U.S. Forest Service · William B. Bankhead National Forest · AL

Clear Creek (AL)

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 85 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:52 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 15 nights read 15:52 UTC
A night
$38–$60Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
163105 on recreation.gov
49 ftLongest rig
540 ftElevation
260 ftWater · Lewis Smith Lake
7.4 miN of Jasper, AL
79%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

The Clear Creek Recreation Area has become one of Alabama's most popular recreation areas and has many repeat visitors. The Bankhead National Forest’s largest recreation area, Clear Creek is in Winston County about 13 miles north of Jasper, ALlabama and was constructed on the shore of Lewis Smith Lake giving direct recreational access to the lake via the day use boat launch, to boating, water skiing, personal watercraft use, as well as fishing for largemouth bass, striped bass, and crappie. Keep reading

With many modern conveniences, it offers facilities for individual and group camping, picnicking, swimming, boat launching, hiking, and biking. Check-out time for Clear Creek is no later than 12:00pm the day of departure. Check-in time is no earlier than 2:00pm . This 2 hour window allows our staff adequate time to clean and maintain each site. The campground itself has four paved loops with paved parking spurs, and offers 102 RV campsites, including 32 double sites; 11 of these are pull-through sites. Each campsite has water and electrical hookups, a fire ring, picnic table, and lantern posts. All campsites have 50-amp and 30-amp electrical service. There is a trailer dump station located within the recreation area. Each of the four loops has a bathhouse with flush toilets and showers. All sites are level and spacious; Single campsites accommodate up to six people and two vehicles; double sites up to twelve people and four vehicles. No garbage dumpsters are in the campground; users are required to pack out trash and deposit it in the dumpsters by the dump station. An entrance station with an electronic gate is available to control access to the campground. Two group camping areas, available by reservation only, accommodate up to 25 tent campers each and share a bathhouse with flushing toilets and showers. The day use portion of the recreation area focuses on the swimming beach, served by a bathhouse with flushing toilets and showers. Next to the beach is a 50-person group picnic pavilion, with a flush toilet. On the other side of the beach lies a picnic area with 53 family units, all connected by newly paved paths. On the point, adjacent to the lake, are two more 50-person picnic pavilions, served by a nearby flush toilet. A 1.5-mile paved bicycle trail connects the campground to the day use area. Also, there is the 2.5-mile recently paved Raven Cliffs hiking trail in the day use area. Use of the picnic pavilions is by reservation only; users also pay the day use fee as they park in the facility. A year-round boat launch is available with an SST vault toilet and boat/trailer parking. Welcome to the Clear Creek Recreation Area... Use the Recreation.gov Mobile App. Visitors on-the-go can use the Recreation.gov mobile app to reserve and pay for upcoming stays, reducing the need for on-site transactions and cash handling. Download the Recreation.gov app through the Apple App Store or on Google Play. Functionality of the iPhone app available here... Functionality of the Android app available here...

Recreation

The campground has a basketball and volleyball court, and horseshoe pit. Interpretive programs are hosted during the summer. Day-use visitors and campers have access to a boat ramp and swim beach. The lake provides excellent fishing for Kentucky Spotted Bass and Hybrid Striped Bass. There are two trails in the area; the 2.5-mile Raven Interpretive Trail and a 1.5-mile bicycle trail.

Facilities

All facilities are wheelchair accessible. Flush toilets, drinking water and showers are offered for both campers and day use visitors. The campground offers standard sites with electric and water hook-ups, as well as tent-only non-electric sites for groups. Sites contain paved parking spurs, picnic tables, grills and tent pads.

