Reservable, and full this SaturdayThe one site on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 14:23 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 1 of the next 30 nights; a database flag says not open read 14:23 UTC
A night
$14From, per site
Sites
3938 on recreation.gov
Drawn from the record · 1,390 ft · 51% tree cover · North Star Lake within reach · Bortle 2 sky
100 ftLongest rig
1,390 ftElevation
615 ftWater · North Star Lake
18.3 miN of Cohasset, MN
51%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 6 notices

In the agency’s own words

North Star Campground is located 4 miles south of Marcell and 25 miles north of Grand Rapids on MN State Highway 38. There are 38 campsites located within easy walking distance of the sandy swimming beach. The lake has many sheltered bays and inlets to provide quiet water for ideal fishing. Keep reading

Recreation

Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (218) 246-2123.

What the agency tells you

Rule

!! NEW FOR 2026 !! Sites 22-38 will be reservable through recreation.gov from 7/3/2026 to the evening of 9/6/26. Sites 1-21 will remain first-come first-served. When there is no reservation for a site, the site is considered first-come first-served. Reservations will be posted 4 days in advance.

Rule

Fee includes one camping unit per site. Double occupancy is not permitted on single unit sites; on large sites double occupancy is permitted. The second occupant must pay the full nightly amount for each night of stay by using a fee envelope at the entrance kiosk. Please read the fee board upon entering the campground to see what qualifies for single and double occupancy. Vehicles and/or trailers must not block any part of roadways or gates at any time.

Rule

Some important campground rules: - Quiet hours are from 10pm – 6am. Generators cannot be run during this time. If you have a medical condition that requires powered equipment, please plan accordingly with battery backup. - Pets are welcome but must remain on a leash 6' or shorter in length at all times. Pets are not allowed in beach areas. - Campfires cannot be left unattended. They must be extinguished before the campsite is vacated. - Fireworks, including sparklers, are not allowed. - Cutting/damaging live vegetation is not allowed. You may gather dead and downed wood for campfires if it fits within the fire ring. - The use of power saws, including electric chainsaws, is strictly prohibited. All regulations are found under 36 CFR 261 and are punishable by fines.

Everything else this campground posts · 3
Rule

Northern Minnesota is home to black bears. Campers must keep coolers and other bear attractants locked inside hard-sided campers or in vehicles when not attended, including overnight. Black bears are present and active within the campground area. Feeding any wildlife, including hanging bird feeders, is strictly prohibited. NEW FOR 2025: Chippewa National Forest Campground Food Storage Order

Rule

Bundled firewood is no longer available in Chippewa National Forest campgrounds. Firewood may be available for sale at local vendors, or may be brought from home if within Itasca County. You may also cut dead and downed wood in the forest without a permit as long as it will be used in the campground. Chainsaw use (gas and electric) is not permitted in the campground.  Don't move firewood: To limit the spread of invasive tree-killing pests, firewood from outside the area is not permitted. Some states have quarantines and may confiscate your firewood. Please help protect our forests from invasive species by obtaining your firewood at or near your camping destination and burning it on-site. Visit dontmovefirewood.org for more information.

Rule

Click here for more information on the Chippewa National Forest.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
39
Hookups
None
Longest rig
100 ft
Accessible sites
17
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”
Source: recreation.gov facility record · Sep 9, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Beach
Berry Picking
Biking
Birding
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Kayaking
Mushroom Picking
Non-Motorized Boating
Paddle Boating
Paddling
Scenic drives
Night sky · 51st darkest of 77 in MN
Bortle 2
Fall color · reported 12 days ago, 15 km away
Past peak
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (15 km) · Oct 5, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 14:23 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBookedNot reservable

Booking windowOut of seasonOut of season, no booking. On November 21, 2026 at 10 AM ET, availability opens through May 21, 2027.recreation.govAdd to calendar (.ics)
Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night$14plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$36DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Forest ServiceBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, May 21 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 12

