National Park Service · Bryce Canyon National Park · UT

North Campground (UT)

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 51 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 15:14 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 29 of the next 30 nights read 15:14 UTC
A night
$30From, per site
Sites
10398 on recreation.gov
99 ftLongest rig
7,980 ftElevation
3,837 ftWater · an unnamed pond
18.3 miSE of Panguitch, UT
21%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

North Campground is located in the beautiful and unique Bryce Canyon National Park. Known for its colorful rock spires and grand vistas that sweep out over the High Plateaus region of the Colorado Plateau, Bryce Canyon is the ultimate camping destination. Located at an approximate elevation of 8,000 feet (2438 m), the campground is centrally located within walking distance of the park's Visitor Center. Famed Sunrise and Sunset Points are located nearby, at the heart of the magnificent geologic wonder of Bryce Amphitheater, where hiking and photography opportunities are plentiful. Keep reading

Recreation

Bryce Canyon offers several Hiking trails for day-hiking, many of which are inter-connected. Single trails range from easy to strenuous, and from less than a mile in length up to 11 miles (18 km). The most popular hikes are combinations of two or three trails. Bryce Amphitheater has spectacular rock formations and sweeping views, providing excellent photography opportunities. The convenient Bryce Canyon Park Shuttle, which runs from May to September, makes several stops throughout the park, giving visitors easy access to its most popular trailheads and viewpoints. Astronomers love visiting Bryce Canyon, where 7500 stars are visible on a moonless night. An Annual Astronomy Festival is held in June, and the park offers Astronomy & Night Sky Programs on more than 100 nights throughout the year. Guided full moon hikes are also a fun way to experience the park at night.

Facilities

North Campground is a very popular year-round site with paved roads, paved spurs in A and B loops, and gravel parking spurs in C and D loops, flush toilets and drinking water. Picnic tables, fire rings and grills are provided at each campsite. During the spring, summer and fall months, laundry and shower facilities are available at the general store nearby. The Bryce Canyon Park Shuttle makes a stop at the Visitor Center, which is near the campground's entrance, from mid-April through mid-October.

Natural Features

A ponderosa pine forest towers over North Campground offering equal parts sun and shade. The site is situated in a gently rolling landscape dotted with shrubs and summer wildflowers.

Nearby Attractions

The Colorado Plateau contains a multitude of awe-inspiring landscapes and Bryce Canyon lies very close to many of them, including Red Canyon, Kodachrome Basin State Park, Cedar Breaks National Monument, Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument, Panguitch Lake, Boulder Mountain, Calf Creek Recreation Area, Capitol Reef National Park, Zion National Park and Grand Canyon National Park. Driving along Scenic Byway 12 is also a must-do for its red rock canyons and jaw-dropping views.

Charges & Cancellations

A customer who does not arrive at the campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date may be canceled, assessed a $20 no-show fee and forfeit the night's fees for a campsite.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Regulations. Obey all posted Bryce Canyon campground rules.

Rule

Camping Discounts. The America the Beautiful Interagency Senior and Access Passholders are eligible for a 50% discount on camping fees. Annual and other Interagency Passes do not qualify for the discount. If you are unsure, check the pass benefits on the back of your pass.

Rule

No Hookups. There are no electric, water, or sewer hookups at any campsite. Potable water is available throughout the campground. A dump station is open mid-May through mid-October (weather depending) and there is no fee for registered campers.

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

When deciding upon a site please remember to check the total driveway length to ensure that the added length of your truck and trailer or RV and tow vehicle will fit in the allotted driveway space.

Rule

Portable showers and toilets are prohibited. It is prohibited to dump grey or black water anywhere in the campground other than the official dump station.

Rule

The park prohibits hanging hammocks, clothes lines or any other items from trees.

Rule

Group Size, RV & and Tent Maximums. A 6 person maximum capacity is enforced. Arriving with more than 6 may result in purchasing another site or cancellation of your reservation. One recreational vehicle is allowed per site. A recreational vehicle is any vehicle, driven or towed, equipped with permanently installed sleeping, cooking and/or water storage facilities (RVs, trailers, camper vans, pop-ups, pickup campers, etc). Three (3) tents maximum on established sites only, each within 20 feet of the fire grate.

Rule

No Large Group Gatherings. Reserving blocks of sites for commercial group camping or large family group gatherings is not permitted.

Rule

Altitude. This is a high elevation facility. Be aware of altitude sickness symptoms, especially if you are accustomed to lower elevations.

Rule

Gathering firewood, pinecones or pine needles found within park boundaries is prohibited. Don't Move Firewood: Help protect our forests! Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood at or near your destination and burning it on-site. Moving firewood is illegal in some states. Visit dontmovefirewood.org to learn more.