Natural Features

The 180,000+ acre Bankhead National Forest is in northwestern Alabama, and its prominent feature is the Sipsey Wilderness . Known as "The Land of a Thousand Waterfalls," the Sipsey is at the juncture of three separate geologic areas: the Appalachian Plateau, the Cumberland Plateau and the Coastal Plain. The vegetation from these three unique environments blend into a remarkable diversity of species, with overlapping ranges creating many unusual plant associations. The Sipsey is a 12,726 acre area of swift streams, waterfalls, sandstone cliffs, undisturbed gorges, majestic hardwood forests, wildflowers, birds, animals and is home to Alabama's largest tree, a tulip poplar with a 21-foot circumference at its base. Lewis-Smith Lake (or Smith Lake) is located in the counties of Cullman, Walker and Winston. The 300-foot high dam, completed in 1961 by Alabama Power Company, impounds the Sipsey Fork of the Black Warrior River to form the lake. Smith Lake has a surface area of 21,200 acres, 500 miles of shoreline, a watershed area of 944 square miles, a retention time of 435 days, and a maximum depth of 264 feet. What's Happening in Your Alabama National Forest Video Nearby Attractions Four nearby attractions within Bankhead National Forest are: The Little Natural Bridge is the longest rock arch east of the Rockies. It was formed 200 million years ago when the sea washed the sandstone away leaving iron ore veins holding the bridge. In this area thrive 27 varieties of Ferns and a number of Canadian Hemlocks traced to the Ice Age. Satellite Map of Natural Bridge Park The 19th-century Pine Torch Church is one of the oldest churches in Alabama and one of only four surviving log churches. The church is located in the Bankhead Forest in Lawrence County at the intersection of Country Roads 70 and 73 Several online sources say it was built in the 1890s but a sign at the site claims in was built in the 1840s. According to legend, Pine Torch got its name from the pine knots that were set ablaze to light the building after dark. It is made of hand-hewn logs. The original floor, made of hand-hewn poplar planks, was stolen piece-by-piece and was replaced in 1940, according to a historic marker at the site. The original roof was made of hand-split wooden shingles. It was later replaced with tin. Behind the church is a cemetery whose grounds are covered with sand to make maintenance easier. A newer and larger wooden church was built at the back of the property. It is still in use. Satellite Map of the Pine Torch Church The Houston Civil War Jail - Houston, Alabama served as the first county seat for Winston County. The area known today as Winston County was originally established in 1850 as Hancock County, named after John Hancock, signer of the Declaration of Independence. In 1858 the county was renamed Winston after the first native-born governor of Alabama, John Anthony Winston. Old Houston, located a few miles away from present day Houston, was the first county seat. Citizens voted to move the county seat to present day Houston in the late 1850's and a log jail was constructed at that time. The jail burned during the Civil War and was rebuilt in 1868. The Houston jail was built of hand-hewn logs filled with nails to prevent prisoners from "sawing their way to freedom". The jail held prisoners and provided a site for court. In 1884 the county seat was moved from Houston to present day Double Springs. Houston Historical Society Discover the Incredible Variety of Habitats and Birds in the Bankhead National Forest. Birding on the Bankhead

What the agency tells you

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Rule

Connect to nature in The National Forests of Alabama.

Rule

SWIM AREA IS CLOSED FOR THE SEASON Check-out is no later than 12:00pm the day of departure. Check-in is no earlier than 2:00pm the day of arrival. This 2 hour window is necessary to effectively clean and maintain all of the sites each day.  Entrance office hours are Monday - Thursday 12 a.m. - 4 p.m. & Friday - Sunday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. The Day Use Area is open from 8 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Office hours vary from August to October, please call ahead. Swim Area closes after Labor Day. After-hours access for registered campers is available by calling ahead to (205) 300-1463 - Be sure to reserve a site that will accommodate your equipment because the site you reserve is your site, you may not move to another site.  Single sites 2 tents or 1 tent & 1 camper/RV. Double sites 4 tents or 2 tents & 1 camper/RV. Tents must be on the pad not in the grass or woods. Double sites are for 12 people and up to 4 vehicles. Single sites are for 6 people and up to 2 vehicles. Additional vehicles can be permitted ($10 daily fee) and parked in over/flow day use area. If you have more than the recommend people you must reserve another site. All visitors must pay $10 . - Alcohol is not allowed in the Recreation Area.   - Campground has a two tent maximum per single site. Two vehicles for registered campers only.  If it does not fit on your paved site you must park in overflow. - There is a fee of $10 for additional camping vehicles that will be collected at the office. All visitors must purchase a $10 pass and park at the swim area and be picked up by the camper you are visiting.   - To see what our campground has to offer you can tour it Monday - Thursday during office hours. A $10 refundable fee if you are out with-in 30 minutes. - Animals/Dogs are allowed in the campground on a 6 ft. or less leash. No animals/dogs are allowed at the beach or grass areas. Welcome to the Clear Creek Recreation Area...

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Rules for National Forest Visitors

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Boating

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Canoeing

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Caves

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Heat Waves

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Hunting

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | If You Get Lost

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Lightning

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Pet Dogs

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Swimming & Boating

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Tornadoes

Rule

Forest Service - Know Before You Go | Preparing to Visit a National Forest | Waterfalls

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
163 · 2 tent-only, 2 group
Hookups
100 electric, 103 water, 1 sewer
Longest rig
49 ft
Paved pads
103 of 163
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets · Vault Toilets
“…of the four loops has a bathhouse with flush toilets and showers. All sites are level and spacious;… / …boat launch is available with an SST vault toilet and boat/trailer parking. Welcome to the Clear…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Each of the four loops has a bathhouse with flush toilets and showers.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…wheelchair accessible. Flush toilets, drinking water and showers are offered for both campers and day…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, River, Creek, Beach
Biking
Birding
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Ranger programs
Kayaking
Motor Boat
Paddling
Picnicking
Stargazing
Swimming
Water access
Night sky · 30th darkest of 41 in AL
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:52 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 85 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 93 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:52 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 13, 2027 through September 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through September 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$38–$60plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$84–$128DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Mar 13 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$38–$60
Standard Electric$38
Tent Only Electric - Single$38
Tent Only Electric - Double$52
Standard Electric- Double Site$60
Group areas, a night$52–$85
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 13, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“Additional vehicles can be permitted ($10 daily fee) and parked in over/flow day use area.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$46–$68
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$84–$128

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $38–$60 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:52 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

168 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 102 mapped sites
95 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomHoot Owl 35 28 ftFawn 62D 28 ftFawn 61 54 ft

27 sites share one published coordinate and are left out of the rankings.

All 168 records

166 of 168 records located
RV / electric100Group2Type not stated61Day use3
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 163 of the 168 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AcornAcorn Campgroup tent only area nonelectric20 ft600 ft244 ft$85
Bayleaf LoopBayleaf Pavillion Group Picnic Areaday useyesunder 10 ft$52–$58
Bear100standard electric50 amp179 ft766 ft$38–$60
Bear101standard electric35 ft50 amp179 ft618 ft$38–$60
Bear102Dstandard electric50 amp161 ft628 ft$38–$60
Bear103standard electric50 amp161 ft468 ft$38–$60
Bear104standard electric50 amp126 ft492 ft$38–$60
Bear105standard electric50 amp117 ft711 ft$38–$60
Bear84standard electric50 amp141 ft146 ft$38–$60
Bear85standard electric50 amp161 ft549 ft$38–$60
Bear86Dstandard electric50 amp135 ft389 ft$38–$60
Bear87standard electric50 amp135 ft427 ft$38–$60
Bear88standard electric50 amp157 ft427 ft$38–$60
Bear89standard electric50 amp157 ft579 ft$38–$60
Bear90standard electric50 amp126 ft533 ft$38–$60
Bear92standard electric50 amp117 ft795 ft$38–$60
Bear94Dstandard electric50 amp125 ft874 ft$38–$60
Bear96standard electric50 amp175 ft977 ft$38–$60
Bear97Dstandard electric50 amp141 ft1,150 ft$38–$60
Bear98Dstandard electric50 amp141 ft1,032 ft$38–$60
Bear99standard electric50 amp225 ft911 ft$38–$60
Bent Twig LoopBent Twig Campgroup tent only area nonelectric20 ft600 ft45 ft$85
Elm LoopElm Pavillion Group Picnic Areaday useyes90 ft$52–$58
Fawn61standard electric50 amp54 ft266 ft$38–$60
Fawn62Dstandard electric50 amp28 ft197 ft$38–$60
Fawn63standard electric50 amp68 ft207 ft$38–$60
Fawn64standard electric50 amp91 ft239 ft$38–$60
Fawn65Dstandard electric50 amp111 ft123 ft$38–$60
Fawn66standard electric50 amp92 ft255 ft$38–$60
Fawn67Dstandard electric50 amp111 ft159 ft$38–$60
Fawn68standard electric50 amp114 ft288 ft$38–$60
Fawn69Dstandard electric50 amp112 ft219 ft$38–$60
Fawn70standard electric48 ft50 amp83 ft366 ft$38–$60
Fawn71standard electric50 amp83 ft416 ft$38–$60
Fawn72standard electric50 amp126 ft423 ft$38–$60
Fawn74Dstandard electric49 ft50 amp95 ft372 ft$38–$60
Fawn75standard electric50 amp139 ft385 ft$38–$60
Fawn76standard electric39 ft50 amp87 ft239 ft$38–$60
Fawn77standard electric50 amp95 ft313 ft$38–$60
Fawn78Dstandard electric50 amp87 ft195 ft$38–$60
Fawn79Dstandard electric50 amp96 ft165 ft$38–$60
Fawn80standard electric50 amp96 ft194 ft$38–$60
Fawn81standard electric50 amp99 ft217 ft$38–$60
Fawn82standard electric50 amp98 ft96 ft$38–$60
Fawn83standard electric50 amp118 ftunder 10 ft$38–$60
Fox01standard electric50 amp173 ft$38–$60
Fox02Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft260 ft$38–$60
Fox03Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft303 ft$38–$60
Fox04Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft105 ft$38–$60
Fox05standard electric50 amp84 ft11 ft$38–$60
Fox06standard electric50 amp108 ft$38–$60
Fox07standard electric50 amp108 ft$38–$60
Fox08standard electric50 amp84 ft51 ft$38–$60
Fox09standard electric50 amp84 ft133 ft$38–$60
Fox10Dstandard electric50 amp314 ft$38–$60
Fox11Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft124 ft$38–$60
Fox12Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft114 ft$38–$60
Fox13standard electric50 amp84 ft266 ft$38–$60
Fox14Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft115 ft$38–$60
Fox15standard electric50 amp84 ft200 ft$38–$60
Fox16Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft99 ft$38–$60
Fox17standard electric50 amp116 ft$38–$60
Fox18standard electric50 amp84 ft28 ft$38–$60
Fox19standard electric50 ampyes116 ft$38–$60
Fox20standard electric50 amp132 ft156 ft$38–$60
Fox21standard electric50 amp109 ft$38–$60
Fox22standard electric50 amp109 ft$38–$60
Fox23Dstandard electric50 amp324 ft$38–$60
Fox24Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft124 ft$38–$60
Fox25Dstandard electric50 amp324 ft$38–$60
Fox26Dstandard electric50 amp173 ft$38–$60
Fox27standard electric50 amp84 ft137 ft$38–$60
Fox28standard electric50 amp84 ft229 ft$38–$60
Fox29standard electric50 amp262 ft$38–$60
Fox30standard electric50 amp324 ft$38–$60
Fox31standard electric50 amp262 ft$38–$60
Fox32standard electric50 amp314 ft$38–$60
Fox33Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft302 ft$38–$60
Fox34type not stated50 amp302 ft$24
Hoot Owl35standard electric50 amp28 ft169 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl36Dstandard electric50 amp304 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl37standard electric50 amp304 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl38standard electric50 amp68 ft151 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl39standard electric50 amp149 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl40Dstandard electric50 amp149 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl41Dstandard electric50 amp226 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl42standard electric50 amp84 ft125 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl43standard electric50 amp111 ft42 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl44Dstandard electric50 amp199 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl45standard electric50 amp199 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl46Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft101 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl47standard electric50 amp84 ft118 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl48standard electric50 amp101 ft173 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl49standard electric50 amp101 ft89 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl50standard electric50 amp101 ftunder 10 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl51standard electric50 amp226 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl52standard electric50 amp173 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl53standard electric50 amp84 ft154 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl54Dstandard electric50 amp173 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl55standard electric50 amp101 ft73 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl56Dstandard electric50 amp132 ft41 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl57standard electric50 amp230 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl58Dstandard electric50 amp84 ft166 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl59standard electric50 amp230 ft$38–$60
Hoot Owl60standard electric50 amp84 ft267 ft$38–$60
MANAGEMENT SITES001type not stated252 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES005type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES006type not stated15 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES007type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES008type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES009type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES013type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES015type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES017type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES018type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES019type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES020type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES021type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES022type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES027type not stated152 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES028type not stated281 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES029type not stated134 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES02Dtype not stated274 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES030type not stated267 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES031type not stated123 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES032type not stated134 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES034type not stated38 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES035type not stated264 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES037type not stated328 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES038type not stated290 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES039type not stated235 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES042type not stated160 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES043type not stated125 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES045type not stated86 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES047type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES048type not stated79 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES049type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES04Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES050type not stated31 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES051type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES052type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES053type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES055type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES057type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES059type not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES060type not stated71 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES10Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES11Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES12Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES14Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES16Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES23Dtype not stated113 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES24Dtype not stated39 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES25Dtype not stated277 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES26Dtype not stated197 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES33Dtype not stated125 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES36Dtype not stated248 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES40Dtype not stated162 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES41Dtype not stated203 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES44Dtype not stated197 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES46Dtype not stated107 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES54Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES56Dtype not statedunder 10 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES58Dtype not stated44 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITES73Dtype not stated372 ft$24
MANAGEMENT SITESXXXunnamed record45 ft50 amp$24
MANAGEMENT SITESXXX83unnamed record$24
Oak LoopOak Pavillion Group Picnic Areaday use15 ampyes194 ft$52–$58

