National Park Service · Buffalo National River · AR

Erbie Campground

2Heads uppark alerts
Information
Reservations Only at Buffalo Point - Starting March 15, 2027 Starting March 15, 2027, reservations will be required for all campsites at Buffalo Point Campground, including A & E Loops. Reservations must be made through Recreation.gov (www.recreation.gov) or by calling 877-444-6777. Reservations can…
Park Closure
South Woolum Road Closed, Alternate Route Available In the interest of safety, the South Woolum Road has been closed. The Woolum launch and campground remain open.
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 17, 2026
ReservableBookable through November 15, and from March 15 through April 16.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:41 UTC
A night
$20From, per site
Sites
3227 of them walk-up
42 ftLongest rig
850 ftElevation
537 ftWater · Buffalo River
11.1 miSW of Harrison, AR
27Walk-up sites

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 13 notices

In the agency’s own words

The Erbie campground is situated along the Buffalo River under the towering a bluff. There are five group sites available, walk-in only, for 10 to 25 people. Additionally, there are 14 drive-in and 13 walk-in tent sites. All sites are available by reservation only. Keep reading

Recreation

Paddling conditions in the upper (westernmost) district of Buffalo National River are extremely dependent upon rainfall. On an average year, the upper river is only navigable by boat in the spring and early summer when consistent rainfall feeds into the watershed. Some sections on the upper end of the river are technical and should not be attempted by novices. For current paddling conditions, please check with an outfitter (visit our Guided Services web page ), call the Tyler Bend Visitor Center at 870-439-2502, or check the Buffalo National River Float Guide Dashboard Facilities Erbie has 5 group sites (maximum of 25 people per group site), 14 drive-in sites suitable for tents or RVs (maximum of 6 people per site), and 13 walk-in tent only sites (maximum of 6 people per site). All sites are available by reservations only. There are no electrical amenities or water hookups, but flush restrooms and water spigots are available from approximately March 15 through November 15 each year.

Natural Features

The Buffalo National River flows free over swift running rapids and quiet pools for its 135-mile (217 km) length. One of the few remaining rivers in the lower 48 states without dams, the Buffalo cuts its way through massive limestone bluffs traveling eastward through the Arkansas Ozarks and into the White River.

Nearby Attractions

There are numerous historic buildings near the Erbie Campground. The Buffalo River Trail runs through Erbie and offers great day hiking or overnight backcountry opportunities. Visit the park's Hiking Trails web page for more information.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Erbie Campground is accessed via gravel roads. Visitors will need to cross low-water creek slabs or ford the Buffalo River to reach the campground. These crossings are typically passable under normal conditions but can become impassable during periods of high water.

Rule

All sites at Erbie Campground are available by reservation only.

Rule

All campers must register at the registration station, located near the host site, upon arrival.

Everything else this campground posts · 10
Rule

Drive-in sites 1 - 14 at Erbie are available to tent campers, RVs, trailers, pop-up campers, motorhomes, and campervans. These sites offer no hookups.

Rule

Water is turned off from approximately November 15th to March 14th each year.

Rule

The facility is available for free of charge for first-come, first-served camping outside of the reservation season, generally November 15th to March 15th every year.

Rule

Generators are only allowed to operate from 8:00 am - 8:00 pm.

Rule

Climbing and/or diving from the bluffs is dangerous and highly discouraged.

Rule

Do not swim alone during high water.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states.

Rule

All park trails are closed to pets with the exception of the Buffalo River Trail, only on the section of trail between Ponca and Steel Creek, the Villines Homestead Trail at Ponca, the Mill Creek Trail, the Tyler Bend Campground trails (Spring Hollow, Buck Ridge, and Rock Wall in the Middle District), and all three Buffalo Point Campground trails (Forest Trail, Overlook Trail, and Campground Trail in the Lower District). Visit the park's hiking page for more information and maps of these trails.

Rule

Please be aware that some special events held at the pavilions or anywhere in the park (such as weddings, press receptions, concerts, et al) require a Special Use Permit in addition to the pavilion reservation. To obtain a Special Use Permit or additional information, please contact the Commercial Services office at (870) 365-2724. For more information visit the Special Park Uses page on the park website.