Rule

Quiet hours are 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. Generators are only permitted in Loops A & B. Generator hours: 8 a.m. to 10 a.m and 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Rule

Pets. Pets must be restrained at all times. Leashes must be no longer than six feet. (1.8 meters) Do not tie pets to trees or leave them unattended at any time. Pets are not allowed on trails or in the backcountry.

Rule

Campsite Use. Do not remove picnic tables or barricades (large rocks, large tree branches, logs or carsonite posts) for any reason. Cars are to stay on paved areas and not parked in the dirt and other natural resources. If a camper's vehicle does not fit in the site the camper will have to leave it in the overflow lot located near the visitor center. Wheels must be on pavement at all times.

Rule

No trailers or RVs are allowed in Loops C and D, this includes pop-up tent trailers. These loops are for tent campers and small camper vans only. Tent/Camper Van only policy is enforced. Arriving in any type of small RV or trailer may result in purchasing another site or cancellation of your reservation. Guests with trailers will have to leave them in the overflow parking lot located at the entrance to North Campground.

Rule

Bryce Canyon National Park is a Dark Sky Park and we do not allow the use of extra lighting in campsites such as string lights, large solar lights, etc.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
103 · 47 tent-only
Hookups
None
Longest rig
99 ft
Paved pads
60 of 103
Accessible sites
None listed
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Flush Toilets
“…gravel parking spurs in C and D loops, flush toilets and drinking water. Picnic tables, fire rings and…”
Drinking water
Yes
“…in C and D loops, flush toilets and drinking water. Picnic tables, fire rings and grills are provided…”
Dump station
Yes
recreation.gov lists “Dump Station”
Store
Nearby
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Stay limit
30 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026
Water, toilets and showers: read from the agency description, shown above · Sep 12, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek
Biking
Historic site
Horseback riding
Ranger programs
Other Recreation Concession Site
Visitor center
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 111th darkest of 458 in UT
Bortle 2
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 15:14 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

1 campground has sites open within 30 miles, read 15:14 UTC. See them

OpenBookedClosed

Every one of the 51 sites on offer is taken this Saturday. 18 are free on Wed, Oct 21. read 15:14 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking window6 months outBookable now through April 17, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 18, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay30 nightsthe facility record
A night$30plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itNational Park ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Sat, May 15 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Where there’s room this weekendBook on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 18

What you actually pay

The sign priceNational Park Service
A night$30
RV & Tent$30
RV Nonelectric$30
Tent Only Nonelectric$30
Rates for the season the campground is in now, May 15, 2026 to Oct 3, 2026.
Bryce Canyon charges an entrance fee separate from the camping fee.
You may pay the fee upon arrival at the entrance station or purchase in advance.
The park also honors Federal interagency passes (e.g., annual, senior, access, 4th grade, Golden Age pass etc.).
For more information visit the park's Fees & Passes web page.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $30 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“A customer who does not arrive at the campground and does not cancel the reservation by check-out time on the day after the scheduled arrival date may be canceled, assessed a $20 no-show fee and forfeit the night's fees for a campsite.” · this campground’s own no-show terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 6
Open within 30 miles this weekend · 1

Sites the agency is offering this Friday and Saturday that nobody has taken, nearest first. read 15:14 UTC

recreation.gov availability, read 15:14 UTC · rules read Oct 1, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

103 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 98 mapped sites
54 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop D 079 12 ftLoop D 101 12 ftLoop B 046 18 ft

