1Heads up1 fire 44 mi away
Wildfire
Hill fire · 44 mi away · 2 acres · updated Oct 16, 2026
Closedrecreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend, read 16:21 UTC
Right now
Closedrecreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend, read 16:21 UTC
A night
$20When it reopens, per site
Sites
36In the agency’s record
115 ftLongest rig
530 ftElevation
489 ftWater · Black Butte Lake
7.7 miW of Orland, CA
0%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 8 notices

In the agency’s own words

Orland Buttes Recreation Area is at Black Butte Lake, situated at the northern end of the Sacramento valley, 100 miles north of Sacramento, CA and 30 miles south of Red Bluff, CA. The lake is a popular meeting place for water sports and outdoor euthusiasts, so bring family and friends for an incredibly scenic getaway. Keep reading

Recreation

Find excitement with wake boarding and sailing or explore the Paul Thomas trail for hiking. Black Butte is renowed fro its warm-water fishing, including catches such as crappie, channel catfinsh, and large and small mouth bass. Disc golf is also a popular activity here.

Facilities

The family-friendly campground offers 35 campsites and a group campground that fits 50. Conveniences include showers, a boat ramp complex, and a 18-hole disc golf course. No electric hookups or water hookups are available. The area is open seasonaly from 1 April through the second Monday in September.

Natural Features

Black Butte Lake was formed in 1963 with the completion of Black Butte Lake Dam on Stony Creek. The lake's surface area measures 4460 acres when water levels are high. Black basalt buttes and blue oak woodland hug the lake's 40 miles of shoreline.

Nearby Attractions

Horeseback riders can make use of the horse trails at Grizzly Flat and Burris Creek. Buckhorn Recreation Area has 13 miles of fitness trails for hiking, running, and biking.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Limited Sanitation Facilities Due to ongoing sanitation infrastructure issues, flushing toilets and showers will not be available. Portable restrooms and handwashing stations will be in place to support public health and safety. These facilities will be located near existing restroom areas. Potable water and dump stations will remain available for visitor use.

Rule

Vehicle Pass Info: Each campsite allows up to 4 vehicles* (up to 20 vehicles for group use area). Please print your reservation or write your reservation # and the reserved camper’s last name, and place it on the dashboard of each vehicle while in the recreation area. (*Please note: 4 vehicles may not fit within each campsite’s parking area.)

Rule

There are no electric/water/sewer hookups. A dump station and water filling station is available.

Everything else this campground posts · 5
Rule

Please adhere to all road signs. All vehicles must face with the flow of traffic in case of an emergency.

Rule

Direct access to the lake is limited due to steep terrain.

Rule

No fireworks allowed

Rule

Entrance gates close at 10 pm from April 1 through Sept. 30th. Quiet hours are from 10 pm to 6 am.

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Protect your forests from tree-killing pests by buying your firewood locally and burning it on-site. Visit Dontmovefirewood.org for further information.

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
36 · 1 group
Hookups
1 electric
Longest rig
115 ft
Paved pads
35 of 36
Accessible sites
1
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Boat ramp
Yes
Stay limit
14 nights
recreation.gov facility rule maxStay
Source: Stated in the agency description · Aug 23, 2026

Around the campground

On the water
Lake, Creek, Beach
Boating
Fishing
Hiking
Hunting
Swimming
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 645th darkest of 1,201 in CA
Bortle 3
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing to book until it reopensread 16:21 UTC

recreation.gov lists every site closed this weekend

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Max stay14 nightsthe facility record
A night, when it reopens$20plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itU.S. Army Corps of EngineersBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
What’s open near here
Tell me when it reopens

Watch for it to come back

One email when the agency reopens it, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check the agency’s own record once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time it stops saying closed.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the agency reopens it.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Every line of the receipt · 11

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
A night, when it reopens$20
Standard Nonelectric$20
Group area, a night$130
These are next season’s rates, Apr 1, 2027 to Sep 8, 2027. The campground is between seasons now.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 4
Why this page can’t say why

recreation.gov lists every site at Orland Buttes closed this Friday and Saturday night. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has published no closure notice we hold, so this page can’t say why, and it won’t fill the gap with a guess. A closed night isn’t a sold-out one: the reservations its record still carries were taken before the sites were closed.

Closure: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers status record · Oct 17, 2026

There’s no notice to quote and no reason to argue with, so this page offers you the watch and the list below, and no letter.

