Indian Creek Campground (WY)
4Heads uppark alerts
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $20From, per site
- Sites
- 7368 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices
In the agency’s own words
Located about eight miles (13 km) south of Mammoth Hot Springs on the road to Norris, Indian Creek Campground—elevation 7,300 feet (2225 m)—sits near the base of the Gallatin Mountains and offers breathtaking views of Electric Peak. The area offers easy access to fishing and hiking. The campground is away from the main road and provides a quieter, more primitive, experience than many other locations. For reservations at the campgrounds managed by Yellowstone National Park Lodges (Fishing Bridge RV Park, Bridge Bay, Canyon, Madison, and Grant Village campgrounds), please visit the Yellowstone National Park Lodges website. Keep reading
Recreation
Visit the Fishing, Hiking, and/or Photography & Wildlife Watching web pages for ideas of things you can do. The Bighorn Pass trailhead is on the entrance road to the campground.
Facilities
Indian Creek Campground offers 70 campsites. A registration office and information board is situated at the entrance of the campground. This campground has an amphitheater and the Bighorn Pass trailhead.
Natural Features
Highlights in the Mammoth Hot Springs and the North area include Obsidian Creek and the Gardner River, Big Horn Pass Trail, Sheepeater Cliff picnic area, and Willow Park to Watch Wildlife.
Nearby Attractions
Bighorn Pass trailhead Sheepeaters Cliff picnic area Rustic Falls Apollonaris Spring Obsidian Cliff Contact Info This location has limited staffing. Please call (307) 344-2289 for general information.
Charges & Cancellations
Changing Reservations: There is no change fee if a visitor extends or shortens a reservation, as long as the change includes dates from the original reservation. Additionally, there is no change fee if the visitor wants to switch sites that are the same price with the same reservation dates in the same facility. If a visitor wants to switch dates that are entirely outside of the original reservation dates, there is a $10 change fee. If a reservation is made that includes dates beyond the maximum booking window, that reservation cannot be changed until 18 days have passed from the original booking date. Once a reservation date has begun, visitors cannot change a reservation using the online system or through the Call Center. Onsite staff will assist with changes or cancellations. Cancellations: Visitors may cancel their reservation prior to arrival both on-line and through the call center. A $10 service fee will be withheld from any refund for a cancellation. A visitor who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's approved rate including tax and applicable add-on. Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee. Visitors who cancel a group overnight facility reservation less than 14 days prior to arrival date will pay a $10 service fee AND forfeit the first night’s rate. No-Shows: A no-show visitor is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. Staff will hold a campsite until check-out time on the day following the arrival date. No-shows are assessed $20.00 service fee and forfeit the first night's rate, taxes and applicable add-on for a campsite. Early Departures: Visitors are requested to notify staff at the facility if they depart early to allow others to use the site. If the visitor chooses to depart early, they may forfeit the approved rate and applicable tax and applicable add-on for the day of departure. If a visitor departs prior to the scheduled check-out date, they may be eligible for a partial refund. Visitors may notify the Recreation.gov call center to request a refund of remaining unused nights. If a visitor requests a refund for an early departure after the facility check-out time (10 am) has passed, the visitor will not be refunded for that night and is eligible for a refund on any additional nights that will not be used. Refunds: Visitors may submit a refund request through their Recreation.gov profile within 7 days of the end date of their reservation. Visitors may also initiate a refund request through the call center at any time after their reservation has ended. Refunds for debit or credit card payments will be issued as a credit to the original bank or credit card used to pay. For check or cash purchases, Recreation.gov will mail a Treasury check for refunds of cash, check, or money order payments to the address associated with the reservation. Treasury check refunds may take up to 6-8 weeks to arrive. In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team or facility manager will refund all fees and will attempt to notify you using the contact information within the Recreation.gov visitor profile.
What the agency tells you
Indian Creek Campground is managed by the park. If you are looking for campgrounds managed by Yellowstone National Park Lodges (Fishing Bridge RV Park, Bridge Bay, Canyon, Madison, and Grant Village campgrounds), please visit the Yellowstone National Park Lodges Camping website.
RV or Camper Unit Delivery Prohibited. The delivery or pick-up of out-of-park RVs or other camper unit rentals is prohibited.
Notify the Campground of Late Arrivals. To notify campground of late arrival for reservations more than 1 night or cancellation please call 307-344-2289
Everything else this campground posts · 7
Parking. All wheeled vehicles including trailers and motorcycles must be parked on parking pads or established roadways, so as not to block or restrict traffic in campgrounds.
