U.S. Forest Service · Gunnison National Forest · CO

Dinner Station

1Heads up1 fire 24 mi away
Wildfire
Willow fire · 24 mi away · 7,359 acres · 92% contained · updated Oct 13, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 19 opens June 19.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Closed for the seasonOut of the season the agency publishes
A night
$18–$20Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2214 on recreation.gov
Season
May 23 – September 29Open May 23 through September 29
Drawn from the record · 9,600 ft · 0% tree cover · Taylor River within reach · Bortle 2 sky
99 ftLongest rig
9,600 ftElevation
320 ftWater · Taylor River
20.5 miE of Crested Butte, CO
0%Tree cover
Open May 23 through September 29Today

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Dinner Station, a historic stop along an old stagecoach route from Aspen, is located in the Upper Taylor Park area, next to the Taylor River. The campground is a favorite among off-road and mountain biking enthusiasts. Keep reading

Recreation

The Taylor River can be accessed from within the campground. Anglers cast for rainbow and brook trout. A number of off-road trails are found in the surrounding area, including Doctor Park Trail, Taylor River Trail and Taylor Vista Trail.

Facilities

The campground offers single-family campsites, each equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided.

Natural Features

The campground is nestled among ponderosa and lodgepole pine trees, at the edge of a broad, flat valley dotted with sagebrush. Most campsites are situated with the Taylor River on one side and open views of the Sawatch Mountains on the other side.

Nearby Attractions

Taylor Park Reservoir is less than five miles from the campground, offering boating, fishing and swimming opportunities. A boat ramp and boat rentals are available there. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (928) 537-8888.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Standard Single Family sites: Recreation Use Fee allows ONE camping unit ONLY.

Rule

Late Arrivals: campers are not considered a "no-show" until 24 hours after arrival date check in time. Our policy is that your site will not be released before that.

Rule

Extra Vehicles: Cannot be paid for in advance - upon arrival coordinate with the host for payment and where to park.

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison National Forests

Rule

Opening and closing dates are weather permitting, please call 928-537-8888 for more information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
22
Hookups
None
Longest rig
99 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…with a picnic table and campfire ring. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided.…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…table and campfire ring. Vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided. Natural Features…”
Boat ramp
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, River
Biking
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 147th darkest of 522 in CO
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 13 days ago, 27 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 3, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 22 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 19, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 19, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$18–$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$44–$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, Jun 19 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$18–$20
Standard Nonelectric$18
Standard Nonelectric - Premium$20
These are next season’s rates, Jun 19, 2027 to Sep 12, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$26–$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$44–$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $18–$20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

23 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 14 mapped sites
113 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop DINN 010 24 ftLoop DINN 012 24 ftLoop DINN 009 37 ft

All 23 records

23 of 23 records located
Standard14Type not stated8Unnamed record1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 22 of the 23 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

DINN009standard nonelectric30 ft37 ft136 ft$18–$20
DINN010standard nonelectric30 ft24 ft126 ft$18–$20
DINN011standard nonelectric30 ft37 ft135 ft$18–$20
DINN012standard nonelectric25 ft24 ft104 ft$18–$20
DINN013standard nonelectric50 ft114 ft106 ft$18–$20
DINN014standard nonelectric35 ft113 ft249 ft$18–$20
DINN015standard nonelectric35 ft177 ft357 ft$18–$20
DINN016standard nonelectric45 ft266 ft192 ft$18–$20
DINN017standard nonelectric99 ft113 ft163 ft$18–$20
DINN018standard nonelectric99 ft93 ft199 ft$18–$20
DINN019standard nonelectric99 ft93 ft226 ft$18–$20
DINN020standard nonelectric99 ft138 ft252 ft$18–$20
DINN021standard nonelectric99 ft138 ft137 ft$18–$20
DINN022standard nonelectric99 ft205 ft202 ft$18–$20
MANAGEMENT001type not stated126 ft$18
MANAGEMENT002type not stated154 ft$18
MANAGEMENT003type not stated164 ft$18
MANAGEMENT004type not stated184 ft$18
MANAGEMENT005type not stated193 ft$18
MANAGEMENT006type not stated167 ft$18
MANAGEMENT007type not stated139 ft$18
MANAGEMENT008type not stated156 ft$18
MANAGEMENTXXXunnamed record99 ft124 ft$18

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.90528, -106.58611
The phone970-642-0566
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Gunnison, Colo., travel north on Colorado Highway 135 for 10 miles to Almont. Turn right (northeast) onto Taylor Canyon Road and continue 35 miles. The campground entrance is on the left.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon54°Sunny
Tonight24°Clear
Saturday59°Sunny
Saturday Night27°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Twin Lakes, CO

Typical weather

Typical May night 29°F, day 58°F.

Coldest night of the open season: typical May night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

80°32°-20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or moreOutside the published season

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: TAYLOR PARK, CO (USC00058184), 6 miles away and 421 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

Roadless
Boston Peak46,696 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Matchless34,068 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 16, 2026

Who answers for this land

Jeff Hurd, official portrait

Dinner Station is in Colorado’s 3rd congressional district. Its representative, Jeff Hurd (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it out of season. The season it publishes is the bar below.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (27 km) · Oct 3, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Twin Lakes, CO, 17.8 mi SW (a census designated place). Straight line.