Last Chance
- Right now
- Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
- A night
- $10–$15Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 2523 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there
In the agency’s own words
At Last Chance Campground, there are 20 single and three double sites situated along Goose Creek in a mature Ponderosa Pine and Douglas Fir forest. This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading
Recreation
This campground boasts many opportunities for recreation. Goose Lake is a short distance away, which features a picnic area, restrooms, and fishing piers. There is excellent fishing in the reservoir, or try your luck in Goose Creek, next to the campground. Popular Goose Creek Trail #533 begins at the campground and leads to Goose Creek Falls and onto Brundage Reservoir. Hiking to Goose Creek Falls is a family-friendly hike that everyone is sure to enjoy. A special treat is to go huckleberry picking in late summer along the trail!
Facilities
This popular campground along Goose Creek features twenty single sites, three double sites, and one group area. Each site has a fire ring and a picnic table. All sites are available on a first come, first serve basis. There are vault toilets and drinking water through a hand pump and an artesian well. There are no hookups and no trash receptacles; please pack out your trash. A day use area has a horseshoe pit and picnic tables.
Natural Features
Last Chance Campground is situated among large ponderosa pine and Douglas fir trees, which offer a charming forested setting. The campground is situated along Goose Creek, at approximately 4,653 feet.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 25
- Hookups
- None
- Accessible sites
- None listed
- Pets
- Allowed
- Campfires
- Allowed, barring fire bans
Facilities
- Toilets
- Vault Toilets
- “…first come, first serve basis. There are vault toilets and drinking water through a hand pump and an…”
- Drinking water
- Yes
- “…serve basis. There are vault toilets and drinking water through a hand pump and an artesian well. There are…”
Around the campground
- On the water
- Reservoir, Lake, Creek
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 23 of the 25 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 13
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $10–$15 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
25 sites · the site map
All 25 sites
Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 25 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 25 of the 25 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.
| Last Chance | 01 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 02 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 03 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 04 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 05 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 06 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 07 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 08 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 09 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 10 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 11 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 12 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 13 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 14 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 15 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 16 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 17 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 18 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 19 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 20 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 21 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 22 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Last Chance | 23 | standard nonelectric | $10–$15 | ||
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 2 | type not stated | $10–$15 | ||
| Scan and Pay | Standard | type not stated | 85 ft | 51 ft | $10–$15 |
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Where it is
Grouse CampgroundPayette National Forest · 5.6 miGranite Lake Camping AreaPayette National Forest · 9.4 mi
Evergreen CampgroundPayette National Forest · 12 mi
Upper Payette Lake CampgroundPayette National Forest · 12 mi
Cold Springs Campground - Payette NF (ID)Payette National Forest · 13 mi
Lake ForkPayette National Forest · 13 miTravel north of McCall on Highway 55 for seven miles and then turn right onto road #453; a small sign on the right indicates Last Chance Campground before the turnoff. Travel north two more miles on dirt road #453 to the campground. Volunteer Camp Hosts are present from May to September. This campground tents to fill up quickly on weekends and holidays, so plan accordingly!
The weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for McCall, ID
Typical weather
Typical October night 29°F, day 56°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical January night 14°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
who answers for it
Who answers for this land

Last Chance is in Idaho’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Russ Fulcher (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →