U.S. Forest Service · Homochitto National Forest · MS

Clear Springs Recreation Area (MS)

1Heads up1 fire 17 mi away
Wildfire
Amite Kahnville Rd fire · 17 mi away · 190 acres · 100% contained · updated Oct 9, 2026
ReservableBookable through April 16; today opens April 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:29 UTC
A night
$7–$40Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2724 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
350 ftElevation
1,106 ftWater · an unnamed stream
19.4 miSE of Fayette, MS
96%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there

In the agency’s own words

This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. Only pay for a site that you have verified as vacant. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. This campground has 22 campsites and is generally open all year long. This location may be inaccessible at any time during the year due to weather and road conditions. Keep reading

Recreation

Visitors will be able to bike, hike, canoe, fish, and view wildlife.

Facilities

Facilities include camping, with 22 units with hookups for water and electricity. A group camp site(reservation required) 8 picnic tables within the day use area; A pavilion for 25-30 people(reservation required). Flush toilets and hot showers; A one mile hiking trail around the lake; An amphitheater. 10 miles hiking/mountain biking trail.

Natural Features

Clear Springs Recreation Areas is nestled in a secluded area of roling hills. The area, surrounded by tall stands of pine and mixed hardwood treees, provide visitors with a shady forest atmostpehere. A 10 acre lake connects both camping areas. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (601) 384-5876.

Nearby Attractions

Okhissa lake is a 1,075 acre lake approximately 15 minutes away from the campground. It has a swim area, day use area, one boat launch. Fish that can be caught include catfish, largemouth bass, crappie, bluegill and other small panfish.

Tents and rigs

Sites
27 · 1 group, 1 cabin
Hookups
23 electric, 22 water
Longest rig
99 ft
Paved pads
23 of 27
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
20 of 22 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 1 of 26 campsite records, ACCESSIBLE FLUSH TOILETS on 1 of 26 campsite records
Showers
Accessible Showers
ACCESSIBLE SHOWERS on 1 of 26 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 1 of 26 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: counted from this campground’s own campsite records, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Amphitheater
Biking
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Kayaking
Mountain biking
Picnicking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 3rd darkest of 61 in MS
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

3 of 24 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:29 UTC

recreation.gov lists 24 of the 27 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
A night$7–$40plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$22–$88DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 18

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$7–$40
ScanPay 3$7
ScanPay 1$14
S&P Lower$20
S&P Upper Loop$20
ScanPay 2$20
ScanPay 4$40
Group areas, a night$40
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$15–$48
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$22–$88

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $7–$40 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:29 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

28 records

All 28 records

SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 27 of the 28 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Lower01rv electric45 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower02rv electric33 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower03rv electric36 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower04rv electric32 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower05rv electric51 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower06rv electric48 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower07rv electric42 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower08rv electric35 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower09rv electric35 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower10rv electric44 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower11rv electric40 ft30/50 amp$20
Lower12rv electric43 ft30/50 amp$20
LowerGroup Pavilionday useyes$40
Lower LoopSites 1-12type not stated30 amp$7–$40
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated$7–$40
Scan and PayStandardtype not stated$7–$40
Upper13rv electric23 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper14rv electric59 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper15rv electric61 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper16rv electric30 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper17rv electric44 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper18rv electric39 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper19rv electric47 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper20rv electric33 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper21rv electric57 ft30/50 amp$20
Upper22rv electric99 ft30 amp$20
UpperGroup Campsitegroup shelter electric99 ft50 amp$40
Upper LoopSites 13-22type not stated$7–$40

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 28 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight50°Mostly Clear
Saturday71°Sunny
Saturday Night46°Clear
Sunday74°Sunny

NWS forecast for Meadville, MS

Typical weather

Typical October night 54°F, day 80°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 36°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MEADVILLE, MS (USC00225704), 6 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Bennie Thompson, official portrait

Clear Springs Recreation Area (MS) is in Mississippi’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Bennie Thompson (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Meadville, MS, 5.2 mi WSW. Straight line.