U.S. Forest Service · Bighorn National Forest · WY

Lakeview Bighorn

1Heads up1 fire 40 mi away
Wildfire
Pk fire · 40 mi away · 1,645 acres · 85% contained · updated Oct 11, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; December 11 opens June 11.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$20From, per site
Sites
2019 on recreation.gov
70 ftLongest rig
8,540 ftElevation
627 ftWater · Tensleep Reservoir
25.2 miSW of Buffalo, WY
40%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

Lakeview Campground is located on Meadowlark Lake about 50 miles east of Worland, Wyoming on the west side of scenic Cloud Peak Skyway, near the Cloud Peak Wilderness Area. The Bighorn National Forest offers a wide variety of activities, including hiking, fishing, scenic driving and a number of historic sites. The administering organization is Rustic Freedom / Gallatin Canyon Campgrounds; e-mail: support@rusticfreedom.com Recreation Meadowlark Lake covers 325 acres and is open to boating at a wake-less speed, making it a perfect location for canoeing and fishing. Keep reading

Anglers will find rainbow, cutthroat, brown and brook trout in the cool waters of the lake. Off-road vehicle trails, scenic jeep roads, hiking and additional fishing streams are available in the surrounding area. Diverse hikes vary from loop trails to treks along creeks and over mountain peaks; many trails access the Cloud Peak Wilderness.

Facilities

The campground offers single-family sites each equipped with a picnic table and campfire ring with grill. Accessible vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided. The nearest dump station is 12 miles away on Powder River Pass.

Natural Features

The campground overlooks scenic Meadowlark Lake, which can be viewed from several sites. A forest of lodgepole pine and Douglas fir trees covers the campground. Many additional lakes and streams are found in the surrounding area. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (307) 431-7446.

Nearby Attractions

The High Park Lookout is located just east of Meadowlark Lake. This old fire lookout was built by the CCC decades ago and is no longer active. A short hike leads to the lookout, where hikers are awarded panoramic views of the surrounding area. West Tensleep Lake is about 10 miles north of Meadowlark Lake and is open to non-motorized craft only. The popular West Tensleep Lake Trail begins here and leads into the Cloud Peak Wilderness. Deer Haven Lodge and Meadowlark Lodge are nearby, offering dining options, lodging, guided horseback riding and fishing and camping supplies.

Charges & Cancellations

Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee. This cancellation processing fee is retained by the reservation service contractor along with the non-refundable reservation fee. All requests for the return of the non-refundable reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee will be declined by the campground concessionaire as they did not receive these fees (these are the fees retained by the reservation contractor, a different entity).

What the agency tells you

Rule

Two non-towed vehicles allowed per site. The first vehicle is included in the basic fee; the second vehicle will be charged an extra $10.00 fee at the campground.

Rule

Firewood may be purchased from the campground host.

Rule

Site #10 is a double site. The double site fee (1-16 people) is $36.00 for two non-towed vehicles with trailers per site per day; extra cars (limit of 2) are free.

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing organisms by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee. This fee is retained by the reservation service contractor along with the non-refundable reservation fee. All requests for the return of the non-refundable reservation fee and the cancellation fee will be declined by the campground concessionaire as they did not receive these fees (these are the fees retained by the reservation contractor, a different entity).

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
20 · 8 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
70 ft
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…and campfire ring with grill. Accessible vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided.…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…with grill. Accessible vault toilets, drinking water and trash collection are provided. The nearest dump…”
Dump station
Yes
Store
Nearby
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek
Biking
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Hotel/Lodge/Resort Privately Owned
Kayaking
Non-Motorized Boating
Off Road Vehicle Trails
Picnicking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 55th darkest of 248 in WY
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 19 of the 20 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On December 11, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through June 11, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Jun 11 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 23

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$20
Standard Nonelectric$20
Tent Only Nonelectric$20
Group area, a night$40
These are next season’s rates, Jun 11, 2027 to Sep 19, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
Two non-towed vehicles allowed per site.
The first vehicle is included in the basic fee
Firewood bundles can be purchased from the campground host.
Site # 10 is a double site.
The single site fee (1-8 people) is $18.00 for one non-towed vehicle with trailer per site per day
The double site fee (9-16 people) is $36.00 for two non-towed vehicles with trailers per site per day
A 4th car (maximum) is free.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“the second vehicle will be charged an extra $10.00/day fee at the campground.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

Extra vehicle$10

“an extra car, including what it tows, is an additional $10.00.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“Refunds: Refund requests made through www.recreation.gov will be charged a $10 processing fee.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

26 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 19 mapped sites
79 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop LOWR 014 56 ftLoop LOWR 015 56 ftLoop LAKE 004 66 ft

All 26 records

21 of 26 records located
Standard10Tent only8Group1Type not stated1Host pad1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 21 of the 26 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 20 of the 26 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

LAKE001standard nonelectric60 ft73 ft684 ft575 ft$20
LAKE002standard nonelectric30 ft73 ft723 ft644 ft$20
LAKE003standard nonelectric25 ft206 ft824 ft859 ft$20
LAKE004standard nonelectric25 ft66 ft750 ft1,023 ft$20
LAKE005standard nonelectric25 ft66 ft747 ft1,086 ft$20
LAKE006standard nonelectric50 ft82 ft752 ft1,166 ft$20
LAKE007standard nonelectric60 ft79 ft643 ft659 ft$20
LAKE008standard nonelectric70 ft79 ft577 ft637 ft$20
LAKE009standard nonelectric30 ft98 ft505 ft628 ft$20
LAKE010group standard nonelectric45 ft139 ft383 ft591 ft$40
LAKE011standard nonelectric60 ft106 ft383 ft444 ft$20
LOWR012 Hosthost pad30 ft450 ft404 ft$20
LOWR013tent only nonelectric30 ft106 ft450 ft404 ft$20
LOWR014tent only nonelectric30 ft56 ft401 ftEast Tensleep Creek113 ft$20
LOWR015tent only nonelectric30 ft56 ft345 ftEast Tensleep Creek147 ft$20
LOWR016tent only nonelectric30 ft104 ft243 ftEast Tensleep Creek234 ft$20
LOWR017tent only nonelectric30 ft94 ft379 ft84 ft$20
LOWR018tent only nonelectric30 ft78 ft292 ft132 ft$20
LOWR019tent only nonelectric30 ft78 ft237 ft209 ft$20
LOWR020tent only nonelectric30 ft81 ft227 ft287 ft$20
MANAGEMENT016type not stated239 ftEast Tensleep Creek207 ft$20
MANAGEMENTXXXunnamed record30 ft$20
MANAGEMENTXXX2unnamed record$20
MANAGEMENTXXX3unnamed record$20
MANAGEMENTXXX4unnamed record$20
MANAGEMENTXXX5unnamed record$20

The agency files 6 more records here that aren’t sites for the night: 1 it names a host pad and 5 it types MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. They’re in the table above, marked for what they are, and none of them is counted as a site.

25 of 26 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today62°Sunny
Tonight38°Partly Cloudy
Sunday54°Sunny
Sunday Night35°Partly Cloudy

NWS forecast for Ten Sleep, WY

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Leigh Creek19,180 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Hazelton Peaks10,029 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Harriet Hageman, official portrait

Lakeview Bighorn is in Wyoming’s at-large congressional district. Its representative, Harriet Hageman (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Ten Sleep, WY, 14.9 mi NE. Straight line.