U.S. Forest Service · George Washington National Forest · VA

McClintic Point

ReservableOut of season, no booking; November 5 opens March 5.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$12From, per site
Sites
2423 on recreation.gov
21 ftLongest rig
1,600 ftElevation
33 ftWater · Lake Moomaw
11.8 miN of Covington, VA
75%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 7 notices

In the agency’s own words

Enjoy the easygoing, peaceful vibe of McClintic Point's rustic campground set among scattered trees and open fields. This angler's paradise provides plentiful shoreline fishing and some lakefront campsites. Keep reading

Recreation

Boating, canoeing, water skiing and and fishing are popular activities on the lake. Brown and rainbow trout, bass and crappie are some of the popular species anglers catch. The campground's open spaces are also handy for running around of stretching out on the grass.

Facilities

Amenities include vault toilets and seasonal drinking water, which is available April through October. The three group campsites range in capacity from 20 to 35 guests.

Natural Features

The campground sits on the northern end of Lake Moomaw. The lake boasts 2,530 surface acres with 43.5 miles of shore line and a maximum depth of 150 feet.

Nearby Attractions

Head to the quaint town of Warm Springs for restaurants or to visit the Bath County Historical Society.

What the agency tells you

Rule

This area has no cell phone reception

Rule

This campground has first-come, first-served sites

Rule

All equipment must fit on the space provided

Everything else this campground posts · 4
Rule

Limit 3 camping units and 2 vehicles per single campsite<>Additional parking is remote

Rule

No chainsaws allowed

Rule

Click here for more information on George Washington and Jefferson National Forests

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
24 · 2 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
21 ft
Paved pads
1 of 24
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
“…the grass. Facilities Amenities include vault toilets and seasonal drinking water, which is available…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…include vault toilets and seasonal drinking water, which is available April through October. The…”
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Swimming
Water sports
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 5th darkest of 88 in VA
Bortle 3
Fall color · reported 10 days ago, 25 km away
Peak color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (25 km) · Oct 7, 2026

No reading yet, book on recreation.gov

recreation.gov lists 23 of the 24 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

No availability snapshot inside the last 36 hours, so this page draws nothing rather than ageing a reading into fiction.

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 5, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through March 5, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nights2-night minimum on weekendsthe facility record
A night$12plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$32DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Mar 5 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$12
Standard Nonelectric$12
Group area, a night$85
These are next season’s rates, Mar 5, 2027 to Dec 10, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$20
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$32

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $12 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

24 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 23 mapped sites
71 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least room14 40 ft16 40 ft17 48 ft

All 24 sites

24 of 24 sites located
Standard21Group2Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 23 of the 24 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

101standard nonelectric21 ft79 ft22 ft$12
102standard nonelectric21 ft79 ftunder 10 ft$12
103standard nonelectric21 ft102 ft123 ft$12
104standard nonelectric21 ft102 ft97 ft$12
105standard nonelectric21 ft77 ft230 ft$12
106standard nonelectric21 ft77 ft235 ft$12
107standard nonelectric21 ft66 ft230 ft$12
108standard nonelectric21 ft56 ft171 ft$12
109standard nonelectric21 ft56 ft198 ft$12
110standard nonelectric21 ft71 ft104 ft$12
111standard nonelectric21 ft71 ft66 ft$12
112standard nonelectric21 ft75 ft127 ft$12
113standard nonelectric21 ft71 ft99 ft$12
114standard nonelectric21 ft40 ft175 ft$12
115standard nonelectric21 ft68 ft156 ft$12
116standard nonelectric21 ft40 ft212 ft$12
117standard nonelectric21 ft48 ft224 ft$12
118standard nonelectric21 ft51 ft295 ft$12
119standard nonelectric21 ft51 ft244 ft$12
120standard nonelectric21 ft53 ft292 ft$12
121standard nonelectric21 ft53 ft315 ft$12
2Agroup standard nonelectric21 ft251 ft346 ft$85
2Btype not stated21 ft320 ft
2Cgroup standard nonelectric21 ft251 ft154 ft$85

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate37.98361, -79.96694
The phone540-279-4144
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Warm Springs, Virginia take US 39 west 12 miles to state route (SR) 600, turn left (south)on SR 600. Continue 10 miles on SR 600 (2.25 miles past entrance of Bolar Flat Marina) to the McClintic Point Sign. Turn right at the McClintic Point Sign.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Tonight43°Mostly Cloudy then Rain Showers83% rain
Saturday53°Rain Showers Likely then Mostly Sunny74% rain
Saturday Night34°Clear then Areas Of Frost
Sunday59°Areas Of Frost then Sunny1% rain

NWS forecast for Hot Springs, VA

Typical weather

Typical October night 42°F, day 65°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 23°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: GATHRIGHT DAM, VA (USC00443310), 3 miles away and 170 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Middle Mountain19,020 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Oliver Mountain13,090 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Ben Cline, official portrait

McClintic Point is in Virginia’s 6th congressional district. Its representative, Ben Cline (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: U.S. Forest Service publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (25 km) · Oct 7, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Hot Springs, VA, 6.4 mi W (a census designated place). Straight line.