National Park Service · Arches National Park · UT

Devils Garden Campground

2Heads up1 park alert · 1 fire 45 mi away
Wildfire
Slough Canyon fire · 45 mi away · 4,774 acres · 80% contained · updated Sep 27, 2026
Information
Trip-planning tips for 2026 Planning to visit Arches this year? To ensure the best experience, please anticipate potentially long wait times at the entrance station. If trailhead parking is full, plan to return a little later. Please avoid parking on vegetation and…
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 17, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 51 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:21 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$25From, per site
Sites
5751 on recreation.gov
Season
Year-roundOpen year-round
40 ftLongest rig
5,250 ftElevation
1.8 miWater · an unnamed stream
12 miN of Moab, UT
0%Tree cover
Open year-roundToday

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Devils Garden Campground is located deep within the heart of beautiful Arches National Park in Southeastern Utah, at an elevation of approximately 5200 ft.. The campground is situated among natural sandstone arches and fins and is only 18 miles north of the park's entrance and 23 miles from Moab, Utah. Keep reading

Recreation

Hiking trails are abundant in Arches, including the Broken Arch Trail, a scenic loop with a trailhead conveniently located within the campground. Trails are varied and offer something for everyone, from the easy 0.3-mile loop around Balanced Rock to the steep and strenuous 3-mile round-trip trail to Delicate Arch. Other recreational activities in the park include guided hiking tours of the Fiery Furnace, an off-road vehicle route, road biking and picnicking.

Facilities

Devils Garden contains 51 campsites that are available for reservation (Including the two group sites and one accessibility site), offering visitors a great opportunity to stay overnight in a unique national park. Roads and parking spurs are paved, allowing smooth access for all types of travelers. A campground host is located on-site. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided, and campsites contain picnic tables and fire rings. The park does not have dump stations, or electric, water, or sewer hook-ups for RVs. There are also no showers. Firewood is not for sale at the campground. Please buy a coupon for firewood at the Visitor Center.

Natural Features

The campground is forested with mixed stands of Utah juniper and pinyon pine. Flowering prickly pear cacti, yucca and other desert wildflowers dot the landscape, offering vivid color to the surrounding red rock desert. Arches National Park has the highest concentration of natural arches in the world. Over 2,500 of these unusual rock formations can be found here. Towering spires, fins and balanced rocks complement the arches, creating a remarkable assortment of landforms in a relatively small area. The park is within an arid, high desert environment with hot summers and cold winters.

Nearby Attractions

Southeastern Utah offers breathtaking scenery, hiking, road and mountain biking opportunities, rafting and scenic driving routes. Canyonlands National Park and Dead Horse Point State Park are within a 45-minute drive of Arches' entrance. Moab offers numerous restaurants, shops and museums. The desert around Moab is a mountain biker's dream, with hundreds of miles of slickrock and single-track trails for all riding abilities.

What the agency tells you

Rule

March 1st - October 31st: All campsites at Devils Garden are by reservation only. Walk-in sites are not available.

Rule

November 1st - February 28th: All campsites at Devils Garden are first-come, first-served. In the winter, this is a Scan & Pay campground. Pay via Scan & Pay or self-registration envelope. Download the free Recreation.gov mobile app on Android or iOS prior to your arrival as there is limited cell service.

Rule

*No one camper or their equipment may spend more than 7 days in this campground per month or 14 days in a year.*

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Firewood is not for sale at the campground. Please buy a coupon for firewood at the Visitor Center.

Rule

Generator hours are 8 a.m. - 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. - 8 p.m.

Rule

The park entrance fee is $30 per vehicle, $25 per motorcycle, or $15 for a pedestrian or bicyclist. The fee is valid for seven days and may be paid upon arrival or purchased in advance. Interagency annual and lifetime passes are honored.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
57 · 2 tent-only, 2 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
40 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - year round · Vault Toilets - year round
Showers
None at this campground
“There are also no showers.”
Drinking water
None, bring your own
Dump station
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

Hiking
Ranger programs
Night sky · 96th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 2
Cell signal · Cell signal · Park Service says
Spotty
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own fee notes, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:21 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Every one of the 51 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 2 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 16:21 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 1, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay7 nightsthe facility record
A night$25plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$25
RV Nonelectric$25
Standard Nonelectric$25
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
November 1 - February 28, all campsites are first-come, first-served only.
Pay via Scan & Pay or self-registration envelope.
Download the free Recreation.gov mobile app on Android or iOS prior to arrival due to limited cell service.
Use the Recreation.gov mobile app to pay the nightly camping fee when you arrive at the campground.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $25 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:21 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

57 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 51 mapped sites
65 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room026 40 ft027 40 ft032 43 ft

