U.S. Forest Service · Los Padres National Forest · CA

McGill Campground and Group Campground

5Heads up5 fires, nearest 0 mi
Wildfire
Pinos fire · 0.4 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Shore fire · 18 mi away · updated Oct 16, 2026
Wildfire
Danny fire · 18 mi away · 150 acres · 100% contained · updated Oct 13, 2026
Wildfire
Live fire · 29 mi away · 0 acres · updated Oct 17, 2026
Wildfire
Lac-374499 fire · 29 mi away · updated Oct 17, 2026
Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 38 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:52 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 30 of the next 30 nights; a database flag says not open read 15:52 UTC
A night
$30From, per site
Sites
8067 on recreation.gov
35 ftLongest rig
7,250 ftElevation
2.3 miWater · an unnamed pond
1.1 miSE of Pine Mountain Club, CA
38%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 13 notices

In the agency’s own words

Escape from the city to the remote and beautiful McGill Campground. The campground, bursting with views of mountains and valleys, is an ideal base for several biking and hiking trails. A dense stand of Jeffrey pine and ponderosa pine shade the campground and each campsite is nicely spaced. Keep reading

Recreation

Explore the area along the accessible Exploration Trail, Mount Pinos Trail and McGill Campground Trail. McGill is for hiking and biking and meanders along 3.7 miles of scenery.

Facilities

McGill has two group campsites, each having a central barbeque and gathering area. Group Camp 1 has parking for 13 vehicles, Group Camp 2 has parking for 10 vehicles. There are 73 individual campsites. Each individual campsite offers a picnic table and campfire ring.

Natural Features

McGill Campground sits in a mixed tall pine forest in the Pinos Mountains, at an altitude of 7,300 feet, just over an hour's drive from the campground. It is quiet and serene landscape with terrific views of the valleys below.

Nearby Attractions

Head out on the Jacinto Reyes National Scenic Byway, which travels past breathtaking cliffs, rock formations and lush riparian areas.

What the agency tells you

Rule

In order to contact our offices, please use the email: customerservice@pmcparks.com or view our website: CampOne.Com for answers to frequently asked questions.

Rule

Your first vehicle is free with your reservation. For the second vehicle you must pay ($10 per night) for each additional vehicle parking at the campground.  McGill Campground is at the 7300 elevation. Even in the summer the nights can be cold.

Rule

No drinking water available; bring an ample amount.

Everything else this campground posts · 10
Rule

No public showers in the region with exception of motels in Lebec.

Rule

There is a small market and deli at the intersection of Lockwood Valley Rd and Cuddy Valley Rd.

Rule

Be bear aware; keep all food out of sight in approved containers or locked inside your vehicle and remove all food from area after eating.

Rule

Be cautious of snakes in the area. Use a 'walking stick' when hiking in this area.

Rule

Very limited 'overflow' parking; bring as few vehicles as possible as the nearest parking is a long distance from the campsites.

Rule

The campsite measurements are accurate; if you bring 27' of vehicles to a 26' site, you will encroach on the road and you will have to move one vehicle.

Rule

There is limited cellular service in most areas of the campground.

Rule

Some campsite entrances are angled against the flow of traffic. Therefore, you cannot 'back in,' you'll need to go in nose first.

Rule

Click here for more information on Los Padres National Forest

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect California's forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. For more information visit firewood.ca.gov.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
80 · 2 group
Hookups
1 electric
Longest rig
35 ft
Paved pads
All
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

Biking
Hiking
Night sky · 979th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 4
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:52 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 38 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 51 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 15:52 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 15, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 15, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
A night$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$72DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 15

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$30
Standard Nonelectric$30
Friday and Saturday, added$2
Group areas, a night$150
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 15, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$10

“For the second vehicle you must pay ($10 per night) for each additional vehicle parking at the campground.” · the U.S. Forest Service’s own agency notice

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$72

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking, plus the agency’s published $2 weekend rate on Friday and Saturday. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6

recreation.gov availability, read 15:52 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

80 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 67 mapped sites
70 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
97%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop 1 001 35 ftLoop 1 002 35 ftLoop 3 053 36 ft

27 sites share one published coordinate and are left out of the rankings.

All 80 sites

80 of 80 sites located
Standard64RV / electric1Group2Type not stated13
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 80 of the 80 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 79 of the 80 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

CG 2032type not stated15 ft2.5 mi105 ft$33.97
CG 2033type not stated15 ft2.6 mi89 ft$33.97
CG 2034type not stated25 ft2.6 mi180 ft$33.97
CG 2035type not stated21 ft2.5 mi138 ft$33.97
CG 2036type not stated19 ft2.5 mi235 ft$33.97
Loop 1001standard nonelectric15 ft35 ft2.6 mi158 ft$30
Loop 1002standard nonelectric18 ft35 ft2.6 mi124 ft$30
Loop 1003standard nonelectric15 ft2.5 mi63 ft$30
Loop 1004standard nonelectric18 ft2.5 mi63 ft$30
Loop 1005standard electric25 ft2.5 mi214 ft
Loop 1006standard nonelectric25 ft2.5 mi214 ft$30
Loop 1007type not stated25 ft2.5 mi216 ft$33.97
Loop 1008type not stated25 ft2.5 mi161 ft$33.97
Loop 1009type not stated27 ft2.5 mi93 ft$33.97
Loop 1010type not stated25 ft2.5 mi30 ft$33.97
Loop 1011standard nonelectric21 ft2.5 mi49 ft$30
Loop 1012standard nonelectric23 ft2.5 mi49 ft$30
Loop 1013standard nonelectric21 ft2.5 mi138 ft$30
Loop 1014standard nonelectric23 ft2.5 mi138 ft$30
Loop 1015standard nonelectric22 ft95 ft2.5 mi193 ft$30
Loop 1016standard nonelectric19 ft2.6 mi188 ft$30
Loop 1017standard nonelectric25 ft2.6 mi188 ft$30
Loop 2018standard nonelectric18 ft104 ft2.5 mi77 ft$30
Loop 2019standard nonelectric27 ft114 ft2.5 mi222 ft$30
Loop 2020standard nonelectric26 ft92 ft2.5 mi284 ft$30
Loop 2021standard nonelectric25 ft2.5 mi268 ft$30
Loop 2022standard nonelectric20 ft2.5 mi268 ft$30
Loop 2023standard nonelectric24 ft2.5 mi222 ft$30
Loop 2024standard nonelectric23 ft2.5 mi222 ft$30
Loop 2025type not stated18 ft2.5 mi218 ft$33.97
Loop 2026standard nonelectric24 ft95 ft2.5 mi218 ft$30
Loop 2027standard nonelectric25 ft65 ft2.6 mi88 ft$30
Loop 2028standard nonelectric24 ft53 ft2.6 mi36 ft$30
Loop 2029standard nonelectric21 ftyes53 ft2.6 mi54 ft$30
Loop 2030standard nonelectric21 ft55 ft2.6 mi103 ft$30
Loop 3031standard nonelectric16 ft93 ft2.5 mi166 ft$30
Loop 3037standard nonelectric21 ft2.5 mi267 ft$30
Loop 3038standard nonelectric29 ft2.5 mi267 ft$30
Loop 3039standard nonelectric15 ft107 ft2.5 mi153 ft$30
Loop 3040type not stated20 ft2.5 mi109 ft$33.97
Loop 3041standard nonelectric14 ft56 ft2.5 mi45 ft$30
Loop 3042standard nonelectric26 ft56 ft2.5 mi31 ft$30
Loop 3043type not stated24 ft2.4 mi22 ft$33.97
Loop 3044type not stated22 ft2.4 mi180 ft$33.97
Loop 3045standard nonelectric27 ft103 ft2.4 mi180 ft$30
Loop 3046standard nonelectric18 ft84 ft2.4 mi242 ft$30
Loop 3047standard nonelectric20 ft79 ft2.4 mi259 ft$30
Loop 3048standard nonelectric18 ft79 ft2.4 mi273 ft$30
Loop 3049standard nonelectric20 ft2.4 mi183 ft$30
Loop 3050standard nonelectric17 ft2.4 mi183 ft$30
Loop 3051standard nonelectric18 ft2.4 mi143 ft$30
Loop 3052standard nonelectric18 ft2.4 mi143 ft$30
Loop 3053standard nonelectric15 ft36 ft2.4 mi67 ft$30
Loop 3054standard nonelectric17 ft36 ft2.4 mi43 ft$30
Loop 3055standard nonelectric21 ft54 ft2.4 mi25 ft$30
Loop 3056standard nonelectric20 ft48 ft2.4 mi58 ft$30
Loop 3057standard nonelectric19 ft48 ft2.4 mi104 ft$30
Loop 3058standard nonelectric19 ft70 ft2.4 mi222 ft$30
Loop 3059standard nonelectric21 ft70 ft2.4 mi271 ft$30
Loop 4060standard nonelectric14 ft102 ft2.4 mi166 ft$30
Loop 4061standard nonelectric16 ft68 ft2.4 mi174 ft$30
Loop 4062standard nonelectric25 ft68 ft2.4 mi240 ft$30
Loop 4063standard nonelectric18 ft2.4 mi276 ft$30
Loop 4064standard nonelectric24 ft2.4 mi276 ft$30
Loop 4065standard nonelectric22 ft2.4 mi287 ft$30
Loop 4066standard nonelectric14 ft2.4 mi287 ft$30
Loop 4067standard nonelectric17 ft2.4 mi325 ft$30
Loop 4068standard nonelectric15 ft2.4 mi325 ft$30
Loop 4069standard nonelectric19 ft2.4 mi325 ft$30
Loop 4070standard nonelectric19 ft73 ft2.5 mi267 ft$30
Loop 4071standard nonelectric15 ft37 ft2.4 mi252 ft$30
Loop 4072standard nonelectric23 ft37 ft2.4 mi257 ft$30
Loop 4073standard nonelectric25 ft67 ft2.4 mi278 ft$30
Loop 4074standard nonelectric19 ft67 ft2.4 mi266 ft$30
Loop 4075standard nonelectric27 ft118 ft2.4 mi210 ft$30
Loop 4076standard nonelectric14 ft110 ft2.5 mi114 ft$30
Loop 4077standard nonelectric19 ft110 ft2.5 mi40 ft$30
Loop 4078standard nonelectric18 ft117 ft2.5 mi132 ft$30
MCGIGroup 1group standard nonelectric30 ft145 ft2.4 mi306 ft$150
ST2Group 2group standard nonelectric35 ft254 ft2.5 mi123 ft$150

25 of 80 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.81556, -119.09833
The phone805-434-1996
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Los Angeles: Take I-5 north past the Gorman exit to Frazier Mountain Park Road exit. Go west on Frazier Mountain Park Road for 7 miles to the intersection of Lockwood Valley Rd. Keep right and proceed on Cuddy Valley Road. Continue 5 miles to the "Y" in the road and veer left. Proceed 5 more miles past the first snow gate to the second snow gate. McGill Campground entrance is on the right side of the road.

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon59°Sunny1% rain
Tonight51°Clear1% rain
Saturday59°Sunny1% rain
Saturday Night49°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Pine Mountain Club, CA

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

What threatens this place

developing
Los Padres National Forestlogging, drilling, rollback
Roadless
Antimony40,911 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Sawmill - Badlands51,362 acres · 6 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Source: MTJP Threatened Lands map · Sep 30, 2026

Who answers for this land

Vince Fong, official portrait

McGill Campground and Group Campground is in California’s 20th congressional district. Its representative, Vince Fong (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Vince Fong

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at McGill Campground and Group Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Vince Fong,

I’m a constituent in California’s 20th district. I tried to camp at McGill Campground and Group Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 67 of the 80 campsites the agency files at McGill Campground and Group Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 38 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. McGill Campground and Group Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run McGill Campground and Group Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about McGill Campground and Group Campground (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Adam B. Schiff

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at McGill Campground and Group Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Adam B. Schiff,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at McGill Campground and Group Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 67 of the 80 campsites the agency files at McGill Campground and Group Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 38 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. McGill Campground and Group Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run McGill Campground and Group Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about McGill Campground and Group Campground (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
To Alex Padilla

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at McGill Campground and Group Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California

Dear Alex Padilla,

I’m a constituent in California. I tried to camp at McGill Campground and Group Campground, Los Padres National Forest, California, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 67 of the 80 campsites the agency files at McGill Campground and Group Campground, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 38 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. McGill Campground and Group Campground keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run McGill Campground and Group Campground. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about McGill Campground and Group Campground (Los Padres National Forest, California) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 30 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.