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night$14
ScanPay 1$14
These are next season’s rates, May 21, 2027 to Sep 7, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$22
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$36

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $14 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 14:23 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Oct 1, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

39 sites · the site map

All 39 sites

1 of 39 sites located
Type not stated1
Aerial · Esri World Imagery
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 1 of the 39 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 38 of the 39 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

North Star01standard nonelectric$14
North Star02standard nonelectric75 ft$14
North Star03standard nonelectric75 ft$14
North Star04standard nonelectric$14
North Star05standard nonelectric80 ft$14
North Star06standard nonelectric$14
North Star07standard nonelectric$14
North Star08standard nonelectric$14
North Star09standard nonelectric$14
North Star10standard nonelectric$14
North Star11standard nonelectric82 ft$14
North Star12standard nonelectric$14
North Star13standard nonelectric100 ft$14
North Star14standard nonelectric$14
North Star15standard nonelectric$14
North Star16standard nonelectric85 ft$14
North Star17standard nonelectric60 ft$14
North Star18standard nonelectric78 ft$14
North Star19standard nonelectric75 ft$14
North Star20standard nonelectric70 ft$14
North Star21standard nonelectric60 ft$14
North Star22standard nonelectric64 ftyes$14
North Star23standard nonelectric80 ftyes$14
North Star24standard nonelectric62 ftyes$14
North Star25standard nonelectric85 ftyes$14
North Star26standard nonelectric80 ftyes$14
North Star27standard nonelectric75 ftyes$14
North Star28standard nonelectric85 ftyes$14
North Star29standard nonelectric75 ftyes$14
North Star30standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star31standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star32standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star33standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star34standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star35standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star36standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star37standard nonelectricyes$14
North Star38standard nonelectricyes$14
Scan and PayStandardtype not stated615 ft270 ft

25 of 39 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the phone number

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today59°Sunny
Tonight42°Mostly Clear
Sunday64°Sunny
Sunday Night34°Mostly Clear

NWS forecast for Bigfork, MN

Typical weather

Typical October night 35°F, day 51°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical January night -5°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°-10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MARCELL 5NE, MN (USC00215175), 5 miles away and at about the same elevation

The land, and who answers for it

what threatens it · who answers for it · a letter you can send

Roadless country, and what’s coming for it

Roadless
Big Island25 acres · 3 mi · inventoried roadless area

You’re camping on ground somebody wants. We track the threats and the comment deadlines.

Who answers for this land

Pete Stauber, official portrait

North Star is in Minnesota’s 8th congressional district. Its representative, Pete Stauber (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Pete Stauber

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Star, Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota

Dear Pete Stauber,

I’m a constituent in Minnesota’s 8th district. I tried to camp at North Star, Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 38 of the 39 campsites the agency files at North Star, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, the one site recreation.gov was offering there was already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Star keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Star. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Star (Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota) via campanac.com
To Amy Klobuchar

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Star, Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota

Dear Amy Klobuchar,

I’m a constituent in Minnesota. I tried to camp at North Star, Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 38 of the 39 campsites the agency files at North Star, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, the one site recreation.gov was offering there was already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Star keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Star. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Star (Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota) via campanac.com
To Tina Smith

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at North Star, Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota

Dear Tina Smith,

I’m a constituent in Minnesota. I tried to camp at North Star, Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 38 of the 39 campsites the agency files at North Star, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, the one site recreation.gov was offering there was already booked.

1,623 of the 7,647 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. North Star keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run North Star. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about North Star (Chippewa National Forest, Minnesota) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 1 of the next 30 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does. The U.S. Forest Service’s own database, though, flags it not open with no reason or date; the flag is named under How we know all this.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (15 km) · Oct 5, 2026
Reported by: PhenoCam Network (GCC), reported past peak · Oct 5, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Bigfork, MN, 12.4 mi S. Straight line.