U.S. Forest Service · Mendocino National Forest · CA

Letts Lake Campground

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 30 mi
Wildfire
West fire · 30 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Hill fire · 41 mi away · 2 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 23 opens May 23.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$6From, per site
Sites
4542 on recreation.gov
4,540 ftElevation
450 ftWater · Upper Letts Lake
13.1 miNE of Upper Lake, CA
16%Tree cover
Bortle 3Night sky · 441st darkest of 1,201 in CA

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices

In the agency’s own words

This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you are able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. In order to utilize Scan & Pay on site, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading

Recreation

The main feature of the area is a 35-acre lake for non-motorized vessels, trout fishing and swimming. A one-mile accesible trail leads along the lake shore. There are accessible restrooms and a popular fully-accessible fishing pier.

Facilities

42 campsites equipped with toilets, tables, fire rings, and water system ( only during summer months). Access road and camps suitable for up to 30 foot camping trailers. Trash service only avaliable during summer months.

Natural Features

There is a 35-acre lake filled with trout located within a mixed conifer stand. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (530) 963-3128.

Nearby Attractions

Across the lake is Big Springs Picnic Area.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Leave No Trace: Pack out all trash garbage, including food scraps.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Rule

OHV riding is not allowed in the campground.

Tents and rigs

Sites
45
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Yes, the record doesn't say what kind
“Facilities 42 campsites equipped with toilets, tables, fire rings, and water system ( only during summer months).”

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Canoeing
Fishing
Non-Motorized Boating
Paddling
Picnicking
Swimming
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 15:34 UTC

recreation.gov lists 42 of the 45 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 23, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 23, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$6plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$20DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, May 23 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$6
ScanPay 1$6
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Sep 2, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$14
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$20

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $6 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:34 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

45 sites · the site map

All 45 sites

1 of 45 sites located
Standard1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
Up to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 45 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 42 of the 45 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Main Letts01standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts02standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts03standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts04standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts05standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts06standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts07standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts08standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts09standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts10standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts11standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts12standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts13standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts14standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts15standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts16standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts17standard nonelectric$6
Main Letts18standard nonelectric450 ft257 ft$6
Saddle Camp Loop19standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop20standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop21standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop22standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop23standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop24standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop25standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop26standard nonelectric$6
Saddle Camp Loop27standard nonelectric$6
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated
Spillway Loop34standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop35standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop36standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop37standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop38standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop39standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop40standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop41standard nonelectric$6
Spillway Loop42standard nonelectric$6
Stirrup Loop28standard nonelectric$6
Stirrup Loop29standard nonelectric$6
Stirrup Loop30standard nonelectric$6
Stirrup Loop31standard nonelectric$6
Stirrup Loop32standard nonelectric$6
Stirrup Loop33standard nonelectric$6

25 of 45 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number

The weather

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

What threatens this place

Roadless
Snow Mountain14,457 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Letts Lake Campground is in California’s 1st congressional district. Whoever holds it votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. See how its representative votes on public lands →

Our roster still carries Doug LaMalfa for this district and the current federal record doesn’t list them as sitting, so we’re not naming a representative here until the two agree.

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Stonyford, CA, 9.3 mi WSW (a census designated place). Straight line.