U.S. Forest Service · San Bernardino National Forest · CA

Marion Mountain

5Heads up5 fires, nearest 9 mi
Wildfire
2026 Training fire · 8.9 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Wildfire
Orange 2 fire · 34 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Tenaja #001 fire · 42 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Mtz/Bdc/83A fire · 47 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 15, 2026
Wildfire
Powerline fire · 49 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 14, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 12 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:50 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 23 of the next 23 nights read 15:50 UTC
A night
$20From, per site
Sites
2616 on recreation.gov
20 ftLongest rig
6,520 ftElevation
2,779 ftWater · North Fork San Jacinto River
1 miN of Idyllwild-Pine Cove, CA
41%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 5 notices

In the agency’s own words

The Marion Mountain Campground offers a beautiful retreat in the San Bernardino National Forest. It provides access to a number of hiking trails that lead to some of the most spectacular views of Southern California. The San Bernardino National Forest is submitting a proposal to increase fees at various sites across the Forest and is seeking public input. Please visit the https://www.fs.usda.gov/sbnf for more information and to submit comments regarding this proposal. Keep reading

Recreation

Visitors enjoy sport climbing on rocks within the campground. Hiking on the nearby Marion Mountain Trail, which leads to San Jacinto Peak, is also available. Views from the peak extend to the ocean and across the Palm Desert, as well as the San Bernardino and San Gabriel mountains on a clear day. The 11.8-mile Marion Mountain Trail is the shortest route up the mountain, but also quite strenuous in areas. Shorter hikes can be enjoyed on other nearby trails.

Facilities

Marion Mountain campground offers about two dozen campsites for both tent and small RV / van camping. All campsites are equipped with tables and campfire rings with grills. Vault toilets are available within the campground. Please be aware that potable (safe for drinking) water may or may not be available at this campground. Please plan accordingly.

Natural Features

The campground is located in a forested area at an elevation of 6,400 feet. Mature cedar and pine trees provide ample shade and privacy between campsites.

Nearby Attractions

The campground is located approximately 50 miles from San Bernardino, California, and seven miles north of Idyllwild, which is popular for its small-town atmosphere and variety of shops and restaurants.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Fire Restrictions may be in effect, check in with the San Jacinto Ranger District by calling (909) 382-2921 to confirm. Wood and charcoal fires are permitted. Cooking stoves or fireplaces using gas, jellied petroleum, or pressurized liquid fuel are still allowed.

Rule

Please be aware that potable (safe for drinking) water may or may not be available at this campground. Please plan accordingly.

Rule

Basic camping fee ($20.00) covers the first vehicle. Extra vehicle fee of $5.00 / night / vehicle should be deposited into the fee tube located at the entrance to the campground within 30 minutes of arrival.

Everything else this campground posts · 2
Rule

Sites may be available on a first-come, first-served basis. Camping Fees of $20.00 / night and $5.00 / night / extra vehicle may be paid at the campground.

Rule

Click here for more information on the San Bernardino National Forest

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
26 · 1 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
20 ft
Paved pads
1 of 26
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Not allowed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…tables and campfire rings with grills. Vault toilets are available within the campground. Please be…”

Around the campground

On the water
Coast
Biking
Fire Lookouts/Cabins Overnight
Fishing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Night sky · 1127th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:50 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 12 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 16 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 15:50 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough November 8Bookable now through November 8, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 22, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 22, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$48DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 22 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 14

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$20
Standard Nonelectric$20
Tent Only Nonelectric$20
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 21, 2026 to Nov 8, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicleSee the note

“$10 per night (incudes 1 vehicle) + $5 each additional vehicle payable at the campground.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$28
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$48

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $20 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:50 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

27 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 16 mapped sites
38 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop MARI 017 18 ftLoop MARI 018 18 ftLoop MARI 020 22 ft

All 27 records

24 of 27 records located
Standard15Tent only1Type not stated8
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 24 of the 27 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 26 of the 27 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

AREA MARION MOUNTAIN003type not stated2,490 ft42 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAIN004type not stated2,484 ft41 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAIN005type not stated2,470 ft74 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAIN009type not stated2,551 ft162 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAIN013type not stated2,617 ft102 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAIN014type not stated2,542 ft219 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAIN016type not stated2,597 ft264 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAIN023type not stated2,455 ft312 ft$20–$33.97
AREA MARION MOUNTAINXXXunnamed record20 ft$20–$33.97
MARI001standard nonelectric20 ft31 ft2,532 ft65 ft$20
MARI002standard nonelectric20 ft31 ft2,506 ft50 ft$20
MARI006standard nonelectric20 ft47 ft2,467 ft107 ft$20
MARI007standard nonelectric20 ft38 ft2,487 ft138 ft$20
MARI008standard nonelectric20 ft38 ft2,513 ft162 ft$20
MARI010standard nonelectric20 ft74 ft2,584 ft156 ft$20
MARI011standard nonelectric20 ft58 ft2,588 ft91 ft$20
MARI012standard nonelectric20 ft58 ft2,617 ft93 ft$20
MARI015standard nonelectric20 ft117 ft2,565 ft211 ft$20
MARI017standard nonelectric20 ft18 ft2,572 ft340 ft$20
MARI018standard nonelectric20 ft18 ft2,583 ft355 ft$20
MARI019standard nonelectric20 ft22 ft2,534 ft389 ft$20
MARI020tent only nonelectric22 ft2,502 ft395 ft$20
MARI021standard nonelectric20 ft22 ft2,515 ft378 ft$20
MARI022standard nonelectric20 ft66 ft2,447 ft345 ft$20
MARI024standard nonelectric20 ft66 ft2,469 ft280 ft$20
S&PScan & Pay Standardtype not stated$20–$33.97
S&PScan & Pay Tenttype not stated$20–$33.97

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It types it MANAGEMENT rather than a campsite. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 27 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate33.79167, -116.73194
The phone909-382-2922
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight48°Partly Cloudy1% rain
Saturday60°Partly Sunny6% rain
Saturday Night45°Partly Cloudy1% rain
Sunday62°Sunny

NWS forecast for Idyllwild-Pine Cove, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 51°F, day 69°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical February night 36°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

90°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Augusts are colder than the August line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: PALOMAR MTN OBSY, CA (USC00046657), 29 miles away and 970 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

Watch
Sand to Snow National Monumentdevelopment · 23 mi
Roadless
Horse Creek Ridge8,969 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Rouse Hill13,745 acres · 9 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Oct 3, 2026

Who answers for this land

Ken Calvert, official portrait

Marion Mountain is in California’s 41st congressional district. Its representative, Ken Calvert (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Ken Calvert

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Marion Mountain, San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Ken Calvert,

I’m a constituent in California’s 41st district. I tried to camp at Marion Mountain, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 16 of the 26 campsites the agency files at Marion Mountain, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 12 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Marion Mountain keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Marion Mountain. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Marion Mountain (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Marion Mountain, San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Marion Mountain, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 16 of the 26 campsites the agency files at Marion Mountain, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 12 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Marion Mountain keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Marion Mountain. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Marion Mountain (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Marion Mountain, San Bernardino National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at Marion Mountain, San Bernardino National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 16 of the 26 campsites the agency files at Marion Mountain, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 12 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Marion Mountain keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Marion Mountain. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Marion Mountain (San Bernardino National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 23 of the next 23 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.