2Heads up2 fires, nearest 33 mi
Wildfire
South White Wolf fire · 33 mi away · 128 acres · 75% contained · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Nevada 311 fire · 49 mi away · 1 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableBookable through April 16; today opens April 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights read 15:59 UTC
A night
$10–$45Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
85All of them booked ahead
124 ftLongest rig
600 ftElevation
907 ftWater · an unnamed lake
12.5 miNE of De Queen, AR
42%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 1 notices

In the agency’s own words

Jefferson Ridge Campground is located on Dierks Lake in southwestern Arkansas. Rugged ridges bordering the lake create stunning views, and visitors enjoy boating, fishing, swimming, and hunting. Keep reading

Recreation

The 1360-acre lake offers excellent boating, canoeing, kayaking, and swimming opportunities. Dierks Lake is known for its excellent bass and crappie fishing. Hunters will find nearly 600 acres of public hunting lands in the upper reaches of the project. Game species include white-tail deer, bobwhite quail, mourning dove, grey and fox squirrel, cottontail rabbit, and a variety of waterfowl. A playground, two swimming beaches and two boat ramps provide additional recreation opportunities.

Facilities

This year-round campground offers 85 family sites and two day-use group picnic shelters. All sites include full electric and water hookups. Amenities include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, and dump stations.

Natural Features

Sitting in the Ouachita Mountain Region of Arkansas, Dierks Lake is fed by the Saline River.

Nearby Attractions

Crater of Diamonds State Park, Little Missouri Falls, and Cossatot River State Park are popular recreational areas located in close proximity to Dierks Lake.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Dierks Lake Project Office: 870-286-2346 Arkansas Game and Fish: 501-223-6459 Howard County Sheriff’s Office: 870-845-2626 Sevier County Sheriff’s Office: 870-642-2125

Tents and rigs

Sites
85 · 3 tent-only
Hookups
84 electric, 85 water
Longest rig
124 ft
Paved pads
65 of 85
Accessible sites
3
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
69 of 85 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…and water hookups. Amenities include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, and dump stations.…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Amenities include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, and dump stations.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…include flush toilets, showers, drinking water, and dump stations. Natural Features Sitting in the…”
Dump station
Yes
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
28 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Swimming
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 10th darkest of 158 in AR
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

118 of 170 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:59 UTC

Every site here is reservable, and the record lists none held back for anyone who drives up.

OpenBooked

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay28 nightsthe facility record
A night$10–$45plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28–$98DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 16

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$10–$45
Tent Site$10
Jefferson Ridge -Standard Electric$23
Standard Electric$25
Buddy Site$45
Group area, a night$25
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18–$53
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28–$98

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$45 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:59 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

87 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 86 mapped sites
123 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room013 63 ft014 63 ft027 70 ft

All 87 records

87 of 87 records located
Tent only3RV / electric81Type not stated1Day use2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 84 of the 87 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

1001standard electric65 ft50 amp166 ft712 ft$23–$45
1002standard electric65 ft50 amp105 ft547 ft$23–$45
1003standard electric65 ft50 amp105 ft443 ft$23–$45
1004standard electric65 ft50 amp138 ft305 ft$23–$45
1005standard electric65 ft50 amp140 ft186 ft$23–$45
1006standard electric65 ft50 amp116 ft203 ft$23–$45
1007standard electric65 ft50 amp116 ft208 ft$23–$45
1008standard electric65 ft50 amp129 ft197 ft$23–$45
1009standard electric65 ft50 amp129 ft179 ft$23–$45
1010standard electric65 ft50 amp86 ft147 ft$23–$45
1011standard electric65 ft50 amp86 ft119 ft$23–$45
1012standard electric65 ft50 amp71 ft59 ft$23–$45
1013standard electric65 ft50 amp63 ft21 ft$23–$45
1014standard electric65 ft50 amp63 ft38 ft$23–$45
1015standard electric65 ft50 amp88 ft372 ft$23–$45
1016standard electric30 ft50 amp71 ft423 ft$23–$45
1017- Tent Sitetent only electric50 amp71 ft443 ft$10
1018- Tent Sitetent only electric50 amp74 ft480 ft$10
1019- Tent Sitetent only electric50 amp74 ft519 ft$10
1020standard electric65 ft50 amp167 ft375 ft$23–$45
1021 Buddy Sitestandard electric65 ft50 amp129 ft167 ft$23–$45
1021Btype not stated65 ft50 amp170 ft
1022standard electric65 ft50 amp102 ft344 ft$23–$45
1023standard electric65 ft50 amp109 ft385 ft$23–$45
1024standard electric65 ft50 amp121 ft454 ft$23–$45
1Group Pavilion 1- Day Useday use15 amp170 ft233 ft$25
1Group Pavilion 2- Day Useday use15 amp176 ft199 ft$25
2025standard electric65 ft50 amp110 ft463 ft$23–$45
2026standard electric65 ft50 amp106 ft293 ft$23–$45
2027standard electric65 ft50 amp70 ft210 ft$23–$45
2028standard electric45 ft50 amp70 ft155 ft$23–$45
2029standard electric65 ft50 ampyes101 ft154 ft$23–$45
2030standard electric65 ft50 amp94 ft190 ft$23–$45
2031standard electric65 ft50 amp94 ft198 ft$23–$45
2032standard electric65 ft50 amp113 ft157 ft$23–$45
2033standard electric65 ft50 amp113 ft129 ft$23–$45
2034standard electric65 ft50 amp98 ft197 ft$23–$45
2035standard electric65 ft50 amp134 ft175 ft$23–$45
2036standard electric65 ft50 amp145 ft95 ft$23–$45
2037standard electric50 ft50 amp119 ft207 ft$23–$45
2038standard electric50 ft50 amp119 ft325 ft$23–$45
2039standard electric50 ft50 amp90 ft453 ft$23–$45
2040standard electric65 ft50 amp90 ft394 ft$23–$45
2041standard electric50 ft30 amp104 ft297 ft$23–$45
2042standard electric35 ft50 amp116 ft284 ft$23–$45
2043standard electric50 ft50 ampyes125 ft316 ft$23–$45
2044standard electric65 ft50 amp131 ft307 ft$23–$45
2045standard electric60 ft50 amp135 ft268 ft$23–$45
2046standard electric65 ft50 amp98 ft283 ft$23–$45
2047standard electric60 ft50 amp113 ft262 ft$23–$45
2048standard electric65 ft50 ampyes99 ft214 ft$23–$45
2049standard electric50 ft50 amp99 ft204 ft$23–$45
2050standard electric30 ft50 amp79 ft322 ft$23–$45
2051standard electric40 ft50 amp79 ft398 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE052standard electric124 ft50 amp183 ft404 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE053standard electric60 ft50 amp160 ft427 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE054standard electric45 ft50 amp160 ft373 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE055standard electric35 ft50 amp224 ft390 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE056standard electric65 ft50 amp172 ft348 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE057standard electric40 ft50 amp147 ft352 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE058standard electric60 ft50 amp147 ft337 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE059standard electric45 ft50 amp173 ft233 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE060standard electric65 ft50 amp148 ft261 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE061standard electric65 ft50 amp148 ft268 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE062standard electric65 ft50 amp155 ft261 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE063standard electric65 ft50 amp155 ft257 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE064standard electric65 ft50 amp174 ft231 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE065standard electric40 ft50 amp132 ft225 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE066standard electric45 ft50 amp132 ft231 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE067standard electric65 ft50 amp111 ft196 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE068standard electric65 ft50 amp111 ft215 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE069standard electric65 ft50 amp190 ft223 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE070standard electric65 ft50 amp160 ft236 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE071standard electric65 ft50 amp183 ft583 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE072standard electric65 ft50 amp197 ft611 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE073standard electric65 ft50 amp198 ft593 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE074standard electric65 ft50 amp207 ft387 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE075standard electric65 ft50 amp192 ft262 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE076standard electric65 ft50 amp192 ft189 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE077standard electric65 ft50 amp213 ft173 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE078standard electric65 ft50 amp213 ft178 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE079standard electric65 ft50 amp196 ft187 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE080standard electric65 ft50 amp196 ft199 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE081standard electric65 ft50 amp206 ft197 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE082standard electric65 ft50 amp150 ft151 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE083standard electric65 ft50 amp105 ft131 ft$23–$45
JEFFERSON RIDGE084standard electric65 ft50 amp105 ft124 ft$23–$45

The agency files 2 more records here that aren’t sites for the night. It files them as day use. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 87 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.14823, -94.12667
The phone870-286-3214
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Dierks, Arkansas, travel 5 miles west on US-70, then 5 miles north on Green Chapel Road. Follow signs into campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today70°Sunny
Tonight43°Mostly Clear
Sunday71°Sunny
Sunday Night44°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Dierks, AR

Typical weather

Typical October night 50°F, day 76°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 30°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: DEQUEEN, AR (USC00031948), 15 miles away and 193 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Bruce Westerman, official portrait

Jefferson Ridge is in Arkansas’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Bruce Westerman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Dierks, AR, 5.7 mi WNW. Straight line.