Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 169 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:14 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 16:14 UTC
A night
$10–$30Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
247212 on recreation.gov
95 ftLongest rig
650 ftElevation
624 ftWater · Mark Twain Lake
7.2 miS of Monroe City, MO
68%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Indian Creek Campground offers spacious campsites and convenient access to a variety of recreation amenities. Visitors can enjoy Indian Creek Beach, two boat ramps, two fish cleaning stations, hiking trails, playgrounds, and picnic areas all within the recreation area. Keep reading

Recreation

Indian Creek Campground offers spacious campsites and convenient access to a variety of recreation amenities. Visitors can enjoy Indian Creek Beach, two boat ramps, two fish cleaning stations, hiking trails, playgrounds, and picnic areas all within the recreation area.

Facilities

Indian Creek provides four recreation areas: a public boat ramp, group campground, day-use area and the standard campground. The group camp provides 25 electric campsites, group shelter, restroom, shower and playground. The Day-Use Area provides group shelter, picnic sites and playground. The campground offers 190 campsites, 20 primitive hike-in campsites, showers, restrooms, playgrounds, a fish cleaning station, boat ramp, beach, hiking trails.

Natural Features

Mark Twain Lake is sourced by the Salt River in northeast Missouri. The Clarence Cannon Dam sits on the eastern edge of the lake, providing flood control and hydroelectricity to the region, in addition to an extensive habitat for wildlife.

Nearby Attractions

While visiting the area, tour the birthplace of the world-famous humorist and writer Mark Twain in the nearby Mark Twain State Park. The David C. Berti Shooting Range is located below the dam.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Firewood restrictions are in effect to prevent the spread of invasive insects and disease; http://dontmovefirewood.org/ Click here for more information

Rule

Limit 4 tents per site or 1 RV plus 3 additional tents per site

Rule

The hike-in tent sites are available mid-May to mid-September

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

The west boat ramp is open year-round

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

All campsites feature a 20/30/50 ampere service on each site.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
247 · 20 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
191 electric, 65 water, 65 sewer
Longest rig
95 ft
Paved pads
227 of 247
Accessible sites
2
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“The group camp provides 25 electric campsites, group shelter, restroom, shower and playground.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek, Beach
Biking
Boating
Swimming
Night sky · 55th darkest of 118 in MO
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:14 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

2 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:23 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 169 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 69 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 16:14 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 22Bookable now through November 22, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 2, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
A night$10–$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28–$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Apr 2 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 17

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$10–$30
Standard Nonelectric$10
Tent Only Nonelectric$10
Standard Electric$24
Standard Electric$24
Standard Electric$30
Group areas, a night$30–$125
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 3, 2026 to Oct 11, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18–$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28–$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 2

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:23 UTC

  • Ray BehrensMark Twain Lake · 4.1 mi · 4 of 236 site-nights open
  • Frank RussellMark Twain Lake · 4.6 mi · 10 of 144 site-nights open

recreation.gov availability, read 16:14 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

249 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 212 mapped sites
95 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop EPOI 145 44 ftLoop EPOI 146 44 ftLoop EPOI 140 53 ft

All 249 records

249 of 249 records located
Tent only20RV / electric190Group1Type not stated36Day use2
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 249 of the 249 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 211 of the 249 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

