U.S. Forest Service · San Bernardino National Forest · CA

Green Valley

5Heads up5 fires, nearest 12 mi
Wildfire
Orange 2 fire · 12 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Juniper fire · 12 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Assist/Bdu/82A fire · 14 mi away · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Mtz/Bdc/83A fire · 15 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Powerline fire · 22 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 24 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:51 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 2 of the next 2 nights read 15:51 UTC
A night
$29–$56Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3736 on recreation.gov
35 ftLongest rig
7,050 ftElevation
5,067 ftWater · Green Valley Lake
2.2 miNE of Running Springs, CA
32%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Green Valley Campground is located near Arrowbear in the San Bernardino National Forest in Southern California. It is centered between Lake Arrowhead and Big Bear Lake, providing ample recreational opportunities in the area's pine-covered mountains. Green Valley Lake, known for its exceptional trout fishing, is located about a mile from this beautiful mountain campground. Keep reading

Recreation

Green Valley Lake, which is known for its trout fishing, is located just minutes away. Boating and swimming are popular activities as well. The high elevation lake also provides access to a variety of hiking trails.

Facilities

The campground offers single-family sites for tent and RV camping. Some sites are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Each site is equipped with a table and campfire ring with grill. Flush toilets and drinking water are provided. No overflow parking is available.

Natural Features

The campground is situated in a forest of pine, fir and cedar trees, mixed with open spaces filled shrubbery and grassy meadows. It overlooks a seasonal mountain creek and sits at an elevation of 7,200 feet.

Nearby Attractions

Lake Arrowhead is about 16 miles west and Big Bear Lake is about 15 miles east. A variety of services and recreational activities are available at each place.

Charges & Cancellations

Rules & Reservation Policies As you make travel plans that include reservations on Recreation.gov, there are standard policies that apply to most locations of which you should be aware. Do keep in mind, however, that there are many exceptions, so it is best to review reservation information listed on individual facility pages for those policies and procedures that pertain to your specific locations. Any location or activity requiring a permit or lottery will have unique requirements and policies. Please check individual facility pages for pertinent information for those sites. Booking Window For most locations, you can reserve six months in advance of your stay for individual sites and 12 months in advance for group sites. There are some exceptions, so it is best to check with each facility. Change and Cancellation Policies and Fees Overnight and Day Use Facilities: To ensure fairness, reservation arrival or departure dates may not be changed beyond the booking window until 18 days after booking the reservation. Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount. You can cancel or change reservations through Recreation.gov or by calling 1-877-444-6777. Tours & Tickets: You may request changes to tour dates at no cost before the arrival date. If you cancel before your tour date, you may be eligible for a refund. Cancellation fees apply. Please check the tour facility description details page for cancellation policies. Permits: Varies by location. Please check the permit details for the permit location. Late Cancellations Overnight and Day Use Facilities: Late cancellations are those cancelled between 12:01 a.m. (Eastern) on the day before arrival and check out time on the day after arrival. Individual Campsites: If a customer cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival they will be charged a $10.00 service fee and will also forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a single night's reservation will forfeit the entire use fee but no cancellation fee will apply. Cabins / Lookouts: Customers will be charged a $10.00 cancellation fee and forfeit the first night's use fee if a cabin or lookout reservation is cancelled within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Facility: If a customer cancels a group overnight facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date they will be charged the $10.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's use fee. Cancellations for a single night's use will not be assessed a service fee. Group Day Use Area: If a customer cancels a group day use facility reservation within 14 days of the scheduled arrival date, they will forfeit the total day use fee with no service fee charge. No-Shows Camping / Day Use: A camping no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Reserved campsites and group overnight facilities will be held until check-out time on the day following your scheduled arrival. Group day-use facilities will be held until check-in time on your scheduled arrival date. If a customer does not arrive at the campground or group facility by check-out time the day after arrival or does not cancel the reservation by the times listed under "Late Cancellations" above, the customer may be assessed a $20.00 service fee and forfeit use fees. Tours: A tour or ticket no-show is one who does not cancel a ticket before arrival and does not arrive for the tour. Tour no-shows are not entitled to a refund. Refunds Customers must request refunds no later than 14 days after the scheduled departure date. Recreation.gov will not grant refund requests after 14 days of departure. Reservation Fee: For some facilities, tours or permits an additional reservation fee is charged. For some overnight and day-use facilities, an additional non-refundable reservation fee may apply. The non-refundable reservation fee for tours and tickets is $1.00. The non-refundable reservation fee for permits varies by location. Refunds for Bankcard Purchases: Refunds for bank card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank card. Refunds for Check or Cash Purchases: Refunds for Recreation.gov payments made by check or money order, and cash payments at selected campgrounds will be issued a check refund. A refund will be processed within 30 days of receipt and approval. Please Note: Refund requests made during or after departure can only be processed when approved by the facility management staff based upon local policy. Refunds for Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team will attempt to notify users and offer alternate dates (as appropriate). If this is not possible, reservations will be cancelled and all fees paid will be refunded. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure. Recreation.gov Billing Information Reservation transaction will appear on customer's credit card statements as "Recreation.gov 877-444-6777." Changes to Policies and Procedures Recreation.gov reserves the right, when necessary, to modify reservation policies. These policies were last updated July

What the agency tells you

Rule

We are located in the San Bernardino Mountains, we are not the State Park in San Diego.

Rule

Bears frequent the area; use appropriate containers for food and garbage

Rule

Off-road vehicle use is prohibited within the campground

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Fire restrictions may be imposed at any time due to hot, dry weather conditions, at which time campfires and charcoal fires may not be allowed

Rule

In accordance with standard industry practices, Mountain Top Recreation will be assessing a $8 additional vehicle fee per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicles in any double family campsite, provided these vehicles are not joined to the first vehicle by a hitch and towed onto the site. In the case of motorcycles, the first two are considered to be one vehicle and the third and fourth are also considered to be one vehicle. No additional vehicle fees are collected for bicycles. The fee will be collected at the campground if you did not pay for the Extra Vehicle Add On. Extra vehicles must fit on the parking spur at your site.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

Click here for more information on the San Bernardino National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
37 · 28 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
32 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
FLUSH TOILETS on 38 of 45 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER (HAND PUMP) on 38 of 45 campsite records
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek, Meadow
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Night sky · 1143rd darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 5
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:51 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 17Bookable now through October 17, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$29–$56plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$66–$120DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Apr 16 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$29–$56
Standard Nonelectric$29
Tent Only Nonelectric$29
Tent Only Nonelectric-Double$56
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 17, 2026 to Oct 17, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$8

“In accordance with standard industry practices, Mountain Top Recreation will be assessing a $8 additional vehicle fee per night on the second vehicle in each single family campsite, and on the third and fourth vehicle…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$37–$64
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$66–$120

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $29–$56 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Camping / Day Use: A $10.00 service fee will apply if you change or cancel your reservation (including campsites, cabins, lookouts, group facilities, etc.). The $10.00 service fee will be deducted from the refund amount.” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

recreation.gov availability, read 15:51 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

45 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 25 mapped sites
51 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop GREE 001 29 ftLoop GREE 002 29 ftLoop GREE 003 31 ft

All 45 records

26 of 45 records located
Standard6Tent only19Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 26 of the 45 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 37 of the 45 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AREA GREEN VALLEYXXXunnamed record35 ftFlush Toilets listed$29
AREA GREEN VALLEYXXX1unnamed record$29
AREA GREEN VALLEYXXX2unnamed record$29
AREA GREEN VALLEYXXX3unnamed record$29
AREA GREEN VALLEYXXX4unnamed record$29
AREA GREEN VALLEYXXX5unnamed record$29
AREA GREEN VALLEYXXX6unnamed record$29
AREA GREEN VALLEYXXX7unnamed record$29
GREE001tent only nonelectric20 ft29 ft5,050 ft193 ft$29–$56
GREE002tent only nonelectric20 ft29 ft5,068 ft167 ft$29–$56
GREE003tent only nonelectric20 ft32 ft5,095 ft149 ft$29–$56
GREE004tent only nonelectric20 ft48 ft5,226 ft157 ft$29–$56
GREE005tent only nonelectric20 ft48 ft5,180 ft113 ft$29–$56
GREE006standard nonelectric20 ft243 ft1.0 mi433 ft$29
GREE007type not stated20 ft1.0 mi487 ft$29
GREE008standard nonelectric20 ft213 ft1.1 mi672 ft$29
GREE009tent only nonelectric20 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE010standard nonelectric20 ftFlush Toilets listed$29
GREE011standard nonelectric25 ft46 ft1.1 mi859 ft$29
GREE012tent only nonelectric20 ft46 ft1.1 mi813 ft$29–$56
GREE013standard nonelectric20 ft66 ft1.1 mi778 ft$29
GREE014tent only nonelectric20 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE015tent only nonelectric20 ft52 ft1.1 mi598 ft$29–$56
GREE016standard nonelectric20 ft39 ft1.1 mi621 ft$29
GREE017standard nonelectric25 ft39 ft1.1 mi654 ft$29
GREE018standard nonelectric25 ftFlush Toilets listed$29
GREE019tent only nonelectric20 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE020tent only nonelectric20 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE021tent only nonelectric20 ft161 ft5,043 ft58 ft$29–$56
GREE022tent only nonelectric20 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE023tent only nonelectric10 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE024tent only nonelectric10 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE025tent only nonelectric20 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56
GREE026tent only nonelectric20 ft45 ft1.0 mi685 ft$29–$56
GREE027tent only nonelectric20 ft45 ft1.0 mi683 ft$29–$56
GREE028tent only nonelectric20 ft194 ft1.1 mi878 ft$29–$56
GREE029tent only nonelectric10 ft50 ft1.1 mi1,238 ft$29–$56
GREE030tent only nonelectric20 ft50 ft1.1 mi1,240 ft$29–$56
GREE031tent only nonelectric10 ft124 ft1.2 mi1,517 ft$29–$56
GREE032tent only nonelectric10 ft124 ft1.1 mi1,456 ft$29–$56
GREE033tent only nonelectric10 ft176 ft1.2 mi1,689 ft$29–$56
GREE034/35tent only nonelectric32 ft239 ft1.2 mi1,946 ft$29–$56
GREE036tent only nonelectric20 ft178 ft1.2 mi2,154 ft$29–$56
GREE037tent only nonelectric10 ft178 ft1.2 mi2,018 ft$29–$56
GREE038tent only nonelectric10 ftFlush Toilets listed$29–$56

The agency files 8 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It types every one of them MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 45 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon60°Sunny1% rain
Tonight49°Mostly Clear1% rain
Saturday58°Partly Sunny6% rain
Saturday Night45°Mostly Cloudy8% rain

NWS forecast for Running Springs, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 35°F, day 63°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 24°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BIG BEAR LAKE, CA (USC00040741), 8 miles away and 297 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Mill Peak7,884 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Crystal Creek6,783 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
City Creek9,997 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Jay Obernolte, official portrait

Green Valley is in California’s 23rd congressional district. Its representative, Jay Obernolte (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Jay Obernolte

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Green Valley, San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Jay Obernolte,

I’m a constituent in California’s 23rd district. I tried to camp at Green Valley, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 36 of the 37 campsites the agency files at Green Valley, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Green Valley keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Green Valley. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Green Valley (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Green Valley, San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Green Valley, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 36 of the 37 campsites the agency files at Green Valley, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Green Valley keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Green Valley. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Green Valley (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Green Valley, San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Green Valley, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 36 of the 37 campsites the agency files at Green Valley, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Green Valley keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Green Valley. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Green Valley (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 2 of the next 2 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.