Camping Occupancy Maximums. Maximum occupancy is six people per site. Camp only in designated sites. Camping is limited to 14 days from July 1 through Labor Day and to 30 days the rest of the year parkwide. The 44-day camping limit includes both concession- and park-operated campgrounds.
Wildlife/Bear Regulations. • Keep all food and related items - beverages, cooking utensils, stoves, pet food and, empty or full, food and beverage containers such as coolers, ice chests, and water jugs - locked inside your vehicle or stored in a food storage box, unless in immediate use. Bear resistant food containers must be kept in a vehicle, in a hard-sided camping unit, or in a food storage box. • All trash and garbage must be disposed of in the provided bear-proof trash cans. Do not leave food related trash or garbage unattended. • Washing dishes or clothing at campground hydrants or spigots is prohibited. Carry all dishwater/wastewater to the restroom toilet for disposal.
Campfires and Firewood. Wood and charcoal fires are permitted. Campfires are permitted only in established fire grates. Fires must be attended at all times. Only dead, down, and detached wood may be gathered. Wood should not extend outside the fire grate perimeter. Do not break limbs off of standing trees, living or dead. Drown campfires thoroughly with water to make sure they are completely out. NOTE: Wood and charcoal fires may be subject to special restrictions due to fire danger. Restrictions will be listed on campground information boards and on the park's Current Conditions page. Propane grills and stoves are not usually affected by fire restrictions.
Quiet Hours & Generators. Quiet hours are from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. and are strictly enforced. No loud audio devices or other noise disturbances will be allowed during this time. Generators are prohibited.
Stay on Boardwalks and Trails. All travel in thermal areas is restricted to NPS designated trails and boardwalks.
Fishing. To fish within the park, people 16 years of age and older are required to purchase and carry on their person a Yellowstone National Park Fishing Permit (you may purchase in advance). To learn more about fishing regulations, visit the park's Catch a Fish web page.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 73
- Hookups
- None
- Longest rig
- 49 ft
- Paved pads
- 4 of 73
- Accessible sites
- 2
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets - seasonal
- Drinking water
- Yes
- Camp host
- On site
- recreation.gov lists “Host”
- Stay limit
- 30 nights
- recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Around the campground
- On the water
- Hot springs, River, Creek, Coast
- Amphitheater
- Backpacking
- Birding
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Wildlife viewing
- Night sky · 52nd darkest of 248 in WY
- Bortle 2
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 68 of the 73 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 11
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the lowest per-night amount the agency’s fee record states ($20), plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“If a visitor wants to switch dates that are entirely outside of the original reservation dates, there is a $10 change fee. A $10 service fee will be withheld from any refund for a cancellation.” · this campground’s own no-show terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 6
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · record Aug 23, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
73 sites · which ones have room · the site map
The sites, ranked
from 68 mapped sitesAll 73 sites
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| A | Indian Creek site #1 | type not stated | 220 ft | |||
| A | Indian Creek site #10 | type not stated | 425 ft | |||
| A | Indian Creek site #11 | standard nonelectric | 66 ft | 454 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #12 | standard nonelectric | 29 ft | 500 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #13 | standard nonelectric | 29 ft | 475 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #14 | standard nonelectric | 53 ft | 533 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #15 | standard nonelectric | 29 ft | 573 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #16 | standard nonelectric | 15 ft | 29 ft | 587 ft | |
| A | Indian Creek site #17 | standard nonelectric | 25 ft | 26 ft | 668 ft | |
| A | Indian Creek site #18 | standard nonelectric | 26 ft | 681 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #19 | standard nonelectric | 23 ft | 713 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #2 | type not stated | 329 ft | |||
| A | Indian Creek site #20 | standard nonelectric | 23 ft | 725 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #21 | standard nonelectric | 39 ft | 822 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #22 | standard nonelectric | 39 ft | 802 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #23 | standard nonelectric | 31 ft | 781 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #24 | standard nonelectric | 31 ft | 750 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #25 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 721 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #26 | standard nonelectric | 56 ft | 655 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #27 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 613 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #28 | standard nonelectric | 33 ft | 582 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #29 | standard nonelectric | 33 ft | 553 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #3 | type not stated | 364 ft | |||