All 57 sites

52 of 57 sites located
Standard47RV / electric2Group2Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 52 of the 57 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 55 of the 57 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND001standard nonelectric25 ft221 ft1.8 mi324 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND002standard nonelectric30 ft91 ft1.8 mi128 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND003standard nonelectric36 ft77 ft1.8 mi79 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND004standard nonelectric15 ft77 ft1.8 mi94 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND005type not stated20 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND006standard nonelectric15 ft94 ft1.8 mi167 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND007standard nonelectric40 ftyes45 ft1.8 mi251 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND008standard nonelectric25 ft45 ft1.8 mi292 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND009standard nonelectric40 ft58 ft1.8 mi336 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND010standard nonelectric40 ft56 ft1.8 mi394 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND011standard nonelectric40 ft72 ft1.8 mi400 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND012standard nonelectric36 ft56 ft1.8 mi449 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND013standard nonelectric40 ft82 ft1.8 mi482 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND014standard nonelectric40 ft72 ft1.8 mi537 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND015standard nonelectric40 ft65 ft1.8 mi608 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND016standard nonelectric40 ft65 ft1.8 mi601 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND017standard nonelectric24 ft68 ft1.8 mi605 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND018standard nonelectric25 ft79 ft1.8 mi560 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND019standard nonelectric30 ft89 ft1.8 mi466 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND020standard nonelectric23 ft80 ft1.8 mi501 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND021standard nonelectric30 ft84 ft1.8 mi390 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND022standard nonelectric40 ft84 ft1.8 mi336 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND023standard nonelectric36 ft87 ft1.9 mi227 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND024standard nonelectric40 ft87 ft1.9 mi188 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND025standard nonelectric15 ft108 ft1.9 mi192 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND026standard nonelectric38 ft40 ft1.9 mi546 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND027standard nonelectric40 ft40 ft1.9 mi505 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND028standard nonelectric20 ft72 ft1.9 mi483 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND029standard nonelectric25 ft54 ft1.9 mi417 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND030standard nonelectric30 ft54 ft1.9 mi416 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND031standard nonelectric40 ft84 ft1.9 mi332 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND032standard nonelectric40 ft43 ft1.9 mi239 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND033standard nonelectric40 ft75 ft1.9 mi239 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND034standard nonelectric25 ft43 ft1.9 mi196 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND036standard nonelectric38 ft56 ft1.9 mi151 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND038standard nonelectric15 ft56 ft1.9 mi96 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND039standard nonelectric15 ft84 ft1.9 mi64 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND040standard nonelectric15 ft81 ft1.9 mi133 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND041type not stated36 ft1.9 mi141 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND042rv nonelectric30 ft60 ft1.9 mi191 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND043standard nonelectric25 ft60 ft1.9 mi250 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND044standard nonelectric30 ft64 ft1.9 mi287 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND045standard nonelectric30 ft51 ft1.9 mi223 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND046standard nonelectric36 ft51 ft1.9 mi177 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND048standard nonelectric30 ft65 ft1.9 mi85 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND049rv nonelectric15 ft65 ft1.9 mi147 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND050standard nonelectric15 ft55 ft1.9 mi236 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND051standard nonelectric15 ft55 ft1.9 mi287 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND052standard nonelectric35 ft58 ft1.9 mi395 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND053standard nonelectric20 ft58 ft1.9 mi432 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUND054standard nonelectric36 ft85 ft1.9 mi328 ft$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUNDCANYON WRENgroup tent only area nonelectric149 ft1.9 mi196 ft
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUNDH4type not stated40 ftyes$25
DEVILS GARDEN CAMPGROUNDJUNIPER BASINgroup tent only area nonelectric123 ft1.9 mi86 ft
Scan and Pay - Card Late PaymentScan and Pay - Card Late Paymenttype not stated20 ft$25
Scan and Pay Devils Garden CampgroundScan and Pay Devils Garden Campgroundtype not stated20 ft$25
type not stated$25

25 of 57 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.77694, -109.58917
The phone435-719-2299
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From I-70, take Exit 182. Travel south for 26 miles to the park entrance. Take the park road 18 miles to Devils Garden.

From Moab, take Highway 191 north for 4.5 miles to the park entrance. Take the park road 18 miles to Devils Garden.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight38°Mostly Clear
Saturday60°Sunny
Saturday Night42°Partly Cloudy1% rain
Sunday57°Partly Sunny3% rain

NWS forecast for Castle Valley, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 40°F, day 68°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 17°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

110°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MOAB CANYONLAND AP, UT (USW00093075), 9 miles away and 689 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Mike Kennedy, official portrait

Devils Garden Campground is in Utah’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Kennedy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 4
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Arches National Park

Asks the National Park Service to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up, and to post what that share is.

Subject Hold back a share of sites at Devils Garden Campground for campers who drive up

To the National Park Service, Arches National Park:

I tried to camp at Devils Garden Campground in Utah and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 51 of the 57 campsites the agency files at Devils Garden Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 51 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Devils Garden Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m asking for one specific thing: set aside a published share of the sites at Devils Garden Campground as first-come, first-served, and post what that share is so it can be checked.

Somebody who drives up has no way in, and no way to find out whether they might have had one.

Sent about Devils Garden Campground (Arches National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Kennedy

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Utah

Dear Mike Kennedy,

I’m a constituent in Utah’s 3rd district. I tried to camp at Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 51 of the 57 campsites the agency files at Devils Garden Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 51 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Devils Garden Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Devils Garden Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Devils Garden Campground (Arches National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To John R. Curtis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Utah

Dear John R. Curtis,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 51 of the 57 campsites the agency files at Devils Garden Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 51 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Devils Garden Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Devils Garden Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Devils Garden Campground (Arches National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Lee

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Utah

Dear Mike Lee,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 51 of the 57 campsites the agency files at Devils Garden Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 51 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Devils Garden Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Devils Garden Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Devils Garden Campground (Arches National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own fee notes, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise. · Sep 8, 2026

“…app on Android or iOS prior to arrival due to limited cell service. Use the Recreation.gov mobile app to pay the nightly camping…”

Nearest place of any size: Castle Valley, UT, 11.1 mi NW. Straight line.