U.S. Forest Service · Coconino National Forest · AZ

Pine Flat Campground West

Reservable, and full this SaturdayEvery one of the 36 sites on offer is taken this Saturday, and the record lists no site held back for a walk-up. read 16:11 UTC

We don’t think it should be. Every campground should hold some sites for whoever drives up.Tell your representative →

Right now
Taking bookingsSites offered on 9 of the next 9 nights read 16:11 UTC
A night
$30–$45Across the site types the agency prices
Sites
5954 on recreation.gov
36 ftLongest rig
5,550 ftElevation
316 ftWater · Oak Creek
5.4 miSW of Kachina Village, AZ
48%Tree cover

The place

the agency’s own description · what’s there · 15 notices

In the agency’s own words

Pine Flat Campground is a popular camping spot in scenic Oak Creek Canyon in Arizona's Coconino National Forest. The campground is nestled in a forested canyon near the well-known town of Sedona, Arizona, and its red rock cliffs. The scenery is unmatched, the stream is stocked with trout, and swimming, hiking and birding spots can be accessed from the facility. Keep reading

Recreation

There are several hiking trails in the vicinity, with some leading up the canyon slopes to offer sweeping views of the surrounding scenery. The creek is bordered with paths that lead along its picturesque course, offering excellent birding and abundant fishing.

Facilities

There are 59 single unit sites at Pine Flat Campground, including two accessible sites. Picnic tables, campfire rings and cooking grills, as well as vault restrooms and drinking water, are provided. No hookups or showers are available.

Natural Features

The area is a heavily wooded, lush riparian zone. Campsites are located in a shady stand of ponderosa pines in the upper reaches of the canyon. Many of the campsites are located right on the banks of Oak Creek. The creek has crystal clear, cool water that is refreshing on hot summer days. Contact Info For facility specific information, please call (928) 203-0624.

Nearby Attractions

The nearest town is Sedona, popular for its red rock vistas, resorts and shopping. One of Arizona's best swimming spots, Slide Rock State Park, is down the road. Campers can also explore the 1.8-million acre Coconino National Forest, which boasts a spectacular variety of scenery and outdoor activities.

What the agency tells you

Rule

Oak Creek is very crowded, especially on weekends; to get a campsite, it is best to come on a weekday and arrive early

Rule

An additional fee will be collected on-site for second vehicles

Rule

No radios or amplified devices allowed

Everything else this campground posts · 12
Rule

The facility cannot accommodate wide-body motor-homes

Rule

No hookups available

Rule

No horses allowed in the campground

Rule

Motorbikes may only be used for entering or leaving campsite

Rule

Don't Move Firewood: Prevent the spread of tree-killing pests by obtaining firewood near your destination and burning it on-site. For more information visit dontmovefirewood.org.

Rule

No portable showers or toilets allowed in the campground

Rule

No cutting, splitting, chopping wood

Rule

Campsites must be occupied first night of reservation

Rule

Campsite cannot be unattended more than 24 hours

Rule

Fishing access

Rule

The camping stay limit in Red Rock District is limited to 7 days

Rule

Please note when making a reservation that the length of campsite parking spur includes both RV and tow vehicle!

Read them on the agency’s own page →

Tents and rigs

Sites
59
Hookups
3 electric
Longest rig
36 ft
Accessible sites
39
Pets
Allowed
Campfires
Allowed, barring fire bans
Shade
Every site
Source: Recreation.gov campsite records · Aug 23, 2026

Facilities

Toilets
Vault Toilets
VAULT TOILETS on 60 of 60 campsite records
Showers
None at this campground
“No hookups or showers are available.”
Drinking water
Yes
DRINKING WATER on 60 of 60 campsite records
Camp host
On site
recreation.gov lists “Host”

Around the campground

On the water
Creek
Fishing
Hiking
Stargazing
Swimming
Wildlife viewing
Night sky · 140th darkest of 262 in AZ
Bortle 3
Fall color · reported 2 days ago, 34 km away
Patchy color
Source: Recreation.gov activity records · Aug 23, 2026
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (34 km) · Oct 14, 2026

Full this Saturdayread 16:11 UTC

How full the weekend is nationally.

OpenBooked

Every one of the 36 sites on offer is taken this Friday and Saturday. 22 are free on Tue, Oct 20. read 16:11 UTC Why the weekend fills and the week doesn’t

Booking windowThrough October 24Bookable now through October 24, 2026, the end of this reservable season, and again for April 16, 2027. Tomorrow at 10 AM ET, availability opens through April 17, 2027.recreation.gov
Max stay7 nightsthe facility record
A night$30–$45plus $8 to reserve, once per bookingthe agency’s rate schedule
A weekend$68–$98DerivedFriday and Saturday, everything includedours, from the lines above
If plans change$10 to cancel$10 to change a reservationrecreation.gov’s schedule
Runs itVista RecreationA private concessionaire under permit from U.S. Forest Servicethe operator link
Watch for a cancellation

Watch this campground

One email when a night opens, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We read recreation.gov once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time a site in your window is free for the nights you asked for.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Tell me when the season opens

Watch for the season to open

One email when the season goes on sale, plus More Than Just Parks dispatches. Unsubscribe any time.

We check once an hour, at 40 minutes past, and write the first time the agency has that season on sale.

Scanners that check every few minutes exist, and most of them charge. This one is free, it reads the same calendar, and it won’t always be first.

We’ll write once, when the season that starts Fri, Apr 16 2027 is open for booking.

Free forever, no booking kickbacks.
Book on recreation.gov ↗

We make nothing when you book. The link goes straight to the government.

Every line of the receipt · 13

What you actually pay

The sign priceU.S. Forest Service
A night, per site$30–$45
Standard Nonelectric$30
RV Only Electric$45
Rates for the season the campground is in now, Apr 10, 2026 to Oct 24, 2026.
The booking feerecreation.gov
Reservation fee, booked online$8
One fee per reservation, however many nights you book, and it’s non-refundable. $9 if you book by phone, $3 in person.
Pass discounts only apply to the recreation (or use) fee for the facility. Other charges such as electricity or water hookups, reservation or other fees are not eligible for a discount.
What a stay costs
One nightDerived$38–$53
A weekend, Friday and SaturdayDerived$68–$98

Derived by CAMPANAC: the agency’s published rates for this season, $30–$45 a night, plus one $8 recreation.gov reservation fee for the booking. A weekend here means Friday and Saturday night, booked once. Optional charges (an extra vehicle, a second tent, a dump-station fee) are listed separately and aren’t in this total.

If your plans changerecreation.gov
Change fee, moving to dates outside your booking$10
Cancellation fee$10
Cancelling the day before, or the day of$10 + your first night
No-show$20 + your first night

Who keeps the booking fee

The agency’s own policy text says the reservation fee and the cancellation processing fee are “retained by the reservation service contractor”, and that a campground concessionaire will decline to refund them because “they did not receive these fees”. Recreation.gov is run under contract by Booz Allen Hamilton. What share of your booking fee the contractor keeps isn’t published in any federal dataset we can read, so we print no number for it. Our reporting on the contract →

How we know this receipt · 5

recreation.gov availability, read 16:11 UTC · rules read Sep 9, 2026 · rates Sep 10, 2026 · How we know all this

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

The sites

60 records · which ones have room · the site map

The sites, ranked

from 54 mapped sites
77 ftbetween you and the next site, typically
88%of tent sites sit clear of electric or RV sites
Least roomLoop PINE 003 20 ftLoop PINE 004 20 ftLoop PINE 008 31 ft

All 60 records

59 of 60 records located
Standard51RV / electric3Type not stated4Host pad1
SleepsTakes aUp to

Toilet distances are OpenStreetMap’s, measured for 59 of the 60 sites listed. A site with no reading is unknown, never far.

The price is derived by CAMPANAC, not published per site: the per-night rate this campground publishes for each site’s own site type. 59 of the 60 sites listed carry one, and a site whose type has no published rate sits out of the price rather than being called free.

