ReservableOut of season; bookable April 15 through April 16.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$30–$35Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4241 on recreation.gov
56 ftLongest rig
280 ftElevation
249 ftWater · an unnamed lake
9.4 miSE of Goldendale, WA
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

LePage Park is located at the confluence of the John Day and Columbia Rivers just five miles from Rufus, Oregon, and the John Day Dam. Popular activities include river fishing, swimming, water skiing and boating. Keep reading

Recreation

Visitors enjoy boating, water sports and swimming in the river. Anglers fish for smallmouth bass, catfish, and abundant sunfish. A boat ramp is located at the campground for convenient river access.

Facilities

The campground offers 22 sites with electric hookups and 20 primitive walk-to tent sites. Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat ramp.

Natural Features

The park is situated in a river basin with a high desert climate. Mature shade trees line the edges of this open grassy park on the banks of the John Day River. Wildlife is abundant in the area, such as mule deer, waterfowl, and birds of prey. Contact Info Between 04/15/2024 and 10/15/2024 this location is staffed. Please call (541) 739-2713 to speak with local staff. From 10/16/2024 to 10/31/2030 this location is unstaffed. Please call (541) 739-1135 for general information.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Apr 15-Oct 15 LePage Park Gate House: 541 739-2713 Apr 15-Oct 15 Plymouth Park Gate House: 509 783-1270 Year round John Day Dam: 541 739-1135

Rule

Camping limited to 14 days within a 30-consecutive day period.

Rule

Trailers are required to have a tow vehicle available throughout duration of reservation. If renting a trailer through a separate company, please call John Day Ranger Office (541) 739-1135 for approval.

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

RV sites are limited to one RV unit and one tent OR two tents. Tent sites are limited to two tents per site. Maximum occupancy of eight people per site.

Rule

Rattlesnakes may be present; use caution.

Rule

Pets are allowed and must be kept on a maximum 6ft leash at all times.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Rule

Off-road vehicles not permitted

Rule

STOP THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE SPECIES. Remove plants, seeds, animals, and mud from boots, gear, pets, and vehicles. Clean your gear before entering and leaving the recreation site. Stay on designated roads and trails, and follow local guidelines for firewood. CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY boats and any other recreational equipment that contacts water. Dispose of unwanted bait, worms, fish parts, or other organisms into the trash and not into the environment. For more information visit https://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/rec.

Rule

********************************** • Restrooms will be open and cleaned, however visitors need to take necessary precautions to ensure personal hygiene. Restrooms are only as sanitary as the last user. • Bring your own soap, hand sanitizer and other hygienic products. *************************************************

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
42 · 20 walk-in
Hookups
21 electric, 22 water
Longest rig
56 ft
Paved pads
22 of 42
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
40 of 41 sites
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Pit Toilets
“…tent sites. Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat…”
Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Amenities include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat ramp.”
Drinking water
Yes
“…include flush and pit toilets, showers, drinking water, a dump station and boat ramp. Natural Features The…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
River
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Kayaking
Motor Boat
Paddling
Picnicking
Sailboarding
Sailing
Swimming
Water access
Water Skiing
Water sports
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 626th darkest of 770 in OR
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 41 of the 42 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowFrom April 15Out of season now. Bookable for April 15, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$30–$35plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$78DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Apr 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$30–$35
Standard RV$30
Pull-Thru RV$35
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 15, 2026 to Oct 14, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$43
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$78

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$35 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

42 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 41 mapped sites
42 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop LPAR 17 26 ftLoop LPAR 18 26 ftLoop LPAR 19 29 ft

All 42 sites

42 of 42 sites located
RV / electric21Walk, hike or boat in20Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 40 of the 42 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

LPAR01standard electric42 ft50 amp75 ft34 ft$30–$35
LPAR02type not stated48 ft50 amp47 ft
LPAR03standard electric49 ft50 amp80 ft47 ft$30–$35
LPAR04standard electric52 ft50 amp76 ft41 ft$30–$35
LPAR05standard electric56 ft50 amp65 ft47 ft$30–$35
LPAR06standard electric53 ft50 amp65 ft33 ft$30–$35
LPAR07standard electric50 ft50 amp65 ft32 ft$30–$35
LPAR08standard electric51 ft50 amp65 ft49 ft$30–$35
LPAR09standard electric42 ft50 amp48 ft81 ft$30–$35
LPAR10standard electric50 ft50 amp32 ft104 ft$30–$35
LPAR11standard electric45 ft50 amp32 ft116 ft$30–$35
LPAR12standard electric50 ft50 amp38 ft122 ft$30–$35
LPAR13standard electric44 ft50 amp38 ft127 ft$30–$35
LPAR14standard electric39 ft50 amp60 ft125 ft$30–$35
LPAR15standard electric33 ft30 amp62 ft109 ft$30–$35
LPAR16standard electric32 ft50 amp61 ft112 ft$30–$35
LPAR17standard electric34 ft50 amp26 ft118 ft$30–$35
LPAR18standard electric34 ft50 amp26 ft106 ft$30–$35
LPAR19standard electric34 ft50 amp29 ft100 ft$30–$35
LPAR20standard electric32 ft50 amp29 ft101 ft$30–$35
LPAR21standard electric32 ft50 amp39 ft103 ft$30–$35
LPAR22rv electric33 ft50 amp39 ft109 ft
LPART1walk to36 ft388 ft$15–$20
LPART10walk to50 ft105 ft$15–$20
LPART11walk to46 ft378 ft$15–$20
LPART12walk to35 ft323 ft$15–$20
LPART13walk to49 ft256 ft$15–$20
LPART14walk to42 ft154 ft$15–$20
LPART15walk to41 ft412 ft$15–$20
LPART16walk to41 ft372 ft$15–$20
LPART17walk to35 ft334 ft$15–$20
LPART18walk to47 ft295 ft$15–$20
LPART19walk to49 ft250 ft$15–$20
LPART2walk to36 ft392 ft$15–$20
LPART20walk to119 ft176 ft$15–$20
LPART3walk to43 ft407 ft$15–$20
LPART4walk to41 ft424 ft$15–$20
LPART5walk to50 ft337 ft$15–$20
LPART6walk to42 ft287 ft$15–$20
LPART7walk to42 ft246 ft$15–$20
LPART8walk to42 ft204 ft$15–$20
LPART9walk to42 ft155 ft$15–$20

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 42 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon74°Sunny
Tonight54°Mostly Cloudy1% rain
Saturday71°Partly Sunny2% rain
Saturday Night45°Partly Cloudy

NWS forecast for Rufus, OR

Typical weather

Typical October night 42°F, day 66°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 30°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ARLINGTON, OR (USC00350265), 22 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

critical
Pushpumdevelopment, infrastructure · 10 mi

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 9, 2026

Who answers for this land

Cliff Bentz, official portrait

Lepage Park is in Oregon’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Cliff Bentz (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Rufus, OR, 4.1 mi ENE. Straight line.