U.S. Forest Service · Cleveland National Forest · CA

Burnt Rancheria

3Heads up3 fires, nearest 10 mi
Wildfire
Lost fire · 9.8 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Mtz/Sdu/Border 9 fire · 25 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Mutual Aid/Tnr fire · 29 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 13, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 54 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:08 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenInside the published season, our reading; a database flag says not open
A night
$35From, per site
Sites
10756 on recreation.gov
Season
April 1Opens April 1. No closing date published.
99 ftLongest rig
5,970 ftElevation
1.0 miWater · Agua Dulce Creek
3.7 miNE of Pine Valley, CA
22%Tree cover
Opens April 1. No closing date published.Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices

In the agency’s own words

Burnt Rancheria Campground is located 50 miles east of San Diego at the Laguna Mountain Recreation Area in Southern California, right off the Sunrise Scenic Byway. Campers can enjoy hiking, viewing unique birds and wildlife and enjoying cooler temperatures at this mountain facility in Cleveland National Forest, open from mid-April through October. Keep reading

Recreation

Day hiking and picnicking are most popular at Burnt Rancheria. The facility provides easy access to a segment of the Pacific Crest Trail, a 2,650-mile national scenic trail that runs from Mexico to Canada. Hiking and horseback riding are allowed on the trail. Biking is not allowed on any portion of the Pacific Crest Trail. A short hike to the nearby Desert View Picnic Site provides visitors with a bird's-eye view of the desert 6,000 feet below. On most days, the Salton Sea is clearly visible to the southeast. Restrooms and potable water are available. Families with children will enjoy activities, campfire programs and guided hikes available during summer. In addition to the guided hikes, a visitor might take the self-guided interpretive trail hike; brochures are available from the camp host. Campers can also get a glimpse of the amazing night sky at "star parties" organized by the San Diego State University Observatory. These gatherings are conducted on most Saturday evenings during the summer months (schedule can be obtained at the Visitor Information Center on Laguna Mountain or by calling 619-473-8547).

Facilities

Burnt Rancheria is a large campground with several loops of campsites. Each site has a table and campfire ring. There are no hookups or dump station for RVs; the nearest is located at the Buckman Springs Rest Area, 4 miles east of Pine Valley on I-8. The campground is equipped with restrooms and coin-operated showers (showers open only during reservation season). Firewood is available for purchase from the campground host.

Natural Features

Pines and oaks abound throughout the campground, which sits at an elevation of 6,000 ft. The site is heavily wooded and surrounded by an open oak grove with spectacular desert views. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (619) 354-8776.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This is Burnt Rancheria in the Cleveland National Forest east of San Diego; it is not Rancheria near Clovis in the Sierra National Forest

Rule

2 Pets per site only

Rule

Please Note: One RV with tow vehicle per single site or one vehicle per tent site. Most sites can accommodate 1 extra vehicle that is not included with the reservation fee. Extra vehicle will be charged a per night fee and collected at the campground.

Everything else this campground posts · 5
Rule

Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed. Wooden pallets are not allowed for campfires; During hot and dry summer months, fire restrictions are common and campfires may be prohibited

Rule

Reserved Sites will be held until check out time (NOON) the day following your arrival date. Sites must be occupied by the checkout time of that following day to hold a reservation or the site will be forfeited and released to other guests. Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Click here to learn more about Cleveland National Forest, or call 619-354-8776

Rule

Camping or otherwise occupying a single location (including leaving camping equipment and/or related supplies) for a period longer than 14 consecutive calendar days is prohibited. ‘Location’ means the occupied area, the occupied campsite, and the National Forest System lands in the immediate vicinity thereof. Camping or occupying any location on all National Forest lands for more than 28 calendar days total during a calendar year is prohibited.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
107 · 8 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
50 ft
Paved pads
60 of 107
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Yes, the record doesn't say what kind
“The campground is equipped with restrooms and coin-operated showers (showers open only during reservation season).”
Showers
Coin Showers
“The campground is equipped with restrooms and coin-operated showers (showers open only during reservation season).”
Drinking water
Yes
“…visible to the southeast. Restrooms and potable water are available. Families with children will enjoy…”
Dump station
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

Ranger programs
Visitor center
Night sky · 984th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:08 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 18Bookable now through October 18, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On October 25, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 25, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$35plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$78DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, Apr 25 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$35
Standard Nonelectric$35
Tent Only Nonelectric$35
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 25, 2026 to Oct 18, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$43
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$78

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $35 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:08 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

