Hazard Lake
1Heads up1 fire 8.5 mi away
- Right now
- Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
- A night
- $10–$15Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 1412 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there
In the agency’s own words
Hazard Lake Campground is situated along the shore of Hazard Lake at an elevation of 7,050’, Hazard Lake Campground presents convenient lakeside access and abundant recreational opportunities. This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading
Recreation
The Upper Hazard Lake Trail #169 departs directly from Hazard Lake. The surrounding area presents plenty of additional trail access for multiuse enjoyment. Motorized use on the lake is limited by a “no wake” restriction and there is no boat ramp available so lightweight, portable watercraft are recommended.
Facilities
Each of 12 sites includes a fire ring and picnic table. Potable water is typically available July – September.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 14
- Hookups
- None
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 12 of the 14 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 13
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$15 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
14 sites · the site map
All 14 sites
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 14 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 14 of the 14 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| Hazard Lake | 01 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 02 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 03 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 04 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 05 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 06 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 07 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 08 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 09 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 10 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 11 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Hazard Lake | 12 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Scan and Pay | SP Double | type not stated | $10–$15 | ||
| Scan and Pay | SP Single | type not stated | 493 ft | 204 ft | $10–$15 |
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Upper Payette Lake CampgroundPayette National Forest · 7.8 mi
Grouse CampgroundPayette National Forest · 9.3 mi
BurgdorfPayette National Forest · 12 mi
Burgdorf Guard StationPayette National Forest · 12 miFrom McCall, travel five miles west on Highway 55. Turn right on Goose Lake Road/Forest Road #257. Follow the paved road to Brundage Mountain Resort where the road turns to gravel and continue approximately 18 miles to the campground.
The weather
the next four days
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for New Meadows, ID
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Hazard Lake is in Idaho’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Russ Fulcher (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →