ReservableBookable through April 16; today opens April 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:03 UTC
A night
$18–$28Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
146108 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
540 ftElevation
1,167 ftWater · Greers Ferry Lake
3.1 miSE of Clinton, AR
65%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Choctaw Park is located on the spacious Greers Ferry Lake nestled in the foothills of the Ozark Mountains. In the 19th century, a city named Higden flourished where the lake now rests. The city suffered from frequent flooding and as a result a man-made lake was created for flood control of the area. Today, the city's remains sit below the lake, enticing scuba divers and archeologists alike. Keep reading

Recreation

Whether a visitor prefers boating, water skiing, fishing, swimming or scuba diving, Greers Ferry Lake has it all. The river tributaries keep anglers entertained, as they produce some of the largest walleye in the world; the record breaker was a whopping 23 lbs. In spring, the countryside becomes a photographer's paradise with wildflowers, redbud and dogwood trees in full bloom.

Facilities

Choctaw Park offers 106 sites, 85 of which have electrical hookups. Campers can enjoy the hot showers, group picnic shelter, boat ramp, playground, swimming area and public marina.

Natural Features

Greers Ferry Lake spans 30,000 acres of north-central Arkansas. The dam creating the reservoir stands at the foot of the beautiful Round Mountain, with water trickling through to the Little Red River.

Nearby Attractions

Explore the quaint historic towns around the lake for shopping and dining. The William Carl Garner Visitor Center is just west of the dam, with exhibits, a children's touch table, and a replica of the world record 40 lb. 4 oz. brown trout caught in the Little Red River downstream of the center. Contact Info For local information, please call (501) 745-8320 or call (501) 362-2416 for general information.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Attendant is on duty during peak season.

Rule

One wheeled camping unit and two tents or four tents are allowed per site. Maximum of 8 occupants per site.

Rule

ATV's, golf carts or off-road vehicles are prohibited.

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

For more information on Greers Ferry Lake, click HERE .

Rule

STOP THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE SPECIES. Remove plants, seeds, animals, and mud from boots, gear, pets, and vehicles. Clean your gear before entering and leaving the recreation site. Stay on designated roads and trails, and follow local guidelines for firewood. CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY boats and any other recreational equipment that contacts water. Dispose of unwanted bait, worms, fish parts, or other organisms into the trash and not into the environment. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
146
Hookups
85 electric, 24 water
Longest rig
99 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Campers can enjoy the hot showers, group picnic shelter, boat ramp, playground, swimming area and public marina.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River
Boating
Swimming
Night sky · 98th darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

107 of 212 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 16:03 UTC

recreation.gov lists 108 of the 146 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$18–$28plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$44–$64DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$18–$28
Standard Nonelectric$18
30/20 Amp Electric$22
50 Amp Electric$24
50 Amp and Water$28
Group area, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$26–$36
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$44–$64

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $18–$28 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:03 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

148 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 106 mapped sites
76 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
95%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomB05 22 ftB06 22 ftC02 30 ft

All 148 records

146 of 148 records located
Standard21RV / electric85Type not stated40
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 106 of the 148 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AA01standard electric47 ft50 amp148 ft1,114 ft$22–$28
AA02standard electric47 ft50 amp111 ft992 ft$22–$28
AA03standard electric99 ft50 amp110 ft893 ft$22–$28
AA04standard electric71 ft50 amp110 ft805 ft$22–$28
AA05standard electric95 ft50 amp104 ft713 ft$22–$28
AA06standard electric67 ft50 amp104 ft640 ft$22–$28
AA07standard electric44 ft30 amp75 ft221 ft$22–$28
AA08standard electric50 ft30 amp79 ft486 ft$22–$28
AA09standard electric31 ft30 amp87 ft265 ft$22–$28
AA10standard electric36 ft30 amp65 ft456 ft$22–$28
AA11standard electric52 ft30 amp84 ft367 ft$22–$28
AA12standard electric43 ft30 amp67 ft461 ft$22–$28
AA13standard electric54 ft30 amp92 ft538 ft$22–$28
AA14standard electric97 ft30 amp84 ft446 ft$22–$28
AA15standard electric42 ft30 amp91 ft378 ft$22–$28
AA16standard electric61 ft30 amp37 ft318 ft$22–$28
AA17standard electric38 ft30 amp80 ft221 ft$22–$28
AA18standard electric41 ft30 amp54 ft251 ft$22–$28
AA19standard electric39 ft30 amp63 ft219 ft$22–$28
AA20standard electric65 ft30 amp82 ft298 ft$22–$28
AA21standard electric43 ft30 amp34 ft372 ft$22–$28
AA22standard electric34 ft30 amp61 ft369 ft$22–$28
AA23standard electric49 ft30 amp95 ft479 ft$22–$28
AA24standard electric38 ft30 amp65 ft455 ft$22–$28
AA25standard electric51 ft30 amp100 ft366 ft$22–$28
AA26standard electric57 ft30 amp63 ft274 ft$22–$28
AA27standard electric55 ft30 amp68 ft459 ft$22–$28
AA28standard electric47 ft30 amp100 ft564 ft$22–$28
BB01type not stated80 ft30 amp199 ft
BB01standard electric75 ft30 amp54 ft197 ft$22–$28
BB02standard electric37 ft30 amp39 ft259 ft$22–$28
BB03standard electric48 ft30 amp39 ft221 ft$22–$28
BB03type not stated45 ft30 amp230 ft
BB04standard electric66 ft30 amp37 ft305 ft$22–$28
BB04type not stated55 ft30 amp308 ft
BB05standard electric39 ft30 amp22 ft343 ft$22–$28
BB06standard electric56 ft30 amp22 ft353 ft$22–$28
BB07standard electric61 ft30 amp90 ft256 ft$22–$28
BB07type not stated54 ft30 amp253 ft
BB08standard electric50 ft30 amp35 ft342 ft$22–$28
BB09standard electric33 ft30 amp34 ft365 ft$22–$28
BB10standard electric41 ft30 amp74 ft276 ft$22–$28
BB11standard electric58 ft30 amp94 ft184 ft$22–$28
BB12standard electric30 ft30 amp80 ft196 ft$22–$28
BB13standard electric38 ft30 amp80 ft219 ft$22–$28
BB14standard electric63 ft30 amp209 ft94 ft$22–$28
CC01standard electric66 ft50 amp84 ft1,333 ft$22–$28
CC02standard electric65 ft50 amp30 ft1,316 ft$22–$28
CC03standard electric54 ft50 amp59 ft1,386 ft$22–$28
CC04standard electric60 ft50 amp58 ft1,383 ft$22–$28
CC05standard electric63 ft50 amp30 ft1,320 ft$22–$28
CC06standard electric52 ft50 amp59 ft1,309 ft$22–$28
CC07standard electric57 ft50 amp58 ft1,338 ft$22–$28
CC07Atype not stated65 ft30 amp1,287 ft
CC08standard electric56 ft50 amp61 ft1,241 ft$22–$28
CC09standard electric68 ft50 amp57 ft1,181 ft$22–$28
CC10standard electric65 ft50 amp62 ft1,226 ft$22–$28
CC11standard electric65 ft50 amp62 ft1,165 ft$22–$28
CC12standard electric60 ft50 amp57 ft1,124 ft$22–$28
CC13standard electric67 ft50 amp79 ft1,041 ft$22–$28
CC14standard electric62 ft50 amp45 ft1,059 ft$22–$28
CC15standard electric65 ft50 amp45 ft1,015 ft$22–$28
CC16standard electric90 ft50 amp35 ft957 ft$22–$28
CC17standard electric99 ft50 amp35 ft922 ft$22–$28
CC18standard electric66 ft50 amp149 ft930 ft$22–$28
CC18Atype not stated70 ft30 amp932 ft
CC19standard electric77 ft30 amp79 ft718 ft$22–$28
CC20standard electric40 ft30 amp65 ft648 ft$22–$28
CC21standard electric68 ft30 amp69 ft602 ft$22–$28
CC22standard electric47 ft30 amp52 ft598 ft$22–$28
CC23standard electric59 ft30 amp40 ft549 ft$22–$28
CC24standard electric61 ft30 amp52 ft563 ft$22–$28
CC25standard electric45 ft30 amp40 ft515 ft$22–$28
CC26standard electric85 ft30 amp49 ft507 ft$22–$28
CC27standard electric41 ft30 amp67 ft456 ft$22–$28
CC28standard electric95 ft30 amp49 ft502 ft$22–$28
CC29standard electric50 ft30 amp53 ft501 ft$22–$28
CC30standard electric35 ft30 amp75 ft513 ft$22–$28
ChoctawChoctaw Shelter AMday use30 amp$50
ChoctawChoctaw Shelter PMday use30 amp$50
DD01standard electric58 ft50 amp79 ft222 ft$22–$28
DD02standard electric64 ft50 amp63 ft253 ft$22–$28
DD03standard electric59 ft50 amp63 ft289 ft$22–$28
DD04standard electric66 ft50 amp86 ft203 ft$22–$28
DD05standard electric66 ft50 amp71 ft283 ft$22–$28
DD06standard electric64 ft50 amp98 ft269 ft$22–$28
DD07standard electric64 ft50 amp88 ft284 ft$22–$28
DD08standard electric58 ft50 amp88 ft261 ft$22–$28
DD09standard electric64 ft50 amp90 ft366 ft$22–$28
DD10standard electric65 ft50 amp93 ft366 ft$22–$28
DD11standard electric64 ft50 amp90 ft445 ft$22–$28
DD12standard electric58 ft50 amp98 ft432 ft$22–$28
DD13standard electric68 ft50 amp77 ft541 ft$22–$28
DD14standard nonelectric54 ft77 ft579 ft$18
DD15standard nonelectric45 ft74 ft406 ft$18
DD16standard nonelectric45 ft74 ft336 ft$18
DD17standard nonelectric45 ft81 ft429 ft$18
DD18standard nonelectric50 ft97 ft319 ft$18
DD19standard nonelectric55 ft99 ft413 ft$18
DD20standard nonelectric49 ft95 ft406 ft$18
DD21standard nonelectric45 ft99 ft314 ft$18
DD22standard nonelectric48 ft95 ft405 ft$18
DD23standard nonelectric47 ft97 ft318 ft$18
DD24standard nonelectric48 ft74 ft353 ft$18
DD25standard nonelectric55 ft74 ft422 ft$18
DD26standard nonelectric55 ft98 ft462 ft$18
DD27standard nonelectric50 ft109 ft690 ft$18
DD28standard nonelectric50 ft109 ft735 ft$18
DD29standard nonelectric56 ft84 ft656 ft$18
DD30standard nonelectric63 ft101 ft612 ft$18
DD31standard nonelectric58 ft108 ft524 ft$18
DD32standard nonelectric52 ft84 ft616 ft$18
DD33standard nonelectric56 ft101 ft622 ft$18
DD34standard nonelectric50 ft101 ft523 ft$18
EE01type not stated50 ft420 ft
EE01Atype not stated50 ft403 ft
EE02type not stated49 ft279 ft
EE03type not stated56 ft246 ft
EE03Atype not stated50 ft247 ft
EE04type not stated33 ft284 ft
EE04Atype not stated33 ft285 ft
EE05type not stated45 ft197 ft
EE06type not stated41 ft259 ft
EE07type not stated48 ft183 ft
EE07Atype not stated48 ft182 ft
EE08type not stated50 ft261 ft
EE09type not stated43 ft220 ft
EE09Atype not stated43 ft218 ft
EE10type not stated63 ft329 ft
EE11type not stated48 ft168 ft
EE11Atype not stated48 ft177 ft
EE12type not stated24 ft248 ft
EE12Atype not stated24 ft243 ft
EE13type not stated50 ft302 ft
EE14type not stated39 ft214 ft
EE14Atype not stated39 ft217 ft
EE15type not stated38 ft225 ft
EE15Atype not stated38 ft336 ft
EE16type not stated65 ft193 ft
EE16Atype not stated65 ft191 ft
EE17type not stated48 ft277 ft
EE18type not stated52 ft258 ft
EE19type not stated56 ft359 ft
EE20type not stated60 ft426 ft
EE21type not stated52 ft483 ft
EE22type not stated50 ft497 ft
EE23type not stated64 ft432 ft
EE24type not stated50 ft522 ft

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 148 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate35.53556, -92.38111
The phone501-745-8320
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Clinton, AR, take US 65 5 miles south to AR 330 then 3.5 miles east. Follow signs into campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight41°Mostly Clear
Saturday65°Sunny
Saturday Night38°Clear
Sunday71°Sunny

NWS forecast for Clinton, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 46°F, day 74°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GREENBRIER, AR (USC00032962), 20 miles away and 202 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

J. French Hill, official portrait

Choctaw is in Arkansas’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, J. French Hill (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.