U.S. Forest Service · Cache National Forest · UT

Lower Meadows Campground

ReservableOut of season, no booking; January 15 opens May 15.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$25.93–$51.87Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
2423 on recreation.gov
5,310 ftElevation
531 ftWater · South Fork Ogden River
8.6 miSE of Wolf Creek, UT
0%Tree cover
Bortle 4Night sky · 418th darkest of 458 in UT

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 14 notices

In the agency’s own words

Lower Meadows Campground is located on the banks of the South Fork Ogden River at an elevation of 5,300 feet, just 9 miles from Huntsville, Utah. This campground is one of the most spacious with the individual sites quite far apart. The grass is usually tall and thick. Keep reading

Recreation

Popular local recreation activities include fishing, hiking, swimming, and tubing down the South Fork Ogden River (a life jacket is required for all tubers). Causey Reservoir, a scenic mountain lake, is four miles east.

Facilities

This campground has 17 single sites and 6 double sites available each with picnic tables and fire rings. Vault restrooms are also available throughout the campground.

Natural Features

This scenic campground is situated among cottonwoods and willow. Moose and deer wander through the campground on occasion. The South Fork runs alongside the campground.

Nearby Attractions

Beautiful Ogden Valley has numerous boating, fishing, hiking, horseback and off-road vehicle riding and scenic driving opportunities. Pineview Reservoir is a short drive from the campground with boating, fishing and swimming. Causey Reservoir is close by, offering great canoeing and fishing, as well as hiking, biking and horseback riding trails. Highway 39 continues on to Monte Cristo Summit with sweeping mountain views. ATV and hiking trails are abundant in the area.

Charges & Cancellations

Reservation Cancellations & Changes Cancelling a Reservation: Customers may cancel their reservation prior to arrival both on-line and through the call center. A $10 service fee will be withheld from any refund for a cancellation. Depending on when you cancel in relation to your arrival day, it may be considered a late cancellation (see below). Changing an Existing Reservation: When changes are made prior to the cut-off window: If a customer wants to switch dates that are entirely outside of the original reservation dates, there is a $10 change fee. There is no change fee if a customer extends or shortens a reservation, as long as the change includes dates from the original reservation. If they choose to depart early, they may forfeit the recreation fee for the day of departure. There is no change fee if the customer wants to switch sites that are the same price with the same reservation dates in the same facility. If a reservation is made that includes dates beyond the maximum booking window, that reservation cannot be changed until 18 days have passed from the original booking date. Late Cancellations or Cancellations within the Cut-off Window Individual Campsites: A customer who cancels a reservation the day before or on the day of arrival will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee (not to exceed the total paid for the original reservation). Cancellations for a one-night reservation will forfeit the entire amount paid and will not be subject to an additional service fee. Cabins / Lookouts: Customers who cancel a cabin or lookout reservation less than 14 days before the arrival date will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee. Group Facility (including Cabins and Lookouts): Customers who cancel a group overnight facility reservation less than 14 days before the arrival date will pay a $10.00 service fee AND forfeit the first night's use fee. Group Day Use Area: Customers who cancel a group day-use facility reservation less than 14 days before the arrival date will forfeit the total day-use fee. Changes or Cancellations within the Cut-off Window: Once a reservation date has begun, customers cannot change a reservation using the online system or through the Call Center (see below for early departures). If the location is staffed, on-site personnel may or may not be able to assist with changes or cancellations (check with local staff). No-Shows Overnight and Day-Use Facilities: A no-show customer is one who does not arrive at a campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date (or for day-use facilities, by check-in time the day of arrival). Staff will hold a campsite until check-out time on the day following the arrival date and will hold group day-use facilities until check-in time on the arrival date. No-shows are assessed $20.00 service fee and forfeit the first night’s recreation fee for a campsite or forfeit the entire day-use fee for a day-use facility. Early Departures If a customer departs prior to the scheduled check-out date, they may be eligible for a partial refund. Please notify staff at the facility if you depart early to allow others to use the site. Customers may notify the call center to request a refund of remaining unused nights. If a customer requests a refund for an early departure after the facility check-out time has passed, the customer will not be refunded for that night and is eligible for a refund on any additional nights that will not be used. Interagency Pass Discounts The following are the only Interagency Passes that provide a discount on camping reservations and some tickets: Senior Annual Pass Senior Lifetime Pass Access Pass Golden Age Pass Golden Access Pass Eligible pass discounts only apply to individual campsites and may apply to a ticket for the pass holder. Interagency Pass discounts do not apply to group reservations, cabins, shelters, and multi-use sites (doubles, triples, etc.). Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount. The holder of the pass must occupy the site for which the discount is applied. The pass can only be used for one site during a time period. Refunds Customers may submit a refund request through their Recreation.gov profile within 7 days of the end date of their reservation. Customers may also initiate a refund request through the call center at any time after their reservation has ended. Fees: Applicable fees, such as reservation fees, service/cancellation fees, lottery application fees, and change fees, are non-refundable. Debit or Credit Card Purchases: Refunds for debit or credit card payments made after October 1, 2018 will be issued as a credit to the original bank or credit card used to pay. In the event that a customer has cancelled this card, they will need to contact their card company to have the funds released. We cannot issue refunds to any card other than the one used to pay. If a customer paid with a debit or credit card prior to October 1, 2018 their refund will be issued in the form of a Treasury check. Check or Cash Purchases: Recreation.gov will mail a Treasury check for refunds of cash, check, or money order payments to the address associated with the reservation. You may update the address at the time you request the refund. It may take up to 6-8 weeks for the Treasury check to arrive. Please make sure your address is up to date in your customer profile. Emergency Closures: In the event of an emergency closure, the Recreation.gov team or facility manager will refund all fees and will attempt to notify you using the contact information within your Recreation.gov customer profile. Reservation fees for free tickets are non-refundable in the event of an emergency closure. Recreation.gov Billing Information Reservation transactions will appear on customer's credit card statements as "Recreation.gov 877-444-6777 NM" Changes to Policies and Procedures Recreation.gov reserves the right, when necessary, to modify reservation policies. These policies were last updated September 2019.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This Campground is in Bear Country Always store food and trash securely to avoid attracting wildlife  -Failure to comply may result in fines up to $5,000 and/or imprisonment Remember, a fed bear is a dead bear