The agency files 5 more records here that aren’t sites for the night: 3 it files as day use and 2 it types MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 168 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.02139, -87.26917
The phone205-300-1463
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Jasper travel approx. 5 miles north on State Road 195 to Manchester, 8.5 miles north on County Road 27 to entrance. 

From Double Springs travel approx. 12 miles south on State Road 195 to Lamon Chapel Road go to the end and turn left on County Road 27 for 2 miles to entrance. Satellite Map

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today64°Sunny
Tonight41°Clear
Sunday68°Sunny
Sunday Night39°Clear

NWS forecast for Arley, AL

Typical weather

Typical October night 49°F, day 74°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 31°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: JASPER, AL (USC00014226), 9 miles away and 54 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Robert Aderholt, official portrait

Clear Creek (AL) is in Alabama’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Robert Aderholt (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Robert B. Aderholt

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Clear Creek (AL), William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama

Dear Robert B. Aderholt,

I’m a constituent in Alabama’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Clear Creek (AL), William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 105 of the 163 campsites the agency files at Clear Creek (AL), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 85 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Clear Creek (AL) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Clear Creek (AL). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Clear Creek (AL) (William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama) via campanac.com
To Katie Boyd Britt

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Clear Creek (AL), William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama

Dear Katie Boyd Britt,

I’m a constituent in Alabama. I tried to camp at Clear Creek (AL), William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 105 of the 163 campsites the agency files at Clear Creek (AL), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 85 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Clear Creek (AL) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Clear Creek (AL). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Clear Creek (AL) (William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama) via campanac.com
To Tommy Tuberville

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Clear Creek (AL), William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama

Dear Tommy Tuberville,

I’m a constituent in Alabama. I tried to camp at Clear Creek (AL), William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 105 of the 163 campsites the agency files at Clear Creek (AL), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 85 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Clear Creek (AL) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Clear Creek (AL). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Clear Creek (AL) (William B. Bankhead National Forest, Alabama) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 15 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Arley, AL, 3.7 mi SW. Straight line.