Open within 60 miles · 4

The agency’s own word that these are open, not our reading of a season.

Open near here: Agency-published status, in the CAMPANAC campground index · Oct 17, 2026

recreation.gov availability, read 16:21 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

36 sites · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 35 mapped sites
73 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomLoop OBUT OB31 32 ftLoop OBUT OB34 32 ftLoop OBUT OB19 44 ft

All 36 sites

36 of 36 sites located
Standard33RV / electric1Group1Type not stated1
SleepsTakes aUp to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 34 of the 36 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

OBUTOB01standard nonelectric20 ft230 ft641 ft$20
OBUTOB02standard nonelectric50 ft118 ft580 ft$20
OBUTOB03standard nonelectric73 ft65 ft697 ft$20
OBUTOB04standard nonelectric55 ft51 ft673 ft$20
OBUTOB05standard nonelectric55 ft51 ft641 ft$20
OBUTOB06standard nonelectric90 ft53 ft553 ft$20
OBUTOB07standard nonelectric115 ft53 ft507 ft$20
OBUTOB08standard nonelectric53 ft65 ft161 ft$20
OBUTOB09standard nonelectric53 ft44 ft242 ft$20
OBUTOB10standard nonelectric30 ft44 ft225 ft$20
OBUTOB11standard nonelectric50 ft123 ft268 ft$20
OBUTOB12standard nonelectric42 ft84 ft147 ft$20
OBUTOB13standard nonelectric36 ft54 ft353 ft$20
OBUTOB14standard electric36 ftyes101 ft252 ft
OBUTOB15standard nonelectric40 ft54 ft405 ft$20
OBUTOB16standard nonelectric25 ft85 ft65 ft$20
OBUTOB17standard nonelectric30 ft56 ft72 ft$20
OBUTOB18standard nonelectric36 ft56 ft99 ft$20
OBUTOB19standard nonelectric50 ft44 ft165 ft$20
OBUTOB20standard nonelectric20 ft83 ft125 ft$20
OBUTOB21standard nonelectric41 ft81 ft179 ft$20
OBUTOB22standard nonelectric25 ft44 ft128 ft$20
OBUTOB23standard nonelectric45 ft73 ft250 ft$20
OBUTOB24type not stated60 ft258 ft
OBUTOB25standard nonelectric45 ft73 ft305 ft$20
OBUTOB26standard nonelectric48 ft75 ft323 ft$20
OBUTOB27standard nonelectric60 ft76 ft478 ft$20
OBUTOB28standard nonelectric74 ft76 ft402 ft$20
OBUTOB29standard nonelectric30 ft65 ft181 ft$20
OBUTOB30standard nonelectric29 ft94 ft101 ft$20
OBUTOB31standard nonelectric20 ft32 ft239 ft$20
OBUTOB32standard nonelectric57 ft109 ft242 ft$20
OBUTOB33standard nonelectric40 ft89 ft350 ft$20
OBUTOB34standard nonelectric84 ft32 ft268 ft$20
OBUTOB35standard nonelectric47 ft84 ft360 ft$20
OBUTOBGUAgroup standard nonelectric35 ft291 ft445 ft$130

OpenStreetMap has no toilet mapped within 1 km of this campground, so no site here carries a toilet distance. That’s a gap in the map, not a finding about the campground.

25 of 36 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate39.77220, -122.35285
The phone530-865-4781
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Interstate 5, take the Black Butte Lake exit at Orland, CA. Travel west on County Road 200/Newville Road for 6 miles. Turn left on County Road 206 and drive 4 miles to the campground.

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight58°Clear
Saturday86°Sunny
Saturday Night56°Mostly Clear
Sunday81°Sunny

NWS forecast for Orland, CA

Typical weather

Typical October night 51°F, day 80°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 37°F. Bring the bag rated for it.

100°30°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: ORLAND, CA (USC00046506), 8 miles away and 276 ft lower

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Orland Buttes is in California’s 1st congressional district. Whoever holds it votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. See how its representative votes on public lands →

Our roster still carries Doug LaMalfa for this district and the current federal record doesn’t list them as sitting, so we’re not naming a representative here until the two agree.

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov lists every site here closed on Friday and Saturday night (read 16:21 UTC). U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has published no closure notice we hold, so the reason isn’t on this page. A closed night isn’t a sold-out one, and the reservations the record still carries predate the closure. That reading is ours, off the agency’s own booking record.
Cell signal: the Army Corps’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.