U.S. Forest Service · Coeur d'Alene National Forest · ID

Kit Price

1Heads up1 fire 42 mi away
Wildfire
Nugget Hill fire · 42 mi away · 45 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 14 opens May 14.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$26–$52Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5856 on recreation.gov
45 ftLongest rig
2,540 ftElevation
78 ftWater · North Fork Coeur d'Alene River
14.2 miNE of Kellogg, ID
18%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Kit Price is a beautiful campground overlooking the North Fork Coeur d'Alene River. Campers enjoy the benefits of the river by fishing along the banks, swimming and floating. Hiking is also a great way to see mountain views. “Past visitors may notice a change in the appearance and openness in the park due recent removal of dead and diseased trees. This was done to improve safety for visitors and to improve forest health. New tree plantings are currently being planned to replace some of those lost and to increase the natural appearance of the campground for years to come. Please visit our website for additional information.” Recreation Tubing, swimming and kayaking on the North Fork Coeur d'Alene River are popular summertime activities. Rafters like to head downstream for the class I-III rapids. Catch and release fishing for cutthroat trout is also popular. Keep reading

Facilities

Amenities include picnic tables, grills, paved parking spurs, accessible vault toilets and drinking water. Kit Price does not have electric hookups.

Natural Features

The campground is situated along the North Fork Coeur d'Alene River at an elevation of 2,550 feet. Campsites are in a meadow like setting, in full to partial sun, in the river bottom of the Coeur d'Alene Mountains. Popular Coeur d'Alene Lake is about 65 miles west of Kit Price. Wildlife in the region includes mule deer, moose, osprey and calliope hummingbirds.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Extra Vehicles: One vehicle is included in your single campsite fee. Each additional vehicle will be charged a per day fee. If that fee is not paid with your reservation, it will be collected on site (cash or check only). Maximum two vehicles per site.

Rule

Bears frequent the area; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from area after eating

Rule

SCRS & Recreation.gov policy states we will keep your reserved site until check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date. If you haven't occupied it at any time during this period, your reservation is null and void and will be given to first come first serve campers. Your reservation will be a no show and no refund will be given.

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Past visitors may notice a change in the appearance and openness in the park due to recent removal of dead and diseased trees. This was done to improve safety for visitors and to improve forest health. New tree plantings are currently being planned to replace some of those lost and to increase the natural appearance of the campground for years to come.

Rule

The 14 day stay limit is strictly enforced. Camping for a period longer than 14 days during any 30-consecutive day period is prohibited. If you have booked back-to-back reservations, you will be asked to cancel all days after the first 14.

Rule

Click herefor more information on Idaho Panhandle National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
58
Hookups
None
Longest rig
45 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
42 of 43 sites
Shade
2 of 58 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…grills, paved parking spurs, accessible vault toilets and drinking water. Kit Price does not have…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…spurs, accessible vault toilets and drinking water. Kit Price does not have electric hookups. Natural…”
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Meadow
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Night sky · 390th darkest of 523 in ID
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 56 of the 58 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 14, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 14, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$26–$52plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$60–$112DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itScenic Canyons Recreational ServicesA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 14 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$26–$52
Standard Nonelectric$26
Double Standard Nonelectric$52
These are next season’s rates, May 14, 2027 to Sep 29, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$34–$60
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$60–$112

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $26–$52 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

58 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 56 mapped sites
88 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomC044 53 ftC045 53 ftC049 54 ft

All 58 sites

58 of 58 sites located
Standard56Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 58 of the 58 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

AA001standard nonelectric45 ft88 ft485 ft$26–$52
AA002standard nonelectric45 ft88 ft408 ft$26–$52
AA003standard nonelectric45 ft91 ft460 ft$26–$52
AA004standard nonelectric45 ft119 ft343 ft$26–$52
AA005standard nonelectric45 ft118 ft334 ft$26–$52
AA006standard nonelectric32 ft85 ft219 ft$26–$52
AA007standard nonelectric45 ft85 ft149 ft$26–$52
AA008standard nonelectric45 ft108 ft201 ft$26–$52
AA009standard nonelectric45 ft108 ft109 ft$26–$52
AA010standard nonelectric45 ft83 ft67 ft$26–$52
AA011standard nonelectric45 ft83 ft149 ft$26–$52
AA012standard nonelectric45 ft99 ft54 ft$26–$52
AA013standard nonelectric45 ft98 ft174 ft$26–$52
AA014standard nonelectric45 ft94 ft105 ft$26–$52
AA015standard nonelectric45 ft94 ft175 ft$26–$52
AA016standard nonelectric45 ft89 ft320 ft$26–$52
AA017standard nonelectric45 ft100 ft280 ft$26–$52
AA018standard nonelectric45 ft89 ft390 ft$26–$52
AA019standard nonelectric40 ft98 ft412 ft$26–$52
AA020type not stated45 ft487 ft$26
BB021standard nonelectric45 ft66 ft593 ft$26–$52
BB022standard nonelectric45 ft66 ft545 ft$26–$52
BB023standard nonelectric35 ft88 ft568 ft$26–$52
BB024standard nonelectric45 ft107 ft505 ft$26–$52
BB025standard nonelectric45 ft122 ft371 ft$26–$52
BB026standard nonelectric25 ft108 ft266 ft$26–$52
BB027standard nonelectric45 ft80 ft189 ft$26–$52
BB028standard nonelectric45 ft80 ft109 ft$26–$52
BB029standard nonelectric45 ft77 ft168 ft$26–$52
BB030standard nonelectric45 ft77 ft236 ft$26–$52
BB031standard nonelectric45 ft79 ft157 ft$26–$52
BB032standard nonelectric45 ft61 ft207 ft$26–$52
BB033standard nonelectric45 ft61 ft146 ft$26–$52
BB034standard nonelectric45 ft72 ft208 ft$26–$52
BB035standard nonelectric45 ft72 ft136 ft$26–$52
BB036standard nonelectric45 ft98 ft197 ft$26–$52
BB037standard nonelectric45 ft71 ft342 ft$26–$52
BB038standard nonelectric45 ft71 ft365 ft$26–$52
BB039standard nonelectric40 ft90 ft432 ft$26–$52
BB040standard nonelectric40 ft104 ft533 ft$26–$52
BB041standard nonelectric40 ft125 ft500 ft$26–$52
CC042standard nonelectric45 ft83 ft587 ft$26–$52
CC043standard nonelectric40 ft83 ft515 ft$26–$52
CC044standard nonelectric45 ft54 ft399 ft$26–$52
CC045standard nonelectric45 ft54 ft409 ft$26–$52
CC046standard nonelectric45 ft102 ft298 ft$26–$52
CC047standard nonelectric40 ft59 ft206 ft$26–$52
CC048standard nonelectric25 ft59 ft153 ft$26–$52
CC049standard nonelectric40 ft54 ft118 ft$26–$52
CC050standard nonelectric27 ft67 ft179 ft$26–$52
CC051standard nonelectric45 ft60 ft166 ft$26–$52
CC052standard nonelectric45 ft54 ft107 ft$26–$52
CC053standard nonelectric45 ft151 ft169 ft$26–$52
CC054standard nonelectric45 ft125 ft296 ft$26–$52
CC055standard nonelectric45 ft107 ft421 ft$26–$52
CC056standard nonelectric45 ft107 ft424 ft$26–$52
CC057standard nonelectric45 ft134 ft549 ft$26–$52
CC058type not stated45 ft653 ft$26

25 of 58 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate47.74083, -116.00556
The phone435-245-6521
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight44°Partly Cloudy
Saturday61°Mostly Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night35°Mostly Clear then Areas Of Frost
Sunday59°Areas Of Frost then Sunny

NWS forecast for Kellogg, ID

Typical weather

Typical October night 33°F, day 58°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 22°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: KELLOGG, ID (USC00104831), 15 miles away and 163 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

critical
Roadless
Trouble Creek5,917 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Lost Creek11,653 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Trout Creek8,719 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 4, 2026

Who answers for this land

Russ Fulcher, official portrait

Kit Price is in Idaho’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Russ Fulcher (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.