National Park Service · Capitol Reef National Park · UT

Fruita Campground

2Heads uppark alerts
Caution
Monsoon Season & Flash Floods Heavy rains can cause sudden flooding, especially in canyons and washes. Do not drive or hike through flood waters. Get to high ground and wait for floods to subside. Some roads may close temporarily; closures are posted at the visitor…
Caution
Elevated E. Coli levels - Fremont River and Sulphur Creek Recent water quality testing shows elevated E. coli levels in the Fremont River and Sulphur Creek. A warning advisory has been issued by the Utah DEQ. Use caution if entering the water. Do not get water in your mouth, do not swim. Wash…
Alerts: National Park Service alerts API · Oct 17, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 64 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:32 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$25From, per site
Sites
7265 on recreation.gov
Season
Year-roundOpen year-round
52 ftLongest rig
5,440 ftElevation
1,109 ftWater · Fremont River
51.6 miSE of Monroe, UT
0%Tree cover
Open year-roundToday

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

Located in south-central Utah in the heart of red rock country, Capitol Reef National Park is a hidden treasure filled with cliffs, canyons, domes and bridges in the Waterpocket Fold, a geologic monocline (a wrinkle on the earth) extending almost 100 miles (160 km). The Fruita Campground has 71 sites. 65 sites are reservable year round- there are no longer first come, first serve sites any time of year . Sites 1, 2, 3, 6, 7 and 8 are used as administrative sites. Sites 14, 24, and 63 are accessible sites with electrical hookups. From March 1 through Thanksgiving weekend, generators are only permitted in Loop C during generator hours. Keep reading

Recreation

Walk to historic inscriptions on the Capitol Gorge Trail and stroll the Goosenecks Trail or longer trails such as Cohab Canyon, Chimney Rock, and Cassidy Arch. Check out our Trail Guide to explore your options. Enjoy the geology and view the Fremont Culture Petroglyphs along Hwy 24. In addition, the Scenic Drive will introduce you to the fascinating cultural and geological history of Capitol Reef National Park. The drive includes a portion of the original road through the Waterpocket Fold. The road passes through parts of the Fruita Historic District and follows the western faces of the Waterpocket Fold, and spur roads allow exploration into beautiful Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge. Check at the Visitor Center for a current schedule of interpretive programs, which may include geology talks, Fremont culture talks, evening programs, star gazing, moonwalks, and geology hikes. Wander through the historic Fruita Orchards and pick fresh fruit when in season. The orchards contain approximately 3,100 trees including cherry, apricot, peach, pear, apple, plum, mulberry, almond, and walnut. Discover Mormon pioneer history at the historic Gifford Homestead store and museum.

Facilities

The Fruita Campground has 71 sites. 65 sites are reservable year round. Sites 1, 2, 3, 6, 7 and 8 are used as administrative sites. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring (except sites 7, 48 and 50, which only have an above ground grill). There is a RV dump and potable water fill station near the entrance to Loops A and B. Restrooms have running water and flush toilets, but no showers. Accessible campsites are located adjacent to restrooms. Campsites have no individual water or sewage hookups. There are no electrical hookups (except accessible sites 14, 24, and 63). Electrical hookups at these sites are for required medical devices only. There are no first-come, first-served sites during reservation season. A Fruita Campground map (PDF) is available on the park website.

Natural Features

The Fruita Campground area is located one mile south of the visitor center and is often described as an oasis within the desert. Fruita Campground is a semi-shaded, grassy campground and is located in the Fruita Historic District of the park. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (435) 425-3791.

Nearby Attractions

The Fruita campground is adjacent to the Fremont River and is a short walk from the group site, amphitheater, picnic areas, hiking trails, the historic Gifford house and orchards.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Bring Reservation Information. There is no cell coverage at the campground, so please print, write down or otherwise save your confirmation and site number to present upon arrival.

Rule

Stay Limit. Fruita Campground has a 14 day stay limit per year.

Rule

Check In/Check Out. Check out is 11am and check in is 3pm.

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

Quiet hours: 10 pm to 6 am

Rule

Generators Hours: Mountain Daylight Time (Mar.–Nov.): 8 am–10 am and 6 pm–8 pm. Mountain Standard Time (Nov.–Mar.): 8 am–10 am and 5 pm–7 pm. From March 1 through Thanksgiving weekend, generators are only permitted in Loop C.

Rule

ADA sites with an electrical hook up (14, 24, and 63) are for required medical devices only.

Rule

Wildlife. Campers often see Mule Deer in the campground. Do not approach or feed them. As a visitor, you are responsible for your safety and the safety of the animals. Keep a distance of 30 feet between you and deer. You are responsible for backing up to a safe distance, even if the deer moves toward you.

Rule

Horses. Do not enter horse pastures where horses are present. Do not feed the horses.

Rule

Campfires. Fires may be built only in the grills and campfire rings provided. NOTE: Sites 7, 48 and 50 have grills, but no campfire rings. The park prohibits wood gathering. You may purchase firewood at the Gifford House or at local stores during the summer season. Please fully extinguish fires.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org. to learn more. Use of fuel burning stoves is encouraged.

Rule

Washing. Do not wash dishes or clothing at water faucets or in the restrooms. You must collect gray water and dump into the utility sink.

Rule

Pets. All pets must be on leash (6 feet or less in length) at all times. The park does not allow pets on the trails or in the backcountry or to leave pets unattended.

Rule

Orchards. You may pick fruit in orchards posted as open. There is no charge for fruit consumed within the orchard but all fruit taken out must be weighed and paid for. A scale and self-pay station are provided near each open orchard. Quiet hours are from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.

Rule

Hanging Lines. Hammocks, clotheslines, and slacklines are permitted only during daylight hours (unless the hammock is currently occupied i.e. you are sleeping for the night in your hammock), in your own campsite, and in such a way that no resource damage occurs. Slacklines must be attended at all times.

Rule

For more information: visit the Capitol Reef National Park website. To contact park staff with questions or to report a late arrival, please email care_fees@nps.gov or call 435-425-4173 (Sunday-Wednesday) or 435-425-3791 (Thursday-Saturday)

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
72 · 7 tent-only
Hookups
3 electric
Longest rig
52 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
4
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets - year round
Drinking water
Yes
Dump station
Yes
Source: National Park Service and agency records

Around the campground

On the water
River
Climbing
Hiking
Historic site
Ranger programs
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 32nd darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 2 days ago, 0.4 km away
Patchy color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (0.4 km) · Oct 15, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:32 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 64 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 1 is free on Mon, Oct 19. read 15:32 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.gov
A night$25plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$58DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$25
Standard Nonelectric$25
Tent Only Nonelectric$25
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Capitol Reef charges an entrance fee separate from camping fees.
You may pay the fee upon arrival at the entrance station or purchase in advance.
The park also honors Federal interagency passes (e.g., annual, senior, access, 4th grade, Golden Age pass etc.).
For more information visit the park's Fees & Passes web page.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$58

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $25 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:32 UTC · rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

72 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 65 mapped sites
47 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
84%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop B 045 14 ftLoop B 046 14 ftLoop B 047 15 ft

All 72 sites

71 of 72 sites located
Standard55Tent only7RV / electric3Type not stated6
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 62 of the 72 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Fruita CampsiteFruita Campground Scan and Paytype not stated32 ft
Loop A001type not stated1,010 ft
Loop A002type not stated984 ft
Loop A003type not stated39 ft982 ft
Loop A004standard nonelectric36 ft46 ft964 ft$25
Loop A005standard nonelectric32 ft46 ft944 ft$25
Loop A006type not stated32 ft970 ft
Loop A007type not stated33 ft917 ft
Loop A008type not stated30 ft955 ft
Loop A009standard nonelectric37 ft47 ft892 ft$25
Loop A010standard nonelectric30 ft66 ft776 ft$25
Loop A011standard nonelectric31 ft63 ft789 ft$25
Loop A012standard nonelectric38 ft47 ft847 ft$25
Loop A013standard nonelectric30 ft43 ft822 ft$25
Loop A014standard electric28 ftyes43 ft861 ft
Loop A015standard nonelectric33 ft53 ft851 ft$25
Loop A016standard nonelectric43 ft48 ft894 ft$25
Loop A017standard nonelectric29 ft62 ft963 ft$25
Loop A018standard nonelectric50 ft48 ft920 ft$25
Loop B019standard nonelectric29 ft47 ft837 ft$25
Loop B020standard nonelectric28 ft47 ft826 ft$25
Loop B021standard nonelectric32 ft47 ft792 ft$25
Loop B022standard nonelectric40 ft47 ft786 ft$25
Loop B023standard nonelectric32 ft54 ft748 ft$25
Loop B024standard electric34 ftyes50 ft744 ft
Loop B025standard nonelectric36 ft41 ft702 ft$25
Loop B026standard nonelectric29 ftyes41 ft668 ft$25
Loop B027standard nonelectric30 ft48 ft648 ft$25
Loop B028standard nonelectric30 ft46 ft690 ft$25
Loop B029standard nonelectric28 ft46 ft670 ft$25
Loop B030standard nonelectric42 ft52 ft563 ft$25
Loop B031standard nonelectric28 ft49 ft528 ft$25
Loop B032standard nonelectric36 ft49 ft572 ft$25
Loop B033standard nonelectric26 ft50 ft544 ft$25
Loop B034standard nonelectric28 ft47 ft576 ft$25
Loop B035standard nonelectric43 ft47 ft599 ft$25
Loop B036standard nonelectric29 ft44 ft574 ft$25
Loop B037standard nonelectric37 ft44 ft616 ft$25
Loop B038standard nonelectric30 ft41 ft617 ft$25
Loop B039standard nonelectric34 ft41 ft649 ft$25
Loop B040standard nonelectric34 ft47 ft675 ft$25
Loop B041standard nonelectric30 ft47 ft701 ft$25
Loop B042standard nonelectric32 ft48 ft722 ft$25
Loop B043tent only nonelectric16 ft779 ft$25
Loop B044tent only nonelectric16 ft792 ft$25
Loop B045tent only nonelectric14 ft805 ft$25
Loop B046tent only nonelectric14 ft816 ft$25
Loop B047tent only nonelectric15 ft827 ft$25
Loop B048standard nonelectric31 ft39 ft765 ft$25
Loop B049standard nonelectric35 ft33 ft848 ft$25
Loop B050standard nonelectric27 ft41 ft811 ft$25
Loop C051standard nonelectric42 ft76 ft569 ft$25
Loop C052standard nonelectric42 ft44 ft603 ft$25
Loop C053standard nonelectric40 ft53 ft637 ft$25
Loop C054standard nonelectric47 ft44 ft585 ft$25
Loop C055tent only nonelectric48 ft695 ft$25
Loop C056tent only nonelectric48 ft723 ft$25
Loop C057standard nonelectric50 ft65 ft683 ft$25
Loop C058standard nonelectric48 ft59 ft616 ft$25
Loop C059standard nonelectric45 ft50 ft649 ft$25
Loop C060standard nonelectric45 ft57 ft566 ft$25
Loop C061standard nonelectric29 ft50 ft612 ft$25
Loop C062standard nonelectric42 ft43 ft494 ft$25
Loop C063standard electric47 ftyes69 ft438 ft
Loop C064standard nonelectric30 ft43 ft503 ft$25
Loop C065standard nonelectric43 ft72 ft432 ft$25
Loop C066standard nonelectric47 ft77 ft472 ft$25
Loop C067standard nonelectric52 ft72 ft400 ft$25
Loop C068standard nonelectric44 ft70 ft365 ft$25
Loop C069standard nonelectric42 ft68 ft397 ft$25
Loop C070standard nonelectric45 ft68 ft457 ft$25
Loop C071standard nonelectric48 ft70 ft444 ft$25

25 of 72 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate38.28249, -111.24689
The phone(435)425-4172(MON-THUR) OR (435)425-3791(FRI-SUN) OR EMAIL C
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Traveling westbound on Interstate 70: Take Utah State Highway 24 west towards Hanksville (exit 149). Stay on Highway 24 for 80 miles (129 km) to reach the park Visitor Center.

Traveling on Interstate 15: Take US Highway 50 east at Scipio (exit 188) towards Salina for 30 miles (48 km). At the junction with Utah State Highway 89/259, turn right (south) and travel 8 miles (13 km). Turn left (east) onto Utah State Highway 24 towards Sigurd. Continue on Highway 24 for 82 miles (132 km) to reach the park Visitor Center.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon63°Sunny
Tonight45°Mostly Cloudy3% rain
Sunday60°Partly Sunny12% rain
Sunday Night45°Partly Cloudy4% rain

NWS forecast for Torrey, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 43°F, day 66°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 21°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CAPITOL REEF NP, UT (USC00421171), 1 mile away and 60 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Happy Valley14,458 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Wayne Wonderland12,395 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Celeste Maloy, official portrait

Fruita Campground is in Utah’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Celeste Maloy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 4
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Capitol Reef National Park

Asks the National Park Service to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up, and to post what that share is.

Subject Hold back a share of sites at Fruita Campground for campers who drive up

To the National Park Service, Capitol Reef National Park:

I tried to camp at Fruita Campground in Utah and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 65 of the 72 campsites the agency files at Fruita Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 64 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Fruita Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m asking for one specific thing: set aside a published share of the sites at Fruita Campground as first-come, first-served, and post what that share is so it can be checked.

Somebody who drives up has no way in, and no way to find out whether they might have had one.

Sent about Fruita Campground (Capitol Reef National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To Celeste Maloy

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Park, Utah

Dear Celeste Maloy,

I’m a constituent in Utah’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 65 of the 72 campsites the agency files at Fruita Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 64 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Fruita Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Fruita Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Fruita Campground (Capitol Reef National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To John R. Curtis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Park, Utah

Dear John R. Curtis,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 65 of the 72 campsites the agency files at Fruita Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 64 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Fruita Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Fruita Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Fruita Campground (Capitol Reef National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Lee

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Park, Utah

Dear Mike Lee,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 65 of the 72 campsites the agency files at Fruita Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 64 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Fruita Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Fruita Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Fruita Campground (Capitol Reef National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (0.4 km) · Oct 15, 2026
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Torrey, UT, 9 mi E. Straight line.