U.S. Forest Service · Cherokee National Forest · TN

Cardens Bluff Campground

ReservableOut of season, no booking; October 26 opens April 26.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$12From, per site
Sites
41All of them booked ahead
30 ftLongest rig
2,060 ftElevation
237 ftWater · Watauga Lake
2.6 miNE of Hampton, TN
90%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 14 notices

In the agency’s own words

Cardens Bluff Campground is closed for the season. At nearly 2,000 feet elevation, Cardens Bluff Campground is located on a peninsula overlooking the 6,430-acre Watauga Lake in Carter County, TN. There are 43 sites, primarily for tent camping. There is a bathhouse with showers and flush toilets. No electrical hookups are provided. Day use areas are located nearby for those wanting to take advantage of swimming, boating, and fishing opportunities. Campground Hosts are on site to answer questions and assist with your visit. Keep reading

Recreation

Boating is popular for visitors to Cardens Bluff. Numerous campsites provide easy water access for kayaks, canoes and motorized boats. Swimming and fishing are also very popular activities at Cardens Bluff. Watauga Lake provides notably clean water for recreating.

Facilities

There are 43 campsites within Cardens Bluff Campground. Each section of the campground has flush toilets. In addition, there is an accessible shower house with eight showers for use by registered campers only.

Natural Features

Watauga Lake is a 6,430-acre hydroelectric reservoir managed by the Tennessee Valley Authority and surrounded by the Cherokee National Forest. Directly across the lake from the campground is the Big Laurel Branch Wilderness area, a rugged, undeveloped mountain range with only the Appalachian National Scenic Trail within its boundaries.

Nearby Attractions

The nearby Rat Branch Boat Launch is an easy quick drive from the campground for campers with motor boats. Shook Branch Swim Area is also nearby on the shores of Watauga Lake. Big Laurel Branch and Pond Mountain Wilderness areas are located north and south of the campground for more rugged, backcountry hiking.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Cardens Bluff Campground is now re-opened as of Thursday 9/3/26. If you have reservations starting Thursday 9/3/26, or after, your reservations are still active and good to go. Please familiarize yourself with the Food Storage Order. This campground does not have any Long-Term Camping programs.

Rule

Please note the lower bathroom near site 36 is damaged from Hurricane Helene and will remain closed. The bathroom near site 29 and the bathroom/showerhouse near site 19 will be the available bathrooms in the campground.

Rule

An RV counts as one of the two vehicles allowed at a site. All equipment must fit on the site pad. Vehicles park in developed areas only.

Everything else this campground posts · 11
Rule

There is no electricity/water/sewer site hook-ups at this facility. There is potable water within the campground at hydrants.

Rule

You are in Bear Country. Please adhere to the Cherokee National Forest Food and Refuse Storage Requirements. All food (unless actively being prepared and/or eaten), trash, and other scented items (hygiene products, pet food, etc) must be stored in a bear-resistant container (closed hard top vehicle or travel trailer) or suspended at least 12 ft. off the ground and 6 ft. from limbs. Please read the entire Food Storage Order located under the Facility Information tab and Additional Information section or by reading the Food Storage Order posted at the campground. Any campsites not in compliance will receive a ticket.

Rule

Check-out time is no later than 11 am EST on your departure day. You may check-in to the campground between 2 pm EST and 10 pm EST of your arrival date. If you have not checked-in before 2 pm EST the day after your arrival date, your site will be checked-out and will forfeit all fees.

Rule

Established quiet hours are between 10 pm EST and 7 am EST.

Rule

The gate is closed at 10:00 p.m. and reopens at 7:00 a.m. The gate is only opened at night for emergencies.

Rule

All pets must be on a 6' leash at all times. Owners must pick up after their pets, and all pet waste disposed of properly.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Rule

Use designated fire rings for all fires. Do not build additional fire rings. No burning plastic or other non-wood materials except local wood in fire pits and charcoal in grills.

Rule

Please note that most sites will only accommodate a tent. Sites #16, 28 and 29 can accommodate up to a 30 foot RV or trailer.

Rule

This facility does not allow alcohol.

Rule

It is your responsibility to read, know, understand, and follow all campground specific rules and regulations which are posted at the campground.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
41 · 34 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
30 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
7
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…There is a bathhouse with showers and flush toilets. No electrical hookups are provided. Day use areas…”
Showers
Accessible Showers
“In addition, there is an accessible shower house with eight showers for use by registered campers only.”
Boat ramp
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake
Auto Touring
Biking
Birding
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Kayaking
Mountain biking
Non-Motorized Boating
Scenic drives
Swimming
Night sky · 76th darkest of 95 in TN
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On October 26, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 26, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$12plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$32DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Apr 26 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$12
Standard Nonelectric$12
Tent Only Nonelectric$12
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 27, 2026 to Oct 12, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$20
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$32

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $12 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

43 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 40 mapped sites
56 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room024 20 ft029 20 ft040 34 ft

All 43 records

41 of 43 records located
Standard6Tent only32Type not stated1Host pad2
Takes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 23 of the 43 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 40 of the 43 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND001tent only nonelectric56 ft351 ft2,628 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND002standard nonelectric56 ft320 ft2,674 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND003tent only nonelectric55 ft301 ft2,845 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND004 - HOSThost pad55 ft314 ft2,891 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND005tent only nonelectric55 ft293 ft2,939 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND006tent only nonelectricyes51 ft277 ft2,980 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND007tent only nonelectric51 ft250 ft3,005 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND008tent only nonelectric$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND009tent only nonelectric108 ft284 ft3,111 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND010tent only nonelectric147 ft305 ft3,226 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND011 - Hosthost pad82 ft303 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND012tent only nonelectric$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND013tent only nonelectric101 ft216 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND014tent only nonelectric75 ft205 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND015tent only nonelectric75 ft224 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND016standard nonelectric20 ft84 ft279 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND017tent only nonelectricyes62 ft332 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND018tent only nonelectric53 ft351 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND019tent only nonelectricyes53 ft354 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND020tent only nonelectricyes101 ft282 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND021tent only nonelectric90 ft220 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND022tent only nonelectric197 ft156 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND023tent only nonelectric49 ft89 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND024tent only nonelectric20 ft103 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND025standard nonelectricyes56 ft121 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND026tent only nonelectric58 ft136 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND027standard nonelectric44 ft122 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND028standard nonelectricyes44 ft124 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND029standard nonelectric30 ftyes20 ft84 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND030tent only nonelectric37 ft141 ft3,220 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND031tent only nonelectric37 ft124 ft3,188 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND032tent only nonelectric62 ft138 ft3,151 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND033tent only nonelectric56 ft142 ft3,118 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND034tent only nonelectric43 ft120 ft3,081 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND035tent only nonelectric43 ft119 ft3,056 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND036tent only nonelectric95 ft167 ft2,926 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND037type not stated168 ft2,877 ft
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND038tent only nonelectric70 ft125 ft2,776 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND039tent only nonelectric44 ft85 ft2,762 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND040tent only nonelectric34 ft80 ft2,754 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND041tent only nonelectric34 ft49 ft2,721 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND042tent only nonelectric93 ft174 ft2,748 ft$12
CARDENS BLUFF CAMPGROUND043tent only nonelectric187 ft180 ft3,031 ft$12

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It names them host pads. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 43 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight43°Rain Showers88% rain
Saturday53°Rain Showers Likely then Mostly Cloudy71% rain
Saturday Night34°Mostly Clear then Areas Of Frost
Sunday64°Widespread Frost then Sunny

NWS forecast for Hampton, TN

Typical weather

Typical October night 44°F, day 70°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 26°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ELIZABETHTON, TN (USC00402806), 8 miles away and 573 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Big Laurel Branch Addition5,577 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Stone Mountain5,367 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Slide Hollow4,057 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Diana Harshbarger, official portrait

Cardens Bluff Campground is in Tennessee’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Diana Harshbarger (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.