ReservableOut of season; bookable April 16 through April 17.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$14–$26Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
3835 on recreation.gov
45 ftLongest rig
890 ftElevation
437 ftWater · Pomme de Terre Lake
11.3 miE of Humansville, MO
28%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Lightfoot Landing is a smaller campground compared to neighboring park areas, making it a more quiet and peaceful location for boating and fishing on Pomme de Terre Lake, known as the ''Gem of the Ozarks.'' Recreation The lake is well known for fishing, with one of the highest catch ratios in the country. Species include bass, catfish, walleye and crappie, but the lake is probably best known for its muskie, which is stocked each fall. Both canoeing and power boating are popular on the lake, with a good amount of water skiing and other water activities taking place. Keep reading

Facilities

Lightfoot Landing has 35 sites with electric and water hookups, including one that is accessible. Additional amenities include a shower house, boat ramp with courtesy dock, dump station, playground, horse shoe pits, and a picnic shelter.

Natural Features

The Pomme de Terre River and Lindley Creek are the major sources for Pomme de Terre Lake, which spans 7,790 sparkling surface acres, with 113 miles of shoreline.

Nearby Attractions

One of the best dirt tracks in the country and is located down 83 highway in Wheatland. Also nearby is the Pomme de Terre Multipurpose Trail, located in Bolivar Landing.

What the agency tells you

Rule

During the off-season, there is a limited camping season that only has electricity available. $10 per night, Dates: March 15 - April 15, October 1 - November 30.

Rule

All reservations must be made through the Recreation.gov website or app. Search for Recreation.gov on the Apple Store or Play Store to download the app for free. Reservations can also be made by calling the Recreation.gov reservation line at (877) 444-6777.

Rule

All campers must check in at the Park Attendant Booth during booth hours when arriving. Booth hours are posted on the booth and are subject to change.

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

America the Beautiful Passes must be verified when camping. A physical or digital pass must be presented with identification upon checking in. Failure to do so may result in the removal of your pass from a reservation.

Rule

There is no first-come-first-serve window. All reservations can be made from the current day up to six months in advance. Campers are still limited to camping 14 consecutive days at a campground.

Rule

Reservation tags will no longer be posted. With current day reservations available, it is the camper’s responsibility to check if a campsite has been reserved.

Rule

Cash and checks will no longer be accepted. Recreation.gov and their reservation line will take credit and debit cards.

Rule

Additional fees will be charged for additional camping units.

Rule

Lifejackets only work if you wear them!

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
38
Hookups
35 electric, 29 water
Longest rig
45 ft
Paved pads
1 of 38
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Additional amenities include a shower house, boat ramp with courtesy dock, dump station, playground, horse shoe pits, and a picnic shelter.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
28 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek, Beach
Picnicking
Night sky · 82nd darkest of 118 in MO
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 35 of the 38 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowFrom April 16Out of season now. Bookable for April 16, 2027 through April 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay28 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$14–$26plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36–$60DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Apr 16 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$14–$26
Tent Only Nonelectric (BASIC)$14
Nonelectric (PREMIUM)$16
Electric & Water$26
Group areas, a night$20–$30
These are next season’s rates, Apr 16, 2027 to Sep 30, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22–$34
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36–$60

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $14–$26 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

38 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 35 mapped sites
58 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop LLAN 10 36 ftLoop LLAN 14 36 ftLoop LLAN 03 41 ft

All 38 sites

38 of 38 sites located
RV / electric35Type not stated3
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 38 of the 38 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 35 of the 38 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

LLAN01standard electric40 ft48 ft110 ft299 ft$26
LLAN02standard electric30 ft48 ft77 ft340 ft$26
LLAN03standard electric40 ft41 ft52 ft381 ft$26
LLAN04standard electric30 ft41 ft61 ft390 ft$26
LLAN05standard electric30 ft50 ft75 ft405 ft$26
LLAN06standard electric30 ft61 ft135 ft293 ft$26
LLAN07standard electric35 ft50 amp57 ft233 ft144 ft$26
LLAN08standard electric35 ft50 amp57 ft183 ft197 ft$26
LLAN09standard electric40 ft50 amp70 ft216 ft204 ft$26
LLAN10standard electric40 ft50 amp36 ft204 ft282 ft$26
LLAN11standard electric35 ft50 amp69 ft119 ft305 ft$26
LLAN12standard electric40 ft50 amp69 ft134 ft351 ft$26
LLAN13standard electric35 ft50 amp71 ft158 ft320 ft$26
LLAN14standard electric40 ft50 amp36 ft237 ft250 ft$26
LLAN15standard electric40 ft50 amp61 ft231 ft237 ft$26
LLAN16standard electric40 ft50 amp78 ft173 ft246 ft$26
LLAN17standard electric40 ft50 amp63 ft249 ft191 ft$26
LLAN18standard electric40 ft50 amp46 ft303 ft122 ft$26
LLAN19standard electric35 ft50 ampyes46 ft282 ft106 ft$26
LLAN20standard electric45 ft50 amp52 ft288 ft186 ft$26
LLAN21standard electric45 ft50 amp79 ft286 ft132 ft$26
LLAN22standard electric40 ft50 amp52 ft240 ft233 ft$26
LLAN23standard electric40 ft50 amp53 ft205 ft219 ft$26
LLAN24standard electric40 ft50 amp61 ft205 ft294 ft$26
LLAN25standard electric35 ft50 amp53 ft161 ft273 ft$26
LLAN26standard electric35 ft50 amp60 ft133 ft325 ft$26
LLAN27standard electric35 ft50 amp59 ft170 ft365 ft$26
LLAN28standard electric35 ft50 amp58 ft175 ft395 ft$26
LLAN29standard electric35 ft50 amp58 ft200 ft398 ft$26
LLAN30standard electric40 ft50 amp81 ft279 ft293 ft$26
LLAN31standard electric40 ft50 amp66 ft274 ft348 ft$26
LLAN32standard electric40 ft50 amp66 ft339 ft292 ft$26
LLAN33standard electric40 ft50 amp53 ft340 ft170 ft$26
LLAN34standard electric40 ft50 amp71 ft403 ft194 ft$26
LLAN35standard electric40 ft50 amp76 ft414 ft119 ft$26
LLANG1type not stated235 ft1,583 ft
LLANG2type not stated189 ft1,909 ft
LLANT01type not stated53 ft484 ft

25 of 38 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate37.82611, -93.36139
The phone417-282-6890
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Springfield, MO, go north on Highway 13 to Bolivar, MO. Take Highway 83 northeast to RB Highway. Follow the RB Highway east to the Lightfoot Park entrance.

The weather

the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Typical weather

Typical October night 45°F, day 70°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 22°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BOLIVAR 1 NE, MO (USC00230789), 15 miles away and 97 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Mark Alford, official portrait

Lightfoot Landing is in Missouri’s 4th congressional district. Its representative, Mark Alford (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Wheatland, MO, 7.2 mi SSE. Straight line.