PINE001standard nonelectric35 ftyes67 ft259 ft69 ft$30
PINE002standard nonelectric27 ftyes53 ft218 ft90 ft$30
PINE003standard nonelectric35 ftyes20 ft58 ft214 ft$30
PINE004standard nonelectric26 ftyes20 ft78 ft198 ft$30
PINE005standard nonelectric23 ftyes68 ft74 ft257 ft$30
PINE006standard nonelectric35 ftyes53 ft172 ft122 ft$30
PINE007standard nonelectric35 ftyes73 ft256 ft195 ft$30
PINE008standard nonelectric29 ftyes30 ft242 ft238 ft$30
PINE009standard nonelectric35 ftyes30 ft214 ft239 ft$30
PINE010standard nonelectric29 ftyes59 ft53 ft219 ft$30
PINE011standard nonelectric35 ftyes54 ft56 ft162 ft$30
PINE012standard nonelectric25 ftyes67 ft120 ft212 ft$30
PINE013standard nonelectric29 ftyes54 ft44 ft122 ft$30
PINE014type not stated25 ft139 ft168 ft$30
PINE015standard nonelectric29 ftyes85 ft129 ft89 ft$30
PINE016standard nonelectric35 ftyes67 ft152 ft115 ft$30
PINE017standard nonelectric35 ftyes67 ft134 ft174 ft$30
PINE018standard nonelectric25 ftyes77 ft171 ft250 ft$30
PINE019standard nonelectric35 ftyes94 ft133 ft317 ft$30
PINE020type not stated25 ftVault Toilets listed$30
PINE021standard nonelectric35 ft80 ft160 ft47 ft$30
PINE022standard nonelectric35 ft79 ft103 ft127 ft$30
PINE023rv electric35 ft30 amp78 ft97 ft191 ft$45
PINE024standard nonelectric26 ft38 ft103 ft264 ft$30
PINE025rv electric36 ft30 amp82 ft197 ft269 ft$45
PINE026standard nonelectric27 ft38 ft116 ft284 ft$30
PINE027rv electric35 ft30 ampyes67 ft163 ft129 ft$45
PINE028standard nonelectric35 ft90 ft88 ft197 ft$30
PINE029standard nonelectric35 ft67 ft186 ft68 ft$30
PINE030standard nonelectric35 ft81 ft107 ft80 ft$30
PINE031standard nonelectric35 ft67 ft90 ft99 ft$30
PINE032standard nonelectric35 ft77 ft209 ft78 ft$30
PINE033standard nonelectric35 ft67 ft116 ft136 ft$30
PINE034standard nonelectric35 ft73 ft123 ft204 ft$30
PINE035standard nonelectric35 ft77 ft210 ft148 ft$30
PINE036standard nonelectric22 ft83 ft143 ft281 ft$30
PINE037standard nonelectric35 ft70 ft229 ft245 ft$30
PINE038standard nonelectric35 ft70 ft254 ft313 ft$30
PINE039standard nonelectric35 ftyes79 ft444 ft248 ft$30
PINE040standard nonelectric35 ftyes80 ft545 ft351 ft$30
PINE041standard nonelectric35 ftyes77 ft467 ft290 ft$30
PINE042standard nonelectric35 ftyes77 ft460 ft320 ft$30
PINE043type not stated35 ftyes474 ft362 ft$30
PINE044standard nonelectric35 ftyes89 ft459 ft386 ft$30
PINE045type not stated35 ftyes560 ft460 ft$30
PINE046standard nonelectric35 ftyes89 ft468 ft361 ft$30
PINE047standard nonelectric35 ftyes99 ft567 ft446 ft$30
PINE048 HOSThost pad35 ftyes575 ft423 ft$30
PINE049standard nonelectric35 ftyes132 ft456 ft295 ft$30
PINE050standard nonelectric35 ftyes140 ft555 ft404 ft$30
PINE051standard nonelectric35 ftyes73 ft485 ft313 ft$30
PINE052standard nonelectric35 ftyes73 ft506 ft367 ft$30
PINE053standard nonelectric35 ftyes86 ft422 ft316 ft$30
PINE054type not stated30 ft425 ft325 ft$30
PINE055standard nonelectric35 ftyes116 ft521 ft409 ft$30
PINE056standard nonelectric35 ftyes112 ft416 ft298 ft$30
PINE057standard nonelectric35 ftyes97 ft401 ft324 ft$30
PINE058standard nonelectric35 ftyes97 ft350 ft236 ft$30
PINE059standard nonelectric35 ftyes97 ft305 ft224 ft$30
PINE060standard nonelectric35 ftyes97 ft348 ft325 ft$30

The agency files 1 more record here that isn’t a site for the night. It names it a host pad. It’s in the table above, marked for what it is, and it isn’t counted as a site.

25 of 60 listed

Getting there

the map and the coordinate · the agency’s directions · the phone number
Coordinate35.01250, -111.73806
The phone928-282-3233
The agency’s pageOfficial page ↗

Where it is

Getting there

From Phoenix, take I-17 north to Highway 179 toward Sedona. Turn north on Highway 89A and continue for 12 miles into Oak Creek Canyon. From Flagstaff take I-17 to highway 89A South. Follow 89A for 17 miles to Oak Creek Caynon

The weather

the next four days · the thirty-year normal

Next four days, and the thirty-year normal

Forecast

Today60°Sunny then Areas Of Smoke
Tonight37°Areas Of Smoke then Mostly Clear1% rain
Saturday58°Partly Sunny then Patchy Smoke17% rain
Saturday Night40°Chance Rain Showers38% rain

NWS forecast for Oak Creek Canyon, AZ

Typical weather

Typical October night 31°F, day 66°F.

Coldest month of the year: typical December night 16°F, below freezing. Bring a bag rated colder than that, and expect ice in the water bottle.

90°32°10°

Daily high and lowDays with 0.10 in or more

A normal is the 1991-2020 average for the month, not a forecast: about half of all Julys are colder than the July line. The seven-day forecast above answers the other question.

Measured at: MUND'S PARK, AZ (USC00025780), 8 miles away and 920 ft higher

The land, and who answers for it

who answers for it · a letter you can send

Who answers for this land

Eli Crane, official portrait

Pine Flat Campground West is in Arizona’s 2nd congressional district. Its representative, Eli Crane (R), votes on the laws that decide what happens to this land. Public-lands grade so far: F. See every public-lands vote →

Seen something wrong here? Tell us.

Who can change it · 3
Write to somebody who can change it

Two offices, two different asks. The draft to the agency asks it to set aside a published share of the sites here for whoever drives up. The draft to Congress asks why that share is zero and presses for a published minimum at the campgrounds it funds.

Read the draft, or change the wording

For the camper who turned up, or tried to book, and couldn’t get in. Every draft is written from this campground’s own record (its agency, its unit, its site count and its own weekend) and the buttons above copy whichever wording is selected here.

To Elijah Crane

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Pine Flat Campground West, Coconino National Forest, Arizona

Dear Elijah Crane,

I’m a constituent in Arizona’s 2nd district. I tried to camp at Pine Flat Campground West, Coconino National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 54 of the 59 campsites the agency files at Pine Flat Campground West, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Pine Flat Campground West keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Pine Flat Campground West. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Pine Flat Campground West (Coconino National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
To Mark Kelly

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Pine Flat Campground West, Coconino National Forest, Arizona

Dear Mark Kelly,

I’m a constituent in Arizona. I tried to camp at Pine Flat Campground West, Coconino National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 54 of the 59 campsites the agency files at Pine Flat Campground West, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Pine Flat Campground West keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Pine Flat Campground West. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Pine Flat Campground West (Coconino National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
To Ruben Gallego

Asks them to put the question to the agency in writing, and to press for a published minimum share of walk-up sites across the campgrounds they fund.

Subject Walk-up camping at Pine Flat Campground West, Coconino National Forest, Arizona

Dear Ruben Gallego,

I’m a constituent in Arizona. I tried to camp at Pine Flat Campground West, Coconino National Forest, Arizona, and couldn’t.

recreation.gov lists 54 of the 59 campsites the agency files at Pine Flat Campground West, and every one of them is booked ahead, and the agency's own record lists none held back for somebody who drives up. On Saturday, October 17, all 36 sites recreation.gov was offering there were already booked.

1,623 of the 7,639 federal campgrounds in this country still keep at least some sites for whoever arrives first. Pine Flat Campground West keeps none, and that’s a choice somebody made rather than a rule.

I’m not asking you to run Pine Flat Campground West. I’m asking you to put it to the U.S. Forest Service in writing: why is the share of first-come sites there zero, and what would a published minimum share cost? Please press for that minimum at the federal campgrounds you fund.

The people who open these campgrounds, collect the fees and keep the water running are seasonal positions. At GS-5, base pay plus the government's own 36.25% benefit factor, one costs about $47,414 a year. One percent of the $13.3 billion the USS Gerald R. Ford cost to procure would pay for about 2,800 of them for a year. Both figures are the government's own (a Congressional Research Service report and an OPM pay table), and I’m glad to send them.

Sent about Pine Flat Campground West (Coconino National Forest, Arizona) via campanac.com
How we know this · 4
The figures in these drafts: Navy Ford (CVN-78) Class Aircraft Carrier Program: Background and Issues for Congress (CRS Report RS20643) · Updated December 4, 2025 · “The ship’s final procurement cost was $13,316.5 million (i.e., about $13.3 billion) in then-year dollars.”
The figures in these drafts: Salary Table 2026-GS, Incorporating the 1% General Schedule Increase, Effective January 2026 (U.S. Office of Personnel Management) · Effective January 2026 · “Grade 5, Step 1: $34,799 (annual rate, before locality pay).”
The figures in these drafts: Update to Civilian Position Full Fringe Benefit Cost Factor, Federal Pay Raise Assumptions, and Inflation Factors used in OMB Circular No. A-76 (OMB Memorandum M-08-13) · March 11, 2008 · “the civilian position full fringe benefit cost factor needs to be adjusted downward, from 36.45 percent to 36.25 percent”

How we know

every fact on this page, and where it came from
Right now: recreation.gov is offering sites on 9 of the next 9 nights, which isn’t something a closed campground does.
Fall color: More Than Just Parks foliage tracker, joined to this campground by distance (34 km) · Oct 14, 2026
Cell signal: the Forest Service’s own campground description, read as text by CAMPANAC. None of this is a measurement. It’s what the land manager published about the place, and phones, carriers and weather all disagree with each other; treat it as a warning, not a promise.
Nearest place of any size: inside Oak Creek Canyon, AZ (a census designated place). Straight line.