U.S. Forest Service · Chattahoochee National Forest · GA

Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 41 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:53 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
OpenThe agency lists it open
A night
$30–$40Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
7775 on recreation.gov
Season
Year-roundOpen year-round
1,710 ftElevation
59 ftWater · an unnamed stream
8 miSW of Clayton, GA
90%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 31st darkest of 96 in GA
Open year-roundToday

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

Cradled in the hills of the North Georgia Mountains overlooking beautiful Lake Rabun, this developed recreation area offers camping and hiking. Across the road, the lake offers plenty of water activities like swimming, boating, fishing, and ample opportunities to absorb the peaceful lake scenery. Keep reading

Recreation

At the rear of the campground, visitors will find the trailhead for the popular Angel Falls/Panther Falls Hiking Trail (trail length 1.7 miles). The swim area has two picnic tables, a roped-off area for swimmers and restrooms. A boat launch area and a fishing peer are near the swimming area, Lake Rabun is home to bass, bream, perch, trout and catfish. Check State regulations before you fish.

Facilities

The campground offers 80 campsites, 21 of these campsites have electricity and a majority have water. The restroom facilities include hot water showers. Each campsite includes a grill, picnic table and lantern post. The campground features one group campsite which includes five campsites. Firewood can be purchased at the campground. On-site camp hosts are available and the campground features a boat ramp and dump station.

Natural Features

Lake Rabun is located in the Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest, a place of exploration and wonder. This National Forest is rich in history and is said to be a hiker's paradise with its winding trails, scenic mountains and rolling hills.

Nearby Attractions

Visitors to the campground can enjoy nearby Anna Ruby Falls; Brasstown Bald Recreation Area (Georgia's highest point); Minnehaha Falls; Panther Creek Falls; Tallulah Gorge State Park; Clayton, GA; historic Lakemont, GA; whitewater rafting on the Chattooga River.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Generators may be used up to 4 hours per day between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m., the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. are quiet hours. Generators are to be at a volume as to not unreasonably disturb other campers. If they are disturbing other campers you may be asked to turn them off.

Rule

First-come, first-served sites are also available.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Rule

No hunting within any developed campground, developed campsite, developed trail, or other developed recreation site on the Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest.

Rule

Camping or maintaining a campsite in developed and dispersed areas in excess of 14 days within any 30-day time period. After the camper(s) has accumulated 14 days within any 30-day time period, the camper(s) must leave that area/campground and move from Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest land before returning for another stay. 36 CFR Section 261.58(a).

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
77 · 1 group
Hookups
25 electric, 25 water
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“The restroom facilities include hot water showers.”
Dump station
Yes
Boat ramp
Yes
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek
Boating
Fishing
Swimming
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:53 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

2 campgrounds have sites open within 30 miles, read 16:34 UTC. See them

OpenBooked

Every one of the 41 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 34 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 16:53 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 30Bookable now through October 30, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 1, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Today at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30–$40plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$88DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Apr 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$30–$40
Standard Nonelectric$30
Standard Electric$40
Group area, a night$85
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 1, 2026 to Oct 30, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$48
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$88

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$40 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 2

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 16:34 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 16:53 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

77 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 75 mapped sites
20 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
24%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop 1 23 18 ftLoop 1 33 18 ftLoop 1 03 18 ft

14 sites share one published coordinate and are left out of the rankings.

All 77 sites

77 of 77 sites located
Standard49RV / electric25Group1Type not stated2
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 77 of the 77 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Loop 101-Managementtype not stated215 ft$26
Loop 102standard nonelectric20 ft89 ft$30
Loop 103standard nonelectric18 ft88 ft$30
Loop 104standard nonelectric90 ft$30
Loop 105standard nonelectric90 ft$30
Loop 106standard nonelectric24 ft91 ft$30
Loop 107standard nonelectric23 ft94 ft$30
Loop 108standard nonelectric23 ft95 ft$30
Loop 109standard nonelectric19 ft95 ft$30
Loop 110standard nonelectric19 ft95 ft$30
Loop 111standard nonelectric23 ft96 ft$30
Loop 112standard nonelectric20 ft127 ft$30
Loop 113standard nonelectric18 ft126 ft$30
Loop 114standard nonelectric128 ft$30
Loop 115standard nonelectric128 ft$30
Loop 116standard nonelectric24 ft130 ft$30
Loop 117standard nonelectric23 ft132 ft$30
Loop 118standard nonelectric23 ft133 ft$30
Loop 119standard nonelectric19 ft134 ft$30
Loop 120standard nonelectric19 ft133 ft$30
Loop 121standard nonelectric23 ft135 ft$30
Loop 122standard nonelectric20 ft160 ft$30
Loop 123standard nonelectric18 ft159 ft$30
Loop 124standard nonelectric161 ft$30
Loop 125standard nonelectric161 ft$30
Loop 126standard nonelectric24 ft162 ft$30
Loop 127standard nonelectric23 ft165 ft$30
Loop 128standard nonelectric23 ft166 ft$30
Loop 129standard nonelectric19 ft167 ft$30
Loop 130standard nonelectric19 ft166 ft$30
Loop 131standard nonelectric23 ft167 ft$30
Loop 132standard nonelectric20 ft186 ft$30
Loop 133standard nonelectric18 ft185 ft$30
Loop 134standard nonelectric187 ft$30
Loop 135standard nonelectric187 ft$30
Loop 136standard nonelectric24 ft189 ft$30
Loop 137standard nonelectric23 ft191 ft$30
Loop 138standard nonelectric23 ft192 ft$30
Loop 139standard nonelectric19 ft193 ft$30
Loop 140standard nonelectric19 ft192 ft$30
Loop 141standard nonelectric23 ft193 ft$30
Loop 142standard nonelectric20 ft213 ft$30
Loop 143standard nonelectric18 ft213 ft$30
Loop 144standard nonelectric18 ft215 ft$30
Loop 245-Managementstandard electric50 amp28 ft307 ft$40
Loop 246standard electric50 amp24 ft216 ft$40
Loop 247standard electric30 amp23 ft218 ft$40
Loop 248standard electric50 amp23 ft219 ft$40
Loop 249standard electric50 amp19 ft220 ft$40
Loop 250standard electric50 amp19 ft219 ft$40
Loop 251standard nonelectric23 ft221 ft$30
Loop 252standard electric50 amp20 ft245 ft$40
Loop 253standard electric30 amp18 ft244 ft$40
Loop 254standard electric30 amp246 ft$40
Loop 255-Managementtype not stated309 ft$26
Loop 256standard electric30 amp246 ft$40
Loop 257standard electric30 amp24 ft247 ft$40
Loop 258standard electric50 amp23 ft250 ft$40
Loop 259standard electric50 amp23 ft251 ft$40
Loop 260standard electric50 amp19 ft252 ft$40
Loop 261standard electric50 amp19 ft251 ft$40
Loop 262standard electric30 amp23 ft252 ft$40
Loop 263standard electric30 amp20 ft278 ft$40
Loop 264standard electric30 amp18 ft277 ft$40
Loop 265standard electric30 amp279 ft$40
Loop 266standard electric50 amp279 ft$40
Loop 267standard electric50 amp24 ft280 ft$40
Loop 268standard electric50 amp23 ft282 ft$40
Loop 269standard electric50 amp23 ft283 ft$40
Loop 270standard electric30 amp19 ft284 ft$40
Loop 271standard electric30 amp19 ft284 ft$40
Loop 272standard nonelectric23 ft285 ft$30
Loop 273standard nonelectric20 ft305 ft$30
Loop 274standard nonelectric18 ft304 ft$30
Loop 275standard nonelectric306 ft$30
Loop 276standard nonelectric306 ft$30
Loop 2Grp 1group standard area nonelectric28 ft310 ft$85

25 of 77 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.75577, -83.48130
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

Take U.S. 441/23 south from Clayton for 5.4 miles; turn right on Wiley Connector for 0.1 mile; turn left (south) on Georgia 15 (Historic 441) for 1.4 miles; turn right on Lake Rabun Road (County Road 10) for 5 miles.

If pulling a trailer, the best route is to go west on Hwy 76 for 7 miles; turn left on Charlie Mtn. Road for 3.5 miles; turn right on Bridge Creek Road for 2 miles; turn left on Burton Dam Road for 5.4 miles. The campground will be on your left.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today62°Sunny
Tonight36°Clear
Sunday62°Sunny
Sunday Night37°Clear

NWS forecast for Tallulah Falls, GA

Typical weather

Typical October night 46°F, day 72°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 29°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CLARKESVILLE, GA (USC00091965), 10 miles away and 340 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Andrew Clyde, official portrait

Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area is in Georgia’s 9th congressional district. Its representative, Andrew Clyde (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Andrew S. Clyde

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia

Dear Andrew S. Clyde,

I’m a constituent in Georgia’s 9th district. I tried to camp at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 41 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area (Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia) via campanac.com
To Jon Ossoff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia

Dear Jon Ossoff,

I’m a constituent in Georgia. I tried to camp at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 41 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area (Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia) via campanac.com
To Raphael G. Warnock

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia

Dear Raphael G. Warnock,

I’m a constituent in Georgia. I tried to camp at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 75 of the 77 campsites the agency files at Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 41 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Lake Rabun Beach Recreation Area (Chattahoochee National Forest, Georgia) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: The agency lists it open right now.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Tallulah Falls, GA, 3.5 mi WNW. Straight line.