Lake Owen
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $20From, per site
- Sites
- 3935 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 12 notices
In the agency’s own words
The campground is adjacent to Lake Owen. It is comprised of two loops with nearby Lodgepole pines and a few Aspen. Both loops have sites overlooking the lake and site with scenic views of the Snowy Range. There are 29 campsites with tables, fire rings, pedestal grills, trash collection, and vault toilets. The understory is grass, but sites are well separated providing adequate privacy. There is a 14 day stay limit. Lake Owen is 55 acres and offers fishing and boating access. Keep reading
Facilities
There are 35 campsites with tables, fire rings, pedestal grills, trash collection, and vault toilets. No water is availale in this campground, please pack your own in. No electrical hook-ups, water hook-ups, or black water hook-ups are available. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (307) 745-2300.
Charges & Cancellations
Modifications on reservations are not allowed for this site. This is due to limited capacity to update reservation placards when concerning last minute modifications as well as limited functionality with the modifications feature in recreation.gov which has only an ON or OFF toggle for site managers and no feature allowing modifications up until a certain time frame.
What the agency tells you
Check-in time is after 2:00 p.m. on the first day of the reservation.
Check-out time is 1:00 p.m. on the last day of the reservation.
If the reservation holder doesn't show up on the first day of the reservation, the campsite is released at check-in time (2 pm) the next day.
Everything else this campground posts · 9
There are no electric, water, or sewer hookup services.
Maximum length of stay is 14 days.
Campfires are only allowed in USFS approved metal fire rings.
Campsites are limited to 8 people and 2 vehicles per site.
Dogs must be on a leash.
Quiet hours are 10:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m.
Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.
You are responsible for reading the site descriptions and booking a site that will accommodate your equipment.
Please print off your reservation and display it on your vehicle's dash. Reservation receipt will double as a voucher for day use sites in the Medicine Bow National Forest for the reserved days.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 39 · 2 group
- Hookups
- None
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- VAULT TOILETS on 35 of 39 campsite records
- Drinking water
- None, bring your own
- “…trash collection, and vault toilets. No water is availale in this campground, please pack your…”
Around the campground
- On the water
- Lake
- Canoeing
- Fishing
- Hiking
- Kayaking
- Off Highway Vehicle Trails
- Stargazing
- Wildlife viewing
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 35 of the 39 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 13
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
“Modifications on reservations are not allowed for this site. This is due to limited capacity to update reservation placards when concerning last minute modifications as well as limited functionality with the modifications feature in recreation.gov which has only an ON or OFF toggle for site managers and no feature a…” · this campground’s own terms
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 6
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
39 sites
All 39 sites
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 37 of the 39 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| Lake Owen | 01 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 02 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 03 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 04 | type not stated | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 05 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 06 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 07 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 08 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 09 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 10 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 11 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 12 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 13 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 14 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 15 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 16 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 17 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 18 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 19 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 20 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 21 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 22 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 23 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 24 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 25 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 26 | group standard nonelectric | |
| Lake Owen | 27 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 28 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 29 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 30 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 31 | group standard nonelectric | |
| Lake Owen | 32 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 33 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 34 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Lake Owen | 35 | standard nonelectric | $20 |
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 2 | type not stated | $20 |
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 3 | type not stated | $20 |
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 4 | type not stated | $20 |
| Scan and Pay | Standard | standard nonelectric | $20 |
25 of 39 listed