U.S. Forest Service · Prescott National Forest · AZ

Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 24 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:35 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 15 of the next 15 nights read 15:35 UTC
A night
$18From, per site
Sites
3228 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
7,620 ftElevation
2.8 miWater · an unnamed stream
3 miSW of Clarkdale, AZ
19%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 14 notices

In the agency’s own words

Looking for a perfect getaway to immerse yourself in nature? Look no further than the Mingus Mountain Campground! Situated conveniently between the charming towns of Prescott and Cottonwood in Arizona, this campground offers a central location for your outdoor adventures. Whether you're seeking tranquility or thrilling activities, Mingus Mountain Campground is the ideal destination to unwind and reconnect with nature. Enjoy the best of both worlds all season long by beating the summer heat and then being captivated by the magnificent color spectacle that unfolds in the late fall! Keep reading

Recreation

The forest all around provides numerous hiking trails suited for all levels of intensity, ranging from leisurely strolls to exhilarating uphill treks. For campers seeking a respite from hiking, they can unwind amidst the campground, soak in the scenic vistas, and delight in the serenade of the wind rustling through the pine trees. Mingus Lake is located a short .9 miles away where one can enjoy some peace near the water as well as catch trout (limit 4) and bullhead trout (unlimited) with a valid AZ fishing license.

Facilities

Mingus Mountain Campground has 27 campsites available and the campground is open from May 1st to October 31st. 4 vault toilets, garbage service, and potable water (not for filling RV tanks) are available to all campers. Cell Phone Coverage: The campground is conveniently located near cellular towers and as such the reception in the campground is usually decent. Verizon seems to work the best. A Forest Service host is on site. THERE IS NO ICE OR FIREWOOD FOR SALE IN THE CAMPGROUNDS: PLEASE PLAN ACCORDINGLY. The nearby towns of Prescott Valley (18 miles) and Cottonwood (19 miles) have grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, shopping, and other conveniences.

Natural Features

This mountain top campground offers a cool respite from hot Arizona summers -- a classic forest setting for a memorable camping adventure. Connect with your inner naturalist and observe the wildlife and wildflowers found in abundance around the campground. Interesting geology can be found in any direction with many significant rock formations, canyons and mountains within easy driving distance from Mingus Mountain Campground.

Nearby Attractions

Jerome: 11 miles away Prescott Valley: 18 miles away. Prescott: 30 miles away. Clarkdale: 16 miles away • Tuzigoot National Monument: 18 miles away Camp Verde: 40-50 miles away • Hayfield Draw OHV: 29 miles away Cottonwood: 20 miles away • Dead Horse State Park: 20 miles away Contact Info This location has limited staffing. Please call (928) 567-4121 for general information.

What the agency tells you

Rule

The maximum stay limit is 14 days within 30 consecutive days in Prescott National Forest including stays at dispersed sites.

Rule

Tent camping is permitted at all sites, however no designated pads are provided at any of the sites.

Rule

Drinking water is available

Everything else this campground posts · 11
Rule

Quiet hours between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.

Rule

Interagency Senior and Access passes are honored for a 50% discount on overnight fees only.

Rule

All guests without a reservation (first-come, first-served) or a second vehicle must pay with exact change using the self-pay kiosk as soon as campsite is selected.

Rule

This is a high-elevation facility; please use caution when traveling from lower elevations

Rule

This region has frequent thunderstorms from mid-June through mid-September, Be Prepared and know the weather.

Rule

Pets are welcome but must be on a 6-foot leash or in a cage and never unattended.

Rule

Recreational OHV/ATV use is prohibited in the campground

Rule

Fireworks, including sparklers, are prohibited at all times on National Forest Lands.

Rule

Fire restrictions may be imposed due to dry conditions, at which time smoking, wood, and charcoal fires may be prohibited.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Prescott National Forest.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
32 · 6 tent-only, 1 group
Hookups
None
Longest rig
99 ft
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Pit Toilets
ACCESSIBLE PIT TOILETS on 1 of 28 campsite records
Drinking water
Yes
“…4 vault toilets, garbage service, and potable water (not for filling RV tanks) are available to all…”
Firewood
Sold here
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake
Stargazing
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 183rd darkest of 262 in AZ
Bortle 4
Fall color · reported 3 days ago, 31 km away
Patchy color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (31 km) · Oct 14, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:35 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 24 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 19 are free on Mon, Oct 19. read 15:35 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 31Bookable now through October 31, 2026, the end of the reservable season. On November 1, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 1, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$18plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$44DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 1 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$18
Standard Rv/Tent nonelectric$18
tent only$18
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 1, 2026 to Oct 31, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$26
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$44

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $18 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 15:35 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

32 sites · the site map

All 32 sites

1 of 32 sites located
Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 32 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 31 of the 32 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

104a1standard nonelectric60 ft$18
104a2standard nonelectric45 ft$18
A1standard nonelectric55 ft$18
A10standard nonelectric80 ft$18
A11standard nonelectric80 ft$18
A12standard nonelectric45 ft$18
A13standard nonelectric85 ft$18
A14standard nonelectric45 ft$18
A15standard nonelectric70 ft$18
A16standard nonelectric99 ft$18
A17standard nonelectric35 ft$18
A18standard nonelectric85 ft$18
A19standard nonelectric35 ft$18
A2standard nonelectric60 ft$18
A3standard nonelectric99 ft$18
A4standard nonelectric50 ft$18
A5standard nonelectric90 ft$18
A6standard nonelectric85 ft$18
A7standard nonelectric40 ft$18
A8standard nonelectric90 ft$18
A9standard nonelectric45 ft$18
B1tent only nonelectric35 ft$18
B2tent only nonelectric20 ft$18
B3tent only nonelectric20 ft$18
B4tent only nonelectric20 ft$18
B5tent only nonelectric20 ft$18
B6tent only nonelectric20 ft$18
CMingus Groupgroup standard nonelectricyesAccessible Pit Toilets listed
Scan and PayScanPay 2type not stated$18
Scan and PayScanPay 3type not stated$18
Scan and PayScanPay 4type not stated$18
Scan and PayStandardtype not stated2.8 mi284 ft$18

25 of 32 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate34.69256, -112.12052
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Prescott, Arizona, take U.S. Highway 89 north to U.S. Highway 89A. Turn right onto Highway 89A and go about 19 miles to the junction with Forest Road 104 at the summit. Forest Road 104 is on your right as you approach the summit. Turn right onto Forest Road 104, which is dirt but suitable for all types of vehicles when dry, and travel about 4 miles. At this point, the road makes a “T” with a parking lot directly in front of you. You can park here and explore or take the right fork and proceed to the campground, which has toilets and campsites, but no water.

From the Camp Verde, Arizona (junction of Interstate 17 and Arizona Highway 260), take Highway 260 north for about 20 miles to the junction with U.S. Highway 89A. This route will take you through the communities of Bridgeport, Cottonwood, and Clarkdale. At Clarkdale, turn left staying on Highway 89A, and travel for about 14 miles through the historic mining town of Jerome to the junction with Forest Road 104 just before the highway descends towards Prescott Valley. Turn left onto Forest Road 104 and go about 4 miles to the campground/day-use area.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight40°Partly Cloudy
Saturday52°Mostly Cloudy then Slight Chance Rain Showers16% rain
Saturday Night42°Chance Rain Showers36% rain
Sunday52°Slight Chance Showers And Thunderstorms31% rain

NWS forecast for Clarkdale, AZ

Typical weather

Typical October night 36°F, day 67°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 21°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: WILLIAMS, AZ (USC00029359), 38 miles away and 711 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Black Canyon10,683 acres · 4 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Ash Creek7,663 acres · 5 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Eli Crane, official portrait

Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site is in Arizona’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Eli Crane (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Elijah Crane

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, Prescott National Forest, Arizona

Dear Elijah Crane,

I’m a constituent in Arizona’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, Prescott National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 28 of the 32 campsites the agency files at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site (Prescott National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
To Mark Kelly

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, Prescott National Forest, Arizona

Dear Mark Kelly,

I’m a constituent in Arizona. I tried to camp at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, Prescott National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 28 of the 32 campsites the agency files at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site (Prescott National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
To Ruben Gallego

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, Prescott National Forest, Arizona

Dear Ruben Gallego,

I’m a constituent in Arizona. I tried to camp at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, Prescott National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 28 of the 32 campsites the agency files at Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 24 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Mingus Mountain Campground and Group Site (Prescott National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 15 of the next 15 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (31 km) · Oct 14, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.