Forkland
- Right now
- Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:59 UTC
- A night
- $20–$26Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 4236 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices
In the agency’s own words
Forkland Campground is located in a beautiful wooded area on the northern shore of Demopolis Lake, the largest lake on the Black Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway. Demopolis Lake offers 10,000 acres of water to explore and serves as a quiet and convenient retreat from the two nearby cities of Demopolis and Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Keep reading
Recreation
Fishing is the most popular activity on the waterway. Whether fishing by boat or along the bank of the park, anglers can find bass, crappie, bream, catfish and other species. Day-use visitors and campers alike can enjoy a boat ramp and hiking trail at the campground, both of which are located across from the gatehouse. The trail has scenic overlooks of McConnico Creek and the Black Warrior River.
Facilities
The campground is in a comfortable setting, with 42 campsites along the lakeshore. All sites come equipped with water hookups. Families with children enjoy the state-of-the-art playground and the convenience of showers, and picnic areas. Large groups can reserve a picnic shelter for day use that can accommodate up to 50 people.
Natural Features
Forkland Park is situated on a high point of land in a pine and hardwood mixed forest with plenty of shade. The Black Belt region of Alabama is a diverse area of dense conifer stands and rolling meadows that feature colorful wildflower displays. Wood ducks, bald eagles, blue birds and many other species of wildlife inhabit the lake area. Black Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway consists of six lakes with a total length of 457 miles and 39,800 surface acres of water. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (334) 402-1604.
What the agency tells you
Forkland Campground Map
ATTENTION: Must Download & Read Reservation Cancellation, Modification & Fee Information before Reserving
ATTENTION: Must Download & Read Park Regulations before Reserving
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 42
- Hookups
- 35 electric, 42 water
- Longest rig
- 107 ft
- Paved pads
- 32 of 42
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
- Shade
- Every site
Facilities
- Boat ramp
- Yes
- Playground
- Yes
- Stay limit
- 14 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake, River, Creek, Meadow
- Boating
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Night sky · 9th darkest of 41 in AL
- Bortle 4
18 of 70 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:59 UTC
recreation.gov lists 36 of the 42 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
OpenBooked
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 14
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $20–$26 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
recreation.gov availability, read 15:59 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
43 records · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 36 mapped sitesAll 43 records
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 35 of the 43 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| FORK | 01 | type not stated | 38 ft | 50 amp | 184 ft | ||
| FORK | 02 | type not stated | 34 ft | 50 amp | 141 ft | ||
| FORK | 03 | type not stated | 60 ft | 50 amp | 156 ft | ||
| FORK | 04 | type not stated | 107 ft | 50 amp | 155 ft | ||
| FORK | 05 | standard electric | 55 ft | 50 amp | 62 ft | 158 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 06 | standard electric | 46 ft | 50 amp | 62 ft | 109 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 07 | standard electric | 70 ft | 50 amp | 99 ft | 110 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 08 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 72 ft | 128 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 09 | standard electric | 72 ft | 50 amp | 72 ft | 118 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 10 | standard electric | 36 ft | 50 amp | 103 ft | 129 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 11 | standard electric | 38 ft | 50 amp | 103 ft | 134 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 12 | standard electric | 44 ft | 50 amp | 112 ft | 126 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 13 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 77 ft | 78 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 14 | standard electric | 67 ft | 50 amp | 77 ft | 85 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 15 | standard electric | 73 ft | 50 amp | 95 ft | 92 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 16 | standard electric | 63 ft | 50 amp | 95 ft | 94 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 17 | standard electric | 65 ft | 50 amp | 113 ft | 92 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 18 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 57 ft | 64 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 19 | standard electric | 45 ft | 50 amp | 57 ft | 86 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 20 | standard electric | 68 ft | 50 amp | 106 ft | 92 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 21 | standard electric | 92 ft | 50 amp | 106 ft | 49 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 22 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 85 ft | 111 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 23 | standard electric | 50 ft | 50 amp | 59 ft | 120 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 24 | standard electric | 60 ft | 50 amp | 59 ft | 109 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 25 | standard electric | 62 ft | 50 amp | 71 ft | 155 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 26 | standard electric | 64 ft | 50 amp | 71 ft | 166 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 27 | standard electric | 70 ft | 50 amp | 76 ft | 168 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 28 | standard electric | 76 ft | 50 amp | 76 ft | 129 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 29 | standard electric | 64 ft | 50 amp | 76 ft | 145 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 30 | standard electric | 68 ft | 50 amp | 102 ft | 185 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 31 | standard electric | 48 ft | 50 amp | 100 ft | 226 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 32 | standard electric | 52 ft | 50 amp | 100 ft | 183 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 33 | standard electric | 26 ft | 30 amp | 219 ft | 426 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 34 | type not stated | 26 ft | 30 amp | 411 ft | ||
| FORK | 35 | type not stated | 38 ft | 30 amp | 435 ft | ||
| FORK | 36 | standard electric | 38 ft | 30 amp | 212 ft | 422 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 37 | type not stated | 38 ft | 30 amp | 474 ft | ||
| FORK | 38 | standard electric | 26 ft | 30 amp | 95 ft | 615 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 39 | standard electric | 26 ft | 30 amp | 89 ft | 681 ft | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 40 | standard electric | 26 ft | 30 amp | 89 ft | 619 ftTaylor Branch | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 41 | standard electric | 26 ft | 30 amp | 92 ft | 568 ftTaylor Branch | $20–$26 |
| FORK | 42 | standard electric | 38 ft | 30 amp | 92 ft | 568 ftTaylor Branch | $20–$26 |
| FORK | GS1 | day use | 30 amp | 106 ft | 515 ft | $25 |
The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.
OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.
25 of 43 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Belmont Park4.9 mi
Spillway Falls7.5 mi
Foscue Creek7.7 mi
Lock 67.9 mi
Jennings Ferry13 mi
Finches Ferry15 miFrom Demopolis, Alabama, go nine miles north on U.S. Highway 43, then turn left on County Road. Continue about a mile to the campground entrance.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Forkland, AL
Typical weather
Typical October night 53°F, day 78°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 34°F. Bring the bag rated for it.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

Forkland is in Alabama’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Terri Sewell (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →