U.S. Forest Service · Cherokee National Forest · TN

Horse Creek Recreation Area

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 5 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:41 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 13 of the next 13 nights; a database flag says not open read 15:41 UTC
A night
$10From, per site
Sites
1714 on recreation.gov
1,760 ftElevation
13 ftWater · Horse Creek
4.8 miSE of Tusculum, TN
64%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 59th darkest of 95 in TN

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 13 notices

In the agency’s own words

Horse Creek Recreation Area is located eight miles from Greeneville, off TN 107 north. This recreation area is nestled into a hardwood cove beside its namesake, Horse Creek. Horse Creek is located in the Chuckey area of Greeneville, TN. The campground is primarily walk-in, tent camping only. With plenty of forest-related activities to do around the campground and being located right outside the city of Greeneville, Horse Creek is the perfect place to stay! Numerous hiking trails, picnic areas, and swimming spots are located within Horse Creek. Keep reading

Recreation

There are several native trout streams within and nearby Horse Creek Recreation Area. See Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency for permits as well as rules and regulations on fishing. There are two areas for picnicking in the Horse Creek Recreation Area, one upstream and one downstream of the campground. Multiple hiking trails can be accessed from Horse Creek.

Facilities

Horse Creek Recreation Area offers a bathhouse for campers use. The bathhouse includes hot showers, flushable toilets, and sinks.

Natural Features

Squibb Creek Falls: Get your feet wet on this 4-mile (round trip) trail on your way to see the 25-foot tall Squibb Creek Falls. This trail lies almost entirely in the Congressionally designated Sampson Mountain Wilderness. Please take extra caution when hiking this trail, as trails are not blazed and stream crossings may be difficult to negotiate. Pete's Branch Falls: This short, easy trail starts to the left of Poplar Cove trailhead after the first creek crossing. The trail follows the creek with 5 creek crossings to a 45-foot waterfall. It is recommended to come during the wet spring and fall months, where the abundance of water makes for optimal viewing. During the dry months, you can expect just a trickle coming over the falls. Please note that hiking or driving on Forest Road 94 requires several creek crossings. Hiking from the trailhead requires an additional 1.5 (each way) hike. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (423) 638-4109.

What the agency tells you

Rule

It is your responsibility to read, know, understand, and follow all specific rules and regulations which are also posted at the campground.

Rule

Be Bear Wise: Food storage compliance is strictly enforced. Store all food and trash in hard-sided containers and vehicles while not in use. Never have attractants in your tent. Violations of the food storage order are ticketable offenses and subject to fines. Food and trash left unattended will be impounded by campground staff. A copy of the Food Storage Order can be found at https://www.fs.usda.gov/sites/nfs/files/r08/cherokee/publication/Food%20and%20Refuse%20Storage%20Requirements.pdf

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Everything else this campground posts · 10
Rule

The following items are expressly prohibited: o Firearms and fireworks o Alcohol and illegal drugs o Public nudity

Rule

All sites are primitive, walk-in camping only. Water and electricity are NOT available at the sites. Walking is required to access the sites.

Rule

The bathhouse and bathrooms are located a considerable distance from the sites.

Rule

Use designated fire rings for all fires. Do not build additional fire rings. No burning plastic or other non-wood materials except local wood in fire pits and charcoal in grills.

Rule

Max of 5 people per site, including infants and children. Max of 2 tents and 1 canopy.

Rule

There is one public water spigot located next to the host site.

Rule

All users' equipment must be contained within the site. Sites must be kept neat and orderly.

Rule

All animals must be crated or on a leash not longer than 6 feet.

Rule

Check-out time is 12:00PM. Check-in time is 2:00PM. If you arrive earlier, you may have to wait for a campsite.

Rule

Forest Service Volunteer Campground Hosts help manage the area and can provide visitor information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
17 · 13 walk-in
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
Shower/Bath Type states a shower on 13 campsite record(s) that are not a cabin, of this campground's 18
Stay limit
13 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Creek
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:41 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 5 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 12 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 15:41 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 28Bookable now through October 28, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 7, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 7, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay13 nightsthe facility record
A night$10plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 7 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$10
ScanPay 1$10
Site 1$10
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 5, 2026 to Oct 28, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $10 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:41 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

18 records

All 18 records

Takes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 1 of the 18 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Horse CreekHost Sitehost pad
Horse CreekSite 1walk to
Horse CreekSite 10walk to
Horse CreekSite 11walk to
Horse CreekSite 12walk to
Horse CreekSite 13walk to
Horse CreekSite 14standard nonelectric$10
Horse CreekSite 2walk to
Horse CreekSite 3walk to
Horse CreekSite 4walk to
Horse CreekSite 5walk to
Horse CreekSite 6walk to
Horse CreekSite 7walk to
Horse CreekSite 8walk to
Horse CreekSite 9walk to
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today78°Sunny then Chance Rain Showers49% rain
Tonight43°Rain Showers75% rain
Saturday52°Chance Rain Showers then Partly Sunny33% rain
Saturday Night35°Mostly Clear then Areas Of Frost3% rain

NWS forecast for Tusculum, TN

Typical weather

Typical October night 44°F, day 72°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 26°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GREENEVILLE EXP STN, TN (USC00403679), 10 miles away and 440 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Bald Mountain11,743 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Sampson Mountain Addition3,064 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Bald Mountain11,085 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Diana Harshbarger, official portrait

Horse Creek Recreation Area is in Tennessee’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Diana Harshbarger (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Diana Harshbarger

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Horse Creek Recreation Area, Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee

Dear Diana Harshbarger,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee’s 1st district. I tried to camp at Horse Creek Recreation Area, Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 17 campsites the agency files at Horse Creek Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 5 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Horse Creek Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Horse Creek Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Horse Creek Recreation Area (Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee) via campanac.com
To Bill Hagerty

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Horse Creek Recreation Area, Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee

Dear Bill Hagerty,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee. I tried to camp at Horse Creek Recreation Area, Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 17 campsites the agency files at Horse Creek Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 5 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Horse Creek Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Horse Creek Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Horse Creek Recreation Area (Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee) via campanac.com
To Marsha Blackburn

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Horse Creek Recreation Area, Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee

Dear Marsha Blackburn,

I’m a constituent in Tennessee. I tried to camp at Horse Creek Recreation Area, Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 17 campsites the agency files at Horse Creek Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 5 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Horse Creek Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Horse Creek Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Horse Creek Recreation Area (Cherokee National Forest, Tennessee) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 13 of the next 13 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.