124 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 56 mapped sites
86 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLilac 004 51 ftLilac 005 51 ftLilac 010 60 ft

All 124 records

107 of 124 records located
Standard48Tent only8Type not stated51
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 107 of the 124 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 107 of the 124 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Amphitheater013standard nonelectric38 ft75 ft4,620 ft87 ft$35
Amphitheater014standard nonelectric42 ft76 ft4,517 ft157 ft$35
Amphitheater017standard nonelectric50 ft78 ft4,447 ft229 ft$35
Amphitheater018standard nonelectric50 ft87 ft4,342 ft346 ft$35
Amphitheater033standard nonelectric40 ft91 ft4,807 ft199 ft$35
Amphitheater035standard nonelectric25 ft83 ft4,729 ft85 ft$35
Amphitheater036tent only nonelectric30 ft83 ft4,523 ft169 ft$35
Amphitheater037tent only nonelectric30 ftyes252 ft4,852 ft180 ft$35
Amphitheater039standard nonelectric36 ft89 ft4,989 ft344 ft$35
Amphitheater041tent only nonelectric40 ft72 ft4,948 ft345 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA063type not stated1.0 mi278 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA064type not stated1.1 mi380 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA065type not stated1.1 mi421 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA066type not stated1.1 mi466 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA067type not stated1.1 mi596 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA068type not stated1.1 mi461 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA069type not stated1.1 mi721 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA070type not stated1.1 mi570 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA071type not stated1.2 mi824 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA072type not stated1.1 mi642 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA073type not stated1.2 mi1,032 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA074type not stated1.1 mi776 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA075type not stated1.2 mi929 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA076type not stated1.2 mi1,070 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA077type not stated1.2 mi1,113 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA078type not stated1.2 mi923 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA080type not stated1.2 mi802 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA081type not stated1.1 mi637 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA082type not stated1.1 mi405 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA083type not stated1.1 mi480 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA084type not stated1.1 mi453 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA085type not stated1.1 mi395 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA086type not stated1.1 mi385 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA087type not stated1.1 mi313 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA088type not stated1.1 mi90 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA089type not stated1.1 mi98 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA090type not stated1.1 mi87 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA091type not stated1.1 mi29 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA092type not stated1.0 mi110 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA093type not stated1.0 mi94 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA094type not stated1.0 mi285 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA095type not stated5,243 ft335 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA096type not stated1.0 mi189 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA097type not stated1.0 mi336 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA098type not stated5,159 ft276 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA099type not stated5,147 ft175 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA100type not stated1.0 mi233 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA101type not stated1.0 mi73 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA102type not stated5,203 ft152 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA103type not stated1.0 mi90 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA104type not stated1.0 mi69 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA105type not stated1.0 mi183 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA106type not stated1.0 mi180 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA107type not stated1.1 mi192 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA108type not stated1.0 mi116 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA62Atype not stated1.0 mi232 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIA62Btype not stated1.0 mi219 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXXunnamed record99 ft$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX48unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX49unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX50unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX51unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX52unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX53unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX54unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX55unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX56unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX57unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX58unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX59unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX60unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX61unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX62unnamed record$35
AREA BURNT RANCHERIAXXX63unnamed record$35
Lilac001type not stated35 ft4,174 ft270 ft$35
Lilac002standard nonelectric45 ft161 ft4,003 ft314 ft$35
Lilac003standard nonelectric45 ft93 ft3,947 ft253 ft$35
Lilac004standard nonelectric33 ft51 ft4,053 ft170 ft$35
Lilac005standard nonelectric30 ft51 ft4,033 ft160 ft$35
Lilac006standard nonelectric42 ft117 ft4,240 ft68 ft$35
Lilac008standard nonelectric36 ft77 ft4,392 ft237 ft$35
Lilac010standard nonelectric25 ft60 ft4,508 ft163 ft$35
Lilac012standard nonelectric48 ftyes72 ft4,579 ft107 ft$35
Lilac015standard nonelectric38 ft60 ft4,493 ft198 ft$35
Lilac016standard nonelectric50 ft80 ft4,404 ft273 ft$35
Lilac019standard nonelectric49 ft87 ft4,307 ft310 ft$35
Pinyon028standard nonelectric35 ft115 ft4,806 ft202 ft$35
Pinyon030standard nonelectric35 ft112 ft4,885 ft229 ft$35
Pinyon038tent only nonelectric25 ft89 ft5,068 ft358 ft$35
Pinyon040standard nonelectric25 ft108 ft5,047 ft339 ft$35
Pinyon042standard nonelectric49 ft72 ft4,987 ft366 ft$35
Pinyon043standard nonelectric40 ft91 ft4,763 ft264 ft$35
Pinyon044standard nonelectric45 ft79 ft4,831 ft241 ft$35
Pinyon045standard nonelectric36 ft79 ft4,868 ft168 ft$35
Pinyon046standard nonelectric45 ft99 ft4,965 ft123 ft$35
Pinyon047type not stated32 ft5,036 ft169 ft$35
Pinyon049standard nonelectric28 ft119 ft5,096 ft132 ft$35
Pinyon050tent only nonelectric108 ft5,206 ft207 ft$35
Pinyon051tent only nonelectric108 ft1.0 mi305 ft$35
Pinyon052standard nonelectric40 ft108 ft1.0 mi322 ft$35
Pinyon053standard nonelectric38 ft117 ft1.0 mi317 ft$35
Pinyon054standard nonelectric32 ft123 ft1.0 mi223 ft$35
Pinyon055standard nonelectric25 ft89 ft1.0 mi85 ft$35
Pinyon056standard nonelectric33 ft89 ft1.0 mi64 ft$35
Pinyon057standard nonelectric26 ft91 ft1.0 mi74 ft$35
Pinyon058standard nonelectric30 ft84 ft5,252 ft162 ft$35
Pinyon059standard nonelectric24 ft84 ft5,277 ft205 ft$35
Pinyon060type not stated40 ft5,195 ft248 ft$35
Pinyon061standard nonelectric22 ft119 ft5,204 ft324 ft$35
Yucca007standard nonelectric38 ft85 ft4,357 ft179 ft$35
Yucca009standard nonelectric25 ft77 ft4,438 ft210 ft$35
Yucca011type not stated40 ft4,496 ft151 ft$35
Yucca020standard nonelectric35 ft93 ft4,113 ft68 ft$35
Yucca021standard nonelectric40 ft61 ft4,238 ft123 ft$35
Yucca022standard nonelectric37 ft61 ft4,249 ft182 ft$35
Yucca023standard nonelectric30 ft71 ft4,399 ft319 ft$35
Yucca024standard nonelectric38 ft71 ft4,523 ft353 ft$35
Yucca025tent only nonelectric71 ft4,332 ft294 ft$35
Yucca026tent only nonelectric71 ft4,535 ft417 ft$35
Yucca027standard nonelectric50 ft84 ft4,597 ft420 ft$35
Yucca029standard nonelectric40 ft112 ft4,779 ft274 ft$35
Yucca031standard nonelectric50 ft106 ft4,802 ft325 ft$35
Yucca032standard nonelectric40 ft91 ft4,755 ft219 ft$35
Yucca034standard nonelectric40 ft83 ft4,697 ft110 ft$35

The agency files 17 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 124 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate32.86139, -116.41611
The phone619-473-0120
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Located 50 miles east of San Diego, California. From I-8 take the Sunrise exit. Go approximately 11 miles to Milepost 23. Stop at entrance for campground information and site location.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today60°Sunny3% rain
Tonight49°Slight Chance Rain Showers18% rain
Saturday55°Mostly Sunny4% rain
Saturday Night46°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Mount Laguna, CA

Typical weather

Typical April night 42°F, day 61°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical April night 42°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: PALOMAR MTN OBSY, CA (USC00046657), 43 miles away and 420 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Darrell Issa, official portrait

Burnt Rancheria is in California’s 48th congressional district. Its representative, Darrell Issa (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Darrell Issa

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Burnt Rancheria, Cleveland National Forest, California

Dear Darrell Issa,

I’m a constituent in California’s 48th district. I tried to camp at Burnt Rancheria, Cleveland National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 56 of the 107 campsites the agency files at Burnt Rancheria, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 54 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Burnt Rancheria keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Burnt Rancheria. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Burnt Rancheria (Cleveland National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Burnt Rancheria, Cleveland National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Burnt Rancheria, Cleveland National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 56 of the 107 campsites the agency files at Burnt Rancheria, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 54 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Burnt Rancheria keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Burnt Rancheria. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Burnt Rancheria (Cleveland National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Burnt Rancheria, Cleveland National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Burnt Rancheria, Cleveland National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 56 of the 107 campsites the agency files at Burnt Rancheria, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 54 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Burnt Rancheria keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Burnt Rancheria. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Burnt Rancheria (Cleveland National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Today falls inside the season the agency publishes, and it has posted nothing else. That reading is ours. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Mount Laguna, CA, 0.1 mi SE (a census designated place). Straight line.