EPOI122standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp123 ft1,097 ft1,363 ft$24–$30
EPOI123standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp87 ft1,248 ft1,334 ft$24–$30
EPOI124standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp72 ft1,297 ft1,266 ft$24–$30
EPOI125standard electric82 ft20/30/50 amp72 ft1,322 ft1,202 ft$24–$30
EPOI126standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp98 ft1,300 ft1,097 ft$24–$30
EPOI127standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp98 ft1,212 ft1,089 ft$24–$30
EPOI128standard electric60 ft20/30/50 amp119 ft1,099 ft1,069 ft$24–$30
EPOI129standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp135 ft974 ft976 ft$24–$30
EPOI130standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp89 ft734 ft714 ft$24–$30
EPOI131standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp89 ft650 ft691 ft$24–$30
EPOI132standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp98 ft537 ft648 ft$24–$30
EPOI133standard electric74 ft20/30/50 amp97 ft525 ft561 ft$24–$30
EPOI134standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp97 ft579 ft469 ft$24–$30
EPOI135standard electric59 ft20/30/50 amp104 ft707 ft375 ft$24–$30
EPOI136standard electric58 ft20/30/50 amp100 ft809 ft362 ft$24–$30
EPOI137standard electric79 ft20/30/50 amp64 ft927 ft470 ft$24–$30
EPOI138standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp64 ft880 ft488 ft$24–$30
EPOI139standard electric68 ft20/30/50 amp94 ft794 ft497 ft$24–$30
EPOI140standard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp54 ft709 ft544 ft$24–$30
EPOI141standard electric76 ft20/30/50 amp54 ft750 ft577 ft$24–$30
EPOI142standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp90 ft834 ft628 ft$24–$30
EPOI143standard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp90 ft911 ft694 ft$24–$30
EPOI144standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp67 ft1,057 ft901 ft$24–$30
EPOI145standard electric78 ft20/30/50 amp44 ft1,125 ft934 ft$24–$30
EPOI146standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp44 ft1,163 ft935 ft$24–$30
EPOI147standard electric88 ft20/30/50 amp75 ft1,294 ft986 ft$24–$30
EPOI148standard electric68 ft20/30/50 amp70 ft1,366 ft1,049 ft$24–$30
EPOI149standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp70 ft1,374 ft1,001 ft$24–$30
EPOI150standard electric95 ft20/30/50 ampyes71 ft1,382 ft954 ft$24–$30
EPOI151standard electric64 ft20/30/50 amp123 ft1,313 ft701 ft$24–$30
EPOI152standard electric84 ft20/30/50 amp123 ft1,191 ft616 ft$24–$30
EPOI153standard electric90 ft20/30/50 amp130 ft1,062 ft513 ft$24–$30
EPOI154standard electric60 ft20/30/50 amp100 ft859 ft290 ft$24–$30
EPOI155standard electric66 ft20/30/50 amp112 ft765 ft184 ft$24–$30
EPOI156Astandard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft624 ft128 ft$24–$30
EPOI156Bstandard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft534 ft158 ft$24–$30
EPOI157Astandard electric67 ft20/30/50 amp95 ft450 ft215 ft$24–$30
EPOI157Bstandard electric56 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft368 ft300 ft$24–$30
EPOI158standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp79 ft296 ft378 ft$24–$30
EPOI159standard electric64 ft20/30/50 amp79 ft232 ft454 ft$24–$30
EPOI160standard electric57 ft20/30/50 amp105 ft358 ft419 ft$24–$30
EPOI161standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp91 ft418 ft314 ft$24–$30
EPOI162standard electric76 ft20/30/50 amp91 ft481 ft222 ft$24–$30
EPOI163standard electric86 ft20/30/50 amp138 ft713 ft55 ft$24–$30
EPOI164standard electric88 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft831 ft171 ft$24–$30
EPOI165standard electric67 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft912 ft261 ft$24–$30
EPOI166Astandard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft1,052 ft402 ft$24–$30
EPOI166Bstandard electric50 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft1,130 ft484 ft$24–$30
EPOI167standard electric87 ft20/30/50 amp114 ft1,288 ft632 ft$24–$30
EPOI168standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp114 ft1,399 ft739 ft$24–$30
EPOI169standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp153 ft1,361 ft886 ft$24–$30
EPOI170standard electric88 ft20/30/50 amp116 ft1,343 ft964 ft$24–$30
EPOI171standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp79 ft1,355 ft1,022 ft$24–$30
EPOI172standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp79 ft1,364 ft1,071 ft$24–$30
EPOI173standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp86 ft1,387 ft1,122 ft$24–$30
EPOI174standard electric74 ft20/30/50 amp97 ft1,474 ft1,226 ft$24–$30
EPOI175standard electric79 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft1,441 ft1,306 ft$24–$30
EPOI176standard electric67 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft1,404 ft1,368 ft$24–$30
EPOI177standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft1,380 ft1,423 ft$24–$30
FLOO096standard electric64 ft20/30/50 amp127 ft1,033 ft1,509 ft$24–$30
FLOO097standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft906 ft1,502 ft$24–$30
FLOO098standard electric69 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft821 ft1,491 ft$24–$30
FLOO099standard electric59 ft20/30/50 amp95 ft727 ft1,492 ft$24–$30
FLOO100standard electric62 ft20/30/50 amp102 ft630 ft1,440 ft$24–$30
FLOO101standard electric52 ft20/30/50 amp102 ft563 ft1,394 ft$24–$30
FLOO102standard electric69 ft20/30/50 amp92 ft464 ft1,379 ft$24–$30
FLOO103standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp92 ft429 ft1,351 ft$24–$30
FLOO104standard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp100 ft417 ft1,324 ft$24–$30
FLOO105standard electric53 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft302 ft1,423 ft$24–$30
FLOO106standard electric56 ft20/30/50 amp71 ft238 ft1,474 ft$24–$30
FLOO107standard electric60 ft20/30/50 amp71 ft169 ft1,471 ft$24–$30
FLOO108standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp88 ft122 ft1,406 ft$24–$30
FLOO109standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft158 ft1,258 ft$24–$30
FLOO110standard electric84 ft20/30/50 amp68 ft166 ft1,190 ft$24–$30
FLOO111standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp105 ft208 ft1,073 ft$24–$30
FLOO112standard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft313 ft1,032 ft$24–$30
FLOO113standard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft393 ft1,031 ft$24–$30
FLOO114Astandard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp76 ft320 ft1,254 ft$24–$30
FLOO114Bstandard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp87 ft251 ft1,323 ft$24–$30
FLOO115Astandard electric69 ft20/30/50 amp59 ft303 ft1,155 ft$24–$30
FLOO115Bstandard electric78 ft20/30/50 amp59 ft352 ft1,181 ft$24–$30
FLOO116standard electric83 ft20/30/50 amp76 ft604 ft1,232 ft$24–$30
FLOO117standard electric48 ft20/30/50 amp76 ft635 ft1,261 ft$24–$30
FLOO118standard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp106 ft712 ft1,294 ft$24–$30
FLOO119standard electric76 ft20/30/50 amp98 ft795 ft1,327 ft$24–$30
FLOO120standard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp98 ft880 ft1,355 ft$24–$30
FLOO121standard electric52 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft975 ft1,374 ft$24–$30
GRPCG02type not stated50 ft30 amp1,119 ft1,882 ft
GRPCG03type not stated60 ft30 amp1,071 ft1,808 ft
GRPCG04type not stated60 ft30 amp1,028 ft1,736 ft
GRPCG05type not stated60 ft30 amp999 ft1,664 ft
GRPCG06type not stated60 ft30 amp970 ft1,595 ft
GRPCG07type not stated50 ft30 amp949 ft1,527 ft
GRPCG08type not stated50 ft30 amp937 ft1,460 ft
GRPCG09type not stated50 ft30 amp906 ft1,395 ft
GRPCG10type not stated50 ft30 amp856 ft1,329 ft
GRPCG11type not stated50 ft30 amp809 ft1,260 ft
GRPCG12type not stated50 ft30 amp762 ft1,192 ft
GRPCG13type not stated50 ft30 amp721 ft1,128 ft
GRPCG14type not stated50 ft30 amp261 ft174 ft
GRPCG15type not stated50 ft30 amp252 ft155 ft
GRPCG16type not stated50 ft30 amp248 ft131 ft
GRPCG17type not stated50 ft30 amp226 ft109 ft
GRPCG18type not stated50 ft30 amp223 ft102 ft
GRPCG19type not stated50 ft237 ft96 ft
GRPCG20type not stated50 ft246 ft112 ft
GRPCG21type not stated50 ft242 ft138 ft
GRPCG22type not stated50 ft236 ft162 ft
GRPCG23type not stated50 ft211 ft205 ft
GRPCG24type not stated50 ft215 ft221 ft
GRPCG25type not stated50 ft188 ft274 ft
GRPCG26type not stated50 ft156 ft333 ft
GRPCG27type not stated50 ft181 ft368 ft
GRPCG28type not stated50 ft215 ft374 ft
GRPCG29type not stated50 ft203 ft385 ft
GRPCG30type not stated50 ft157 ft375 ft
GRPCG31type not stated60 ft30 amp1,076 ft1,551 ft
GRPCG32type not stated60 ft30 amp1,139 ft1,635 ft
GRPCG33type not stated60 ft30 amp1,171 ft1,718 ft
GRPCG34type not stated60 ft30 amp1,211 ft1,802 ft
GRPCG35type not stated60 ft30 amp1,259 ft1,883 ft
GRPCG36type not stated60 ft30 amp1,309 ft1,972 ft
GRPCG37type not stated60 ft30 amp1,329 ft2,049 ft
GRPCGS1day use30 ampyes293 ft340 ft
ICGPIndian Creek Group Campgroundgroup standard electric50 ft20/30/50 amp7190 ft1,139 ft1,963 ft$125
ICREHI01tent only nonelectric194 ft1,274 ft879 ft$10
ICREHI02tent only nonelectric236 ft1,056 ft810 ft$10
ICREHI03tent only nonelectric89 ft1,263 ft687 ft$10
ICREHI04tent only nonelectric89 ft1,343 ft655 ft$10
ICREHI05tent only nonelectric148 ft1,133 ft372 ft$10
ICREHI06tent only nonelectric158 ft1,046 ft369 ft$10
ICREHI07tent only nonelectric144 ft1,131 ft260 ft$10
ICREHI08tent only nonelectric135 ft993 ft342 ft$10
ICREHI09tent only nonelectric135 ft1,019 ft220 ft$10
ICREHI10tent only nonelectric418 ft556 ft569 ft$10
ICREHI11tent only nonelectric219 ft383 ft847 ft$10
ICREHI12tent only nonelectric219 ft235 ft1,054 ft$10
ICREHI13tent only nonelectric260 ft1,060 ft380 ft$10
ICREHI14tent only nonelectric283 ft954 ft410 ft$10
ICREHI15tent only nonelectric302 ft773 ft474 ft$10
ICREHI16tent only nonelectric472 ft339 ft798 ft$10
ICREHI17tent only nonelectric283 ft853 ft160 ft$10
ICREHI18tent only nonelectric374 ft468 ft438 ft$10
ICREHI19tent only nonelectric370 ft219 ft804 ft$10
ICREHI20tent only nonelectric370 ft17 ft1,014 ft$10
ICRES1day use30/15/20 ampyes148 ft1,006 ft513 ft$30
NHAW066standard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft608 ft508 ft$24–$30
NHAW067standard electric76 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft587 ft544 ft$24–$30
NHAW068standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp114 ft581 ft614 ft$24–$30
NHAW069standard electric79 ft20/30/50 amp114 ft593 ft689 ft$24–$30
NHAW070standard electric89 ft20/30/50 amp124 ft554 ft555 ft$24–$30
NHAW071standard electric89 ft20/30/50 amp124 ft466 ft434 ft$24–$30
NHAW072standard electric64 ft20/30/50 amp134 ft366 ft202 ft$24–$30
NHAW073standard electric79 ft20/30/50 amp134 ft374 ft69 ft$24–$30
NHAW074standard electric54 ft20/30/50 amp106 ft262 ft239 ft$24–$30
NHAW075standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp91 ft191 ft335 ft$24–$30
NHAW076standard electric56 ft20/30/50 amp91 ft192 ft400 ft$24–$30
NHAW077standard electric52 ft20/30/50 amp129 ft172 ft396 ft$24–$30
NHAW078standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp84 ft155 ft292 ft$24–$30
NHAW079Astandard electric59 ft20/30/50 amp76 ft128 ft250 ft$24–$30
NHAW079Bstandard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp76 ft118 ft219 ft$24–$30
NHAW080standard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp80 ft162 ft151 ft$24–$30
NHAW081standard electric92 ft20/30/50 amp62 ft216 ft115 ft$24–$30
NHAW082standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp62 ft261 ft116 ft$24–$30
NHAW083standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp107 ft336 ft324 ft$24–$30
NHAW084standard electric60 ft20/30/50 amp107 ft249 ft379 ft$24–$30
NHAW085standard electric66 ft20/30/50 amp88 ft205 ft488 ft$24–$30
NHAW086standard electric68 ft20/30/50 amp88 ft255 ft576 ft$24–$30
NHAW087standard electric58 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft267 ft687 ft$24–$30
NHAW088standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft300 ft722 ft$24–$30
NHAW089standard electric82 ft20/30/50 amp133 ft325 ft763 ft$24–$30
NHAW090Astandard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp120 ft428 ft637 ft$24–$30
NHAW090Bstandard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp57 ft375 ft598 ft$24–$30
NHAW091Astandard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp57 ft335 ft541 ft$24–$30
NHAW091Bstandard electric59 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft355 ft474 ft$24–$30
NHAW092standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp101 ft421 ft776 ft$24–$30
NHAW093standard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp101 ft422 ft726 ft$24–$30
NHAW094standard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp109 ft455 ft662 ft$24–$30
NHAW095standard electric68 ft20/30/50 amp109 ft500 ft625 ft$24–$30
SRID001standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft718 ft449 ft$24–$30
SRID002standard electric64 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft797 ft367 ft$24–$30
SRID003standard electric69 ft20/30/50 amp73 ft915 ft221 ft$24–$30
SRID004standard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp73 ft951 ft148 ft$24–$30
SRID005standard electric69 ft20/30/50 amp74 ft939 ft75 ft$24–$30
SRID006standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp96 ft924 ft161 ft$24–$30
SRID007standard electric68 ft20/30/50 amp96 ft892 ft249 ft$24–$30
SRID008standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp96 ft827 ft383 ft$24–$30
SRID009standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp96 ft845 ft478 ft$24–$30
SRID010standard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp111 ft819 ft597 ft$24–$30
SRID011standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp123 ft707 ft722 ft$24–$30
SRID012standard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp121 ft588 ft843 ft$24–$30
SRID013standard electric69 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft466 ft965 ft$24–$30
SRID014standard electric68 ft20/30/50 amp111 ft367 ft1,076 ft$24–$30
SRID015standard electric64 ft20/30/50 amp100 ft287 ft1,188 ft$24–$30
SRID016standard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp100 ft241 ft1,286 ft$24–$30
SRID017standard electric78 ft20/30/50 amp108 ft244 ft1,404 ft$24–$30
SRID018standard electric57 ft20/30/50 amp84 ft229 ft1,457 ft$24–$30
SRID019standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp103 ft521 ft1,143 ft$24–$30
SRID020standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft553 ft1,041 ft$24–$30
SRID021standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft607 ft943 ft$24–$30
SRID022standard electric67 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft531 ft947 ft$24–$30
SRID023standard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp113 ft446 ft1,059 ft$24–$30
SRID024standard electric90 ft20/30/50 amp87 ft377 ft1,190 ft$24–$30
SRID025standard electric69 ft20/30/50 amp87 ft343 ft1,277 ft$24–$30
SRID026standard electric72 ft20/30/50 amp84 ft240 ft1,481 ft$24–$30
SRID027standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp106 ft197 ft1,570 ft$24–$30
SRID028standard electric54 ft20/30/50 amp110 ft201 ft1,661 ft$24–$30
SRID029standard electric53 ft20/30/50 amp72 ft169 ft1,794 ft$24–$30
SRID030standard electric56 ft20/30/50 amp72 ft168 ft1,845 ft$24–$30
SRID031standard electric49 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft141 ft1,864 ft$24–$30
SRID032standard electric54 ft20/30/50 amp142 ft208 ft1,763 ft$24–$30
SRID033standard electric55 ft20/30/50 amp106 ft190 ft1,625 ft$24–$30
SRID034standard electric56 ft20/30/50 amp102 ft243 ft1,609 ft$24–$30
SRID035standard electric63 ft20/30/50 amp95 ft308 ft1,540 ft$24–$30
SRID036Astandard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp86 ft345 ft1,450 ft$24–$30
SRID036Bstandard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp86 ft407 ft1,364 ft$24–$30
SRID037Astandard electric68 ft20/30/50 amp120 ft513 ft1,229 ft$24–$30
SRID037Bstandard electric65 ft20/30/50 amp113 ft600 ft1,112 ft$24–$30
SRID038Astandard electric57 ft20/30/50 amp98 ft648 ft995 ft$24–$30
SRID038Bstandard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft677 ft897 ft$24–$30
SRID039Astandard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp93 ft725 ft819 ft$24–$30
SRID039Bstandard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp95 ft758 ft743 ft$24–$30
SRID040standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp73 ft766 ft629 ft$24–$30
SRID041standard electric52 ft20/30/50 amp91 ft754 ft521 ft$24–$30
SRID042standard electric73 ft20/30/50 amp73 ft699 ft595 ft$24–$30
SRID043standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp94 ft639 ft667 ft$24–$30
SRID044standard electric79 ft20/30/50 amp96 ft594 ft749 ft$24–$30
SRID045standard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp95 ft417 ft1,119 ft$24–$30
SRID046standard electric80 ft20/30/50 amp95 ft326 ft1,084 ft$24–$30
SRID047standard electric86 ft20/30/50 amp110 ft217 ft1,007 ft$24–$30
SRID048standard electric61 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft224 ft825 ft$24–$30
SRID049standard electric62 ft20/30/50 amp99 ft194 ft768 ft$24–$30
SRID050standard electric85 ft20/30/50 amp119 ft267 ft763 ft$24–$30
SRID051standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp119 ft347 ft728 ft$24–$30
SRID052Astandard electric58 ft20/30/50 amp88 ft421 ft929 ft$24–$30
SRID052Bstandard electric71 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft389 ft980 ft$24–$30
SRID053standard electric75 ft20/30/50 amp82 ft324 ft912 ft$24–$30
SRID054standard electric86 ft20/30/50 ampyes88 ft333 ft886 ft$24–$30
SRID055standard electric78 ft20/30/50 amp117 ft513 ft635 ft$24–$30
SRID056standard electric87 ft20/30/50 amp117 ft593 ft528 ft$24–$30
SRID057standard electric79 ft20/30/50 amp118 ft668 ft416 ft$24–$30
SRID058standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp87 ft757 ft274 ft$24–$30
SRID059standard electric91 ft20/30/50 amp83 ft802 ft187 ft$24–$30
SRID060standard electric83 ft20/30/50 amp83 ft812 ft122 ft$24–$30
SRID061standard electric70 ft20/30/50 amp88 ft779 ft145 ft$24–$30
SRID062standard electric84 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft778 ft192 ft$24–$30
SRID063standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp85 ft802 ft249 ft$24–$30
SRID064standard electric77 ft20/30/50 amp81 ft801 ft317 ft$24–$30
SRID065standard electric81 ft20/30/50 amp81 ft725 ft390 ft$24–$30

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 249 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.53917, -91.73306
The phone573-735-4097
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Hannibal: Travel west on Highway 36 for 20 miles, then southwest on Highway 24 for 6 miles. Continue south on Rt. HH for 2 miles, then east on Monroe CR #581 for 3 miles.

From Monroe City: Travel 6 miles southwest on Highway 24, then south on Rt. HH for 2 miles. Continue east on Monroe CR #581 for 3 miles.

From Paris: Travel northeast on Highway 24 for 14 miles, then south on Rt. HH for 2 miles. Continue east on Monroe County Road #581 for 3 miles.

From Perry: Travel west on Highway 154 for 7 miles, then north on Highway 107 for 9 miles. Continue northeast on Hwy 24 for 3 miles, then south on Rt. HH for 2 miles. Go east on Monroe County Rd. #581 for 3 miles.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight36°Slight Chance Rain Showers then Partly Cloudy18% rain
Saturday58°Areas Of Frost then Sunny
Saturday Night38°Clear
Sunday65°Sunny

NWS forecast for Florida, MO

Typical weather

Typical October night 43°F, day 67°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 17°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: SHELBINA, MO (USC00237720), 19 miles away and 97 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Sam Graves, official portrait

Indian Creek (MO) is in Missouri’s 6th congressional district. Its representative, Sam Graves (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Sam Graves

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Indian Creek (MO), Missouri

Dear Sam Graves,

I’m a constituent in Missouri’s 6th district. I tried to camp at Indian Creek (MO), Missouri, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 212 of the 247 campsites the agency files at Indian Creek (MO), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 169 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Indian Creek (MO) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Indian Creek (MO). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Indian Creek (MO) (Missouri) via campanac.com
To Eric Schmitt

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Indian Creek (MO), Missouri

Dear Eric Schmitt,

I’m a constituent in Missouri. I tried to camp at Indian Creek (MO), Missouri, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 212 of the 247 campsites the agency files at Indian Creek (MO), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 169 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Indian Creek (MO) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Indian Creek (MO). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Indian Creek (MO) (Missouri) via campanac.com
To Josh Hawley

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Indian Creek (MO), Missouri

Dear Josh Hawley,

I’m a constituent in Missouri. I tried to camp at Indian Creek (MO), Missouri, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 212 of the 247 campsites the agency files at Indian Creek (MO), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 169 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Indian Creek (MO) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Indian Creek (MO). I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Indian Creek (MO) (Missouri) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Florida, MO, 4.1 mi NE. Straight line.