 ftIrvine Run449 ft$25
MANAGEMENT SITES041standard electric76 ft348 ftIrvine Run350 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES042standard electric78 ft321 ftIrvine Run285 ft$25–$50
MANAGEMENT SITES043standard nonelectric92 ft374 ftIrvine Run205 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITES044standard nonelectric92 ft453 ftIrvine Run163 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITES045type not stated429 ftIrvine Run231 ft$25
MANAGEMENT SITES046standard nonelectric78 ft433 ftIrvine Run390 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITES047standard nonelectric78 ft363 ftIrvine Run461 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITES048standard nonelectric72 ft278 ftIrvine Run525 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITES049standard nonelectric72 ft288 ftIrvine Run474 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITES050standard nonelectric121 ft168 ftIrvine Run579 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITES051standard nonelectric129 ft244 ftIrvine Run488 ft$20–$40
MANAGEMENT SITESXXXunnamed record40 ft$25
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX35unnamed record$25
PICNPAVIL1day use20 ft15 ampyes272 ft50 ft512 ft$85
S&PS&P Double Standard Electrictype not stated$25
S&PS&P Double Standard Nonelectrictype not stated$25
S&PS&P Standard Electrictype not stated$25
S&PS&P Standard Nonelectric/Tent Onlytype not stated$25

The agency files 3 more records here that aren’t sites for the night: 1 it files as day use and 2 it types MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 101 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate41.83972, -79.25639
The phone814-368-4158 (ALLEGHENY SITE MANAGEMENT, CAMPGROUND CONCESSI
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Take PA-6 to PA-62 South. Take the first right onto National Forge Road, then the first left into the campground. If coming up PA-62 from the south, cross the Allegheny River north of Tidioute and take the first left onto National Forge Road, then the first left into the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon71°Rain Showers79% rain
Tonight35°Rain Showers Likely71% rain
Saturday48°Mostly Sunny4% rain
Saturday Night27°Widespread Frost

NWS forecast for Starbrick, PA

Typical weather

Typical October night 41°F, day 61°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical February night 18°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WARREN, PA (USC00369298), 6 miles away and 50 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

developing
Roadless
Allegheny Front7,430 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Verbeck Island14 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 28, 2026

Who answers for this land

Glenn Thompson, official portrait

Buckaloons is in Pennsylvania’s 15th congressional district. Its representative, Glenn Thompson (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Glenn Thompson

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buckaloons, Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania

Dear Glenn Thompson,

I’m a constituent in Pennsylvania’s 15th district. I tried to camp at Buckaloons, Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 59 of the 98 campsites the agency files at Buckaloons, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buckaloons keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buckaloons. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buckaloons (Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania) via campanac.com
To David McCormick

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buckaloons, Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania

Dear David McCormick,

I’m a constituent in Pennsylvania. I tried to camp at Buckaloons, Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 59 of the 98 campsites the agency files at Buckaloons, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buckaloons keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buckaloons. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buckaloons (Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania) via campanac.com
To John Fetterman

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Buckaloons, Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania

Dear John Fetterman,

I’m a constituent in Pennsylvania. I tried to camp at Buckaloons, Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 59 of the 98 campsites the agency files at Buckaloons, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 31 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Buckaloons keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Buckaloons. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Buckaloons (Allegheny National Forest, Pennsylvania) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 10 of the next 10 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by the county the report names · Oct 15, 2026
Reported by: Pennsylvania DCNR, reported peak color · Oct 15, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Starbrick, PA, 0.9 mi W (a census designated place). Straight line.