U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service · Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge · OK

Doris Campground

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 24 mi
Wildfire
Ozark fire · 24 mi away · 20 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Stack fire · 42 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 90 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:22 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:22 UTC
A night
$12–$24Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
9391 on recreation.gov
1,530 ftElevation
916 ftWater · an unnamed pond
5.2 miNW of Cache, OK
0%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 39th darkest of 106 in OK

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Worn by time and nature, the Wichita Mountains loom large above the prairie in southwest Oklahoma—a lasting refuge for wildlife. Situated just outside the Lawton/Ft. Sill area, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge preserves approximately 60,000 acres of mixed grass prairie, ancient granite mountains, and fresh water lakes and streams for the benefit of wildlife and the American people. Best known for its roaming herds of bison, longhorn, and Rocky Mountain elk, Wichita Mountains also offers quality opportunities for wildlife dependent recreation including fishing, bird watching, wildlife photography, hiking, camping, and kayaking. Keep reading

Recreation

Doris Campground is a recreational hub for visitors to the Wichita Mountains. Situated along the shoreline of Quanah Parker Lake, it’s a stone’s throw away from quality fishing, canoeing, kayaking, and hiking. Campers can toss a line in the water or start up the Little Baldly trail for a picturesque hike. The Visitor Center, additional trails, and notable features like Mt. Scott are just a few miles down the road.

Facilities

Doris Campground contains 3 group camping sites, 23 single family electric sites, 47 single family non-electric sites, and 20 semi-primitive, walk-in tent sites. Most campsites are sizeable enough for RVs and trailer. Each campsite is equipped with a picnic table, fire ring, and grill. Roads are paved. Flush toilets and showers are provided within easy walking distance in a centrally located shower/restroom complex. The group campsites and Loops A and D have chemical or vault toilets only, and no water. Water is available via hydrants throughout the campground. A dump station is provided for RVs and trailers.

Natural Features

Explore ancient granite mountains. Find yourself in a cedar forest. Dare to discover wide open spaces and fresh water lakes meant to support wildlife like the American bison and Rocky Mountain elk. Fish. Hike. Photograph. Immerse yourself in the wild.

Nearby Attractions

Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge encompasses roughly 60,000 acres. Doris Campground is centrally located allowing visitors opportunities to explore all areas of the refuge with a short drive. Head up Mount Scott or hang out at Prairie Dog Town. Bring your fishing pole, a set of binoculars, or your camera. The possibilities are endless. Contact Info This location has limited staffing. Please call (580) 429-3222 for general information.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Know before you go...familiarize yourself with Wichita Mountain's rules and regulations .

Rule

No cell phone coverage in campground.

Rule

In case of emergency, call 911.

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Frequent weather changes occur. Be prepared for severe heat, wind, rain, and possible tornadoes.

Rule

Bison and longhorn are free roaming, for your safety do not approach.

Rule

Camping Information and Regulations: 1. Campfires are permitted only in established fire grates. Fires must be attended at all times. Only dead, down, and detached wood may be gathered. Wood should not extend outside the fire grate perimeter. Do not break limbs off of standing trees, living or dead. Drown campfires thoroughly with water to make sure they are completely out. 2. Campfires may be restricted during high fire danger.  3. Parking off the pavement in the grass or around campsites is prohibited throughout the campground and the refuge. 4. Quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m.  5. Generators are prohibited from operating between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Generators must be turned off during the day when campsite is not occupied by site renter. Generators may not exceed a noise level of 60 decibels at 50 feet.   6. ALL pets must be on a leash. 7. No trading sites, the site you reserve is your site. 8. Visitors may park at the overflow parking by the check station and hike to your site. 9. Alcohol is prohibited throughout the Refuge. 10. Maximum of 2 vehicles per site. 11. Maximum of 8 people per site. 12. Fourteen day maximum stay. 13. No ATV, UTV or Golf Carts in the camp grounds or on the refuge.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
93 · 1 tent-only, 20 walk-in, 3 group, 2 cabin
Hookups
25 electric
Paved pads
70 of 93
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets · Vault Toilets
“…fire ring, and grill. Roads are paved. Flush toilets and showers are provided within easy walking… / …and Loops A and D have chemical or vault toilets only, and no water. Water is available via hydrants…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
Shower/Bath Type states a shower on 54 campsite record(s) that are not a cabin, of this campground's 93
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek, Beach
Backpacking
Biking
Birding
Canoeing
Climbing
Environmental Education
Hiking
Hunting
Kayaking
Picnicking
Visitor center
Wilderness access
Wildlife viewing
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:22 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 90 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 65 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:22 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$12–$24plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$32–$56DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Fish & Wildlife ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
A night, per site$12–$24
Semi-primitive$12
All other sites$14
Sites 31-42$14
RV Electric Loop E$22
RV Electric Loop B$24
Group areas, a night$30–$40
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$20–$32
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$32–$56

