Lost Park
- Right now
- Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
- A night
- $22–$24Across the site types the agency prices
- Sites
- 41 on recreation.gov
The place
the agency’s own description · what’s there · 3 notices
In the agency’s own words
This location is available on a first-come, first-served basis only. Visitors are required to physically arrive at the campground to purchase and claim a site. Once on-site, you may be able to pay for your campsite(s) by scanning a QR code using the Recreation.gov mobile app, and the Scan and Pay feature. If this option is available, you will need to first download the free Recreation.gov mobile app https://www.recreation.gov/mobile-app prior to your arrival as some remote areas have limited or no cellular service. Keep reading
Facilities
Lost Park Campground is located 21 miles southeast of Jefferson off US 285 and CR 56. It has 12 campsites with a maximum trailer length of 22 feet. The elevation is 10,000 feet. Facilities include toilets, tables, water, and fire rings. There is no trash service at this campground. Dates are weather dependent. All services may not be available early or late in the season. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (661) 702-1420.
What the agency tells you
Lost Park Campground is located 21 miles southeast of Jefferson off US 285 and CR 56. It has 12 campsites with a maximum trailer length of 22 feet. The elevation is 10,000 feet. Camping season at this campground begins in May and continues until the road is no longer accessible because of snow. Facilities include toilets, tables, water, and fire rings. There is no trash service at this campground. Campsites in this campground are first-come, first-serve.
Two vehicles or one RV per site is included in the camping fee. $11.00 for a third vehicle. $11.00 fee for day use if not camping overnight.
Campfires are restricted to fire rings only. Be sure campfire is completely extinguished before leaving. Maximum of eight people per site. Facility roads are not paved. No more than a 14-night consecutive stay. Dogs, including service dogs, must always be leashed. No discharge of firearms or fireworks Quiet hours from 10 p.m. until 6 a.m.
Tents and rigs
- Sites
- 4
- Hookups
- None
- Accessible sites
- None listed
Facilities
- Toilets
- Yes, the record doesn't say what kind
- “Facilities include toilets, tables, water, and fire rings.”
No reading yet, book on recreation.gov
recreation.gov lists 1 of the 4 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.
No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.
Watch for a cancellation
Full? Watch it.
One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.
We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.
Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.
We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.
Every line of the receipt · 13
What you actually pay
Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $22–$24 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.
Who keeps the booking fee
The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →
How we know this receipt · 5
rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this
The sites
4 sites · the site map
All 4 sites
The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 1 of the 4 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 2 | type not stated | ||
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 3 | type not stated | ||
| Scan and Pay | ScanPay 4 | type not stated | ||
| Scan and Pay | Standard | standard nonelectric | 472 ft | $22–$24 |
OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.
Getting there
the map and the coordinate · the phone number
Where it is
Buffalo CampgroundPike National Forest · 10 mi
Spruce Grove CampgroundPike National Forest · 10 mi
Meadows Group CampgroundPike National Forest · 11 miGoose Creek CampgroundPike National Forest · 11 miThe weather
the next four days · the thirty-year normal
Next four days, and the thirty-year normal
Forecast
NWS forecast for Westcreek, CO
Typical weather
Typical October night 29°F, day 50°F.
Coldest month of the year: typical February night 12°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.
Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more
A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.
The land, and who answers for it
what threatens it · who answers for it
Roadless country, and what’s coming for it
You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.
Who answers for this land

Lost Park is in Colorado’s 7th congressional district. Its representative, Brittany Pettersen (D), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: A+. See every public-lands vote →