Bureau of Land Management · Malheur National Wildlife Refuge · OR

Page Springs Campground

2Heads up2 fires, nearest 17 mi
Wildfire
Jackass Butte fire · 17 mi away · 24,724 acres · 92% contained · updated Aug 10, 2026
Wildfire
Stubble fire · 26 mi away · 15,673 acres · 93% contained · updated Aug 10, 2026
ReservableBooking 6 months out; today unlocks April 16. Season not published.
Book on recreation.govWe make nothing when you book
Right now
Nobody has saidNo season, no closure, no bookings to read
A night
$16From, per site
Sites
3633 on recreation.gov
4,240 ftElevation
144 ftWater · Donner und Blitzen River
51.4 miSE of Hines, OR
0%Tree cover
Bortle 1Night sky · 4th darkest of 770 in OR

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 1 notices

In the agency’s own words

Page Springs Campground is located at the base of Steens Mountain, just three miles from the town of Frenchglen, Oregon. Thrity-six roomy campsites situated under cottonwood and juniper trees and near the Donner and Blitzen River welcome visitors year-round. The campground serves as the trailhead for two short hikes: the Blitzen River Trail meanders four miles up the river, while the Wilderness Nature Trail climbs gradually to the top of the bluff overlooking the valley floor and looping one total mile. Page Springs also offers a large, covered picnic area for no-fee day use, mulitple vault restrooms, trash cans for public use, and drinking water. Contact Info This location is unstaffed. To speak with our main office for general information, please call: (541) 573-4400. Keep reading

Charges & Cancellations

All sites are available on a first-come, first-served basis. No reservations accepted. Site must be physically occupied before payment to ensure site availability. No refunds issued.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Campground host is usually on site May-September. Fishing in the river is catch and release only (rainbow trout); two, 8-inch minimum length per day limit (Redband trout); artifical flies and lures only.  Ticks, mosquitos and rattlesnakes are known to frequent the area - stay alert! No equestrian use or stock trailers permitted in the area.

Tents and rigs

Sites
36
Hookups
None
Accessible sites
None listed
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Drinking water
Yes
“Page Springs also offers a large, covered picnic area for no-fee day use, mulitple vault restrooms, trash cans for public use, and drinking water.”

Around the campground

On the water
River
Fishing
Hiking
Wilderness access
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026

Nothing on the booking system for the next 30 nightsread 16:49 UTC

recreation.gov lists 33 of the 36 campsites the agency files here. The rest aren’t on its booking system, so a reservation won’t get you one.

Every one of the next thirty nights is in recreation.gov’s record and not one site is being offered on any of them. That’s a campground closed or not yet released for booking, not a sold-out one.

Booking window6 months outBooking opens 6 months ahead; today unlocks arrivals through April 16, 2027. The agency publishes no reservable season in the record we hold, so the window may close earlier than that.recreation.gov
A night$16plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$40DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservation; this campground publishes its own terms toorecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itBureau of Land ManagementBooked through recreation.govthe agency’s record
Watch for a cancellation

Full? Watch it.

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 18

What you actually pay

The sign priceBureau of Land Management
A night$16
Regular Campsite$16
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Jan 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026.
Camping Fees are $16/vehicle, per night, for a single car, truck, or RV and towed vehicle.
All sites available on a first-come, first-served basis.
No reservations accepted.
Please occupy site before proceeding to payment kiosk (near campground entrance) for payment.
Traditional cash and check payment and electronic payment via Scan-and-Pay and Remote-Automated-Kiosk accepted at payment kiosk.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What this campground addsits own record
Extra vehicle$5

“Additional passenger vehicles $5/night.” · the Bureau of Land Management’s own fee record

What a stay costs
One nightDerived$24
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$40

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rate for this season, $16 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

“All sites are available on a first-come, first-served basis. No reservations accepted. Site must be physically occupied before payment to ensure site availability. No refunds issued.” · this campground’s own terms

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 7

recreation.gov availability, read 16:49 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

37 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 32 mapped sites
106 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
Least roomScan and Pay 20 41 ftScan and Pay 21 41 ftScan and Pay 11 53 ft

All 37 records

34 of 37 records located
Standard32Type not stated1Day use1
Up to

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 32 of the 37 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

Measured shade is NLCD Tree Canopy Cover 2024 (USDA Forest Service / MRLC) read at the site’s own coordinate, 27% canopy or more, and only for the sites the agency gave no Shade value. It never changes the agency’s own shaded count beside it.

Scan and Pay1standard nonelectric139 ft73 ft$16
Scan and Pay10standard nonelectric65 ft301 ft$16
Scan and Pay11standard nonelectric53 ft416 ft$16
Scan and Pay12standard nonelectric164 ft41 ft$16
Scan and Pay13standard nonelectric164 ft47 ft$16
Scan and Pay14type not stated
Scan and Pay15standard nonelectric60 ft259 ft$16
Scan and Pay16standard nonelectric95 ft215 ft$16
Scan and Pay17standard nonelectric60 ft291 ft$16
Scan and Pay18standard nonelectric58 ft366 ft$16
Scan and Pay19standard nonelectric78 ft398 ft$16
Scan and Pay2standard nonelectric165 ft228 ft$16
Scan and Pay20standard nonelectric41 ft446 ft$16
Scan and Pay21standard nonelectric41 ft480 ft$16
Scan and Pay22standard nonelectric53 ft411 ft$16
Scan and Pay23standard nonelectric56 ft491 ft$16
Scan and Pay24standard nonelectric61 ft417 ft$16
Scan and Pay25standard nonelectric56 ft503 ft$16
Scan and Pay26standard nonelectric148 ft436 ft$16
Scan and Pay27standard nonelectric138 ft452 ft$16
Scan and Pay28standard nonelectric102 ft454 ft$16
Scan and Pay29standard nonelectric102 ft437 ft$16
Scan and Pay3standard nonelectric139 ft80 ft$16
Scan and Pay30standard nonelectric109 ft411 ft$16
Scan and Pay31standard nonelectric112 ft325 ft$16
Scan and Pay32standard nonelectric112 ft254 ft$16
Scan and Pay33standard nonelectric135 ft339 ft$16
Scan and Pay34standard nonelectric111 ft326 ft$16
Scan and Pay35type not stated
Scan and Pay36type not stated
Scan and Pay4type not stated266 ft
Scan and Pay5standard nonelectric116 ft214 ft$16
Scan and Pay6standard nonelectric116 ft98 ft$16
Scan and Pay7standard nonelectric210 ft77 ft$16
Scan and Pay8standard nonelectric199 ft52 ft$16
Scan and Pay9standard nonelectric95 ft283 ft$16
Scan and PayGroup Picnic Areaday use272 ft

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It files it as day use. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 37 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate42.80597, -118.86768
The phoneN/A
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Burns, Oregon, take State Highway 78 southeast for approximately 2 miles, then turn right onto State Highway 205 and travel south for 60 miles to Frenchglen, Oregon. Just past Frenchglen, turn left onto the Steens Mountain loop Road. Follow the Loop Road for approximately 3 miles before turning into Page Springs Campground to the right, just across the Donner und Blizten River.

The weather

the next four days

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Overnight45°Partly Cloudy
Saturday74°Mostly Sunny
Saturday Night40°Mostly Cloudy
Sunday73°Sunny

NWS forecast for Crane, OR

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it

Who answers for this land

Cliff Bentz, official portrait

Page Springs Campground is in Oregon’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Cliff Bentz (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: Bureau of Land Management publishes no season and no closure for this campground, and it takes no bookings we can read. That’s a gap in the record and not a locked gate: the number below is the only way to be sure.
Cell signal: the BLM’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: Crane, OR, 42.8 mi SSW (a census designated place). Straight line.