U.S. Army Corps of Engineers · GA

Doll Mountain Campground

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 49 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:03 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 15 nights read 16:03 UTC
A night
$26–$42Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
6849 on recreation.gov
55 ftLongest rig
1,150 ftElevation
287 ftWater · Carters Lake
6 miSW of Ellijay, GA
85%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 4 notices

In the agency’s own words

Doll Mountain Campground is located in the North Georgia Mountains on beautiful Carters Lake, Which is just a short 70 miles north of Atlanta. Carters Lake provides clean, safe, and quiet campgrounds that help you escape the hustle and bustle of your day to day routine and relax with your family. Doll Mountain offers boating, picnicking at the day use area, and many other summer time activities. Doll Mountain, one of the larger campgrounds offering 68 campsites to choose from.The majority of them are RV hook ups, so you can enjoy the great outdoors while remaining comfortable with your family. Doll Mountain also provides easy access to the water with its own boat ramp and boat trailer parking area. Facilities include, play ground, and two large, restrooms with showers. Doll Mountain guarantees a pleasant camping experience and several summer activities for the whole family to enjoy. Keep reading

Recreation

Boaters visit Carters Lake to enjoy its solitude and scenic beauty. Whether in a powerboat or sailboat on the open water or paddling along the shoreline in a canoe, Carters Lake offers enjoyable boating experiences for everyone. Fishing is a popular activity on the lake. Major species include bass (largemouth, smallmouth, hybrid, striped and spotted) crappie, walleye, bream and catfish. Bank fishing locations are limited due to steep shoreline terrain, but six boat ramps are scattered around the shoreline, offering easy access to the lake.

Facilities

The heavily wooded campground contains RV and tent-only sites, many of which have electric hookups. Flush toilets, showers and drinking water are provided. Additional amenities include a children's playground and a dump station.

Natural Features

Carters Lake embraces a spectacular tract of foothills scenery in the Blue Ridge Mountains of north Georgia. It covers 3,200 surface acres and has 62 miles of undeveloped shoreline. Contact Info For local information, please call (706) 276-4413 or call (706) 334-2248 for general information.

Nearby Attractions

Ridgeway Park and the Woodring Branch Recreation Area are each located within a 45-minute drive from Doll Mountain Campground. Hiking and mountain biking trails in each park offer beautiful scenery and a mix of easy to challenging terrain.

What the agency tells you

Rule

- ALL CAMPERS MUST HAVE A RESERVATION BEFORE ENTERING CAMPGROUND  - Campsite occupancy is limited to maximum of eight (8) and two (2) vehicles and one (1) boat. - Campers must self-register at Gatehouse - No transactions will be done at gatehouse

Rule

The park access road has a steep downhill grade; campers should use caution when entering.

Rule

Camping at one or more campsites at Carters Lake Project for a period longer than 14 days during a 30 day period is prohibited. Title 36 CFR 327.7B.

Everything else this campground posts · 1
Rule

Don't Move Firewood; Protect your forest from tree killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for more information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
68 · 14 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
36 electric, 41 water, 4 sewer
Longest rig
55 ft
Paved pads
22 of 68
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
ACCESSIBLE FLUSH TOILETS on 7 of 68 campsite records
Showers
Accessible Showers
ACCESSIBLE SHOWERS on 8 of 68 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
ACCESSIBLE DRINKING WATER on 7 of 68 campsite records
Dump station
Yes
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: counted from this campground’s own campsite records, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Night sky · 64th darkest of 96 in GA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:03 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 16:42 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 49 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 18 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 16:03 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 5, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$26–$42plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$60–$92DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Apr 5 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$26–$42
Tent Only Nonelectric$26
Tent Only Electric$30
Standard Electric$36
Standard Electric$42
Group area, a night$100
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 15, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$34–$50
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$60–$92

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $26–$42 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:42 UTC

  • Morganton PointChattahoochee-Oconee National Forest · 28 mi · 1 of 80 site-nights open

recreation.gov availability, read 16:03 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

68 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 48 mapped sites
111 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomDMT. 31 42 ftDMT. 32 42 ftDMT. 36 58 ft

All 68 sites

61 of 68 sites located
Tent only13RV / electric35Type not stated13
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 54 of the 68 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 49 of the 68 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

DMT.01standard electric40 ft20/30/50 amp137 ft131 ft2,725 ft$36–$42
DMT.02standard electric40 ft20/30/50 amp90 ft178 ft2,628 ft$36–$42
DMT.03standard electric40 ft20/30/50 amp90 ft153 ft2,718 ft$36–$42
DMT.04standard electric40 ft20/30/50 amp118 ft186 ft2,651 ft$36–$42
DMT.05standard electric40 ft20/30/50 amp94 ft159 ft2,741 ft$36–$42
DMT.06standard electric40 ft50 amp122 ft169 ft2,773 ft$36–$42
DMT.07standard electric40 ft50 amp115 ft145 ft2,700 ft$36–$42
DMT.08standard electric40 ft50 amp109 ft105 ft2,657 ft$36–$42
DMT.09standard electric30 ft50 amp109 ft158 ft2,634 ft$36–$42
DMT.10type not stated30 ft50 amp165 ft2,614 ft
DMT.11standard electric40 ft50 amp122 ft149 ft2,740 ft$36–$42
DMT.12standard electric40 ft50 amp114 ft185 ft2,747 ft$36–$42
DMT.13standard electric40 ft50 amp110 ft166 ft2,789 ft$36–$42
DMT.14standard electric25 ft30 amp487 ft357 ft2,333 ft$36–$42
DMT.15type not stated40 ft50 amp342 ft2,240 ft
DMT.15Atype not stated40 ft50 amp342 ft2,240 ft
DMT.16type not stated40 ft50 amp258 ft2,187 ft
DMT.17type not stated40 ft50 amp242 ft2,138 ft
DMT.18tent only nonelectric15 ft206 ft184 ft1,849 ft$26
DMT.19tent only nonelectric15 ft111 ft142 ft1,720 ft$26
DMT.20tent only nonelectric15 ft111 ft89 ft1,717 ft$26
DMT.21standard electric40 ft30 amp171 ft247 ft1,679 ft$36–$42
DMT.22standard electric30 ft30 amp193 ft135 ft1,490 ft$36–$42
DMT.23standard electric25 ft30 amp171 ft149 ft1,787 ft$36–$42
DMT.24standard electric40 ft50 amp201 ft202 ft1,524 ft$36–$42
DMT.25standard electric55 ft30 amp145 ft197 ft1,149 ft$36–$42
DMT.26standard electric32 ft30 amp145 ft134 ft1,160 ft$36–$42
DMT.27standard electric40 ft50 amp86 ft155 ft955 ft$36–$42
DMT.28standard electric40 ft50 amp86 ft103 ft975 ft$36–$42
DMT.29standard electric40 ft50 amp116 ft96 ft1,036 ft$36–$42
DMT.30standard electric40 ft50 amp72 ft119 ft951 ft$36–$42
DMT.31standard electric40 ft50 amp42 ft97 ft879 ft$36–$42
DMT.32standard electric40 ft50 amp42 ft69 ft840 ft$36–$42
DMT.33standard electric40 ft50 amp118 ft176 ft850 ft$36–$42
DMT.34tent only nonelectric15 ft98 ft109 ft555 ft$26
DMT.35tent only nonelectric15 ft107 ft39 ft646 ft$26
DMT.36tent only nonelectric15 ft58 ft50 ft545 ft$26
DMT.37tent only nonelectric15 ft58 ft33 ft576 ft$26
DMT.38tent only nonelectric15 ft384 ft98 ft134 ft$26
DMT.39standard electric27 ft50 amp138 ft310 ft424 ft$36–$42
DMT.40standard electric25 ft50 amp134 ft221 ft391 ft$36–$42
DMT.41standard electric27 ft30 amp109 ft171 ft470 ft$36–$42
DMT.42standard electric27 ft30 amp85 ft156 ft575 ft$36–$42
DMT.43standard electric27 ft30 amp85 ft148 ft644 ft$36–$42
DMT.44standard electric27 ft30 amp93 ft160 ft720 ft$36–$42
DMT.45tent only electric15 ft30 amp106 ft131 ft794 ft$30
DMT.46standard electric26 ft30 amp106 ft188 ft691 ft$36–$42
DMT.47tent only nonelectric15 ft157 ft535 ft1,093 ft$26
DMT.48tent only nonelectric15 ft127 ft379 ft1,014 ft$26
DMT.49tent only nonelectric15 ft116 ft378 ft1,112 ft$26
DMT.50tent only nonelectric15 ft116 ft354 ft1,216 ft$26
DMT.51type not stated15 ft184 ft
DMT.52type not stated15 ft205 ft
DMT.53type not stated15 ft168 ft
DMT.54type not stated15 ft91 ft
DMT.55type not stated15 ft171 ft
DMT.56type not stated15 ft272 ft
DMT.57type not stated15 ft139 ft
DMT.Atype not stated15 ft
DMT.Btype not stated15 ft
DMT.Ctype not stated15 ft196 ft2,617 ft
DMT.Dtype not stated15 ft
DMT.Etype not stated15 ft
DMT.Ftype not stated15 ft
DMT.Gtype not stated15 ft
DMT.Group Sitegroup tent only area nonelectric15 ft$100
DMT.H-1standard electric40 ft20/30/50 ampyes106 ft196 ft2,617 ft$36–$42
DMT.H-2standard electric40 ft20/30/50 ampyes110 ft156 ft2,822 ft$36–$42

25 of 68 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.61333, -84.62389
The phone706-276-4413
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Atlanta, take I-75 north to Exit 293, then Highway 411 north to Highway 136. Turn right on Highway 136 and follow to Highway 382. Turn left on Highway 382 and look for signs to the campground-- access road is directly across from the volunteer fire station.

Physical address is 1362 Doll Mountain Road,Ellijay, GA 30540

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight47°Chance Rain Showers26% rain
Saturday61°Mostly Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night39°Clear
Sunday67°Sunny

NWS forecast for Ellijay, GA

Typical weather

Typical October night 48°F, day 74°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 30°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CHATSWORTH 2, GA (USC00091863), 13 miles away and 440 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Andrew Clyde, official portrait

Doll Mountain Campground is in Georgia’s 9th congressional district. Its representative, Andrew Clyde (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Andrew S. Clyde

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Doll Mountain Campground, Georgia

Dear Andrew S. Clyde,

I’m a constituent in Georgia’s 9th district. I tried to camp at Doll Mountain Campground, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 49 of the 68 campsites the agency files at Doll Mountain Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 49 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Doll Mountain Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Doll Mountain Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Doll Mountain Campground (Georgia) via campanac.com
To Jon Ossoff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Doll Mountain Campground, Georgia

Dear Jon Ossoff,

I’m a constituent in Georgia. I tried to camp at Doll Mountain Campground, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 49 of the 68 campsites the agency files at Doll Mountain Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 49 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Doll Mountain Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Doll Mountain Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Doll Mountain Campground (Georgia) via campanac.com
To Raphael G. Warnock

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Doll Mountain Campground, Georgia

Dear Raphael G. Warnock,

I’m a constituent in Georgia. I tried to camp at Doll Mountain Campground, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 49 of the 68 campsites the agency files at Doll Mountain Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 49 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Doll Mountain Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Doll Mountain Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Doll Mountain Campground (Georgia) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 15 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.