Rule

Dogs or Domestic Pets Owners must  -Control dogs by a leash not to exceed six feet (6’) at all times  -Clean up dog feces immediately  -Limit two dogs per site. Do not allow dogs to  -Threaten or attack people/animals  -Interfere with people, vehicles, or property  -Cause damage to vegetation, habitat, or harass wildlife

Rule

This is a 'pack it in, pack it out' facility; bring trash bags

Everything else this campground posts · 11
Rule

Campground Etiquette and Rules Gates open at 7a.m., Gates close at 10p.m. Quiet Hours are 10p.m. to 6a.m. No generators after 10p.m. Camping is allowed only within the designated space provided. Do not go beyond the boundaries of your site Max occupancy is 8 people per single site Reserved campsites will be held until 12pm on the day following your scheduled arrival date Horses/Off-road vehicles are prohibited in the campground Leave No Trace  -Put all trash in dumpsters, when provided, or properly stored in your vehicle or bear box  -Remove all personal property and trash when leaving  -Unclean campsites will be reported to the District Ranger LEO  -Leaving food/trash in an unoccupied campsite may result in a $5,000 fine Cleaning animals or bathing where drinking water is supplied is strictly prohibited Fireworks or other explosives are prohibited. Discharging of a firearm in the campground is not allowed No boisterous behavior. Keep noise at a reasonable level No amplified music is allowed in USDA Forest Service campgrounds and facilities Max Vehicle Length includes tow vehicle

Rule

There is a 2-night minimum stay on weekends; 3-night minimum stay on holiday weekends

Rule

Trailers/Campers and RVs: Come with water tank filled. Hooking up to spigots or the power in the restrooms, even for medical devices is strictly prohibited

Rule

Reservations/First Come First Served (FF) sites For reservable sites, reservations must be made at least 5 days in advance You must claim a FF site in person on the day you wish to check-in A site listed as FF does not guarantee availability, Recreation.gov does not update FF occupancy The only way to know if an FF site is available is to arrive at the campground on the day you plan to check-in Availability cannot be predicted Many sites are in remote locations, we cannot contact camp hosts about availability Recommended arrival times vary by day. Weekends and holidays typically fill more quickly To claim an FF site, you must be present, occupy the site, and pay at that time

Rule

Extra Vehicle- $10 per vehicle, per day (paid on-site cash/check) Firewood- $9

Rule

If you booked at a discount without a Senior or Access pass, you'll need to pay the difference in cash/check upon arrival. Only Senior or Access passes qualify for discounts and proof of ownership upon arrival is required

Rule

Please understand that camping is an outdoor experience; we do not give refunds for weather or natural conditions Cancellations within 24 hours prior to arrival date will forfeit the entire use fee. Group Site Cancellations within 14 days will forfeit entire use fee No-shows, early departures, or cancellations after the arrival date are not entitled to a refund Failure to arrive at the campsite by 12pm the day after scheduled arrival and does not cancel the reservation, will forfeit site and first-night use fee

Rule

For more information on visiting Bear Country visit wildawareutah.org wildlife.utah.gov For campground Rules and Regulations visit gocamputah.com/rules

Rule

Click herefor more info about the Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest For more info, call Ogden Ranger District at 801-625-5112 or Utah Recreation at 385-273-1100 Visit our website gocamputah.comor Facebook facebook.com/letsgocamputah To reserve a campsite call Recreation.gov reservation line 1-877-444-6777

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood within 10 miles of your destination and burning it on-site. For more info click here

Rule

Please note: Utah Recreation is not responsible for accident or injury to any person or property resulting from the use of this facility and is not responsible for the loss of money or valuables of any kind. The user of this permit assumes full and complete responsibility for the conduct and actions of all members in their party

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
24
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…each with picnic tables and fire rings. Vault restrooms are also available throughout the campground.…”

Around the campground

On the water
Reservoir, Lake, River, Meadow
Fishing
Hiking
Swimming
Tubing
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 23 of the 24 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On January 15, 2027 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 15, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay7 nightsthe facility record
A night$25.93–$51.87plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$59.86–$111.74DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$25.93–$51.87
Standard Nonelectric$25.93
Standard Nonelectric- Double site$51.87
These are next season’s rates, May 8, 2027 to May 14, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicleSee the note

“Cash, Check, or Scan & Pay (with recreation.gov app) 16 single sites - $31.00 , Capacity - 8 people + 1 vehcile 6 double sites - $62.00 , Capacity - 16 people + 2 vehicles Day Use - $15.00 Extra vehicle - $10.00 per v…” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$33.93–$59.87
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$59.86–$111.74

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $25.93–$51.87 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“A $10 service fee will be withheld from any refund for a cancellation. Changing an Existing Reservation: When changes are made prior to the cut-off window: If a customer wants to switch dates that are entirely outside of the original reservation dates, there is a $10 change fee.” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

25 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 23 mapped sites
98 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLWRMEAD 17 57 ftLWRMEAD 19 57 ftLWRMEAD 11 70 ft

All 25 records

23 of 25 records located
Standard22Host pad1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 23 of the 25 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 24 of the 25 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

LWRMEAD1 HOSThost pad86 ft529 ft192 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD10standard nonelectric108 ft292 ft79 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD11standard nonelectric70 ft243 ft136 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD12standard nonelectric77 ft250 ft92 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD13standard nonelectric70 ft185 ft195 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD14standard nonelectric88 ft154 ft255 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD15standard nonelectric78 ft185 ft181 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD16standard nonelectric100 ft139 ft297 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD17standard nonelectric57 ft192 ft211 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD18standard nonelectric125 ft197 ft332 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD19standard nonelectric57 ft274 ft187 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD2standard nonelectric110 ft442 ft278 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD20standard nonelectric134 ft319 ft99 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD21standard nonelectric131 ft408 ft92 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD22standard nonelectric120 ft502 ft107 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD23standard nonelectric86 ft500 ft134 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD3standard nonelectric125 ft250 ft95 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD4standard nonelectric124 ft178 ft156 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD5standard nonelectric124 ft136 ft266 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD6standard nonelectric152 ft151 ft303 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD7standard nonelectric98 ft303 ft187 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD8standard nonelectric98 ft331 ft255 ft$25.93–$51.87
LWRMEAD9standard nonelectric86 ft364 ft145 ft$25.93–$51.87
S&PDoubletype not stated$27.48–$54.95
S&PSingletype not stated$27.48–$54.95

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate41.28662, -111.64320
The phone385-273-1100
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Ogden, Utah travel east on 12th Street through Ogden Canyon. Continue on Highway 39 toward Monte Cristo. The campgrounds are Magpie, Botts, South Fork, Perception Park Family, Upper and Lower Meadows, and Willows in order from west to east. South Fork Campground complex is located approximately 5 to 7 miles east of Huntsville, Utah, on Highway 39.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today67°Sunny
Tonight39°Mostly Clear
Saturday69°Sunny
Saturday Night39°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Huntsville, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 30°F, day 64°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 11°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

100°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: HUNTSVILLE MONASTERY, UT (USC00424135), 5 miles away and 170 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Upper South Fork16,811 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Blake Moore, official portrait

Lower Meadows Campground is in Utah’s 1st congressional district. Its representative, Blake Moore (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Huntsville, UT, 6.1 mi ENE. Straight line.