All 103 sites

102 of 103 sites located
Tent only47RV / electric51Type not stated4
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 102 of the 103 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 98 of the 103 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Loop A001rv nonelectric38 ft60 ft2,646 ft199 ft$30
Loop A002rv nonelectric53 ft54 ft2,591 ft155 ft$30
Loop A003rv nonelectric20 ft100 ft2,700 ft178 ft$30
Loop A004rv nonelectric76 ft106 ft2,629 ft89 ft$30
Loop A005rv nonelectric30 ft77 ft2,748 ft225 ft$30
Loop A006rv nonelectric58 ft77 ft2,696 ft215 ft$30
Loop A007rv nonelectric35 ft106 ft2,571 ft125 ft$30
Loop A008rv nonelectric35 ft55 ft2,454 ft116 ft$30
Loop A009rv nonelectric24 ft46 ft2,357 ft224 ft$30
Loop A010rv nonelectric24 ft46 ft2,311 ft266 ft$30
Loop A011rv nonelectric99 ft87 ft2,225 ft340 ft$30
Loop A012rv nonelectric95 ft76 ft2,280 ft268 ft$30
Loop A013rv nonelectric37 ft76 ft2,226 ft327 ft$30
Loop A014rv nonelectric36 ft58 ft2,299 ft269 ft$30
Loop A015rv nonelectric58 ft58 ft2,259 ft324 ft$30
Loop A016rv nonelectric42 ft72 ft2,347 ft256 ft$30
Loop A017rv nonelectric30 ft82 ft2,298 ft348 ft$30
Loop A018rv nonelectric45 ft43 ft2,384 ft281 ft$30
Loop A019rv nonelectric40 ft43 ft2,377 ft321 ft$30
Loop A020rv nonelectric54 ft62 ft2,457 ft289 ft$30
Loop A021rv nonelectric39 ft46 ft2,449 ft384 ft$30
Loop A022rv nonelectric53 ft62 ft2,502 ft324 ft$30
Loop A023rv nonelectric36 ft46 ft2,491 ft396 ft$30
Loop A024rv nonelectric30 ft55 ft2,510 ft183 ft$30
Loop A025rv nonelectric67 ft54 ft2,556 ft108 ft$30
Loop A026rv nonelectric60 ft55 ft2,470 ft160 ft$30
Loop A027rv nonelectric28 ft68 ft2,518 ft58 ft$30
Loop A028rv nonelectric20 ft63 ft2,450 ft109 ft$30
Loop A029rv nonelectric45 ft55 ft2,467 ft82 ft$30
Loop A030rv nonelectric99 ft78 ft2,382 ft166 ft$30
Loop B034rv nonelectric40 ft108 ft2,796 ft250 ft$30
Loop B035type not stated20 ft2,749 ft275 ft
Loop B036rv nonelectric48 ft56 ft2,735 ft269 ft$30
Loop B037rv nonelectric66 ft65 ft2,813 ft192 ft$30
Loop B038rv nonelectric25 ft56 ft2,760 ft248 ft$30
Loop B039rv nonelectric30 ft43 ft2,857 ft180 ft$30
Loop B040rv nonelectric70 ft43 ft2,872 ft147 ft$30
Loop B041rv nonelectric38 ft67 ft3,035 ft73 ft$30
Loop B042rv nonelectric25 ft35 ft3,082 ft80 ft$30
Loop B043rv nonelectric34 ft35 ft3,082 ft79 ft$30
Loop B044rv nonelectric25 ft56 ft3,083 ft105 ft$30
Loop B045rv nonelectric30 ft80 ft3,055 ft152 ft$30
Loop B046rv nonelectric25 ft19 ft3,043 ft232 ft$30
Loop B047rv nonelectric34 ft38 ft2,946 ft172 ft$30
Loop B048rv nonelectric22 ft38 ft2,928 ft149 ft$30
Loop B049rv nonelectric24 ft52 ft2,883 ft142 ft$30
Loop B050rv nonelectric20 ft49 ft2,932 ft92 ft$30
Loop B051rv nonelectric24 ft49 ft2,971 ft43 ft$30
Loop B052rv nonelectric43 ft19 ft3,025 ft227 ft$30
Loop B053rv nonelectric30 ft84 ft3,023 ft310 ft$30
Loop B054rv nonelectric22 ft93 ft3,135 ft253 ft$30
Loop B055rv nonelectric18 ft68 ft3,255 ft122 ft$30
Loop C057tent only nonelectric18 ft83 ft3,421 ft111 ft$30
Loop C058tent only nonelectric20 ft83 ft3,473 ft190 ft$30
Loop C059tent only nonelectric20 ft54 ft3,558 ft247 ft$30
Loop C060tent only nonelectric20 ft54 ft3,582 ft289 ft$30
Loop C061tent only nonelectric20 ft60 ft3,634 ft326 ft$30
Loop C062tent only nonelectric48 ft3,604 ft280 ft$30
Loop C063tent only nonelectric41 ft3,608 ft283 ft$30
Loop C064tent only nonelectric20 ft41 ft3,554 ft229 ft$30
Loop C065tent only nonelectric41 ft3,585 ft263 ft$30
Loop C066tent only nonelectric20 ft45 ft3,506 ft193 ft$30
Loop C067tent only nonelectric27 ft3,449 ft134 ft$30
Loop C068tent only nonelectric20 ft27 ft3,462 ft156 ft$30
Loop C069tent only nonelectric63 ft3,394 ft106 ft$30
Loop C070type not stated20 ft3,324 ft132 ft
Loop C071type not stated20 ft3,317 ft88 ft
Loop C073type not stated20 ft3,249 ft123 ft
Loop C074tent only nonelectric69 ft3,207 ft121 ft$30
Loop C075tent only nonelectric68 ft3,275 ft60 ft$30
Loop D076tent only nonelectric47 ft3,617 ft319 ft$30
Loop D077tent only nonelectric60 ft3,661 ft257 ft$30
Loop D078tent only nonelectric47 ft3,596 ft296 ft$30
Loop D079tent only nonelectric12 ft3,578 ft200 ft$30
Loop D080tent only nonelectric60 ft3,659 ft197 ft$30
Loop D081tent only nonelectric82 ft3,757 ft219 ft$30
Loop D082tent only nonelectric41 ft3,658 ft124 ft$30
Loop D083tent only nonelectric82 ft3,743 ft143 ft$30
Loop D084tent only nonelectric41 ft3,655 ft83 ft$30
Loop D085tent only nonelectric28 ft3,745 ft86 ft$30
Loop D086tent only nonelectric40 ft3,751 ft109 ft$30
Loop D087tent only nonelectric28 ft3,770 ft111 ft$30
Loop D088tent only nonelectric33 ft3,762 ft141 ft$30
Loop D089tent only nonelectric39 ft3,803 ft147 ft$30
Loop D090tent only nonelectric33 ft3,734 ft137 ft$30
Loop D091tent only nonelectric57 ft3,683 ft46 ft$30
Loop D092tent only nonelectric50 ft3,627 ft63 ft$30
Loop D093tent only nonelectric50 ft3,600 ft60 ft$30
Loop D094tent only nonelectric59 ft3,657 ft14 ft$30
Loop D095tent only nonelectric36 ft3,602 ft97 ft$30
Loop D096tent only nonelectric23 ft3,562 ft110 ft$30
Loop D097tent only nonelectric36 ft3,580 ft133 ft$30
Loop D098tent only nonelectric23 ft3,548 ft130 ft$30
Loop D099tent only nonelectric45 ft3,526 ft171 ft$30
Loop D100tent only nonelectric66 ft3,485 ft236 ft$30
Loop D101tent only nonelectric12 ft3,585 ft207 ft$30
Loop D102tent only nonelectric64 ft3,738 ft224 ft$30
Loop D103tent only nonelectric64 ft3,687 ft248 ft$30
Loop D104tent only nonelectric80 ft3,666 ft170 ft$30
Loop D105tent only nonelectric48 ft3,574 ft180 ft$30
Loop D106tent only nonelectric48 ft3,530 ft189 ft$30
Loop D107tent only nonelectric89 ft3,599 ft260 ft$30
NorthScan and Pay North Campgroundtype not stated20 ft

25 of 103 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate37.63444, -112.16694
The phone435-834-5322
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Highway 89 approximately 7 miles (11 km) south of Panguitch, Utah, travel east on Highway 12 for about 14 miles (22.5 km). Turn south on Highway 63 to the main entrance of Bryce Canyon National Park. North Campground is the first left turn after passing through the fee station.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

This Afternoon56°Mostly Sunny
Tonight37°Mostly Cloudy9% rain
Sunday50°Partly Sunny then Slight Chance Light Rain20% rain
Sunday Night35°Partly Cloudy4% rain

NWS forecast for Bryce Canyon City, UT

Typical weather

Typical October night 32°F, day 58°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night 17°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: BRYCE CANYON NP HQRS, UT (USC00421008), 0.5 miles away and 90 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Shakespeare Point753 acres · 7 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Fishhook12,959 acres · 8 mi · inventoried roadless area
Roadless
Red Canyon South3,736 acres · 10 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Celeste Maloy, official portrait

North Campground (UT) is in Utah’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Celeste Maloy (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Celeste Maloy

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Campground (UT), Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Dear Celeste Maloy,

I’m a constituent in Utah’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at North Campground (UT), Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 98 of the 103 campsites the agency files at North Campground (UT), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 51 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Campground (UT) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Campground (UT). I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Campground (UT) (Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To John R. Curtis

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Campground (UT), Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Dear John R. Curtis,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at North Campground (UT), Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 98 of the 103 campsites the agency files at North Campground (UT), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 51 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Campground (UT) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Campground (UT). I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Campground (UT) (Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
To Mike Lee

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Campground (UT), Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Dear Mike Lee,

I’m a constituent in Utah. I tried to camp at North Campground (UT), Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 98 of the 103 campsites the agency files at North Campground (UT), and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 51 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Campground (UT) keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Campground (UT). I’m asking you to put it to the National Park Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Campground (UT) (Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 29 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Cell signal: the Park Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Bryce Canyon City, UT, 2.2 mi S. Straight line.