U.S. Forest Service · Caribou National Forest · ID

Malad Summit Campground

ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 23 opens May 23.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Listed not openA database flag with no reason and no date
A night
$20–$40Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
86 on recreation.gov
125 ftLongest rig
6,190 ftElevation
27 ftWater · Mill Creek
10 miN of Malad City, ID
55%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 10 notices

In the agency’s own words

Malad Summit Campground is situated next to Mill Creek, just 14 miles north of Malad, Idaho, at an elevation of 6,100 feet. Visitors enjoy hiking, horseback riding and off-road vehicle riding on the area's many trails. Keep reading

Recreation

Mill Creek offers cutthroat and rainbow trout fishing. Numerous trails begin nearby, including the 12-mile multi-use Summit Trail, which connects with Farmers Canyon, East Elkhorn and Wright Creek trails. Old Canyon and South Canyon trails begin a short distance from the campground.

Facilities

The campground is open year-round and contains one large group site that can accommodate up to 125 people. It is equipped with large picnic tables, a serving table, a grill, a campfire ring with benches, tent pads and a gravel parking area. The campground has first-come, first-serve campsites and reservable campsites. Visitors can first check with the campground host for available campsites. If the campground host is not available, visitors must check if the campsite is occupied, and if available pay at the fee tube. Single-family campsites and one double site campsite are also available within the campground. Each campsite is equipped with a table, campfire ring, and grill. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided. Roads and parking spurs within the campground are gravel. Security is provided by the host and periodic patrols by the county sheriff. Malad Summit Campground is managed by Pinnacle Parks Llc under a special use permit with the Caribou-Targhee National Forest. For questions please contact 208-757-3999 between the hours of 8am and 9pm..

Natural Features

The campground is settled in a dense forest of maple trees, which offer plentiful shade. Stately Douglas fir trees dot the landscape. The campground receives snow throughout the winter. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (208) 757-3999.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Malad Summit Campground is managed by Pinnacle Parks Llc under a special use permit with the Caribou-Targhee National Forest. For questions please contact 208-757-3999 between the hours of 8am and 9pm..

Rule

The campground has first-come, first-serve campsites and reservable campsites. Visitors can first check with the campground host for available campsites. If the campground host is not available, visitors must check if the campsite is occupied, and if available pay at the fee tube.

Rule

There are no electric, water, or sewer site hookups at this campground.

Everything else this campground posts · 7
Rule

An additional fee of $5 will be collected on-site for extra vehicles parked in a campsite. The Allowable Vehicle/Driveway Details section has information on maximum vehicles allowed for individual campsites. Single Sites: 1 vehicle, Double Sites: 2 vehicles

Rule

Off-road vehicle use is prohibited within the campground

Rule

Horses are not allowed at the campground

Rule

Wildlife Caution

Rule

Idaho OHV Safety Message

Rule

Click here for more information on the Caribou-Targhee National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help prevent the spread of tree-killing pests in our national forests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
8 · 1 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
125 ft
Accessible sites
3
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…with a table, campfire ring, and grill. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided. Roads and parking…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…ring, and grill. Vault toilets and drinking water are provided. Roads and parking spurs within the…”

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Biking
Fishing
Hiking
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 400th darkest of 523 in ID
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 6 of the 8 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 23, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 23, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$20–$40plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48–$88DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itPinnacle Parks LLCA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sun, May 23 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$20–$40
Standard Nonelectric$20
Double$40
Group area, a night$80
These are next season’s rates, May 23, 2027 to Sep 20, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$5

“An additional fee of $5 will be collected on-site for extra vehicles parked in a campsite.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28–$48
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48–$88

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $20–$40 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

8 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 4 mapped sites
298 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room002 274 ft004 274 ft008 322 ft

All 8 sites

6 of 8 sites located
Standard3Group1Type not stated2
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 6 of the 8 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND002standard nonelectric80 ft274 ft40 ft$20–$40
MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND003type not stated30 ft126 ft
MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND004standard nonelectric30 ft274 ftunder 10 ft$20–$40
MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND005type not stated45 ft144 ft
MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND006standard nonelectric80 ft$20–$40
MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND008standard nonelectric60 ftyes321 ftunder 10 ft$20–$40
MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND011standard nonelectric50 ftyes$20–$40
MALAD SUMMIT CAMPGROUND013group standard nonelectric125 ftyes455 ft196 ft$80

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate42.35028, -112.27583
The phone208-236-7500
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Malad, travel north on Interstate 15 for 11 miles, to exit 22, Devil Creek Reservoir. Continue just over 3 miles north on Highway 191. Turn west and cross the highway on Forest Road 041 and continue just over 3 miles on a maintained gravel road, to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight36°Mostly Clear
Saturday55°Sunny
Saturday Night37°Mostly Clear
Sunday56°Sunny

NWS forecast for Downey, ID

Typical weather

Typical October night 32°F, day 59°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 13°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°0°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GRACE, ID (USC00103732), 32 miles away and 640 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Elkhorn Mtn.41,905 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Oxford Mtn.40,896 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Mike Simpson, official portrait

Malad Summit Campground is in Idaho’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Mike Simpson (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service’s own recreation database flags it not open and publishes no reason and no date. That’s a flag, not a notice: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Downey, ID, 8.9 mi SW. Straight line.