| A | Indian Creek site #30 | standard nonelectric | 43 ft | 512 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #31 | standard nonelectric | 22 ft | 471 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #32 | standard nonelectric | 22 ft | 455 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #4 | standard nonelectric | 27 ft | 329 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #5 | standard nonelectric | 27 ft | 302 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #6 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 305 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #7 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 318 ft | ||
| A | Indian Creek site #8 | standard nonelectric | yes | 44 ft | 358 ft | |
| A | Indian Creek site #9 | standard nonelectric | 44 ft | 401 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #33 | standard nonelectric | 49 ft | 444 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #34 | standard nonelectric | 28 ft | 493 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #35 | standard nonelectric | 28 ft | 517 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #36 | standard nonelectric | 48 ft | 615 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #37 | standard nonelectric | 41 ft | 655 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #38 | standard nonelectric | 41 ft | 693 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #39 | standard nonelectric | 49 ft | 738 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #40 | standard nonelectric | 18 ft | 44 ft | 791 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #41 | standard nonelectric | 31 ft | 833 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #42 | standard nonelectric | 31 ft | 834 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #43 | standard nonelectric | 28 ft | 893 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #44 | standard nonelectric | 49 ft | 28 ft | 909 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #45 | standard nonelectric | 62 ft | 952 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #46 | standard nonelectric | 49 ft | 39 ft | 1,012 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #47 | standard nonelectric | 39 ft | 1,039 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #48 | standard nonelectric | 39 ft | 1,110 ftObsidian Creek | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #49 | standard nonelectric | 26 ft | 38 ft | 1,074 ftObsidian Creek | |
| B | Indian Creek site #50 | standard nonelectric | 37 ft | 35 ft | 1,072 ftObsidian Creek | |
| B | Indian Creek site #51 | standard nonelectric | 27 ft | 35 ft | 1,040 ftObsidian Creek | |
| B | Indian Creek site #52 | standard nonelectric | 45 ft | 950 ftObsidian Creek | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #53 | standard nonelectric | 37 ft | 949 ftObsidian Creek | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #54 | standard nonelectric | 37 ft | 913 ftObsidian Creek | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #55 | standard nonelectric | 32 ft | 940 ftObsidian Creek | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #56 | standard nonelectric | 32 ft | 909 ftObsidian Creek | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #57 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 44 ft | 914 ftObsidian Creek | |
| B | Indian Creek site #58 | standard nonelectric | yes | 44 ft | 949 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #59 | type not stated | 868 ft | |||
| B | Indian Creek site #60 | standard nonelectric | 52 ft | 825 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #61 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 774 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #62 | standard nonelectric | 35 ft | 35 ft | 761 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #63 | standard nonelectric | 38 ft | 703 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #64 | standard nonelectric | 38 ft | 680 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #65 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 21 ft | 581 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #66 | standard nonelectric | 34 ft | 21 ft | 581 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #67 | standard nonelectric | 27 ft | 24 ft | 529 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #68 | standard nonelectric | 26 ft | 24 ft | 546 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #69 | standard nonelectric | 24 ft | 501 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #70 | standard nonelectric | 24 ft | 506 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #71 | standard nonelectric | 26 ft | 449 ft | ||
| B | Indian Creek site #72 | standard nonelectric | 30 ft | 26 ft | 474 ft | |
| B | Indian Creek site #73 | standard nonelectric | 28 ft | 39 ft | 449 ft |
25 of 73 listed
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Mammoth Campground (Yellowstone)Yellowstone National Park · 6.3 mi
Norris CampgroundYellowstone National Park · 11 mi
Eagle Creek Campground - Custer Gallatin National ForestExecutive Order No. 3053 Federal Game Refuge Withdrawal · 11 mi
Timber Camp CampgroundGallatin National Forest · 16 mi
Canyon CampgroundYellowstone National Park · 16 mi
Bear Creek Campground - MTGallatin National Forest · 17 miThe Indian Creek Campground is located in the Northern section of the park, about eight miles (13 km) south of Mammoth Hot Springs on the road to Norris, and thirteen miles (21 km) from the park's North Entrance near Gardiner, MT. Visit the park's website to Plan Your Visit and find maps and information on Directions & Transportation.
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Mammoth, WY
Typical weather
Typical October night 25°F, day 46°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 3°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
What threatens this place
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Indian Creek Campground (WY) is in Wyoming’s at-large congressional district. Its representative, Harriet Hageman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →