Fall River Campground
1Heads up1 fire 49 mi away
- Right now
- Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
- A night
- $21From, per site
- Sites
- 1210 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 9 notices
In the agency’s own words
Fall River Campground is located along Fall River within the Deschutes National Forest west of La Pine. Keep reading
Recreation
Campers can enjoy the nearby Fall River Trail which offers frequent views of crystal clear Fall River. This trail can be accessed from one of three Fall River Trailheads . Visitors can also enjoy fishing on Fall River although it is limited to fly fishing only.
Facilities
Fall River Campground sites tend to be on the smaller side without any RV hookups or services. Campers will need to provide their own water supply. All sites are equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring with grill and the campground has vault toilets available.
Natural Features
Fall River's headwaters bubble from the ground approximately 1/4 mile from the campground. The river meanders through the forest before joining the Deschutes River. Legal-sized brook and rainbow trout are stocked several times a year.
Nearby Attractions
Fall River Trail leaves from this campground and follows the river.
Charges & Cancellations
Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.
What the agency tells you
This is a no water facility so campers will need to bring their own supply.
Prevent the spread of invasive species by inspecting and cleaning packs, equipment and tires before using lake or trails.
Please Note: One RV with tow vehicle per single site or one vehicle per tent site. Most sites can accommodate 1 extra vehicle that is not included with the reservation fee. Extra vehicle will be charged a per night fee and collected at the campground.
Everything else this campground posts · 6
Fire Restrictions: Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed.
During your time in Central Oregon, you can find wildfire, prescribed fire and smoke information at centraloregonfire.org
Reserved Sites will be held until check out time (NOON) the day following your arrival date. Sites must be occupied by the checkout time of that following day to hold a reservation or the site will be forfeited and released to other guests. Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.
Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee. This fee is retained by the reservation service contractor along with the non-refundable reservation fee. All requests for the return of the non-refundable reservation fee and the cancellation fee will be declined by the campground concessionaire as they did not receive these fees (these are the fees retained by the reservation contractor, a different entity).
Camping or otherwise occupying a single location (including leaving camping equipment and/or related supplies) for a period longer than 14 consecutive calendar days is prohibited. ‘Location’ means the occupied area, the occupied campsite, and the National Forest System lands in the immediate vicinity thereof. Camping or occupying any location on all National Forest lands for more than 28 calendar days total during a calendar year is prohibited.
NO generator use is allowed in campgrounds between 10:00PM and 7:00AM (36 CFR 261.10). Silent power banks or battery powered devices are allowed.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 12
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 40 ft
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- “…ring with grill and the campground has vault toilets available. Natural Features Fall River's headwaters…”
- Stay limit
- 28 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- River
- Night sky · 536th darkest of 770 in OR
- Bortle 3
Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 16:49 UTC
recreation.gov lists 10 of the 12 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
Tell me when the season opens
Watch for the season to open
One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 12
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $21 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Once your reservation start date has begun, neither the Recreation.gov Contact Center nor the campground manager will be able to modify your reservation.” · this campground’s own terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 6
recreation.gov availability, read 16:49 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
12 sites · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 10 mapped sitesAll 12 sites
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 10 of the 12 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| Loop 1 | 01 | type not stated | 30 ft | 231 ft | ||
| Loop 1 | 02 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 133 ft | 63 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 03 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 151 ft | 189 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 04 | standard nonelectric | 36 ft | 133 ft | 71 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 05 | type not stated | 40 ft | 61 ft | ||
| Loop 1 | 06 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 185 ft | 103 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 07 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 130 ft | 81 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 08 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 122 ft | 102 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 09 | standard nonelectric | 24 ft | 122 ft | 216 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 10 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 92 ft | 197 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 11 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 92 ft | 228 ft | $21 |
| Loop 1 | 12 | standard nonelectric | 40 ft | 127 ft | 230 ft | $21 |
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Fall River Guard StationDeschutes National Forest · 0.7 mi
Pringle Falls CampgroundDeschutes National Forest · 1.9 mi
Wyeth Campground - DeschutesDeschutes National Forest · 2.3 mi
Bull Bend CampgroundDeschutes National Forest · 3.3 mi
Big RiverDeschutes National Forest · 6.9 mi
Crane Prairie CampgroundDeschutes National Forest · 7.2 miFrom Bend, OR: Travel 17.3 miles south on Hwy 97, then 12.2 miles southwest on County Road 42.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Three Rivers, OR
Typical weather
Typical October night 31°F, day 62°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical December night 21°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

Fall River Campground is in Oregon’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Cliff Bentz (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →