ReservableBookable through October 30, and from April 1 through April 16.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 15 nights read 15:59 UTC
A night
$24–$28Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
4544 on recreation.gov
40 ftLongest rig
390 ftElevation
40 ftWater · an unnamed pond
6.1 miNW of Ashland City, TN
40%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

The relaxing yet activity-rich Lock A Campground has something to offer everyone from horseshoe pits to volleyball courts and hiking opportunities, plus a plethora of lake activities as well. Keep in mind, staff will hold a campsite until the check-out time (2:00 pm) on the day following the arrival date. However, if you're arrving late, we highly recommend you call the campground to notify the Park Attendant. If arrival does not occur before check-out time on the day following the arrival date, the reservation will be canceled. Keep reading

Recreation

The temperate climate here allows for a lengthy recreation season including boating, swimming, canoeing and fishing. For hikers, the Cumberland River Bicentennial Trail is a rails-to-trails project, which runs 6.5 miles long and crosses Sycamore Creek on a historic abandoned railroad trestle.

Facilities

Both RV and tent sites have 50 amp electric hookups. Additional amenities include hot showers, a dump station, boat launch, playground, picnic shelter and swimming area. A beach and additional playgrounds are available in the adjacent Cheatham Dam Right Bank Recreation Area.

Natural Features

Lock A is on the north bank of the lake, just upstream from Cheatham Lock and Dam along the Cumberland River in north-central Tennessee.

Nearby Attractions

The Pardue Pond and Dyson Ditch Wildlife Refuges are on the other side of Cheatham lake. Both are excellent places for bird watching and exploring.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Please be aware that falling branches are a natural hazard at this campground

Rule

Motorized, including electric vehicles: Golf carts, Scooters & ATV’s are permitted on roadways in Corps operated recreation areas. However, these type of vehicles shall be operated in accordance with applicable Federal, state and local laws, which shall be regulated by authorized enforcement officials. Must be 16 years or older to drive motorized vehicle. Prohibited items include: battery operated scooters/cars, hover-boards, non compliant golf carts and ATV's.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Keep in mind, staff will hold a campsite until the check-out time (2:00 pm) on the day following the arrival date. However, if you're arrving late, we highly recommend you call the campground to notify the Park Attendant. If arrival does not occur before check-out time on the day following the arrival date, the reservation will be canceled.

Rule

Two tents or one tent and one RV are permitted per campsite.

Rule

Lock A campground has reservable sites only. No walk-up sites.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
45 · 7 tent-only
Hookups
44 electric, 45 water
Longest rig
40 ft
Paved pads
24 of 45
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Showers
Yes, the record doesn’t say what kind
“Additional amenities include hot showers, a dump station, boat launch, playground, picnic shelter and swimming area.”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Boat ramp
Yes
Playground
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, River, Creek, Beach
Hiking
Water sports
Night sky · 80th darkest of 95 in TN
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

8 of 88 site-nights open this Friday and Saturdayread 15:59 UTC

recreation.gov lists 44 of the 45 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

OpenBooked

Booking windowThrough October 30Bookable now through October 30, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 1, 2027 through April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$24–$28plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$56–$64DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Thu, Apr 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, per site$24–$28
Standard Electric$24
Tent Only Electric$24
Standard Electric$28
The agency has already scheduled a change from Apr 1, 2027: $28 to $32 a night.
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 1, 2026 to Oct 30, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$32–$36
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$56–$64

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $24–$28 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:59 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

45 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 44 mapped sites
64 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room34 32 ft35 32 ft33 32 ft

All 45 sites

45 of 45 sites located
Tent only7RV / electric37Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 44 of the 45 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

LOCK A01type not stated34 ft50 amp45 ft
LOCK A02standard electric40 ft50 amp68 ft52 ft$24–$28
LOCK A03standard electric40 ft50 amp68 ft73 ft$24–$28
LOCK A04standard electric20 ft50 amp60 ft159 ft$24–$28
LOCK A05standard electric36 ft50 amp60 ft208 ft$24–$28
LOCK A06standard electric20 ft50 amp75 ft312 ft$24–$28
LOCK A07standard electric40 ft50 amp75 ft369 ft$24–$28
LOCK A08standard electric36 ft50 amp68 ft250 ft$24–$28
LOCK A09standard electric28 ft50 amp41 ft323 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A10standard electric32 ft50 amp41 ft309 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A11standard electric32 ft50 amp53 ft299 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A12standard electric28 ft50 amp70 ft313 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A13standard electric24 ft50 amp62 ft255 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A14standard electric40 ft50 amp62 ft267 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A15standard electric32 ft50 amp65 ft255 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A16standard electric40 ft50 amp53 ft240 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A17standard electric40 ft50 amp53 ft218 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A18standard electric40 ft50 amp61 ft214 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A19standard electric40 ft50 amp57 ft223 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A20standard electric34 ft50 amp36 ft225 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A21standard electric30 ft50 amp36 ft228 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A22standard electric25 ft50 amp43 ft220 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A23standard electric24 ft50 amp57 ft215 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A24standard electric26 ft50 amp65 ft179 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A25standard electric38 ft50 amp65 ft141 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A26standard electric40 ft50 amp74 ft129 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A27standard electric36 ft50 amp89 ft125 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A28standard electric38 ft50 amp89 ft127 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A29standard electric40 ft50 amp81 ft118 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A30standard electric40 ft50 amp46 ft128 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A31standard electric40 ft50 amp46 ft136 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A32standard electric40 ft50 amp43 ft136 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A33standard electric40 ft50 amp32 ft141 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A34standard electric40 ft50 amp32 ft157 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A35standard electric32 ft50 amp32 ft165 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A36standard electric40 ft50 amp42 ft188 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A37standard electric22 ft50 amp66 ft131 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A38standard electric18 ft50 amp66 ft103 ftCumberland River$24–$28
LOCK A39tent only electric50 amp72 ft95 ftCumberland River$24
LOCK A40tent only electric50 amp72 ft73 ftCumberland River$24
LOCK A41tent only electric50 amp93 ft63 ftCumberland River$24
LOCK A42tent only electric50 amp93 ft68 ftCumberland River$24
LOCK A43tent only electric50 amp94 ft66 ftCumberland River$24
LOCK A44tent only electric50 amp97 ft59 ftCumberland River$24
LOCK A45tent only electric50 amp97 ft94 ftCumberland River$24

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 45 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate36.31583, -87.18694
The phone615-792-3715
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Ashland City, Tennessee, take US 12 and go eight miles west to Cheap Hill. Turn left on Cheatham Dam Road traveling west four miles. Turn left into the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight45°Mostly Cloudy1% rain
Saturday60°Sunny2% rain
Saturday Night37°Clear
Sunday66°Sunny

NWS forecast for Ashland City, TN

Typical weather

Typical October night 47°F, day 73°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 28°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°20°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: CHEATHAM L&D, TN (USC00401663), 2 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Matt Van Epps, official portrait

Lock A is in Tennessee’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Matt Van Epps (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: D-. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 15 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.