U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · AL

Cochrane Campground

3Heads up3 fires, nearest 40 mi
Wildfire
000457 Roadside fire · 40 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
000456 Roadside fire · 40 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
106 fire · 42 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
ReservableBookable through October 31; the next season isn't published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 30 nights read 15:41 UTC
A night
$32–$34Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6052 on recreation.gov
130 ftElevation
262 ftWater · Bogue Chitto, a river
5.1 miSW of Aliceville, AL
34%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 12th darkest of 41 in AL

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 1 notices

In the agency’s own words

Cochrane Campground on Gainesville Lake of the Tennessee Tombigbee Waterway offers a unique recreational experience for outdoor enthusiasts. Keep reading

Recreation

Boating, fishing, and hunting may be done from Cochrane Campground. Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Hunting Permit and information can be found on Recreation.gov searching for Tennessee Tombigbee Waterway Hunting Permit.

Facilities

The 60 "Class A" campsites provide concrete pads, picnic tables, grills, lantern posts, fire rings, electrical and water connections, and plenty of shade.

Nearby Attractions

Nearby Aliceville, Alabama has amenities such as grocery and hardware stores, restaurants, and pharmacies. Aliceville also has the Aliceville Museum and Cultural Arts Center.

What the agency tells you

Rule

LOCAL CAMPING POLICIES  A limit of 8 people per site. The America The Beautiful Senior and Access cards are accepted at this campground for discount camping. When making a reservation only one card can be used on one reservation. If multiple reservations are made with one card one reservation will receive the discount and the others will have to pay the full price upon check-in. A camping extension is no more than 14 additional camping days beyond a camper’s initial 14 day camping limit. For each camping extension granted, a camping party cannot exceed 14 days per extension and can only pay for 14 days at a time. Peak Season Extension Policy: Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Campgrounds. After the initial 14 day stay one extension is allowed on a non-prime site for a total of 28 days during peak season (March 1- Sept. 15). At the end of this 28 day stay the camper and equipment must move to another campground on the project but may return to the campground after 7 days. If camping on a prime site the camper must move to a non-prime site after the initial 14 day stay.   Off Season Extension Policy: Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Campgrounds. After the initial 14 day stay no more than one extension will be allowed on a non-prime site for a total of 28 days during the off season (Sept. 13 -Feb. 28). At the end of this 28 day stay the camper and equipment must move to another campground on the project but may return to the campground after 7 days. Length of stay on a prime site during the off season remains limited to 14 days. A camper may stay on a prime site 14 days, and move to a non-prime site for 14 days. Extensions beyond the 14 day limit will not be granted during major summer holidays. Please turn in all passes to the park attendant when leaving the campground. Only empty boat trailers are allowed to be parked on grass.

Tents and rigs

Sites
60
Hookups
52 electric, 52 water
Paved pads
49 of 60
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

68 of 102 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:41 UTC

recreation.gov lists 52 of the 60 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBookedClosed

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. The season after it isn't published yet.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$32–$34plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$72–$76DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$32–$34
Non-Prime$32
Prime Site$34
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$40–$42
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$72–$76

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $32–$34 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:41 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

60 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 52 mapped sites
65 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomSite 19 14 ftSite 20 14 ftSite 21 35 ft

All 60 sites

60 of 60 sites located
RV / electric52Type not stated8
SleepsUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 52 of the 60 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

CochraneSite 1standard electric30/50 amp47 ft605 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 10standard electric30/50 amp77 ft361 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 11type not stated366 ft
CochraneSite 12type not stated204 ft
CochraneSite 13standard electric68 ft153 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 14standard electric61 ft112 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 15standard electric61 ft93 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 16standard electric137 ftunder 10 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 17standard electric38 ft53 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 18standard electric38 ft77 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 19standard electricyes15 ft77 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 2standard electric30/50 amp47 ft615 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 20standard electric15 ft62 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 21standard electric35 ft127 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 22standard electric60 ft99 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 23standard electric60 ft94 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 24standard electric129 ft103 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 25type not stated114 ft
CochraneSite 26standard electric128 ft100 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 27type not stated63 ftTombigbee River
CochraneSite 28type not stated114 ftTombigbee River
CochraneSite 29standard electric73 ft103 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 3standard electric30/50 amp73 ft516 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 30standard electric71 ft114 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 31standard electric71 ft135 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 32standard electric55 ft129 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 33standard electric55 ft133 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 34standard electric30 amp102 ft122 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 35standard electric51 ft160 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 36type not stated110 ftTombigbee River
CochraneSite 37standard electric57 ft106 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 38standard electric57 ft116 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 39standard electric55 ft120 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 4standard electric30/50 amp73 ft467 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 40standard electric55 ft126 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 41standard electric30 amp116 ft189 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 42standard electric54 ft243 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 43standard electric54 ft297 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 44standard electric65 ft212 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 45standard electric65 ft190 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 46standard electric70 ft186 ftLower Cedar Creek$32–$34
CochraneSite 47standard electric70 ft189 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 48standard electric51 ft194 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 49standard electric62 ft215 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 5standard electric30/50 amp93 ft385 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 50standard electric113 ft158 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 51standard electric73 ft207 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 52standard electric73 ft176 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 53standard electric87 ft142 ftTombigbee River$32–$34
CochraneSite 54standard electric35 ft148 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 55standard electric58 ft146 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 56standard electricyes57 ft126 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 57standard electric139 ft229 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 58standard electric164 ft320 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 59type not stated400 ft
CochraneSite 6standard electric30/50 amp79 ft326 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 60type not stated392 ft
CochraneSite 7standard electric30/50 amp79 ft319 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 8standard electric30/50 amp65 ft336 ft$32–$34
CochraneSite 9standard electric30/50 amp65 ft342 ft$32–$34

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 60 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight49°Clear1% rain
Saturday68°Sunny
Saturday Night44°Clear
Sunday71°Sunny

NWS forecast for Memphis, AL

Typical weather

Typical October night 51°F, day 76°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 33°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MACON 3N, MS (USC00225361), 18 miles away and 120 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Terri Sewell, official portrait

Cochrane Campground is in Alabama’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Terri Sewell (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Memphis, AL, 3.8 mi SSE. Straight line.