U.S. Forest Service · Deschutes National Forest · OR

Cultus Lake Campground

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 43 mi
Wildfire
Summit fire · 43 mi away · 32 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
Wildfire
408 fire · 46 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 21 opens May 21.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$21–$22.83Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5453 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
4,710 ftElevation
479 ftWater · Cultus Lake
16.6 miW of Three Rivers, OR
65%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 11 notices

In the agency’s own words

Cultus Lake is one of the few lakes along the Cascade Lakes National Scenic Byway that allows high speed motorized water craft. Cultus Lake Campground offers opportunities for waterskiing, windsurfing, swimming, sailing and jet skiing, as well as, access to trails leading into the Three Sisters Wilderness. Keep reading

Recreation

Cultus Lake Campground offers opportunities for waterskiing, windsurfing, swimming, sailing and jet skiing, as well as, access to trails leading into the Three Sisters Wilderness. Campers have the option to launch their boat from a walk-in boat launch located within the campground or the more developed boat launch located within the day use area.

Facilities

Cultus Lake Campground offers visitors 55 campsites suitable for tents, trailers and RVs under 30 feet. Larger RVs are not recommended due to narrow roads and smaller campsite sizes. The majority of campsites are well-shaded by the tree canopy with many sites offering water-front access. This facility has a number of vault toilets interspersed throughout the campground while each site comes equipped with a picnic table and a fire pit.

Nearby Attractions

Cultus Lake Campground is located on the shore of Cultus Lake just a few miles off the Cascade Lakes Highway. The campground offers visitors access to boating on Cultus Lake, hiking in the Three Sisters Wilderness and exploring the rich volcanic hisotry of Central Oregon's Cascades.

Charges & Cancellations

Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This facility is pet friendly so long as animals are picked up after and kept on their leashes.

Rule

Prevent the spread of invasive species by inspecting and cleaning packs, equipment and tires before using trails.

Rule

Please Note: One RV with tow vehicle per single site or one vehicle per tent site. Most sites can accommodate 1 extra vehicle that is not included with the reservation fee. Extra vehicle will be charged a per night fee and collected at the campground.

Everything else this campground posts · 8
Rule

Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.

Rule

During your time in Central Oregon, you can find wildfire, prescribed fire and smoke information at centraloregonfire.org

Rule

Reserved Sites will be held until check out time (NOON) the day following your arrival date. Sites must be occupied by the checkout time of that following day to hold a reservation or the site will be forfeited and released to other guests. Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.

Rule

Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee. This fee is retained by the reservation service contractor along with the non-refundable reservation fee. All requests for the return of the non-refundable reservation fee and the cancellation fee will be declined by the campground concessionaire as they did not receive these fees (these are the fees retained by the reservation contractor, a different entity).

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Click here for more information about Deschutes National Forest

Rule

Camping or otherwise occupying a single location (including leaving camping equipment and/or related supplies) for a period longer than 14 consecutive calendar days is prohibited. ‘Location’ means the occupied area, the occupied campsite, and the National Forest System lands in the immediate vicinity thereof. Camping or occupying any location on all National Forest lands for more than 28 calendar days total during a calendar year is prohibited.

Rule

NO generator use is allowed in campgrounds between 10:00PM and 7:00AM (36 CFR 261.10). Silent power banks or battery powered devices are allowed.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
54
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…access. This facility has a number of vault toilets interspersed throughout the campground while each…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
28 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Amphitheater
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Jet Skiing
Motor Boat
Mountain biking
Night sky · 323rd darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 53 of the 54 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 21, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 21, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay28 nightsthe facility record
A night$21–$22.83plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$50–$53.66DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itVista RecreationA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 21 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$21–$22.83
Standard Nonelectric$21
Premium Site$22.83
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Sep 27, 2026 to Oct 10, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$29–$30.83
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$50–$53.66

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $21–$22.83 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

55 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 53 mapped sites
78 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop 1 005 44 ftLoop 1 007 44 ftLoop 1 003 50 ft

All 55 records

54 of 55 records located
Standard53Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 54 of the 55 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Loop 1001standard nonelectric24 ft145 ft367 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1002standard nonelectric24 ft161 ft376 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1003standard nonelectric30 ft49 ft510 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1004standard nonelectric30 ft128 ft543 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1005standard nonelectric40 ft44 ft544 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1006standard nonelectric36 ft146 ft679 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1007standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft537 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1008standard nonelectric24 ft110 ft639 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1009standard nonelectric30 ft75 ft478 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1010standard nonelectric24 ft70 ft423 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1011standard nonelectric24 ft79 ft481 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1012standard nonelectric30 ft70 ft375 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1013standard nonelectric24 ft73 ft453 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1014standard nonelectric30 ft82 ft323 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1015standard nonelectric30 ft73 ft412 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1016standard nonelectric30 ft140 ft293 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 1055type not stated36 ft292 ft$22.83
Loop 2017 Hosthost pad40 ft$22.83
Loop 2018standard nonelectric30 ft54 ft326 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2019standard nonelectric30 ft63 ft357 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2020standard nonelectric30 ft128 ft451 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2021standard nonelectric36 ft63 ft324 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2022standard nonelectric24 ft63 ft308 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2023standard nonelectric36 ft153 ft401 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2024standard nonelectric30 ft78 ft461 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2025standard nonelectric36 ft81 ft294 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2026standard nonelectric24 ft78 ft493 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2027standard nonelectric30 ft51 ft342 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2028standard nonelectric24 ft83 ft528 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2029standard nonelectric30 ft52 ft367 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2030standard nonelectric30 ft183 ft541 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2031standard nonelectric36 ft92 ft428 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2032standard nonelectric30 ft51 ft434 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2033standard nonelectric30 ft104 ft507 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2034standard nonelectric30 ft51 ft388 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2035standard nonelectric24 ft81 ft309 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2036standard nonelectric24 ft94 ft213 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2037standard nonelectric24 ft85 ft294 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2038standard nonelectric30 ft109 ft304 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2039standard nonelectric30 ft94 ft196 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2040standard nonelectric24 ft66 ft192 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2041standard nonelectric30 ft66 ft190 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2042standard nonelectric24 ft67 ft185 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2043standard nonelectric24 ft52 ft315 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2044standard nonelectric30 ft69 ft174 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2045standard nonelectric36 ft51 ft297 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2046standard nonelectric30 ft77 ft155 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2047standard nonelectric30 ft81 ft134 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2048standard nonelectric20 ft86 ft278 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2049standard nonelectric36 ft102 ft116 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2050standard nonelectric24 ft120 ft119 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2051standard nonelectric24 ft63 ft317 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2052standard nonelectric30 ft54 ft297 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2053standard nonelectric36 ft155 ft116 ft$21–$22.83
Loop 2054standard nonelectric36 ft155 ft190 ft$21–$22.83

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 55 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon62°Partly Sunny
Tonight34°Partly Cloudy
Sunday63°Partly Sunny
Sunday Night36°Mostly Cloudy7% rain

NWS forecast for Three Rivers, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 62°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 21°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WICKIUP DAM, OR (USC00359316), 13 miles away and 352 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Waldo4,973 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Charlton7,047 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Charlton Butte3,031 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Janelle Bynum, official portrait

Cultus Lake Campground is in Oregon’s 5th congressional district. Its representative, Janelle Bynum (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.