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $12–$24 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:22 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

93 sites

All 93 sites

SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 71 of the 93 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

A1standard nonelectric$14
A10standard nonelectric$14
A11standard nonelectric$14
A12standard nonelectric$14
A13standard nonelectric$14
A14standard nonelectric$14
A15standard nonelectric$14
A16standard nonelectric$14
A17standard nonelectric$14
A18standard nonelectric$14
A2standard nonelectric$14
A3standard nonelectric$14
A4standard nonelectric$14
A5standard nonelectric$14
A6standard nonelectric$14
A7standard nonelectric$14
A8standard nonelectric$14
A9standard nonelectric$14
B43standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B44standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B45standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B46standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B47standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B48standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B49standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B50standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B51standard electric30 amp$22–$24
B52standard electric30 amp$22–$24
C19standard nonelectric$14
C20standard nonelectric$14
C31standard nonelectric$14
C32standard nonelectric$14
C33standard nonelectric$14
C34standard nonelectric$14
C35standard nonelectric$14
C36standard nonelectric$14
C37standard nonelectric$14
C38standard nonelectric$14
C39standard nonelectric$14
C40standard nonelectric$14
C41standard nonelectric$14
C42standard nonelectric$14
D21standard nonelectric$14
D22standard nonelectric$14
D23standard nonelectric$14
D24standard nonelectric$14
D25standard nonelectric$14
D26standard nonelectric$14
D27standard nonelectric$14
D28standard nonelectric$14
D29standard nonelectric$14
D30standard nonelectric$14
E53standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E54standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E55standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E56standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E57standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E58standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E59standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E60standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E61standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E62standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E63standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E64standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E65standard electric30 amp$22–$24
E66standard nonelectric$14
E67type not stated
E68standard nonelectric$14
E69type not stated
E70standard nonelectric$14
GroupAgroup shelter electric$40
GroupBgroup shelter electric$40
GroupCgroup tent only area nonelectric$30
SP71walk to
SP72walk to
SP73walk to
SP74walk to
SP75walk to
SP76walk to
SP77walk to
SP78walk to
SP79walk to
SP80walk to
SP81walk to
SP82walk to
SP83walk to
SP84walk to
SP85walk to
SP86walk to
SP87walk to
SP88walk to
SP89walk to
SP90walk to

25 of 93 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.71933, -98.64953
The phone580-429-2197
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From I-44 take Highway 49 (exit 45). Go west 7 miles to the Refuge gate or 14 miles to the Visitor Center. If coming from Highway 62, take Highway 115 (Cache exit) north to the Refuge Gate.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight38°Clear
Saturday61°Sunny
Saturday Night38°Mostly Clear
Sunday65°Sunny

NWS forecast for Cache, OK

Typical weather

Typical October night 51°F, day 75°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WICHITA MTN WR, OK (USC00349629), 4 miles away and 135 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Tom Cole, official portrait

Doris Campground is in Oklahoma’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Tom Cole (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Tom Cole

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma

Dear Tom Cole,

I’m a constituent in Oklahoma’s 4th district. I tried to camp at Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 91 of the 93 campsites the agency files at Doris Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 90 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Doris Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Doris Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Doris Campground (Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma) via campanac.com
To Alan Armstrong

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma

Dear Alan Armstrong,

I’m a constituent in Oklahoma. I tried to camp at Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 91 of the 93 campsites the agency files at Doris Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 90 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Doris Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Doris Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Doris Campground (Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma) via campanac.com
To James Lankford

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma

Dear James Lankford,

I’m a constituent in Oklahoma. I tried to camp at Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 91 of the 93 campsites the agency files at Doris Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 90 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Doris Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Doris Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Doris Campground (Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Oklahoma) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Fish & Wildlife Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.