U.S. Forest Service · Umpqua National Forest · OR

Kelsay Valley Horse Camp

1Heads up1 fire 27 mi away
Wildfire
Castle fire · 27 mi away · 3,615 acres · 100% contained · updated Oct 10, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 4 opens June 4.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$10From, per site
Sites
1714 on recreation.gov
25 ftLongest rig
4,300 ftElevation
326 ftWater · Bradley Creek
33.3 miSE of Oakridge, OR
62%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices

In the agency’s own words

This campground and trailhead is located along the Wild and Scenic North Umpqua River. Visitors will experience the river's rushing waters as they pass through lush high Cascade meadows. Spring arrives late in the high country and it is welcomed here with an explosion of colors. Purples, reds, yellows, greens, and white are arranged in a riotous bouquet. This site is designed to accommodate pack and saddle use as well as standard camping. Keep reading

Recreation

The campground serves as a base camp for many trailheads that are local favorites for horse riding. Please be courteous and only reserve equestrian site(s) if you bring a horse. Campers in equestrian site(s) without pack or riding horses may be turned away or directed to another campground.

Facilities

This campground has 15 sites open to the public. There are ten equestrian sites with corrals for pack and riding horses. Most corrals are 12 ft. by 12 ft. The campground also has five non-equestrian/standard non-electric sites. All sites have partial shade, picnic tables and and campfire rings with grills. Vault toilets are provided, however, there is no drinking water. Manure bins, wheelbarrows and shovels are also provided. There is limited garbage service – please pack your garbage out with you.

Natural Features

Umpqua National Forest visitors are often taken aback by unique and surprising landscapes shaped by explosive geologic events. The 984,602-acre forest provides spectacular scenery and an abundance of natural and cultural resources. The translation of the word, "Umpqua," meaning "thundering waters," defines the area. High mountain lakes, heart-stopping rapids, peaceful ponds and thundering waterfalls, including the 272-foot Watson Falls on the North Umpqua Highway, offer visitors a renewed sense of spirit. Diverse ecosystems support a wide range of habitat for wildlife. From eagles and owls to salamanders and salmon, these species, along with many others, depend on surrounding undeveloped wilderness, clean streams and diverse forests to live.

Nearby Attractions

This site provides access to Porcupine Connect Trail 1412A , which connects to the North Umpqua Trail 1414 and Windigo Pass Trail 1412 . The North Umpqua Trail heads southeast to enter Mount Thielsen Wilderness where it connects with the Tolo Creek Trail #1466 , Lucile Lake Trail #1459 , Maidu Lake Loop Trail, and the Pacific Crest National Scenic Trail #2000 . In addition, Lemolo Lake and Resort are just a short drive away.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The primary use for this campground is equestrian use. Non equestrian use is welcomed in non-equestrian sites.

Rule

Quiet hours between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.

Rule

Campfires in developed fire pits only

Everything else this campground posts · 9
Rule

Fireworks are prohibited

Rule

Visitors must bring their own water.

Rule

Limited garbage service; pack-out trash

Rule

Dogs must be on leash

Rule

OHV/ATV use prohibited in the campground

Rule

Maximum length of stay: 14 days

Rule

$5.00 extra vehicle fee

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Please protect Pacific Northwest forests by preventing the spread of invasive species. Firewood can carry insects and diseases that can threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by obtaining and burning your firewood near your camping destination. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Maximum vehicle length: 20 feet

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
17 · 8 equestrian
Hookups
None
Longest rig
25 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…and and campfire rings with grills. Vault toilets are provided, however, there is no drinking water.…”
Drinking water
None, bring your own
“…Vault toilets are provided, however, there is no drinking water. Manure bins, wheelbarrows and shovels are also…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”

Around the campground

On the water
Waterfall, Lake, River, Creek, Meadow
Hiking
Horse Camping
Horseback riding
Night sky · 158th darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 14 of the 17 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 4, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 4, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$10plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$28DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Jun 4 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$10
Equestrian Nonelectric$10
Standard Nonelectric$10
These are next season’s rates, Jun 4, 2027 to Sep 7, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$5

“$5.00 extra vehicle fee per vehicle per night **MUST BE PAID AT THE CAMPGROUND FEE KIOSK UPON ARRIVAL” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$18
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$28

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $10 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

18 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 14 mapped sites
89 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomB002 28 ftB003 28 ftB006 84 ft

All 18 records

16 of 18 records located
Standard5Equestrian8Type not stated2Host pad1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 17 of the 18 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AA001 - HOSThost pad25 ft126 ft320 ft$10
AA002type not stated25 ft485 ft$5–$10
AA003standard nonelectric25 ft138 ft510 ft$10
AA004equestrian nonelectric25 ft105 ft655 ft$10
AA005equestrian nonelectric25 ft90 ft568 ft$10
AA006standard nonelectric25 ft90 ft518 ft$10
AA007standard nonelectric25 ft88 ft489 ft$10
AA008standard nonelectric25 ft88 ft463 ft$10
AA009standard nonelectric25 ft132 ft358 ft$10
BB001type not stated25 ft348 ft$5–$10
BB002equestrian nonelectric25 ft27 ft438 ft$10
BB003equestrian nonelectric25 ft27 ft466 ft$10
BB004equestrian nonelectric25 ft86 ft417 ft$10
BB005equestrian nonelectric25 ft101 ft550 ft$10
BB006equestrian nonelectric25 ft84 ft673 ft$10
BB007equestrian nonelectric25 ft84 ft667 ft$10
Extra VehicleExtra Vehicle Feetype not stated25 ft$5–$10
Scan and PayEquestrian and Standard Sitestype not stated25 ft$5–$10

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate43.31790, -122.09699
The phone541-498-2531
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Roseburg, OR, travel east on OR-138 /NE Diamond Lake Boulevard for about 74 miles. Turn left onto Forest Road 60 (Windigo Pass Road). Follow for 4.5 miles, and then turn right onto Forest Road 6000-958 (red road). Drive 1.5 miles to the end of the road to Kelsay Valley Horse Camp and Trailhead.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight40°Partly Cloudy
Saturday65°Partly Sunny
Saturday Night34°Mostly Clear
Sunday66°Partly Sunny

NWS forecast for Crescent Lake, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 36°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 26°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: LEMOLO LAKE 3 NNW, OR (USC00354835), 7 miles away and 223 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Thirsty Creek Appendage2,255 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Mt. Bailey18,401 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Cliff Bentz, official portrait

Kelsay Valley Horse Camp is in Oregon’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Cliff Bentz (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Crescent Lake, OR, 14.6 mi SSW (a census designated place). Straight line.