Rule

Please be advised that providing business services within an NPS unit is prohibited per CFR 5.3 without a written Authorization or Permit approved by the Superintendent. This includes services such as RV or tent delivery & set-up, firewood sales and delivery, shuttle (transportation) services, and guided hikes, floats, etc. For a list of approved visitor services and to learn more about working with Buffalo National River, please visit the Doing Business with the Park page on the park website.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
32 · 13 walk-in, 5 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
42 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - seasonal · Vault Toilets - year round
Drinking water
None, bring your own
Stay limit
30 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
River
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Historic site
Kayaking
Picnicking
Stargazing
Swimming
Tree cover
14%
Night sky · 61st darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

6 of 62 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:41 UTC

recreation.gov lists 31 of the 32 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 31 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 28 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:41 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

These counts cover the 33 reservable sites only. This campground also has first-come sites, and recreation.gov publishes no availability for a site you can’t reserve.

Booking windowThrough November 15Bookable now through November 15, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for March 15, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay30 nightsthe facility record
A night$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Mon, Mar 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$20
Drive-in Sites$20
Group area, a night$50
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Mar 13, 2026 to Nov 15, 2026.
Fees for the drive-in and walk-in tent-only sites are $20 per night for up to 6 people per site.
All group sites are $50 per night for up to 25 people.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:41 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

33 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 31 mapped sites
88 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomWalk-in H 34 ftWalk-in I 34 ftDrive-in 5 38 ft

All 33 records

33 of 33 records located
Standard13Walk, hike or boat in13Group5Type not stated1Host pad1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 33 of the 33 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 31 of the 33 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Drive-in1standard nonelectric20 ft113 ft621 ft292 ft$20
Drive-in10standard nonelectric37 ft108 ft759 ft299 ft$20
Drive-in11standard nonelectric36 ft96 ft837 ft139 ft$20
Drive-in12standard nonelectric29 ft89 ft825 ft175 ft$20
Drive-in13standard nonelectric39 ft89 ft749 ft240 ft$20
Drive-in14standard nonelectric28 ft102 ft787 ft282 ft$20
Drive-in15 - Host Sitehost pad20 ft517 ft210 ft
Drive-in2standard nonelectric25 ft95 ft621 ft290 ft$20
Drive-in3standard nonelectric35 ft95 ft676 ft196 ft$20
Drive-in4standard nonelectric42 ft101 ft706 ft128 ft$20
Drive-in5standard nonelectric34 ft38 ft642 ft212 ft$20
Drive-in6standard nonelectric34 ft38 ft678 ft184 ft$20
Drive-in7standard nonelectric34 ft88 ft742 ft186 ft$20
Drive-in8standard nonelectric31 ft88 ft680 ft273 ft$20
Drive-in9type not stated32 ft627 ft380 ft
Group SiteGroup Site 1group standard nonelectric20 ft141 ft276 ft207 ft$50
Group SiteGroup Site 2group standard nonelectric20 ft141 ft190 ft252 ft$50
Group SiteGroup Site 3group standard nonelectric20 ft52 ft284 ft245 ft$50
Group SiteGroup Site 4group standard nonelectric20 ft52 ft331 ft236 ft$50
Group SiteGroup Site 5group standard nonelectric20 ft107 ft387 ft129 ft$50
Walk-inAwalk to20 ft61 ft408 ft452 ft$20
Walk-inBwalk to20 ft61 ft348 ft512 ft$20
Walk-inCwalk to20 ft69 ft297 ft545 ft$20
Walk-inDwalk to20 ft69 ft235 ft611 ft$20
Walk-inEwalk to20 ft71 ft278 ft554 ft$20
Walk-inFwalk to20 ft88 ft358 ft475 ft$20
Walk-inGwalk to20 ft95 ft296 ft543 ft$20
Walk-inHwalk to20 ft34 ft295 ft556 ft$20
Walk-inIwalk to20 ft34 ft295 ft564 ft$20
Walk-inJwalk to20 ft82 ft377 ft478 ft$20
Walk-inKwalk to20 ft64 ft478 ft383 ft$20
Walk-inLwalk to20 ft64 ft475 ft412 ft$20
Walk-inMwalk to20 ft113 ft360 ft533 ft$20

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 33 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions
Coordinate36.07224, -93.21627
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

The Erbie Campground is located north of Jasper, Arkansas. Take Highway 7 north of Jasper for approximately 3 miles. Turn left onto County Road 79 and the Erbie Campground will be approximately 6 miles down a gravel road with one hairpin curve.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight41°Partly Cloudy
Saturday63°Sunny
Saturday Night41°Clear
Sunday70°Sunny

NWS forecast for Jasper, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 48°F, day 71°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 27°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: HARRISON BOONE CO AP, AR (USW00013971), 14 miles away and 524 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Bruce Westerman, official portrait

Erbie Campground is in Arkansas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Bruce Westerman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Jasper, AR, 3.8 mi NNW. Straight line.